petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System

Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System

Train your cat to use a human toilet in 8 weeks or lessNo more mess, no more germs, no more smells, no more hassleThe training is easy for cat owners to understand and useComes with a standard white seat that fits most standard toilet seatsDeveloped with animal behaviorists, vets and cat breeders to make sure they work with the cat's natural instincts
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
31 out of 45(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Review 1 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A lovely dream

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Himilover
from New England
I had high hopes for this system which I bought before I brought home two 3 month old himalayan litter mates. The female was doing fine with the system, but her brother refused to use it -- he did all his business on the bathroom floor, so I couldn't advance with the female either. I even had the kitties watch the instructional video several times with me! They followed every move of the cat on the video, but it didn't influence them. After several weeks I had to give up -- mostly because the male seemed traumatized by the process. One problem may have been the litter I used- "World's Best Cat Litter". A great deal of the litter in the trays would fall into the toilet with every cat encounter, so I couldn't use traditional litter. But the World's Best smelled terrible -- even when unused. It was also difficult rewarding just the female when she used the system. I think my sweet boy was heartbroken by the whole experience! With resistant cats it might work if you stayed home for weeks to guide and reward your kitties' every potty moment. That was not an option for me. But this isn't the fault of the product. Nothing works for everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 20lb Cat Loves It!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
FourLeggedChildren
from Southern Mississippi
We tried the other cat training tray and it was great for my 8lb cat, but my big cat started to be to much for it once the hole got bigger. This system is worth the money. I don't worry about cleaning the Kwitter, the plastic is hard, I spray it down with the garden hose. It doesn't change under the weight of my large cat. The minute I took it out of the box and held it in my hands I knew I had wasted six months of training and $20; I should have got the Kwitter the first time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's sitting in my closet

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherrelyn
from Brooklyn, NY
Great concept, better for kittens and young cats. Final stage frustrated my poor 12 yr old cat who refused to defacate for 3 days, so I had to quit on the project.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great, in theory in application...not so much.

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
fruitberry425
from Florida
I thought this product would be a wonderful idea to toilet train my cat. I couldn't be farther from the truth. The red staged pan is too small to be realistically used as a litter tray. I had to clean it 4-5 times a day to keep it clean enough for my cat to use it and he isn't one to mind about a dirty box. even with the amount i cleaned it, he still had accidents all over the house. when it came time to introduce him to the toilet, well, it was a disaster!!! there is a write up online about how to toilet train a cat using their existing litter tray and books and cling wrap, my coworker has had great success w/ this method.i would recommend that. I would also recommend not using this product to train elderly cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my cat started using it ...

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
wickedsister
from jafrey, nh
my cat started using it as soon as I got litter for it. I am still using the scooper, because I couldn't find any flushable litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

On Step 1

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
KrissyBee
from Anaheim, CA
We are on step 1 and so far so good! They jump up there and actually already aim for the middle hole. It's filled up with urine when I get home from work. My house doesn't smell like a stinky littler box already and I can't wait to see how my babies progress!!
Will update a little further on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
YeeshayC
from New York
I bought litter Kwitter couple months back, and I love it. Since i had the cat litter box in the bathroom already it was easier. (TIP : start the litter kwitter on the floor of the bathroom.) I have two cats a male and female. My female cat was a faster learner. my male cat had trouble when it came to the green stage, ( he would urinate in the pot but #2 on the floor, so i moved back to the amber stage. CAT OWNERS MUST BUY! it feels good not to have a smelly litter around and all i have to do is flush. TIP : FELINE FRESH flushable litter is perfect during the training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter Kwitter - Absolutely Fabulous

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bronwyn1117
from Canberra, Australia
This product is Absolutely Fabulous.
We are now at the seven year mark and counting.
Yes, it was difficult at first. They threw litter everywhere - but that was pretty normal for them. The cats exprerssed their displeasure quite emphatically at the orange stage. One of cats did start urinating in a corner, and then the other one followed. We cleaned it with an appropriate cleaning solution and put a cardboard box in the corner.
They then went in the garage, so we locked them out of the garage.
They then went in the spare bedroom, so we locked them out of the spare bedroom.
Three weeks later we moved to the Green stage. They then went in our son's bedroom, so we locked them out of our son's bedroom.
*** And voila, it worked again***
4 weeks later we had perfectly toilet trained cats.
Seven years and counting.
Absolutely Fabulous
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love It

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
catloverlinda
from Ohio
Love it, Maggie (my cat) picked it up immediately. Now my problem is she wants to go #2 next to the toilet instead of in it. Can anybody help me with this? Has any body had this problem?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
12of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work for my kitten

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miya2010
from Olathe, KS
I gave this product 4 months and countless hours only to have to give up. I started using this the same night I brought home my 4 month old kitten. I thought this would be fairly easy because she was a kitten, but it was anything but that. It was a struggle the entire time and countless messes in my house the worst being my bed 3 different times. I did make it to the green stage and she did use it properly but it was only because I would trap her in the bathroom when I knew it was time for her to go. She would circle around the toilet for 20-60 minutes looking to go anywhere but the toilet after 4 months of this training. It was at this point when I could tell that this was not going to work. I did not move her along to quickly, obviously, since it took me 4 months to get to the green stage.
I finally went back to a normal litter box and when I set her in it for the first time she went immediately and has not made a mess in my house since.
This may work for some cats, but it did not work for my cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LitterKwitter

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sucker2
from Santa Clarita
This is the worse product on the market for litter training. The movie of a cat urinating on a toilet is cute and wishful thinking but it screwed up our cat's head. Our cat was litter trained when we purchased him. He never urinated anywhere outside his litter box until we purchased this LITTERKWITTER. After trying to train our cat to urinate in the toilet, which took several weeks, he started urinating EVERYWHERE IN THE HOUSE!. He even urinated ON MY SOFA. The cat's head is now SCREWED UP. I have to now have him stay outside because HE'S URINATED EVERYWHERE IN MY HOUSE! I HAD TO THROW AWAY MY MATERIAL SOFA, RUGS, TOWELS, AND COMFORTERS. PLUS, EVERY TIME YOU WALK ON THE RUG THAT'S BEEN URINATED, YOU TRAVEL IT TO OTHER PARTS OF THE RUG. Beware of this product, IT'S THE WORSE THING YOU WILL EVER PURCHASE.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
10of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I will never use this again

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
JLDZ2009
from Brooksville, Fl
We bought litter kwitter 2 months ago and have been on stage 1 for 2 months. We tried stage 2 for 1 day after the first 2 weeks and He started using our floor instead of the litter kwitter. So back to stage 1 for a few more weeks, It happened again and again. All me and my husband have to say is we will never use this again not worth the money or the time you have to spend cleaning up cat feces everywhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined my Cat!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ayrs
from Spring Hill, FL
Unfortunately I don't have a kind review for this product. I've read the manuel, and watched the DVD that came with the Litter Kwitter. I kept up on the daily cleanings, and used flushable litter. My cat started urinating and deficaing on my carpets (she has NEVER done this) and now that I've gone back to having a litter box she is STILL urinating and deficating on my carpets (she has "quit the litter" but is using my house as her toilet). So needless to say by spending $50 on this product has now cost me over $1000 to replace my carpets in my home with tile. I am very disappointed in this product, and am giving an honest review that I wouldn't recommend it. I'm sure some people can get their cats to use this, and I believe that it all depends on the cat, but use at your own risk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
25of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works but needs special litter

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
wdg0
from Tampa FL
Have had this a week and so far both cats are doing well. Flushable litter is required for step 2 and 3, It would have been nice if that was mentioned in the product description so I could have ordered it at the same time. Petco has SWheat litter that is certified flushable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So far, so good; be prepared to commit. Buy a slotted spoon

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
ceolstan
from Bloomington, IN
This is not a complete review of the system. Instead, it is a review of the system as it operates through the first stage.
CONCEPT: This product works by teaching your cat three distinct behaviors: jumping/balancing on the toilet, scratching less, and eliminating through a hole. Reading the customer reviews indicates that most cats can easily learn to jump on the toilet to eliminate. The trick is in teaching the cat to scratch less and eliminate through a hole. For those whose cats really need to scratch, there are other systems that may be more effective.
PRODUCT DESIGN: The product is very sturdy, but be aware that it doesn't fit all toilets. Especially those with elongated toilets in their homes will discover that this product cannot fit. Again, you can research other methods that can alleviate this issue. The trade-off with those is often the sturdiness of the pan you're using. This system is very sturdy!
The basic system comes with three inserts: one solid, one with a small hole, and one with a larger hole. Be prepared, if your cat seems okay with the first stage (the solid insert), to buy the additional "multicat" version, which has a smaller hole to start with so there are more stages to the training--particularly useful if your cat is unusually resistant to changes or if your cat seems to get the idea very quickly and you want to move on, but not move on too quickly for your cat to keep up.
USER EXPERIENCE THROUGH FIRST STAGE: Well, actually, the second stage. The first stage is putting the litter box in the bathroom until the cats start using it. This was an easy transition for our cats, as we have a lower level utility room with a bathroom next to it. Basically, our cats just had to figure out their litter box was moved 3 feet. The second stage is getting the cats to use the tray when it's on the toilet.
Be prepared to commit to constantly cleaning the litter tray. Success depends on getting your cats to go in the tray. My cats are used to very clean litter boxes, and even with our 2-3 times per day cleaning, this is even harder on us. Basically, you need to scoop every time your cat uses the litter box so the litter feels fresh. I advocate changing the litter frequently, since the tray holds only about 4 cups to start with, and your cat probably goes through a cup of that in the normal course of a day or so. If you're used to cleaning once a day or if you don't have time to babysit it, don't get this system.
You will need to buy a slotted spoon or slotted spatula to scoop the litter. There are lots of ridges in the bottom of the inserts, and regular litter scoops are just too wide.
The inserts are extremely shallow, which is supposed to encourage your cat to scratch less. If you have a cat that scratches a lot or really likes to bury its waste, then be prepared for a lot of litter on the floor. Additionally, it is possible for a cat to get urine between the litter box frame (the toilet seat part) and the insert. That urine can get on the floor and make a mess. Some people like to use puppy pads to guard against accidents, especially in the first stage. All the same, be prepared to clean up cat urine, even if you are extremely vigilant.
OVERALL RATING AT THIS STAGE: 3 paws for average. I knocked off 1 paw for not including a special litter scoop that will fit this product. I knocked off a second paw for the mess factor. You will need to clean this product constantly, and the packaging/marketing needs to make this more clear. My husband saw the mess the first time one of our cats used the system and wanted to go back to litter boxes immediately. Me? I'm willing to clean up cat waste for a few weeks if we can have a clean, litter-free household for the next decade.
I will update as I go along.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+57points
58of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bocadeb2
from Boca Raton fl
The materials used in this product are superb. My cat jumped up on it and urinated right away!!!! Next came #2. This is in one day!!!! I know it will work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
11of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Concept

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
5CatLady
from North Reading, MA
In theory this is a good idea, but it just didn't work for me. However, I have 5 cats and all but one took to it. My oldest just wouldn't budge. He decided that he was afraid of the water (because of the noise the litter made when it hit the water) and refused to use it. That is a problem considering that you need to remove the cat box in order to train them. I really did put in the time trying (and I have new rugs to prove it), but I just couldn't get it to work. I gave it a 4 paw rating because if I only had 4 cats, it would have worked. The cats really do go straight back to the litterbox once you put it back out. I left the LitterKwitter on the toilet once I returned the litterbox, hoping that I could stil train some of them, but no one ever used it again.
So, I'm back to the litterbox : (
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth every penny and funny too

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
themomofpapi
from NJ
its worth the time and effort, it would be great to have a second bathroom for the early training portion, the more oval seats dont fit as well, but still awesome overall
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not fit

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
islandwatergirl
from carlsbad, ca
This would be a good product I imagine but it does not fit on a oval toilet seat so I had to return it. its too bad they only make one size.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Litter Kwitter Toilet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
firecracker23
from Centennial, CO
I have successfully trained both of my cat's to use the toilet using this product! I even posted pictures on my facebook of them using the toilet! Lots of people are impressed with them. hehe!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>