petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV

Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV

Professional grade cordless nail trimmerThe painless, easy, and humane way to care for your pet's nailsAdjustable nail sizes that optimize safety and controlSafe guard eliminates projectile nail dust and stabilizes the nail3 filing bands with auto-stop feature includedRechargeable battery and charger
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
12 out of 17(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Review 1 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product dont work on medium size dogs

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lawrenceville
from Lawrenceville GA
This was a waste of 30 bucks very bad.must work on puppy nails or cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Difficult to assemble

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eveviola
from New york
After 2 weeks, I and my hubby still can't put product together. Would not buy if I knew. Bringing it to my vet today to see if they can. And pay for nail clipping. What a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my 2nd one

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeDogGO
from Shreveport, LA
I have used the Peticure Elite for years (at least five) on my two small dogs. The instructions say do not charge the battery over 3-4 hours. The people complaining about how it broke after a week probably over-charged the battery. That is why my first one broke. I charged it too long. I ordered a second one and will be careful not to over charge it. It works great. You need to follow the instructions about how to get your dog used to it and I use it late in the day after my dogs are tired so they just lay there mostly. Sometimes they try to get away but it works so fast, it does not take very long to do their nails. Sometimes I will do just the front paws one day and the back paws the next if they are not cooperating. It is much better than clippers. I was always making them bleed and I hated that and so did my dogs. This never makes them bleed. I think its a great product. I don't know if it would work as well on large bred dogs. But it is great for small to medium size dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery Life

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
dlcarp
These batteries should be redesigned. Their recharge life is very short for such an expensive battery.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT FOR TRIMMING PET'S NAILS!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
NANNATERRY
from HOPKINSVILLE,KY
I GOT THIS FOR TRIMMING MY PUPPY'S NAILS. HE WAS A LITTLE SCARED AT FIRST, BUT I USED THE TIPS FROM THE WEBSITE, AND HE SOON BECAME COMFORTABLE WITH THEM.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog trusts me again

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MamaDeDixie
from MN
My poor little dog has very sensitive paws and bleeds VERY easily when her nails are trimmed. I could take a hair's width off of her nails with a dog nail clipper and she would bleed like crazy. I got the peticure when my dad suggested that this might be a way to still get the desired effect, but not have to give my dog a blood transfusion afterwards. :) At first I had to have someone restrain her in order to do her nails. I think there was a trust issue after the few bad experiences we had together with her nails and I think that she didn't really like the noise that it made. However, after a handful of times, she got used to the noise (which isn't really that loud) and she began to trust that the process wasn't going to hurt her. I am now able to file her nails all by myself and she sits still the whole time! I am so excited about this product and would definitely recommend it to a friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie821
I decided to purchase this product when my puppy's nails were finally getting too long and a little to sharp for my liking. I didn't follow the directions where you introduce your dog to the noise of it, but that's because our puppy loves loud noises. She cant resist the hair dryer every morning, and she loves to chase the vacuum every time I bring it out. It did take a bit of work to get her to hold still long enough to do all of her nails, but it worked just like I expected and now I don't have to worry about paying to have them done, or about cutting her quick and hurting her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

satisfied

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Liz87
from Providence, RI
The first Peticure I bought stopped working after less than 5 minutes of use, I exchanged it at a local Petco and the one I got in-store had different (newer) packaging and that one has been working fine.
I like the different sized holes and variable speeds. It's quite loud and took a while for my pup to get used to. My only real complaint is that it's cumbersome and sometimes difficult to handle (especially if you have a dog that doesn't love having his nails filed).
Overall, for the money, I feel satisfied with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Used the peticure once on both paws and found that the nail filings clogged the motor causing it to stop. Had to take apart and turn upside down to get the dust out and then had to manually turn the shaft to get it to work again. Very dissapointed in this product. As for the review that said it is quite...it is VERY loud!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Scared my dog

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
kkrules
from Warren, MI
I'm sure the peticure works fine, however, my dog is still a puppy (8 months old) and she is scared of the noise from the peticure. She struggles, whines and resists getting her nails groomed with it. Maybe when she is older, she will be able to deal with it better. The jury is still out......
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
zoey5
this product is easy to use and wont scare your dog when you turned it on. i highly recommended this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally something that works!

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
DaisyMaine
This Peticure elite is the best! Others may do the same but not safely and not quietly. My Westie is not a fan of having his nails cut and freaks out at the sound of other rotary nail filers. Peticure runs almost silently. The different size hole selections to fit the size of the pups nail is awesome, keeps the hair from getting caught and allows for safe operation. I was able to trim his nails without help and caused absolutely no stress to my dog. No more waiting for the vet or groomer to trim his nails. We just take a few minutes every week and it's done - no clicking nails on the floors so I know he's walking comfortably!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
eurieka
I bought this based on reviews instead of the Pedipaws and it does, as others say, feel like a solid product that holds its charge and does the job. My only complaint is that the largest opening for the nail to the grinder feels a little small for maneuvering the nail to file it down on all sides.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great toe nail grinder

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
reaglebeagle
from Cape Coral, Fl
I recently purchased the Peticure for my 3 Beagles. So far this product is awesome. I was recently using Pedipaws, which the hole for the dogs nail was too big, which would pull their hair, and the batteries would run down after one use. I like the Peticure because it is recharchable and you can adjust the hole for the nail, and it has 10 speeds. I really like this product and would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best product ever

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
PETpet
from Florida
I bought this product because I've a very interactive Labrador and every time i tried to trim my dog'd nail with conventional nail trimmers it hurt him. This product is easy, fast and it doesn't cause any pain to the dog. the instruction manual is very easy to understand. Peticure elite is an exellent nail trimmer for big dogs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for big, black nails

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
AprilandToby
from Idaho
My dog has very thick and completely black nails, I was looking at the options for trimming them and found that clippers, even if by a miracle I missed the quick, didnt really solve the prroblem because they would leave his nails too jagged and sharp. So I started looking at grinder reviews and most of them were negative, but this one had the best rating over all. I went out to the local petco and bought it. It is just what we needed! It takes a little time (especially if you haven't kept up with trimming). They say to take a few days to get your pet used to it, but with a few treats and some persistence Toby was falling asleep during trimming in about an hour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Peticure Elite - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Downiedog
from Oklahoma City, OK
I already owned the Pedipaws, but I found that the batteries would run down after 1 usage due to my dog's large nails. Because the Peticure Elite has a rechargable battery & much more juice to begin with, it is a money and time saver.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.