petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail X

Super Pet CritterTrail X

Extreme activity center for small petsExciting, extricable Petting ZoneIncludes Rehydrator Water Bottle, Energizing Food Dish, Xtreme Wheel, E-Z Climb Bubble Wave Fun-nel, and Xtreme Spiral SlidePlastic housing and wire cage (6 mm spacing) make the CritterTrail X a great hamster cage or mouse cageModular design compatible with CritterTrail, Habitrail and SAM systems
Average Customer Rating:
3.235 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(396 Reviews) 396
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 396 reviews
5 stars
111
4 stars
93
3 stars
53
2 stars
56
1 star
83
218 out of 396(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Review 1 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Futuristic and easy to access

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Mount Washington, CA
I love this habitat. Its so easy to put together and clean. The top section even comes out so you can have a safe place to keep your hamster while you're cleaning the rest of the cage. Everything just snaps together and its so spacious, you can view your
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+97points
114of 131voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TX
I got this cage afew years ago for two dwarf hamsters. It was defenately big enough, and they loved it. Ihad to get another wheel for so they could each have there own. Did stink a bit quick, so get oder reducing bedding. . The only think that really anoyed me was the little holes in the wheel let droppings fall through to the wheel holder, but that was easy to wipe up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Starter Cage

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
My dwarf hamster, Twinkle, loved this cage!!! She used it for two years until it seemed like she got bored with it. I then looked for something new for her because she was always in the same spot. It is a little on the small side, but with tubes and extensions (that you need to buy on your own) it makes a great starter cage. Also the green thing on the top makes for easy cleaning!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WAAAAAAYYYYYYY too small!!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
i bought this for my hamster because it was modern looking. i opened and it way too small the minimum cage size is 360 in. it was very expensive and very smelly. after a day of use my bedroom smelled really bad. The wheel was also really loud. i dont recommend this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Small

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Topsham, ME
This cage is way to small for any hamster but 1 dwarf hamster or a small rat/mouse. I have 4 of these crittertrail cages connected and that is hamster heaven!!! Try this cage and 3 more crittertrail cages connected. Not this one alone.
Hannah
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disatisfied

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from brockport,ny
This hamster cage was somewhat difficult to put together. My teddy bear hamster struggled to fit her body through the slide and rotating "wheel". She got so frustrated, she chewed the slide so it can't snap into place with the rest of the cage. The rotating wheel also stopped moving after a couple days, even with vegetable oil. So she stopped using it. The water bottle included would not work and she chewed it anyways.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hamster has so much fun

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dartmouth MA
My hamster loves the fun of it. I loved the deal I got on it. She has a lot of fun in it. I love how I can talk to her when she is in the petting area. I love how the wheel moves in a circle. I love how I can fit the petco brand water bottle over the holder that the cage has already.
Great cage for Dwarf hamsters and other small animals that are small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good And Bad Things About This Cage.

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this cage for my dwarf hamster: Pepper. The cage has great colors and a lot of activities for your hamster to do but...
Wheel: The wheel makes a lot of noise. Also, the circle below the wheel is supposed to catch all the droppings from your hamster but, not for me. My hamsters dropping were every were else besides the dropping guard.
Elbow Tunnel: The tunnel on the side of the cage is a great touch but, was quite small for my hamster to get up.
Petting Zone: The best part of the whole cage is the petting zone. The petting zone is easy to get out and will allow others to see the hamster and touch the hamster. It's also a great place to put your hamster when your cleaning it's cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

O.K. cage

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from hendersonville, nc
My cage is OK. The wheel squeaks at night. the petting cage tabs are really hard to side. the side pops out all the time. My hamsters have a hard time getting in and out of the wheel so they sleep and use the bathroom in there. so when i clean the cage i have to scrub the wheel holes . also the they carry food and bedding up there and then it falls out and gets everywhere the catcher is flat and doesn't work well. Thy only good thing about the cage is the water bottle. it has a black absorb so the bottle doesn't leak and the cage door has a spring to make sure the hamster couldn't knock the door down. i don't recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

If you have a robo dwarf hamster, don't get this.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
When i first got my robo dwarf hamsters, i got them this cage. I looked at the size and it was way too small! Even for just 1 it was too small! For the tube that goes up to the second level, it's too big, my hamster couldn't get up there! The tube the goes to the wheel is impossible for hamsters to get up to! Robo dwarf hamsters are too short to reach up there, and the tub thingy is too slippery, and there is no way he could get up. I had to put my hand inside the cage and give him a huge boost to get him up there to the wheel. The wheel is too hard for them to use! They can't run on it! It's too heavy! So i had to buy a different cage because this one was way too impossible for my hamsters to use. So don't get this unless you want your hamsters to suffer!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for Gerbils

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, MN
We have two small gerbils, I was afraid they would not be able get up and down the tubes because they aren't as large as hamsters, but within a few hours, the gerbils were zooming all around, up and down. We just had one extra tube attachment we purchased, one gerbil seems to like to sleep at the end of it. They both like running around in the wheel . We put in a toilet paper roll and a small cardboard box and they are chewing those, not the slide, at least for now. It's so much fun watching them and being able to see them, so I think it was worth the money. I'm not too concerned if there is a little mess that comes with this cage, it's my son's pet and I make him take care of it, so I won't be doing the cleaning!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Alright

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
The cage has been okay for me, until really recently when the wheel fell off and my hamster escaped. I found my hamster again, but i had to tape the wheel on to the cage. The wheel still spins, but it no longer goes in circles on the track anymore (not that it used to do that all that often). I took the advice from other reviews and taped the wheel's gaps and holes so bowel movements wouldn't fly out. It is alright, but would hope that next time, the would take more care when machining the different parts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cage

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chandler, AZ
This was my second hamster cage, and is one of my favorites. I'll tell you right now, though, the other reviewers were right about that annoying wheel contraption.
However, I just had fun customizing my cage. One of the best parts of CritterTrail cages is the ability to connect, create, and customize, and this one was no exception. I made a series of tubes with a Loop a Loop, an outhouse, and several other expansions. The wheel was replaced with the wonderful silent running exercise wheel.
I plan to expand even more, which makes me love this habitat more than any other.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Cage, But A Little Messy

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
I love this cage almost as much as my two gerbils do! This is a major upgrade from the glass box they used to live in. However, it's a little bit smaller and because of the cage/wire design, it can get a little messy outside of the cage, as my gerbils do love to dig and throw bedding up. They can't get enough of that wheel, although it is very loud. For fear of them chewing on the slide, I always provide them with empty toilet paper rolls to chew on. I also have put the food dish up in the little petting station, so there is a sufficient amount of room for a small igloo below.
Many reviewers have said that the wheel can cause a huge mess outside of the cage, because feces, urine, etc. can fly out. I simply taped shut the 3 small holes and anything that looked like an opening on the wheel to prevent this. (No oxygen deficit worries here, as my gerbils don't spend excessively long periods of time in the wheel anyway.)
I also love the fact that you can easily take off the whole wheel and base attachment and use the yellow cap to close off the remaining hole. This makes it easier to sleep at night if the wheel gets too loud.
Overall, I'd say this would make a very fun cage for both pet and pet owner. I can't wait to buy accessories and attachments. I'm thinking I'll buy the CritterTrail Z soon to expand their fun and home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
I love this habitat! It's really easy to put together and clean. And I love the unique exercise wheel!!! And so does my hamster, Sweetie! I love the small compartment at the top because it's perfect for burrowing and nesting in! (which is exactly what my hammy did!) And since it comes out so easily, it's an excellent place to put your hamster while cleaning the cage!. I also love the fun colors! Overall, this is a great cage and I would highly reccomend it! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Cage

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wenatchee WA
We love this cage. It is better than any other we have had so far. The "petting zone" is used as a "bedroom" for our gerbils providing a safe place for them to sleep that is easy for us to get to. The wheel is the quitest we have found, safe, and they can't chew it up unlike all the others we have tried. This is an amazing home for your pet! The only down side is that our gerbils chewed the bottom half of the slide off. Since they got it to the hight they wanted they haven't chewed it up since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not buy!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from chicago
My hamster has escaped twice within 2 months now from this cages. The latches on the top of that "play pen" part are horribly made and he is able to jiggle it lose and pop up the top.
Also my hamster likes to bring his food and bedding in that wheel and when he turns it, the stuff gets everywhere!! Way too messy.
I plan on buying a new cage this week, I'm tired of cleaning up the mess the wheel creates.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spacious

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Altoona, Pa
My dwarf hamster loves his cage!! Very spacious =) He can't escape, he runs around and loves the slide and climbing the bars. It's a little hard to deconstruct for cleaning but I don't mind it. Wouldn't give this cage up for anything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hamster escapes this cage!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Woodbury, mn
The cage is fun for the hamster but really poorly made! The wheel on top spins and rotates as the hamster runs-if the hamster runs fast enough, the wheel can come off the cage and the hamster gets out-there is no way to tape this because the wheel turns.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet CritterTrail X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Spaceship looking wheel!!!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tallahassee, FL
Very cool colors, but the slide only lasted a week Blaze chewed it down. I also like the top area being separate as I can put his food up there!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>