petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats

Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats

Helps keep teeth white & deodorizes bad breathProven to help remove built-up tartar & plaqueMakes professional cleaning faster, easier, and gentlerRegular use helps ensure pets' optimal oral health
Average Customer Rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 out of 26(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Review 1 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dental freash is great

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from menifee CA
used this product for years and am completely satisfied
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two Squirts work great!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
I tried this in the smaller size and now got the gallon jug to refill the smaller containers. I toss two squirts in the bowl of water and she drinks it up. No issue with her not liking the taste. It works very well, she has no issue with dog breath.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breath fresh

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Berwick
My dogs are getting old and their breath was terrible. This product has made a great improvement. I will continue to use this in their water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really helps with teeth and breath

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mukilteo, WA
It came frozen...so we left it in the utility sink for a few days. My dog is crazy about his stuff. It helps with plaque and his breath. we use it all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They all drink it & it is made in the U.S.A.!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have been using this product for at least 7 years, when I could find it and now, I can order it before I run out .
Petco has the gallon size, which saves me money.
I have never had a dog (or cat) refuse to drink their water with Dental Fresh. I have never tried another product that some or all of the furry ones would not reject and refuse. This has been true for guest pets and fosters, as well as our fur family.
Chihuahuas, Shih Tzus, Dachshunds, Labs, Tibetan Terriers, mixed breeds and purebreds of all sizes and even the pickiest cat!
It helps very much with keeping the teeth clean and preventing bad doggy breath!
I typically fill a water bottle (quart or 1/2 gallon with very large licking ball - made in USA - Lick-iits) so the water stays clean and then, I can give water in a bow under neath the bottle as well. This prevents spills and keeps the water clean. I clean the bottles when empty and refill as directed.
I would use caution and consult the company and/or your vet before using with puppies or kittens since it does state that it is for dogs and cats.
I would advise everyone to ALWAYS read the directions and ingredients on any product that they use. and to use precautions with any senior dog or any dog on medications, etc.
I have known of a CKCS that could not use this product at full dose. It was too strong for her delicate digestive system, her owner told me.
All creatures are individuals and need to be treated as such. :)
I have had vets and rescue groups that never heard of it end up recommending it to their clients
after trying it.
Dental Fresh has helped keep their teeth so clean that my eight-year old Shih Tzu's teeth are a white and clean as a puppy's and he has never needed a dental!
My only complaint about the product is that it does use artificial colors and I do not think that is necessary, water is not normally colored, after all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
We have a black Lab and a German Shepherd and we have used this product for about a year. We love it. Our dogs used to have AWFUL breath, to the point I could hardly stand to be in the same room (and they are inside dogs), but after we got this it got so much better. Petco was out the last time we were there, and we were out and needed something immediately, so we got some other brand that didn't work at all. I threw away half the bottle and went directly back to dental fresh. My lab would hardly even drink the water unless she was at the point she needed water with the other brand, but she doesn't seem to notice with dental fresh.
The only downside is it leaves a greenish colored residue on the water bowl that can be a pain to clean but if you do it regularly it's not and issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I have been adding Dental Fresh to my pets water dishes for a few years now. It is easy to use, my pets drink the water without hesitation. It helps their breath and removes plaque and tartar. Who could ask for more?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Strong taste and odor

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from foxboro ma
I have two dogs, a great pyrenees who drinks water by the bucket and he did not touch the water with this in it and a samoyed. I had to super dilute water and dental rinse and still my dogs knew it was in there. I haven't given up but my Big boy doesn't drink as much water. We are at the correct dosage now and my samoyed still has the bad odor to her breath. So not so sure about this product. I'll wait to see if the vet notices a difference in the teeth
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dental Fresh

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Orland Park, IL
I have tried several items to improve our dogs' breath & this is working so far. We just add a measured amount every time we get them clean water & we have not noticed any difference in the amount they drink so they must not even notice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for between the vet dental up keep

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My dog have really bad breath and teeth but brushing is a nightmare so I bought this dental rinse. It is easy to use but will not improve your dog breath significantly. I would say it is for good for everyday use but it will not substitute brushing and vet dental cleaning
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product.

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Since finding this product, I have noticed that my 12 cats have had much improved breath. I also had one with some sort of gingivitis disease that has cleared up significantly. I have probably also improved the dental quality of a few opossums and raccoons as I even put it in my outside water bowls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alvin, TX
This product used over time helps to keep the plaque on my dogs teeth softer so it can actually be chipped off with your fingernail. Cleaning is expensive and hard on older dogs. Yes I like this product and order it by the gal. Don't know why it's not available in the store but the gal has to be ordered on line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Breath & Tarter Fighter

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
Excellent product. With 5 dogs dental heath at home is important. My dogs took a little bit to get used to a slight chlorine taste (I tried it before I gave it to them), but now they drink the water without hesitating. Highly Recomment this product. Bad Breath went away too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hopwood,PA
A lot of dogs have bad breath. It's not just the odor,
but the damage done by plague and gingivitus in
their mouths. I tried gels and sprays and fought with
my dogs to apply it. This is just too easy! Mix in with
their water, we saw a difference in 2 days.......it's
worth a try !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff!

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St. Petersburg, FL
Makes my dog's breath tolerable as he licks everyone, without Dental Fresh his breath is awful! Now, we can't go without it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Thermopolis,wyo
I have used this product for my dogs for over one year and my friends dogs too.It works really good and helps wonderfully for thier breath and their teeth look good too.I'm a very pleased customer.Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't work

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this to hopefully improve my cats dental health. They took to it fine, and they still do, but their breath is not any better, and their teeth still look sore. I bought the gallon refill size since I already had a small bottle. I would not use this product even while using special treats like I've beeen doing. I'm shopping for a new product now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LUV THIE PRODUCT!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from mount morris, illinois
after having a bad experience after riley got her teeth cleaned at the vet...i heard about a product helps freshens doggie breath...and keeps teeth clean...we have one dog with the most awful breath...after using dental fresh...you don't gag when he is around!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good dental product

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York
I use Dental Fresh daily. It helps to keep my cat's breath fresh and her teeth clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dental Fresh for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Been using dental fresh for quite some time. It's a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>