petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solvit Smart Ramp

Solvit Smart Ramp

Non-slip feet at both ends keep the collapsible dog ramp for trucks in placeLightweight at just 16 pounds these big dog ramps support up to 300 lbs.Smooth edges & rounded corners protect pets, people & car surfacesDual pinch-free grip areas for easy transportNo assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solvit Smart Ramp
Review 1 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solvit smart ramp

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Absolutely exactly what we needed. It fits in our door opening for the back seat as well as extends to get our dogs up in the hatchback area. So much easier on our arthritic German Shepherd.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Solvit Smart Ramp is perfect for our needs

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Muskegon, MI
We recently purchased a 2009 Ford F-150 4x4 super cab and take our 9 year old yellow lab with us when we travel. I could see it was going to be hard for him to continually get in and out of the truck without hurting himself. I did some research on pet ramps and decided the smart ramp was the way to go for us. Once I received it, I could see it is very sturdy, good gripping material on the surface so our dog can have good traction and it is reasonably light weight. After a couple of quick training sessions our dog runs up and down the ramp like we have always had it. I'm very happy with this purchase and highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kingston, NY
This ramp works just as I thought it would. That dosen't happen often. It's easy to use and easy to put away. My 110 lb. Shepard walks up and down it without difficulty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What a difference a company makes...

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Doweney, CA
We purchased an aluminimum folding version of a dog ramp. It was too much hassle to open and close, plus, there were many sharp edges that scratched the inside of the car and the rivets holding the two pieces had very sharop points. I had to put duct tape all over it. Then, we bought this Smart Ramp. What a difference a company makes. Although it sticks some when trying to open or close it, and, it does not have a carrying handle, it is so much better than the metal one, even though this one is $50 more in cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Ramp

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Northern New Jersey
We traveled with a ten year old yellow Lab who is over one hundred pounds and who is starting to show his age to Florida and back in an SUV and this product saved my back from having to lift him in and out of the vehicle. The product was well worth the money. It is well made and easy to store in the vehicle. After a few practice sessions before we left, the dog had no trouble going in and out of the vehicle. It did not bend when he was on it like some of them do and the dog did not mind going up and down the ramp. We used the ramp at least fifty times during the trip and had no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Clermont,FL
I'm happy to report that the ramp does hold my labs weight......and is sturdy while he goes up and down it.
Does not fit on the side door entry of a ford explorer, too wide, and door only opens so far. fits only the back tail gate door. Wish is were a little wider, but is the common width of these ramps, and is easy to store. Hoping it lasts for a long while
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Herzher's Smart Ramp

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kimberley, BC
Ramp slides in and out smoothly. Very sturdy for my shepard lab X. Only downside I'm not happy with, is the non-slip grip. It's more like a hard plastic that my dog finds a little slippery. Especially going up from the snow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rockaway Beach, NY
Easy to set up, store, take down, move.. very light and easy to carry. My older pit bull is in recovery from a back injury (also he has arthritis) and could neither do stairs nor get into our Jeep. He weighs 78 pounds, so lifting him/carrying him was not a great option for our backs! The ramp is non-slip and adjusts to a really nice length. My dog figured out how to use it quickly and now seems to enjoy it. The only downside is, there's no cover or carrying case to protect your vehicle interior when you pack the ramp. A bit pricey, but my dog is worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great investment

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
This ramp was really worth the investment. I use it for my greyhound getting out of my Honda CR-V. This ramp will save your back, and your dog, if you have injured or bigger/older dogs who should not be jumping in or out of the car. It fits perfectly in the back of my car so it is convenient to travel with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ramp

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mebane, NC
My dog has a bad back and the vet has recommended that she no longer go down steps. She uses this ramp with ease. It holds up great in weather. We leave it out at our back steps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ramp

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
This ramp has different colored sides that are raised so my dog feels comfortable walking up it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy on the dog, easy on the humans!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
Molly is a 90 pound bassador - basset and black lab - who loves to ride in her Daddy's F-150! However, getting her in and out is a back breaking process for Daddy and hard on Molly as well. We bought this hoping to use it for both the truck and our travel trailer, and we are absolutely thrilled. My husband places the ramp against the door frame of the truck, and up she goes - and getting in and out of the RV is no problem at all. It took a couple of times to acclimate her, but we found that if we had her on the lead and walked next to the ramp, she went right up. Now she goes up and down without coaxing. The fact that the ramp is so lightweight and telescopes makes it easy to stash behind the truck seat. Hubby has a bad back, and I have a hard time picking her up, but the Smart Ramp has solved all that! I highly recommend the Smart Ramp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elsie actually uses it

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from West Shokan, NY
My very large dog Elsie completely ruptured her ACL and had to undergo TTA (knee replacement) surgery. She is not allowed to run or jump, etc. for the next 4-6 months. She has frequent vet check-ups and loves rides in the car in general.
Because Elsie is so large (90+ pounds), lifting her into the car is not an option and creates more problems in the attempt. I ordered the Smart Ramp...good move! It came two days after surgery. Elsie has never used a ramp and was afraid of any homemade concoction I came upwith! I put the Smart Ramp onto the back of my station wagon and she walked right up and down! It is sturdy, easy to use, and non-threatening! Great product! We love it! And now she can safely come for her much-loved car rides!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great for my Bassett Hound

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, CO
I give this item 5 stars for my Bassett Hound. I give this product 3 stars for my aging Great Dane. My Dane has a hard time getting traction up the ramp, but has no problem going down the ramp. It's hard to use by myself while loading the Great Dane. Much easier loading the Dane with two people. It works for tall dogs, just be sure to "guide" them up the ramp. Otherwise a fine product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart Ramp does the job

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chapel Hill, NC
The smart ramp is an excellent way for my dog to enter and exit our SUV without having to jump or impact. At seven years we are more concerned about her not having hip and leg problems. This helps a lot!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great light weight ramp

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Northern, NJ
I like everything about this ramp except it could be a little longer. the back of my vehicle is quite high and it makes the slope very steep. other wise I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
We have a bulldog and a Newfoundland, and this ramp is wonderful. We use it to get them in and out of a full size pickup. It is very sturdy and doesn't bounce. Both dogs only took about 2 hours to feel 100% comfortable using it. We found parking next to a curb while they were getting used to it helped, as it lowered lowered the angle of incline.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

saved me and the dog

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Resaca, Ga.
I am in my 50's with a 9 year old dog who is 120+ lbs. This ramp saved my back and my dogs hips. There is ever any movement when she is on the ramp and she is able to go right up. I wish I got this years ago to help her into the back seat of the truck. The non skid finish marks easily but the finish isn't hurt with the marks. I would happily recommend this product to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Shelf! Except...

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sir Winston is a 7 yr old Sheltie who is limping from time to time. I travel in my monster RV Class A coach and it has high steps. My thoughts were that he was jaring his leg joints with the amount of "in and out" we do as we are both active. I have only been using the ramp for a fortenight and his limping has just about disappeared. Product is excellently made, fairly light weight and actractive to the eye. The extension slides easily. I extend and retract the extension on every use so I can keep the ramp inside in the stair well to keep the weather off of it. Works great! Only prob encountered is that the ramp must be turned to the top end down as there are no "clips" at the top to keep the extension fast. So, I must reverse the ramp so the top is at the bottom to be able to lift the ramp in and out of the coach for use. However, it is not a prob, merely a minor issue. I am a product designer and manufacturer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solvit Smart Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A REAL LIFE SAVER

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Southington, CT
I purchased this ramp to help my 8 mo. old Rottie puppy into the back seat of my pick-up truck...there isn't much room and it's pretty high off the ground so she balked at jumping in or out on her own...The product arrived here within 2 days and, after luring her onto it in the house using hot dog bits as bait, she took to it in a flash...now she's in and out of the truck in a flash and seems pretty pleased with herself to boot...it's light weight, telescopes easily and doesn't take up much room in the truck at all...a real life saver for my back...she won't be a puppy for long. It may be the best pet purchase I've ever made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>