petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone

All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone

Made of nylon fabric laminated onto 1/2 inch foamElastic loops thread through pet's own collar to keep secureConforms to any shape your pet passes throughIncludes reflective binding to help protect you and your pet while out at nightAllows your pet to eat and drink in comfort
Average Customer Rating:
4.475 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
36 out of 40(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Review 1 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good choice for my dogs needs

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My main reason for trying a padded collar was to help a senior boy I adopted be more comfortable while his skin conditions healed. It adds a soft layer for his head when he sleeps and when he walks into things the soft collar absorbs the impact better than the hard ones. That's what I liked about the doughnut type of collar but "Old Paw" was able to get at the areas around his tail so the cone was necessary. Over all it's a good product that has stayed on and doesn't seem to bother him much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Electrical Sockets Intact

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olive Branch, Mississippi
We purchased the XL for our 2.5 year old lab who had knee surgery. This collar has been A DREAM COME TRUE because he has to be confined to his kennel. The flexible sides allow him to change positions without the heart stopping noise of the plastic collar. The Velcro straps are loud, but for us that is a minimal inconvenience compared to the thrashing we have taken on the legs in the past with the vet provided collar. The rigid support bars are removable which is another plus. He doesn't seem to have any problems getting around the house because the sides fold in when he bumps into something and he doesn't have plastic slamming into his shoulders when there is an impact with furniture, door facings, etc. We can easily push the sides in for entering and exiting the kennel instead of having him go in at an angle. The only con so far has been the lack of visibility, it would be great if it had some type of clear plastic to allow for more than just tunnel vision.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern Iowa
This cone lives up to its name. It is comfy. It's easy to put on - we threaded it onto an extra collar. We borrowed a smaller one from a friend but that one was too short for our dog's nose. He's a lab-brittany mix and required the longer cone. I would have liked an even longer one.
Since the cone is bendable he can, if he tries, get to his back foot and lick the wound there, so we also used a wound boot. Neither is effective alone, but together they are good. A hard cone would work alone, but we like the comfy cone because it doesn't impede him so much just getting around the house when we aren't there to watch him. And it is more comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much better than the traditional alternative

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
I can't say my 6 month old 45lb shepherd mix loved this product...What dog loves being in a cone? However, she definitely preferred it to the plastic buster collar that we took home from the vet's office. The comfy cone is much softer, preventing her from hurting herself when she inevitably bumped into walls and stairs. It also allowed her to be more comfortable when lying down. I love that the velcro closures make it easier to put on and I no longer had to chase my poor puppy around the house while trying to squeeze the plastic cone over her head (traumatic for both of us!). It would be even better if the elastic loops for inserting your dog's collar were a little easier to work with. Overall, great long-lasting product that I would recommend to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too big for small dogs or cats

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from st peters, mo.
4lb yorkie this was too big for her. I bought the smallest one. Also very thick. Do like that you can bend back but it ends up on top of her head without a collar but even that needs to be I think to tight to keep collar when bent back stable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Comfy Cone Is Great !!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
This is an excellent product. I would highly recommend it to anyone that needs to use the "cone of shame" for the animal. It is very durable and actually comfortable enough that our dog doesn't seem to mind wearing it.
The only comment I would make is the Velcro collar is somewhat cumbersome to use. With a little bit of ingenuity, it seems that this could be improved upon. It does provide for ease of mind that it won't come off or allow my dog to squirm out of it. It’s just the getting it off and on seems to be a bit tedious. With this minor modification, I would give the Comfy Cone "five paws". That said, I would buy this product again over any others I’ve found in the market, so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought it would be softer

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I thought the cone would be a great alternative to the E-Cone that all dogs (& of course, their owners) hate. But it was pretty stiff- way more stiff than I expected. While you can take out the stays (the plastic things that make it even stiffer), it was still not the product I thought it would be. Folding it as in the video on their website did not make it a good product for me. My dog hated it & I didn't have the heart to make her wear it.
I just had to watch her more closely & hope that she didn't lick or irritate the surgery site (her knee). Maybe if the area was different, I would have had to force her to wear it, but the incision was inside her knee. Hopefully, it would work for someone else!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Roswell, NM
Love item in that it is not made of hard plastic. Did not fit my small poodle well although I got the right size and attached it to his neck with a collar. Prefer inflatable collar even though I have to replace it quite often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good alternative to rigid cones!

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
This is the 2nd one we have purchased. We have been using this cone for a couple of years now. Our dog has a tumor in her ear that she scratches at and this is very helpful protection when we can't be here to watch her. We bought the additional one so that while one was being washed another is available if needed. It washes well but takes a bit to dry. She sleeps in it every night and does not seem bothered. She can eat/drink while wearing too and it doesn't hurt you or your furniture when they bump into you/it. Do be careful though as if you don't get it on in front of the collar they can manipulate it and squish it up so that they can reach areas that you are trying to protect. It is very durable and the velcro closure stays secure and works day after day. Overall it works really well
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ocean County, NJ
Excellent product. My Lab was comfortable in it and fell asleep with it on without a problem. She had a hot spot on her cheek, and the cone was very easy to clean afterwards. It is well made and will last a long time, and very easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The comfy cone is very easy to remove.

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
Gracie has had numerous surgeries on her eyes and the comfy cone is so easy to remove and put on. She is still able to play with her toys with it on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better collar

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Van Nuys
Used to have the old plastic cone, but this one is better. It's soft, attachable to your dog's collar so it won't slip off if they shake their head. I was only able to find this collar online as my local Petco doesn't carry it in stock, but I'm glad I purchased this cone, just follow this sizing guideline. It's well made therefore I should be able to use this for years if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely worth it.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Umbarger, Tx
Aside from me measuring wrong on the neck to snout distance, leaving it about 1 inch too short. This product still served its purpose. Ivy Sue didn't mind wearing it and was comfortable in it. I am giving this to my mother for her dog and buying another the proper size when her heat comes back around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MN
We have to use this cone for our dog who has allergies. It is comfortable for him and keeps him from licking and biting his skin. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Night Sleep

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
My golden, 95 lbs, age 12, slept great with the Xlarge cone. At first I wasn't sure if he would be able to get in his favorite chair because the Xlarge cone is really long on him but he did. I tried the large cone first but it wasn't long enough to prevent licking hot spot area. I do believe this cone is more comfortable for him when he is sleeping. I may continue to use the old clear plastic cone during the day because he can see more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
My cat has serious recurring allergies and has to be "coned" every few months to heal from her hot spots. I hated the plastic cones because they appeared to be very uncomfortable for her. She's not fond of any cone, but she's much more comfortable in this one and can sleep much better than with the plastic cones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works as it should!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
Compared to the hard plastic "cone of shame" provided by the vet, the Comfy Cone gave my grand-dog a much improved quality of life for the four weeks following her surgery. She was able to lay down and generally negotiate her surrounding much easier, and no gnawing on her cast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much better than a plastic cone

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
We purchased a plastic cone from another pet store after our puppy was neutered. We found out about a week after we purchased the cone that it didn't fit right(we have a petit min pin thats just under 7 pounds and 8 months old) and our puppy had been licking his stitches when we weren't home, so he ended up with an infection. Once we figured this out, we came to Petco and purchased the Comfy Cone, although the only one they carried was black(no big deal). Its adjustable, so it fits perfectly. Our puppy is a little feisty, so being able to fold the cone hasn't come in handy, he just eats and drinks around it, but its a useful feature. He's healed nicely and hasn't been able to lick at all. Well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from LAKELAND, FLA.
My shih tzu Sophie is dealing with an ulcerated cornea and was given a long, hard cone after surgery. It was so difficult for her to deal with that she was miserable. My good friend in La. suggested a soft cone, and I went online with you to find such a thing. I was not only pleased to find that you had one, but three alternatives for Sophie! Not only did she immediately know the difference, within 2 hrs. she was running and chasing the cat!! I cannot tell you how wonderful this Comfy Cone is!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for All Four Paws Tan Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love this cone!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Riceville, TN
I have a 140lb Bloodhound that recently had surgery on his front leg to remove a benign tumor. After four weeks of him banging me in the legs with the hard plastic cone, half a roll of ducttape to hold it together, and battling to get it on and off of him I decided there had to be something better. I found the Comfy Cone and thought "I'll never find one to fit" but I did. He has a 25" neck and the X-Large fit him perfectly. He loves it and will actually stick his head in it without a fight. No more bruises on me. It's flexible enough that he can get in his dog house. He wore it two weeks and it looks as new now as it did when I bought it. His leg finally healed so I removed the stays and tossed it in the wash. It came out looking like new. We will NEVER go back to the plastic cone! This one cost more than the plastic cone but is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>