petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy

Made of puncture resistant, premium Thermo Plastic RubberChewing helps to exercise jawLittle "knobs" help to clean teeth & massage gumsVeterinarian recommended
Average Customer Rating:
1.762 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14
4 out of 21(19%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Review 1 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Destroyed

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
My terrier chewed this within ten minutes. I had to yank it away from her and I plan on returning this at the store. What a waste of money and time trying to find toys. Don't name the product BEAST if a ten pound dog can demolish it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chew Ring - not so tough

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Palo Alto, Ca
This Chew Ring is not for strong chewers. We raise Lab puppies for Guide dogs for the Blind. Our 4 month old puppy was pulling of pieces of this and eating them. It is too soft for older chewers but seems about right for a teething puppy. The material seems to be like that used on the Nylabone Star, maybe a bit softer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible choice

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs
Gave this toy to my 7 month old mixed breed puppy. A day later, he has already chewed through this ring and made little pieces out of it. Waste of $
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Easily damaged outer knubs

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
We just recently purchased this product, and within an hour of chewing, our dogs had already removed many of the knubs on the outside of of the toy. The bumps on the toy itself however, was the perfect thing to relieve the itchy gums of our teething puppy. All I really have to say is that I wish it was more durable than it actually was.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is durable

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from La Grange Park, IL
This product is durable and lasts! My dog loves playing with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cape Cod
I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this product. My dog destroyed this within minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kong Beast - I think it was named wrong!

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bentonville, AR
I bought this tonight for my dogs - in a medium. I have an 8yr old Weimaraner and a 2 year old Yorkie/Maltese. Within minutes (literally) of having the "Beast" off the package, my 10lb Morkie had all the nubs off. So much for Puncture Resistant!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for power chewers

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, Ohio
We bought this toy for our 23 pound Jack Russell Mix. She loved the toy but had chewed it apart in less than a day of play.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Far from Beast tough!

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, Il
I bought this toy because my 8.5 lb. 9 month old Malshi puppy is quite the aggressive chewer. I thought this was something that would be safe and last for more than a week. Well, she had bit chunks of it off in a matter of 10 minutes. This toy is far from 'Beast' tough and I do not recommend this toy for owners of aggressive chewers!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from VA
I bought this toy for my dogs because it is advertised as BEAST which implies it is for tough chewers. Within 10 minutes my dogs had it in pieces and were eating the pieces!
Don't waste your money on this huge disappointment and risk sending your dog to the ER for a bowel obstruction.
Stick with a traditional Kong, they are much better made. My dogs are tough chewers and usually do well with Kong products, this was not up to the standard.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as good as they used to be

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from SE , Missouri
I had bought one of these toys for a friend about 4 years ago and it still is being played with by her dog. I then got one for my own dog this year and he had it chewed to bits within a few days. The toy is not made as well as they used to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
I bought 2 online the picture shows a black one that should be made out of the toughest chew material NOT I just got them today and one was red one was blue like the puppy line is. My American Bulldog mix had the red one in chunks in 15 mins all 4 of my dogs do love them but they will not hold up at all for any power chewer or large breed of dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this product!!!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Newark, OH
My dog is an aggressive chewer and the Kong Beast dog ring toy was the only thing she could chew on and not destroy quickly. In fact, I purchased several of them 2 years ago and they were great and lasted all this time, but finally needed to replaced. I placed an order for the same exact dog toy and when I received them, I noticed it was not made out of the same material as before, but I gave one to my dog anyway to give it the benefit of the doubt, and she chewed chunks out of it within 10 minutes!!!! And the package says it's "puncture resistant". Baloney!!! I purchased these online, but was able to return all of them to our Petco store in town the next day and got my money back. I will NEVER buy this product again, unless they change the quality back to what it was before. I don't care what it costs, just don't change the quality!! DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My dog chewed pieces off of it

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tampa
As soon as I gave it to my dog, he chewed the tips off the toy within minutes of having it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality...

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Well this product is made well, and doesn't appear to be the type that can be easily chewed into pieces -- that said, I can't get my dog to chew on it, fetch it, or anything. This may be because she has several other chew toys she enjoys...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought the KONG toy because they claim to be the toughest. Within 5 minutes my Lab had chewed a piece off it. She does like to play fetch with it so it became an outdoor toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldnt Recommend

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a Lab mix and he is a very powerful chewer!!! I purchased this because it advertised puncture resistance, etc. well it is not resistant. My boy had chunks off in less than 3 minutes!! Very frustrating!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kong-The Beast Chew Toy

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have three dogs, all mixed breeds, and it only took two of them 3 minutes to chew a section of the toy off. Was really hoping it would last longer than that. Will go back to other kong toys in future.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for Labs

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Plastic is too soft for Labs. Within minutes our 7 month old Lab was chewing hunks off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG The Beast Chew Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Definitely NOT Beast Tough

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
First, I got a red one in the mail, not sure if that makes a difference (when ordering I didn't see two options). I have an English Mastiff... i.e. power chewer. I've been looking for something Beast Tough. This is not that product. I gave it to her on Christmas and we threw it out in 3-4 days. When I say we threw it out I mean the little nub that was left. If you DON'T have a power chewer then this toy may be for you. On the bright side, she DID like it a lot...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>