petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

Free-standing design allows for easy placementSide Panel design prevents tipping overRubber Feet protect floor surfaces & prevent slidingLow height allows you to simply step overBeautiful hardwood construction
Average Customer Rating:
4.747 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
69 out of 71(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Review 1 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for rabbits and easy to put together

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
dawnnyc
from NYC
I love this gate which I purchased to keep my dwarf rabbit out of my living room. It was easy to put together and easy for me to slide to the side when I put her back in the pen. I have purchased several baby gates and pet gates, this one is by far the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and is easy to set up

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jude14
from Long Island, NY
This product is well made, with beautiful materials. It was very quick and easy to set up, and is very easy to use. I wanted to contain my Jack Russell Terrier to the kitchen when I go out during the day, but wanted the doorways open and free when I home. I can easily lift the gates out of the way, and then set them back when I need to. They are also very attractive, not detracting from the decor in the rooms. I highly recommend them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice gate but...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
SCVmomof3
from Santa Clarita
This gate is well made, sturdy and very easy to assemble. I put this gate at the bottom of the stairs to keep the dogs from coming up. Both are small dogs so I thought this gate was sufficient. Well... I didn't the anticipate the ingenuity and persistence of my adorable dogs. They got a running start and leaped right over it. Well, I had to return the gate at our local Petco, which was a very easy process. I will have to order a taller gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Gate

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dog8801
from Ca
What a great gate. It's attractive and moves easily. My dog is small enough so she is unable to push against it, so I can use it on any door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate Ever

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MalShiLover
from East Peoria, IL
This is the third Richelle free standing gate I've purchased in the last four months. I've replaced all of the metal tension door frame gates on the mail level of my home. Not only are the free standing gates attractive, but very easy to assemble. I do have one with a gate and love it!! Petco has a wide variety of gates to choose from and the online chat is wonderful if you have questions. Shipping was free and received item much quicker than expected!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
GandC
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I'm very pleased with this purchase. The quality is exactly what I was looking for in a gate. It does not look tacky like most gates and it fits nicely with the decor. It's adaptable to any area of the house of which is another great feature of this gate. Another is the height you don’t have to be a gymnast to step over it. I would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking gate and easy to put together!

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeber
from Oceanside CA
This gate looks great and matches my home perfectly, the wood is warm honey tone with black metal in the middle, it swings out of the way very easily and is low enough to step over, i only wish it cam in a slightly taller size. Our 12 week old doberman puppy was able to jump over, but as long as I'm on the same side of the gate he wont jump over.
This gate is perfect for small dogs and ok for keeping large dogs contained. overall a great buy!
And sorry about the sideways picture i couldn't get it to work
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet gate

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kizzi
from San Antonio, Texas
I love my new pet gate. It's great for my pom and shi tzu and I can step over it with no problem., but it still conttains time. It also blends with my furniture
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv it

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilysmum
from san diego
looks beautiful, matches my stairs, adjustable and my teens sons can step over it ....safely. (they cannot take the time to open a gate)
Because it's so adjustable, I can put it snugly in place and my yorkies cannot paw at it until they've moved it.
Wish I had gotten it sooner. Looks like it was custom made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
FranD
from Villa Park, CA
It is a very nice looking gate....
I wish I would have purchased it long before I did.
Great gate everyone thought it was much nicer that they expected.
Looks like furniture and easy to step over....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
petrus
from NJ
I love this gate! it's soo beautiful and it's solid with high quality. We use to use 12" closet shelving with the lip on the floor so it would stand at the entrances by itself, altho closet shelving was cleaner looking then the taller dog gates from other companies it was still not as pretty as Richell gates. My dogs are trained not to jump anything in doorways, rather it be 5" tall or 20". We only like step over gates. It's so much more easier and cleaner looking. Richell gate are beautiful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
spiffita
from Fort Irwin, CA
We wanted to confine our pets to one half of our living room without having to make our home seem disjointed and this product does the trick!
No more tripping over baby gates that are too high or having to deal with unsightly metal pens... it was a bit pricey, but well worth the money - in my opinion.
We're actually contemplating on getting a second one, we love it so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate...a definite winner!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paby
from DFW, Texas
This pet gate is a little pricey but worth every penny! I have 4 adult westies and was skeptical about getting a freestanding design because I thought they would knock it over. I was also concerned with the "step-over" height of the gate being one that they could just jump over. All of these concerns vanished as soon as I received this beautifully designed wood and metal gate by Richell. It is very attractive and very sturdy in design and materials! It does not detract from the home/furniture and fits in beautifully. The black metal rungs virtually disappear and don't stand out like the light plastic built-in child gate I had for them prior to getting this beautiful gate. They are unable to knock it over and cannot jump over...it's perfect! I highly recommend this Richell Gate and it's well worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadyRider
I have an xsmall dog and this gate is perfect.
Adjusting the length of the gate requires taking screws out and moving them to adjusted length.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product! Great price!

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mamato3
from Portland OR
I have nothing negative to say about this gate! It looks beautiful and was easy to assemble. It's short enough for me to easily step over, but even my big dogs (Shepard/husky mix) won't jump it. A great buy for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful quality

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greenglass
from Crownsville, MD
Excellent gate for keeping little ones where you want them. The gate is very attractive heavy oak and easy to step over. The 70 inches long was just what we needed. Buy with confidence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robertak
from Gilbertsville,Pa
We ended up purchasing four of these gates...2 small and 2 large. They look great in our house which is very important to us. And they block the room access perfectly! They are made well and easy to assemble too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seabeegirl
I love this pet gate. It's attractive and sturdy and keeps my yorkie puppies from wandering into areas of the house that I'm not ready for them to be in as they're not fully housetrained yet. I use it for an opening that is 60" wide and it fits perfectly. In spite of the puppies jumping on it, it doesn't move at all. It's easy to walk over and is much more attractive than the plain white baby gates. I would definitely buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Gate

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shammystar
from Orem, UT
This gate is so versatile and fit a large space that we were having a hard time finding something for and that didn't need to attach on the sides because we have a bannister on the opposite side. It also looks nice since it is more than just a temporary fix. It was well worth it, and the price was reasonable compared to all the other gates we looked at.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Beautifully

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
catanddogmom
from Virginia
My husband was tired of the walls losing paint with the other 'pressure' babygates. This gate is ideal and doesn't damage the walls AND it looks really good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>