petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle

Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle

Soft, flexible nylon mesh fabric fits comfortablyWell-built design makes it difficult for dogs to dislodgeInhibits dogs from barking, biting and chewingAllows for drinking, panting and vomiting
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
19
38 out of 60(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Review 1 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
DD12345
from Alton
This product is not strong at all my dog ripped the stitching with just one paw when she was wearing it and she is not a big dog only 30 lbs. I wouldn't recommend this to any dog unless the dog is 100% okay wear it but what dog will be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product wasn't sized correctly

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marit
from Bottineau ND
I ordered the extra small size, as my dog is a Pomeranian and only weighs 7 pounds. It was too big and even tho I had the strap at it's tightest, he easily brushed it off with his paw. Also, when I was tightening the strap, the muzzle tore. Very poorly made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

soft muzzle - poor construction

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
erjame
from SC
although this muzzle is soft and not harmful to my dog, she could easily remove it with her paw from her snout, which defeats it's entire purpose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
BBmom
from New York
I would have given this product a much higher score if the lining hadn't completely failed (cracked in many places) within a month of use. Disappointing since it had been very helpful initially.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for us!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
lollymommy
from central california
I have a four month labrador and got this for her while she is playing with my son. (She's still learning the rules.) The size Large fits her perfectly. The first time I put it on, she got it off by pulling with her dew claw. But after tightening it a little more, she wasn't able to do it again. She has rubbed against everything in the house to try to slide it off, with no success. Works for us just fine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
thgemini28
from manassas, va
I brought this form my 38pd Whippet/mix. She is a great dog and well trained but around other dogs and people she is unpredictable. She sometimes barks and snaps on dogs. She never has bitten anyone or other dogs but she snaps and I want her to be able to socialize with people and other dogs. This was suggested to me by a worker in Petco. I put it in her and gave her a few treats so she knew it was not a punishment. Then I went outside and my neighbor has 2 small dogs. They both walked up to her and sniffed and she sniffed. Her hair never came up and she never growled or snapped. I was so pleased with this the first time using it. I will slowly try and take her off of it as time goes on, but it worked great for me!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good idea, but not for my smart boys

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
1groomer
from Midwest
This may work for someone else, I had my doubts, loved the idea, was trying to keep my schnuchers from eating grass and dirt when outside, but they had the muuzzle off before I could turn around.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog muzzle not dog resistant (poorly made)

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarioCarlos87
from Miami, FL
My dog chew it when he had it on him. I bought the right size to his bread, but he still chew it. Don't waist your money. Those muzzles are poorly made, they back part slides and dog is able to chew it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great muzzle, but too loose around head

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
jax995
from Madison, Wi
I have a long hair chihuahua. I got the smallest size. The muzzle fit around his nose & mouth, but would not tighten anymore around the back of his head. It fell right off. So I could comb him, I had to have my husband hold the muzzle tight in the back. The straps need to be where it can be made a lot smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good muzzle, but sizing guidance is wrong

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
RollingThundr
from Boston, MA
The muzzle for a medium dog is really for a small dog. If you have a medium dog, go with the large muzzle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatly improved product.

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
doggiegoddess
from Hailey, Id.
I board dogs in my home where sometimes use of a muzzle becomes necessary. The ones I bought years ago were, frankly, awful. The muzzles I recently bought are a vast improvement. They "breathe" and don't get wet and soggy on the animal. The do not dig into the skin. They are strong and tear resistant. I prefer not to use muzzles but when I need to, this is the only type/brand I will purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ledger
from Portland, OR
This is a comfortable muzzle for a dog...my dog is a doberman and I purchase the size three which works great for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muzzle of Mini Dachshund

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
floy2015
from Oklahoma City, OK
This muzzle fits my 11 lb mini Dachshund very nicely. It allows enough room for her to pant and drink water. She can still let out small barks that aren't too loud but does it's job to keep her from frantic barking and trying to eat my sugar gliders. My pup is like Houdini and can get out of anything but I am able to make it tight enough to where she can't claw it off. It's started to fray from where she's clawed at it and she's only worn it a handful of times but looks sturdy enough to use for awhile. It serves it's purpose and doesn't seem to hurt her or cause any discomfort other than her annoyance of not being able to bark a lot and chomp at my other small pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor muzzle

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
stubbie
from marshall,AR
i do wish i would of knowing to clip my lab nails to ware this ,as he got a new thing for neibors chickens so i bought this muzzle to let him run free again but in thirdy seconds he had destroied this muzzle right of his face.he took his paw on left side of his face and riped the seem,or stiches,on left side of muzzle right off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great if used as intended!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
treatthemkindly
from Al.
My dog like many fears the vet so i bought this because its soft as the one the vet had was hard and too biig. which scared her more. It is soft and stays on. As for those who try to use this to muzzle a dogs behavior-WRONG! Barking is naturl for a dog. TAKE THE TIME TO TRAIN THEM using positive behavior. If they are eating too fast more than likely it is because they are super hungry try fedding them smaller meals or a bit more 2-3 times a day. People, muzzles are a temporary fix. Not to be used for hours on end.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
33of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Muzzle

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amaris
from providence
I got this muzzle for my 1year old puggle when I had to take her to the vet...Thought I'd be smart and put one on her ahead of time to make the visit easier for her, the vet, and myself...This worked well, I only used it 4times, and so far its working to my advantage. The material is good and the muzzle itself doesn't bother her at all so it must be comfortable for her....Also she can drink water with it on okay, and eat treats, which is good because when I'm walking her I sometimes put it on(training process) so she won't bark at any strangers, and when she's thirsty she can easily drink water!!!. Lets hope it doesn't get worn out too fast and become no good...Otherwise great product...I got a small for my puggle, fits her snort just right not too tight or lose and STAYS on!!! and she can't get it off, she's tried a few times but after a bit she stopped and didn't even care if she had it on... and it doesn't cost a ridiculous amount of money...So its worth it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Threw away the day it arrived

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
ToyAussie
This product looked great coming out of the package but it performed unacceptably. The strap began tattering and falling apart during the first day of use. Since it cost nearly the product value for shipping, I threw it away rather than return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mesh muzzle

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
reggieray
from oregon
We got this for our 10 month rottie who loves to ride but when left alone even for a few minutes in the car will eat the seats, and I mean eat them. He really does not mind this mozzel and when he tries to get it off he can not. I am so glad that so far this seems to be working, I was not sure what we were going to with him. My husband was just about ready to get rid of him. Wish I had got this before he got us a lot of money in redoing our leather car seats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is good value

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
4PawLover
from Houma, Louisiana
I was very pleased with the nylon muzzle as it is very comfy for my dog and fits very well. He doesn't mind wearing it at all. I rarely have to muzzle my baby, but he is EXTREMELY AFRAID of vet visits. This muzzle leaves his nose out, and has plenty of room for me to feed him treats to keep him calm during his vet ordeal. It is perfect -- pet friendly yet providing safety for my 60-pound dog, the vet, the lab techs, and me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Nylon & Mesh Dog Muzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality muzzle

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill67060
from Haysville, Ks.
You get what you pay for and in this case, you don't even get that. I put this muzzle on and in 2 hours he had ripped it clean through. Muzzle on a lab puppy that is 8 months old and likes to play by grabbing with his mouth. we had young kids coming over so we got a muzzle to prevent incident. The lab tore off the muzzle in less than 2 hours. Not a quality item and doesn't stand up to wear and tear at all. I do not recommend purchasing this item. Really bad time to have a brand new item fail that is a safety issue.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>