petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture

Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture

American Craftsman styling presents a clean, simple designProtective felt pads prevent scratches, chips or dents on floorsGenerous lounging area is 20" X 13"Raised edges & plush cushioning cradle your cat in comfortUpholstered in neutral, soft and durable micro-fiber suede fabric
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Review 1 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Somewhat Disappointed

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange, CA
I received the box right out of the hands of the UPS driver, and it had no apparent damage. Upon unpacking, one of the wooden supports had broken apart. Not wanting to ship the whole thing back, I drilled out the wooden dowels, inserted new ones, and glued it back together. Not a good start.
On assembling the unit, the supplied allen wrench was not a good fit for their bolts. It was a little loose, and for some bolts, it would not grip at all. I had to search through my collection of allen keys to find a better fit. Strike two.
The so-called "padded" seats have next to no padding whatsoever. My two cats won't go near this thing. I'll have to find some better cushion material and get out the tools again.
On the plus side, it looks nice, and fits in with my other natural wood in the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it! Easy assembly, sturdy.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ogden, UT
Just wish it had detachable, washable seat covers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A piece of junk

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MASS
My husband is now in his 2nd hour of trying to put the double seat together: He has put together MANY pieces of cat furniture and human furniture, so his expertise is not the problem. Here's what's going wrong, so far: The holes for a few of the screws aren't "primed" correctly, that is, the screws won't grab b/c the holes are either too shallow or the metal bits inside of them are set too low. A few of the holes are on a slant, so the screws won't go in straight. We don't want to deal with the hassle of returning the furniture, so my husband is using Gorilla Glue and electrician's tape to keep the screws from popping out of the holes OR to keep them "grabbing" the holes. He has also had to use an electric drill to rework some of the holes. Heaven knows how long this piece will last, but I'm not optimistic. The craftsmanship of the company leaves a lot to be desired. We will definitely not buy anything from them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as expected

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Shreveport, LA
I give this piece of furniture a big thumbs up! It was exactly as I thought it would be and you really can't ask for more than that. I am glad that cat furniture is starting to have more options without the carpet covering. I have two long hair and two short hair cats and even though the padded portion catches some hair it is a relief to not have hair stuck to every inch and then deal with the loose carpet fibers and cat hair when it's time to clean. Also, very easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Perch!

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
I was looking for a piece of furniture that would allow my cat to lounge and look out the window. I didn't like the idea of drilling holes into our wall so I didn't like the typical window perches and carpeted cat furniture is not pleasant to look at and 4 times the price. My cat loves this piece and it matches our wood floors. It is big enough so that he can lay out (he is a big cat) but sleek enough to where we hardly even notice it. Great purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Piece

PostedJune 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I bought this piece so our cats could have a place to sit off the floor and look out the window too. They love it. They can just lounge on either of the perches or sit up and look out the window at all the activity. The piece itself is great quality and looks very nice in our living room. It is not the typical carpet cat furniture and blends in nicely. I would definitely recommend this piece to anyone looking for a cat perch/lounge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Perch!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Elyria, OH
I bought this to replace the boxes (of unfinished projects) I had stacked near my computer. This was a popular locale for my cats. I'm mechanically-challenged, to put it kindly, but I was able to assemble this without much difficulty. It was easy to carry from my living room to my den and doesn't take up a lot of space. All three of my cats have been on it, although for 12 hours or so it was viewed with extreme suspicion. The perches are big enough for my ragdoll to lounge on, although the top perch is naturally the most popular.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We love it; the cats--well, jury is still out

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, Virginia
Wanting to replace the ugly stack of cardboard boxes in our bay window the cats use for watching birds and squirrels and also for napping, we searched store after store for an attractive and properly-designed piece of cat furniture. We found it in the "Mr. Herzher's Double Seat" piece.
Assembling the piece was easy--all you need is the Allen wrench that comes with it--and fast. One foot is off a little, causing the piece to wobble slightly, but that's easily fixed. It's as attractive as the photo suggests, and well-made.
After two weeks, however, the cats have shown little interest in it--but that may be because we haven't discarded the old cardboard stuff yet, which they continue to hop into. We'll toss it out next week and see what that does to their attitude.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
every one of my cats like this. we bought it to put in front of the fish tank for easy viewing and they all fight to be the one on the top level
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Herzher's Double Seat Feline Furniture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice enough for the living room

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I just couldn't bring myself to buy the standard plush cat furniture, they're unattractive and take up too much space. I'm very happy with this double perch. It was easy to assemble and although it wobbled a little on wood floors, we put a felt adhesive pad under the short leg and now it's perfectly steady. It's light weight and I can move it from room to room, window to window. I'm lucky the black and tan colors blend in with my color scheme. I really like the way it looks. One reviewer complained they weren't cushy. It's true they don't have much padding, but my cat prefers it to her thick round cat beds. She's on it around the clock instead of sleeping on my bed at night. That's a very high feline endorsement. Everybody's happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.