petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder

JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder

Dramatically reduces seed spill outside of cagePerfect for parakeets, canaries, small finches and other small birdsFits all bird cages - vertical & horizontal barsStops build-up of empty seed husks on top of uneaten seedsStops seed contamination from bird droppings
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Review 1 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works pretty well...

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Woods, MI
Bought this for our lovebird who kept taking the lid off of his old dish. He seems to do okay with it and I like it because if is definitely neater and there are less seeds all over our floor. We did have to put a perch in front so that he could reach it, but that's no problem. I was concerned that it would be a mess getting the outside container with the seed in it off without spilling, but it's not messy at all. Overall I am very pleased with this bird feeder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just ok for finches

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I would like this feeder better if the pieces that slide up and off were not as tight. It takes some effort to remove them, which is probably a good thing for parakeets, but not for finches. It really "twangs" the cage wire when I have to do it, spooking my finches and sending them crashing around the cage. One of the finches is using it, the other pretends it isn't there. I'm going to just write it off as a bad choice and abandon it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sounded Like a Good Idea

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
This fit in the feeder hole of my cage perfectly, and clamped onto the 1/2" bars with no problem. It held a good amount of zupreem pellets, and my 'tiel liked it...too much. He went through each and every pellet, drug it out, and threw it on the floor until the silo was empty..
This might not be a problem for all birds, mine might have been an isolated incident.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

well...

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Waltham Ma
Great to have however, my bird got smart fast & just tosses out the food he likes less to eat the seeds only. so he goes through the food faster than he should & makes a terrible mess of wasted pellets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be improved, but eh'.

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Okay, so these install fairly easy considering they breaks into 5 parts (not including the clear silo).
I own 2... one 'medium' and one 'large'. Only difference I see is that the silo is taller on the large.
Honestly, they could fit my small gauge standard 1/2in bar spacing better... Once installed it's fine, but every time I move them around the cages I have to fiddle with it to get it hooked back together.
I guess it's hard to make a standard. It does attach okay to horizontal & vertical bars.
I don't use these for my birds seeds... I use them for a mix of Roudybush crumbles and Zupreem parakeet size.
I have to Shake the pellets out Daily to refil the cup... The cage bars block free flow.
Still... my tiels can't Knock these down and waste the pellets... and I can easily fill it up once a week and just "shake down" every day.
My tiels actually like to eat out of the shallow cups too... They almost seem to prefer the pellets over the seed now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Once you screw it on, there's no traction to unscrew it to clean it out. I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommended, with reservations

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Plano, TX
I got this feeder because my parakeet loved to hop directly into his feed cup and tromp around in it, sending seeds flying everywhere. There was also a problem in that when he ate seeds on the surface, the shells would go straight back into the cup and mix in with the good seeds, forcing him to pick through shells to get to them. The silo bird feeder fixes both of those problems, but it is somewhat difficult to install and refill without spilling seeds everywhere yourself. Will not work on a cage with thick wires, and there's really no room to perch on it so you'll probably need to place something in front of it for your bird to sit on while eating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JW Pet Clean Seed Silo Small Bird Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Only Wish It Worked

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
This looks like it would be a great idea, but the plastic thingies that hold it are teensie and broke AS I WAS FIRST TRYING TO USE IT, even though I said to myself, Hm, these look cheap and flimsy. I'd better be careful. So even the best of care means they might break. Also, the nobby thing didn't work well for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.