petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

Free-standing wooden dog gate lets you easily place and move it as neededSide panels add stability and help prevent tippingRubber feet protect your floors and prevent the gate from slidingLow profile allows you to step right over barrierHardwood pet gates made from sustainable rubberwood
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
1
84 out of 87(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Review 1 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from DFW, TX
This gate with its finish looks very attractive in my home. It is tall enough to keep my small dag out, yet short enough for an adult to step over easily. Finally, it comes nearly assembled, so it is very easy to finish putting together. I highly recommend this gate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Sturdy

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
We had one dog who scratched our interior garage door when she heard us pull in - this gate works great to prevent that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for our pug

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Glendale CA
The gate is nice looking but unfortunately did not work for our pug puppy. He simply jumped over it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
I was concerned about not being able to find a puppy gate that would meet my needs (i.e. regarding aesthetics and function). But this item has been spot on! It goes well with my mid century modern decor and allows me to keep my puppy in a designated area or room with ease; and I'm able to come and go with simplly stepping over the gate. It's sturdy and nicely designed. I'm very pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate works Fab for Maltipoo Breed

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bluffton,SC
Love how it adjusts to area that I needed to keep my toy breed in a boundary for ease of training!
Thanks Petco for offering this made my life easier by far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Gate

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lampe, MO
Was very pleased with the quality of this gate. Because it has hinged panels on either side, it gives you options. I removed one side panel so that I could place it right up against my stairs and it is still is sturdy. Simply had to remove a pin from one of the hinges - so simple. The metal work is a really nice touch and ties in well with the iron on my stairs. To adjust the size, you need to remove and move 2-3 bolts. Not as simple as some gates, but it is something that I really don't need to do while I use it for these stairs and it can be done in just a few minutes. Priced very well also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Edmond OK
Great looking and very functional. Price is very good considering quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made gate- looks great in a room

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I purchased the large first as my opening was at the high end of the small one. The large was too heavy- my opening was at the low end of its range. I ordered the small and it's perfect. Much lighter to handle because it's shorter. Didn't need all the extra weight of the large because even set at the longest opening it is very sturdy- can be picked up and moved easily. It goes great with our natural wood work. I was tired of making marks on the doorways with adj gates. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY HAPPY WITH THIS GATE

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from cumming ga
i AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS DOG GATE. IT IS VERY WELL MADE AND IS VERY ATTRACTIVE. I ORDERED A 2ND ONE AFTER I LIKED THE FIRST ONE SO MUCH. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Works well, better than any other we have tried. Have tried 3 others and none were as good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect gate, just like furniture too!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MD
My dachshunds are quite happy and well contained by the (2) step-over-gates we purchased (one short and one wide). They are solid, well constructed, and more like furniture than the white metal gates we were using. The gates were exactly as advertised and quite easy to assemble and size to doorways.
Because of the rubber feet, they work well on both hardwood and porcelain tile floors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful wood

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Goes very nice in my home and easy to put together. I love the fact it is sturdy. I bought for the two new kittens I have coming home soon and will see how well it works. I like the design so I can use to either keep them out of the kitchen while I am cooking or keep them out of the living room while I am away from home. It is very versatile if you use it for smaller pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does exactly what was required

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Bought two gates - my kitchen has two archways from the main traffic area. These gates are secure and non slip and my two 10lb fur babies are unable to push it out of the way. My only small caveat would be that if you are concerned about the aesthetics of the item, it was obvious that the 4 individual pieces of each gate were not from the same manufacturing session and were noticeably different colors. Overall this was not a deal breaker for me, but might be for others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Free standing pet gate

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, CA
This order came in a timely manner. When it arrived there were clear instructions as to assembly. Since our gate has been up we have received many complements about how it looks in our home. the wood frame and the black metal wires do enhance our open hallway. It also performs well and keeps our dog our of our living room and dining room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for my Havanese

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This gate works perfectly for what I needed in terms of width and height. I love that it expands to 70-something inches because I actually use this outside on my covered porch to allow my doggie to come sit with me without worrying about her running down to the street. The height is nice too, just under 2 feet I think, because it's tall enough for her so she can't jump the fence (she's a Havenese, about 15 lbs.), but low enough for people to step over with ease. The only thing I don't love about this gate is that the width is not easily adjustable. In order to make the gate wider or more narrow, you have to unscrew the front panels of the gate, adjust the gate to the width you want it to be, then re-screw the front panels to hold the gate in place at the new width. It's not super hard to do this, but it would be a lot more convenient if the gate could be adjusted without having to screw/unscrew every time you want to change it's size. Got this on sale, 50% off on Petco's website, and it was worth it. Construction is very nice looking and durable. No flimsiness here! Good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
Easy to assemble. Good quality. Be sure that dog cannot jump over gate, my 10 lb. dog did immediately after assembly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for rabbits and easy to put together

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I love this gate which I purchased to keep my dwarf rabbit out of my living room. It was easy to put together and easy for me to slide to the side when I put her back in the pen. I have purchased several baby gates and pet gates, this one is by far the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and is easy to set up

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
This product is well made, with beautiful materials. It was very quick and easy to set up, and is very easy to use. I wanted to contain my Jack Russell Terrier to the kitchen when I go out during the day, but wanted the doorways open and free when I home. I can easily lift the gates out of the way, and then set them back when I need to. They are also very attractive, not detracting from the decor in the rooms. I highly recommend them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice gate but...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clarita
This gate is well made, sturdy and very easy to assemble. I put this gate at the bottom of the stairs to keep the dogs from coming up. Both are small dogs so I thought this gate was sufficient. Well... I didn't the anticipate the ingenuity and persistence of my adorable dogs. They got a running start and leaped right over it. Well, I had to return the gate at our local Petco, which was a very easy process. I will have to order a taller gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Gate

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ca
What a great gate. It's attractive and moves easily. My dog is small enough so she is unable to push against it, so I can use it on any door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>