petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit

Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit

Innovative aquatic turtle tank replicates the natural "pond" environmentIncludes a built-in water areaLarge land area is perfect for natural basking and egg laying behaviorLightweight and easy to clean and to maintainTurtle tank kit includes everything you need to get started
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Review 1 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hawaiian
from Detroit.MI
Its great but I still can't get my Red eared sliders to bask but all and all it was worth the 255
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for beginners, but has some flaws

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NY
This is really good as a starter kit and a cheap one at that. Most of the things in this kit complement the overall habitat, with the exception of a one thing. First off, the substrate that is included should not be used for your turtle, or any aquatic animal. This is due to the fact that the substrate will stick to your turtle,s skin when it is wet, so whenever he/she comes out of the water and onto the basking area with this as the substrate, it will stick to their skin. When he/she goes back into the water, they'll bring the substrate that stuck to their skin into the water with them. This will clog up the filter as a result. I would reccomend using some rocks bigger than your turtle's mouth to hold the substrate down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent!!!!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gymnastunicorn
from NY
I love this item!!! I bought it for my peninsula cooter hatchling and it was great but he is so tiny he cant climb up the stairs!! :( so hatchlings have a little trouble with the tub but this is a great product for bigger turtles. It also
Isnt very pretty to look at from the side and the filter makes a nice waterfall sound when pointed toward the wall of the tub because the water sound is really loud. This is such a great product and it is the best price on the internet!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Turtles Love Their Home

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
jennawesome
from St. Louis, MO
Petco had the best price on this habitat! Also they have promo codes on the Internet for an additional 10% off - almost $100 less or more compared to competitors and free shipping! You can't beat that! Comes with everything you need, and our three hatchlings love to hide in the plant. Easy set up. Perfect for your turtle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost best purchase ever

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
asbutterflies09
from cordele, ga
i love all of it except the wood chips; they keep clogging up the filtration system help please!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

turtle tub

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
turtleboy
this has everything but a heater but it is still the best price on the internet. buy it now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but costly!

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tanya123
Larger than I expected and ample basking area for my turtle. One word of advice - once you fill the basking area with subtrate place large rocks on top otherwise your turtle will kick up the subtrate and it will block your filter. Has a lovely waterfall sound as the water cycles back into the tub. Very lightweight and easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost perfect

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
NYlawyer
from Albany, NY
Tub comes with everything you need except a heater. I bought a 100W stealth pro heater separately. I have 1 red ear slider turtle. That heater couldn't maintain the temperature at 78 so I am getting a 150W and will give that a try. The 511 filter has OK power, so i have a Fluval 205 running in conjunction with the 511. Together they do a pretty good job, but I must WARN you, the substrate included in this kit will very quickly clog the filter. I consider this a design defect. The included substrate is like mulch. When your turtle climbs onto the land part, the substrate sticks to his wet body and then falls off into the water after he returns to the water. The 511 filter shut down after 2 days! I had to remove the filter after a couple days to remove all the substrate that got clogged in there. My solution to this problem was to completely cover the included substrate with rocks, which are about 0.5" in diameter. The weight of the rocks keeps the substrate down under it, and even if the rocks fall into the water, they are too big to cause any problems with the filter. No more clogging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Boogirl12
Comes with almost everything you need to get your turtle set up(just need a submersible heater). Bigger than I thought so most turtles have plenty of room to grow without having to be moved to something bigger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
yesm
Kit was good except tub is black. Would be much better if it was clear so you can watch the turtles swimming around
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.