petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

Free-standing wooden dog gate lets you easily place and move it as neededSide panels add stability and help prevent tippingRubber feet protect your floors and prevent the gate from slidingLow profile allows you to step right over barrierHardwood pet gates made from sustainable rubberwood
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
69
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Review 1 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Edmond OK
Great looking and very functional. Price is very good considering quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made gate- looks great in a room

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I purchased the large first as my opening was at the high end of the small one. The large was too heavy- my opening was at the low end of its range. I ordered the small and it's perfect. Much lighter to handle because it's shorter. Didn't need all the extra weight of the large because even set at the longest opening it is very sturdy- can be picked up and moved easily. It goes great with our natural wood work. I was tired of making marks on the doorways with adj gates. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY HAPPY WITH THIS GATE

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from cumming ga
i AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS DOG GATE. IT IS VERY WELL MADE AND IS VERY ATTRACTIVE. I ORDERED A 2ND ONE AFTER I LIKED THE FIRST ONE SO MUCH. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Works well, better than any other we have tried. Have tried 3 others and none were as good
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect gate, just like furniture too!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MD
My dachshunds are quite happy and well contained by the (2) step-over-gates we purchased (one short and one wide). They are solid, well constructed, and more like furniture than the white metal gates we were using. The gates were exactly as advertised and quite easy to assemble and size to doorways.
Because of the rubber feet, they work well on both hardwood and porcelain tile floors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful wood

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Goes very nice in my home and easy to put together. I love the fact it is sturdy. I bought for the two new kittens I have coming home soon and will see how well it works. I like the design so I can use to either keep them out of the kitchen while I am cooking or keep them out of the living room while I am away from home. It is very versatile if you use it for smaller pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does exactly what was required

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Bought two gates - my kitchen has two archways from the main traffic area. These gates are secure and non slip and my two 10lb fur babies are unable to push it out of the way. My only small caveat would be that if you are concerned about the aesthetics of the item, it was obvious that the 4 individual pieces of each gate were not from the same manufacturing session and were noticeably different colors. Overall this was not a deal breaker for me, but might be for others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Free standing pet gate

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, CA
This order came in a timely manner. When it arrived there were clear instructions as to assembly. Since our gate has been up we have received many complements about how it looks in our home. the wood frame and the black metal wires do enhance our open hallway. It also performs well and keeps our dog our of our living room and dining room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for my Havanese

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This gate works perfectly for what I needed in terms of width and height. I love that it expands to 70-something inches because I actually use this outside on my covered porch to allow my doggie to come sit with me without worrying about her running down to the street. The height is nice too, just under 2 feet I think, because it's tall enough for her so she can't jump the fence (she's a Havenese, about 15 lbs.), but low enough for people to step over with ease. The only thing I don't love about this gate is that the width is not easily adjustable. In order to make the gate wider or more narrow, you have to unscrew the front panels of the gate, adjust the gate to the width you want it to be, then re-screw the front panels to hold the gate in place at the new width. It's not super hard to do this, but it would be a lot more convenient if the gate could be adjusted without having to screw/unscrew every time you want to change it's size. Got this on sale, 50% off on Petco's website, and it was worth it. Construction is very nice looking and durable. No flimsiness here! Good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
Easy to assemble. Good quality. Be sure that dog cannot jump over gate, my 10 lb. dog did immediately after assembly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for rabbits and easy to put together

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I love this gate which I purchased to keep my dwarf rabbit out of my living room. It was easy to put together and easy for me to slide to the side when I put her back in the pen. I have purchased several baby gates and pet gates, this one is by far the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and is easy to set up

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
This product is well made, with beautiful materials. It was very quick and easy to set up, and is very easy to use. I wanted to contain my Jack Russell Terrier to the kitchen when I go out during the day, but wanted the doorways open and free when I home. I can easily lift the gates out of the way, and then set them back when I need to. They are also very attractive, not detracting from the decor in the rooms. I highly recommend them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice gate but...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clarita
This gate is well made, sturdy and very easy to assemble. I put this gate at the bottom of the stairs to keep the dogs from coming up. Both are small dogs so I thought this gate was sufficient. Well... I didn't the anticipate the ingenuity and persistence of my adorable dogs. They got a running start and leaped right over it. Well, I had to return the gate at our local Petco, which was a very easy process. I will have to order a taller gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Gate

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ca
What a great gate. It's attractive and moves easily. My dog is small enough so she is unable to push against it, so I can use it on any door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate Ever

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East Peoria, IL
This is the third Richelle free standing gate I've purchased in the last four months. I've replaced all of the metal tension door frame gates on the mail level of my home. Not only are the free standing gates attractive, but very easy to assemble. I do have one with a gate and love it!! Petco has a wide variety of gates to choose from and the online chat is wonderful if you have questions. Shipping was free and received item much quicker than expected!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I'm very pleased with this purchase. The quality is exactly what I was looking for in a gate. It does not look tacky like most gates and it fits nicely with the decor. It's adaptable to any area of the house of which is another great feature of this gate. Another is the height you don’t have to be a gymnast to step over it. I would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking gate and easy to put together!

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside CA
This gate looks great and matches my home perfectly, the wood is warm honey tone with black metal in the middle, it swings out of the way very easily and is low enough to step over, i only wish it cam in a slightly taller size. Our 12 week old doberman puppy was able to jump over, but as long as I'm on the same side of the gate he wont jump over.
This gate is perfect for small dogs and ok for keeping large dogs contained. overall a great buy!
And sorry about the sideways picture i couldn't get it to work
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet gate

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
I love my new pet gate. It's great for my pom and shi tzu and I can step over it with no problem., but it still conttains time. It also blends with my furniture
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv it

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from san diego
looks beautiful, matches my stairs, adjustable and my teens sons can step over it ....safely. (they cannot take the time to open a gate)
Because it's so adjustable, I can put it snugly in place and my yorkies cannot paw at it until they've moved it.
Wish I had gotten it sooner. Looks like it was custom made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richell Freestanding Step-Over Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Villa Park, CA
It is a very nice looking gate....
I wish I would have purchased it long before I did.
Great gate everyone thought it was much nicer that they expected.
Looks like furniture and easy to step over....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>