petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps

Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps

Perfect for small pets & older aging pets with joint problemsProtective pads keeps floors free of scratches and in place on non-carpeted floorsCarpet treads keeps pets from slipping going up or downSolid wood with polyurethane finish coordinates with most any décor
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Review 1 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is great

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
bettyboop9124
from Arbuckle, CA
I Love this! I bought for my 6 yr old Bassett hound when I couldn't lift him on the bed anymore. He loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FALLS APART

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovemylabpoodle
from north miami, fl
I purchased the steps a couple of months ago and was please with the look . The downside is putting it together was a headache and the wood has completely fallen apart. Some pieces have chipped. I would not recommend this to anyone with a large dog. BIG EXPENSE, WASTE OF MONEY, VERY POOR QUALITY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
finkel
from Marshfield, WI
Made very nicely. Bought it for my new puppy, he's a little taken back by it yet. But my Persian LOVES it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with the quality of this product.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MayasGramma
from Poughkeepsie, NY
I recently purchased the steps to help my 9-year old basset hound get up onto the bed since I can no longer lift her with my bad back. My husband and son put the steps together with ease and I was very happy with the sturdiness/dressy appearance of the steps. The only problem is I still cannot get our basset to use them! She's still afraid! But I'm not giving up hope.....she'll just have to be an old dog who learns a new trick!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Incadove
from Arizona
These are great looking steps for the price - much nicer than the plastic ones they replaced. Assembly is easy - even with my arthritic hands. Took about 15 minutes tops. If you're looking for something that is functional, yet classy looking, this is your product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THESE STEPS!!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
KelleyP
from Clayton, NC
Did a lot of research on which steps to buy for my dog. She is a mini dachshund and she couldn't get up on the new bed I just bought (It's 30" from floor to top of mattress). I decided on these steps because they looked very nice and were the right height. They take about 1/2 hour to put together and have lots of paper towels handy because you're using a bit of glue. They are VERY sturdy and match my dark cherry furniture. It took about 5 min. to coax her with treats to use the steps and now she's a pro. Also, they are wide enough that she feels comfortable going back down them. Many steps I looked at were just too narrow!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

look beautiful

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
soccarmom
from MT
These matched our bedroom set perfectly and look stylish. I wish the carpet was removable for washing but other than that I an very happy with the quality and appearance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What Took Me So Long?!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
CharliChloesMom
from Southern California
What took me so long to purchase this item?! Now my dogs can get up and down from my bed anytime she wants. Yes, my dogs rule the house.... And the decorative dark wood goes perfect with my bedroom furniture too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect steps

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
LynnaG
I purchased the Mr Herzher's 3-step Decorative pet steps and I'm extremely pleased. I needed a way for our dachshund mix to get on to our bed. She has autoimmune hemolytic anemia and takes steroids daily. With this medication she has gained several pounds and could no longer use the step stool she had been using. She had recently jumped down from the bed and hurt her back, and when this happened I started searching for a new way for her to get on the bed. Most pet stores don't carry steps, or what steps they do have are plastic & flimsy. My search online gave me some more possibilities, but I was concerned about how big each step surface was. I knew that if they were too narrow, she wouldn't use them. These are the perfect size!
After reading reviews and the specs on this product, I decided to take a chance. I know there were people upset that glue is used to put these together, but that only makes for a stronger piece of furniture. The way these are designed, it was easy to put together and they feel very solid. I even tried them out and I weigh 110 pounds. I didn't feel like the steps were bending or not stable/sturdy. My dog loves the steps and she looks like she is very happy that she can come and go as she pleases. The extra money for these was well worth the happiness of our baby!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed review

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
givemeabreak77
from Greenville SC
The quality was not what I had hoped for. The wood was craked on the side parts and then I put it together the lower part splintered. I glued them together and am using it. I did not want to wait for a replacement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just "WOW"

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Goodoggy
One of those items that live up to their billing.
Easy to assemble, very well constructed, high quality look.
Do not let the $ scare you away. This is a beautiful set of stairs. Well worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
zlowe
It only took one day for both my dog and cat to use the stairs. It looks great and was very easy to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have for geriatric pets

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Klepac
from Kansas City, MO
I recently purchased Mr. Herzher's 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps for my 14 year-old feline. It is a quality piece that is easy to put together. The wood has a nice dark finish. It is a bit more expensive than some of the other steps out there but well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Steps

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorado
I purchased the steps for my aging Golden Retriever to replace a set that I had made. He has no problem walking up the steps and likes. The construction seems to very stable and firm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solvit 3-Step Decorative Pet Steps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price!

PostedMay 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This set of steps is a great investment! Very sturdy and well constructed they not only look great but can hold the weight of our 50+ lb basset hound. I can even walk up and down these stairs (although they are not recommended for human use) which means they could support a dog of almost any size. They were easy to assemble and look better than the picture represents. I would recommend them to all!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.