petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle

Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle

Soft, flexible nylon mesh fabric fits comfortablyWell-built design makes it difficult for dogs to dislodgeInhibits dogs from barking, biting and chewingAllows for drinking, panting and vomiting
Average Customer Rating:
3.171 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
24
42 out of 70(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Review 1 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is just what a need for a guard dog

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lillington, NC
My guard dog needs to go to the Vet...so, this will come in handy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Soft Muzzle

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This item is pure junk. Very flimsy and poorly stitched. My dog had it off in 10 seconds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

these muzzles are to tight on the dogs snout

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Not happy with either one. Fill like I'm sufficating my dog
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
This was my dogs first muzzle and the muzzle fit perfectly and is really hard for them to get it off. It looks comfortable and soft and doesn't seem to hurt them in any way. I would recommend this product for anyone that need a nice, comfortable muzzle for their dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As expected

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
We have a 7 month old German Shepherd that weighs around 60+ pounds.
We were looking for a softer muzzle than the basket-muzzle we have for our dog to calm him when he goes on a barking rampage, is mouthing people's hands during play, or during meals when he's trying to jump on the table.
This has done exactly what we wanted it to.
As soon as it goes on, he gets a treat, and he calms right down, and usually contents himself with laying on the couch near us, or at our feet at the table if we're eating.
Much better than yelling "No! Down!" at him all the time when he gets unruly as puppies tend to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for large dogs

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought two of these muzzles for my dogs, a German Shepherd and a Pit Bull. as soon as I put the muzzle on her, my Pit Bull immediately ripped the muzzle off with her front paws. The mesh part of the muzzle is very weak, and not made for dogs with any strength. If you have smaller dogs it may work fine, but larger dogs need more solid materials
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lubbock, Teas
In one hour my dog got it off and chewd it up. Was put on as tight I could.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, wa
Works great. Good fit. Good price. I have a larger yorkie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tooo big

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ann arbor, mi
bought the smallest size for my Chihuahua but it was way too big. their sizing chart said it should fit
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
We got the #3 muzzle for a black lab, not only did he have no trouble popping it off but the stitching on the side tore completely off. Only used it once and it tore. I would not recommend this product...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alton
This product is not strong at all my dog ripped the stitching with just one paw when she was wearing it and she is not a big dog only 30 lbs. I wouldn't recommend this to any dog unless the dog is 100% okay wear it but what dog will be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product wasn't sized correctly

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bottineau ND
I ordered the extra small size, as my dog is a Pomeranian and only weighs 7 pounds. It was too big and even tho I had the strap at it's tightest, he easily brushed it off with his paw. Also, when I was tightening the strap, the muzzle tore. Very poorly made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

soft muzzle - poor construction

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SC
although this muzzle is soft and not harmful to my dog, she could easily remove it with her paw from her snout, which defeats it's entire purpose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
I would have given this product a much higher score if the lining hadn't completely failed (cracked in many places) within a month of use. Disappointing since it had been very helpful initially.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for us!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from central california
I have a four month labrador and got this for her while she is playing with my son. (She's still learning the rules.) The size Large fits her perfectly. The first time I put it on, she got it off by pulling with her dew claw. But after tightening it a little more, she wasn't able to do it again. She has rubbed against everything in the house to try to slide it off, with no success. Works for us just fine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from manassas, va
I brought this form my 38pd Whippet/mix. She is a great dog and well trained but around other dogs and people she is unpredictable. She sometimes barks and snaps on dogs. She never has bitten anyone or other dogs but she snaps and I want her to be able to socialize with people and other dogs. This was suggested to me by a worker in Petco. I put it in her and gave her a few treats so she knew it was not a punishment. Then I went outside and my neighbor has 2 small dogs. They both walked up to her and sniffed and she sniffed. Her hair never came up and she never growled or snapped. I was so pleased with this the first time using it. I will slowly try and take her off of it as time goes on, but it worked great for me!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good idea, but not for my smart boys

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
This may work for someone else, I had my doubts, loved the idea, was trying to keep my schnuchers from eating grass and dirt when outside, but they had the muuzzle off before I could turn around.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog muzzle not dog resistant (poorly made)

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
My dog chew it when he had it on him. I bought the right size to his bread, but he still chew it. Don't waist your money. Those muzzles are poorly made, they back part slides and dog is able to chew it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great muzzle, but too loose around head

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Madison, Wi
I have a long hair chihuahua. I got the smallest size. The muzzle fit around his nose & mouth, but would not tighten anymore around the back of his head. It fell right off. So I could comb him, I had to have my husband hold the muzzle tight in the back. The straps need to be where it can be made a lot smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good muzzle, but sizing guidance is wrong

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
The muzzle for a medium dog is really for a small dog. If you have a medium dog, go with the large muzzle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>