petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos

SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos

This SeaClear sparkling acrylic aquarium tank Made of SeaClear sparkling acrylic, this show aquarium combines a modern design with the benefits of acrylic constructionVirtually leak and breakproof tank is less than half the weight of a comparably sized tanks
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Review 1 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Tank!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
The tank is fantastic. The blue background looks great as a backdrop to the plants and other decorations in the tank. I couldn't be happier with the tank itself. The light that comes with it is another story. It is a cheap and flimsy plastic assembly that arrived with one damaged locking screw/pin for the actual element inside the housing. I didn't buy the tank for the light fixture so I don't really care. I was planning to purchase an LED lighting setup anyway so I'm not going to take anything off of the rating for the tank. Just know that if you were planning to use the light that comes with the unit you may be a little disappointed with the quality of the light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a work of art

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from streetsboro ohio
The tank itself is very well made. The limited access through the top may take some getting used to, but it is worth it to have a tank that looks this good. This is a very unique aquarium that is not readily available in stores. If your looking for something that is one of a kind this is it. It loses one star because of the lighting it comes with, the fluorescent light fixture wasn't even attached to the hood on mine. No problem though, most 24" LED light fixtures will fit inside the hood which is what I did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall great tank

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nicaragua
Beautiful tank, well constructed, great clarity. What you should be aware of when buying this tank is that it has limited openings on the top- one for the light (which is divided into two by a small support strip), one small round cutout for the heater, and one rectangle opening on the back for a filter. I cannot use side by side hob filters with this setup. The light itself is cheaply made but does what I need it to as I do not have a setup that requires special lighting- and it is something that could easily be upgraded. Because of it's depth and limited openings it is a bit uncomfortable to clean and setup, but other than that it's beautiful and I would buy it again...
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Price, Good Product

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is definitely a good quality well made aquarium. Great step-up going from my old glass aquarium. Other reviewers did not like the light fixture that comes with it. I, however, like the fixture because it is simple and light weight, is easy to move aside for feedings and have had no problems using the recommended fluorescent light tube (it's not cheaply made, it's just a simple design). The top openings are large and leave plenty of room for adding large decorations, and offer good access for maintenance. I use a Whisper Power Filter 60 which fits well in the opening provided for a filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this tank

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cary, NC
I also have the 36g bowfront with cobalt back (for over a year now, no scratches), which is why I felt confident in getting the 46g. It arrived well packed, but easy to unpack and set on the matching stand. This is a substantial acrylic aquarium; thick walls and virtually seamless. The cut outs on top are perfect for the heater, filter, air hoses, feeding ring and adding gravel, large decor, and water. I removed and use the lighting fixture splash guard with ML double bright LED 24"-36" length. There are two 7" x 13" openings that the single splash guard fits into. I got the black back which is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SeaClear 46 Gal. Bow Front Aquarium

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southampton, Ma.
Yes.... it looks very nice but it has it's drawbacks and if I had to do over again, I wouldn't buy it. The worst part of this aquarium is the light. Aquarium books will tell you fish need 8 hrs. of light. My bow front is a freshwater tank. Eventually the light causes the part around the cut out light hole to warp or (and I only have the light on 4-5 hrs. at most) the acryllic top has high and low spots due to heat of light. It's a horrible tank to try to clean unless.... you're standing on a 3-step stool and still can't reach even close to the inside bottom of the tank. It's very nice to look at, as I added a bubble wall all across the back, but if I had it to do over again I would have bought an aquarium with a removable top and this is my 6th aquarium since 1972. I have a 30 gallon Hex tank and had 20 gallon longs and wanted something different and unique. The tank itself is excellent, it's the top or I should say it's one piece construction that's bad. Would have been better to have a removable top like other tanks so at least the area around the light wouldn't warp/melt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected !

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York
After going to all the local pet stores and looking at their very limited selection of in-stock glass tanks I decided to take a chance and order a 46 gallon sea Clear acrylic Bow Front from Petco...and I'm very glad I did !. This tank really is as nice as the other reviews say it is, and I've personally found the 'as supplied' cut outs on the top section to be sufficient for my purposes. Through the heater hole access I placed my heater and also the intake and exhaust tubes of my Eheim 2215 canister. I also installed an Aquaclear 70 onto the main filter access cut out on the back and this makes for a nice and neat appearance with room to spare for feeding. The two large openings under the light are also adequate for maintenance and adding decorations/gravel. Any decoration that couldn't somehow fit through these openings is probably too big for the tank anyway... I purchased a 24" Aquaglow bulb for the light fixture and put it on a timer, although if someone wanted they could just use the supplied on/off switch. The fixture may not be the highest quality out there, but it looks nice on the tank, and for my freshwater purposes it's just fine. ... ***I also purchased an acrylic cleaning product from Kent Marine, and after wiping the tank down with a soft cotton cloth it positively glows !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank!!!

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Manchester, N.J.
The tank was delivered in perfect condition.
And was set up in no time... I love the look of the tank, No seams to get in the way...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Northern Minnesota
For the record, this is my first tank that is bigger than 10 gallons. I did some research and found this tank and thought it was a great introductory tank for me to pursue my aquatic hobby. Well, I was right! Currently I have a full adult Red Belly Piranha in the tank. With plans to adopt more exotic fish.
Ordering:
I was a little nervous upon ordering such a large item to my apartment and a fish tank at that. Turns out, most things I worry about never happen.
Shipping:
I knew it would take awhile. I also ordered a heater which arrived 3 days later after ordering. About a week went by and still hasn't said it was shipped. Well, the following day I was on break at work and I received an email from PetCo saying it will be here in two days. I was excited yet shocked! I needed to do so much to get ready for it.
Arrival:
I came home from work. Saw this huge box in front of my apartment door. FedEx is very good where I live.
Drawbacks:
Holes are pre cut. But decently cut.
Holes consist of a circular hole for a heater. Which I ordered the Aqueon Pro 150.
A roughly 2.5" wide by 15" cut for the filter. Which is located in the back dead center.
Two very large openings on top. Roughly 13" long by 7" wide.
I put these in the drawbacks due to it's hard to add water or remove water without using a smaller container to move to a larger container. More exorcise!
Conclusion:
As a new aquatic hobbyist, I absolutely love this tank! Everyone who comes over says it adds the right "umph" to my apartment. As other stated, the light is very cheaply made. As I knew that upon ordering, I didn't take the time to mess around with it. I'm still looking for a good hanging fixture. As of right now, I went to a department store and bought a 23 inch under cabinet fixture.
I highly recommend this tank to anyone. PetCo is a great and reliable service!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a real value

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from scotia ny
excellent tank good price however the light doesn't work
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
I purchased the 36 gallon bow front last year and love it.
I wanted another aquarium to try keeping some discus fish and chose this 46 gallon with blue background. Very light weight, I didn't need anybody to help me lift it. The corners are rounded and very safe if you have pets or children. I set it up next to a 46 gallon glass bow front aquarium that I have (and plan on replacing it) and can see a huge difference between the 2 tanks. The glass tank has silicone seams that are discolored and beginning to deteriorate. Looking at the 2 tanks side by side, the acrylic tank is very clear whereas the glass tank has a tint to it. And if you are worried about scratches on the acrylic, guess what, glass scratches, too. Also, the water seems to evaporate quicker in the glass tank compared to the acrylic. My only suggestion would be that the company that makes the tanks and PetCo (who sells them) should offer the customer the option of 1 or 2 light fixtures inside the hood to make it easier for the customer. That would be a huge help because the extra light fixture is not that easy to find and it takes extra time and money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Item arrived quickly. Good price. Nice tank. Packaged well.
Not giving 5 paws because the lighting was very skimpy..the most basic of lighting, only receptacle for one bulb in hood but there is room to expand but you have to buy the wiring and the switch and the little plastic thingys the bulb snaps into at the end.
This all seems a little like some last minute cost savings and shell game although I don't remember if it mentioned this specifically in the item description. Regardless, how many extra cents are all these parts to include for a tank that costs several hundred dollars.
The tank is great though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SeaClear 46 Gallon Bowfront Tank

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Marcos, TX
Wow!! Arrived in great shape! Weighs nothing in comparison with glass tanks. I have a 28 gallon acrylic bowfront and love the clarity. This acrylic tank by SeaClear is amazing. I can hardly wait to plant it totally in live plants. I knew that the hood / light fixture would need replacing to grow plants, so that was never a selling point. The fixture, as is, will not grow live plants. The tank, itself, is well worth the money. I wish the stores carried it!! Great product, Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SeaClear Bowfront 46 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I’m impressed

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Collegeville, PA
This was my first purchase from Petco online and I wanted a 46 gal Bowfront acrylic aquarium and I could not find them in any of the local stores. Was a bit leery about the condition the tank would be in when I received it. Happy to say that they did and excellent job packing and padding the box it came in. Not a scratch on the tank anywhere and it looks great on the Bowfront stand. My next acrylic aquarium purchase will definitely be from Petco !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.