petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate

Richell Freestanding Pet Gate

Free-standing design allows for easy placementSide Panel design prevents tipping overRubber Feet protect floor surfaces & prevent slidingSide Panels fold in for easy storage or transportBeautiful hardwood construction
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Review 1 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Gate

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bruzzo
from San Diego, CA
This is a quality gate. We like that it is free-standing and easy to move (as we've put enough holes in our walls and are tired of doing drywall patching!) This gate is heavy and stands evenly on the floor. We have a large dog but our primary reason for the gate is so he won't go up stairs to get the cat food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks good! But does not work!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
viking2
from Washington
We wanted/needed a freestanding gate in 2 different places. Bought 2. Just spent an hour trying to get door "adjusted". Must be missing a piece - does not work. AND there is NO locking mechanism on the bottom of gate door. Really? Just supposed to fly in the breeze? Again... piece missing??? Does anyone do Q.C. anymore? Very disappointed in the function; especially when it looked so nice in our home.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with purchase

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kenjo
from Warwick, NY
Purchased this gate to block off my dining room from my 2 dogs (10lb and 50lb) The gate is well made, sturdy and looks so much better than the old tension mount it is replacing, more like a piece of furniture than a gate. It is pricey but I think well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
DenCO
from Denver CO
We bought 2 pet gates because our room opening is so wide. We chose these gates because they are stand alone and don't need to be braced between walls, which would not have worked in our situation. We thought about keeping only one gate but decided to keep both because we can change the length of the gate and use it elsewhere. The gates are very attractive and blend with our decor. We have received compliments from friends about how classy they look. They have been very effective at keeping our 12 month German Sheppard out of our living room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work for us ...

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ariella
from CA
So, the gate itself is great ... aesthetically pleasing, solid, well made, easy to assemble. Unfortunately, our 8-lb, runt-of-the-litter, looks-like-a-kitten cat sails over it without a problem! Initially, she scaled it, but when we adorned it with double-sided tape, she decided to convert to vertical leaps, sailing over it, without even touching the thing. Now, granted, maybe we have a gazelle ... but I'd hoped that a gate intended to keep out much larger animals would keep out our little cat. I'd go for something higher next time ... it's really unfortunate to have to just junk something we paid this much money for. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and decorative product

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
sonnetmom
from Rome NY
This was a wonderful product of great quality. Because my side walls were too near the door opening, it was more of a barricade as I couldn't access the swinging side panels that easily. Moving it from a high traffic doorway just didn't work for me. The return was very easy and the Petco people on the phone and at the store where I was allowed to return it rather than ship it back were very pleasant and helpful. I have found another Richell product that is nice-looking but will have to be mounted but it will suit my needs very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaJ
from Palm Beach Co, Florida
beautiful, functional, no installation (to wall), perfect size. after checking out many gates - so glad to have found this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
mw1895
from Pleasanton, CA
Attractive, easy to assemble and mobile. I have 2 12 pound Havanese. This gate is perfect. I can easily move it around when the occasion calls for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what we were looking for

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from St Augustine, FL
This product is just what we were looking for. It looks nice and stays in place without having to attach to the walls. My only complaint is the cost...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks & Functionality

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Azrielle
from Berwyn, IL
It is a nice design, blends nicely with the woodwork/hardwood floors of our home. It was easy to assemble and the size increments work for regular and expanded doorways... I bought two. Its sturdy and it works, keeps our 2 puppies out of "off limit" areas. One drawback is that I keep tripping over the "feet", the parts that stick out at the base. They blend so well with the wood floor, I simply don't see them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
SheltieLuv
from Texas
I love this freestanding pet gate. It is lovely in my home as it matches my cabinets and compliments my other wood furnishings. It looks so much nicer than the typical pet gate and without marking my walls. Also, my three dogs cannot jump on it and dislodge it as would sometimes happen when they jumped "enmass" onto the old expanding gate. This gate is easy to set up and move around and it looks great. I highly recommend this freestanding gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This can stop an escape artist!!!

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ramses
We have a new black Lab puppy we adopted and the first time I left him I made a make shift wall between our kitchen and living room. He was suppost to stay in the kitchen but this didn't happen. The next time I left him I made the wall heavier, really tall with no cracks but some how he made it through and chewed up some stuff up. So I went looking for a gate that mabye he wouldn't be able to get through and I found it!! This gate is big enough to block a really wide door way and it doesn't tip over! plus it looks nice, the wood even matches my kitchen cupboards! Now when we leave he stays in the kitchen! Thank goodness for this gate!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice gate

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
mistymoo
from timbuktu
Received the free-standing gate a few days ago and was waiting for my husband to assemble it--but then decided to do it myself--I was flabbergasted that I could do it alone--it took about 10 minutes--it's good quality--we're guessing our cat will be able to jump over it, but it's the best option for the location--I didn't want to have to damage the walls, and it's attractive, movable, and adjustable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Close to Perfect

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Labs4Ever
from Corpus Christi, TX
We are using this gate to help keep our latest Lab puppy fenced in a particular area during the night.
It has plenty of flexibility for width and the height is great. Since it doesn't have the wires going both ways it works well for puppies that would otherwise be able to climb out of a pen.
Our only complaint is that the legs should be able to fold in like the sides do. Otherwise they stick out about 10-12 " when folded down to store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST GATE EVER!

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy1040
from Georgia
I waited too long to get this gate after fooling around with those cheap expanding ones and finally decided on this one. What a good decision that was. I got the 20 inch high one as my dogs are small and even though one of them could jump it if he wanted to, he has not. It is so easy to move out of the way and for me to walk over it. It also looks beautiful and is very sturdy. I would recommend this gate to all. I am very pleased with it and especially with the "free shipping". Thanks PetCo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Pet Gate

PostedMay 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vermonter
from Vermont
I have had so many compliments on this pet gate. It is beautiful and matches my woodwork. I have two dogs and two cats and it keeps all of them on the right side of the gate. It was easy to put together and easy to move. I am so glad I purchased it. I would highly recommend this gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
jjejcjmj
from Chicago, IL
This gate is a little pricey, but its 27 1/2" height is tall enough that my dog can't get over it, like he could a 20" gate. It's very attractive and looks much better than the gates you need to attach to your walls. The sides fold in which makes it easier to move around too. All-in-all, a very nice product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Excellent!!!!

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Africa
from Chicago,IL
This gate is absolutely awesome!!! I love it. I have two toy black poodles and they jump pretty high but the good news is that they cannot jump over this gate. This gate is very regal and it adds a grand touch of elegance and beauty in my kitchen. It would match any decor perfectly. So what are you waiting for....buy this gate today!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sturdy Product

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
KayK
from Chicago, IL
After researching several gates, this was the best purchase ever! It's sturdy, attractive and easy to move when not in use. Initially, I was concerned that it wasn't high enough, but it certainly is and higher than the plastic gate I was using. I have a toy poodle who jumps very high but this gate keeps him and doesn't tip over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richell Freestanding Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peaceful dining

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
KDFH
from Chesapeake, VA
This gate is wonderful. Our dogs believe all humans want them to love them. When we have company, this gate separates visitors and our pets. It is an attractive gate and did the job we needed done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>