petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Dual Betta Bowl

Petco Dual Betta Bowl

Includes divider so you can safely have two Bettas at once!Special lid creates vase for live plantsSleek, modern design is perfect for office or tabletop
Average Customer Rating:
2.125 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
19
8 out of 32(25%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Review 1 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only good for tiny fish

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Izzy45
from New York
I used this tank after purchasing two baby betta fish. It was a good size for these fish when they were tiny, but it is WAY too small for even one full-grown betta fish. It works well for a temporary bowl when cleaning out their actual space, but I would not recommend it. Also, unless you use the pellets for food, the flakes often get stuck when putting it through the two holes in the top meant for food. If you use it as a permanent home for any fish, rocks are a necessity unless you want to clean daily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrid

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
CAFishLady
from California
Way to small. A full grown male betta wouldn't even be able to turn around in this with out the divider and if it was divided and had another male in there they would be so stressed they would kill themselves.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good for Permanent Home

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
VivaLaBAD
from Massachusetts
This would be good for taking photographs of bettas, as putting them close to each other would make them flare and show finnage, but as a permanent home for TWO bettas?! That is 0.18 gallons of water for each betta...they probably don't even have enough room to turn around in that thing. In order to keep the water clean in such a small container you'd need to do DAILY 100% water changes. Why not just get a 10 gallon for $10, "cycle" it, and do 1 water change per week? Then everyone's happy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is BAD!

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ExoticFishKeeper
from Texas
This is not even 1 gallon and you should have at least 2.5 gallons for ONE betta fish. Invest in a bigger aquarium, my local super market sells 10 gallon aquariums for $12.00. This is just cruel to put two bettas in a tank when its not even big enough for one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Small

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Olivia640
from Chicago
This tank is too small for 1 fish let alone 2. Why are you selling this Petco?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not to great.................

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
wildgirl0122
i would not reccomend this product to anyone if they were not willing to due DAILY water changes.
This habbitat is also way too small for two betta fish and also since there are holes in the divider diseases in the fish could easily spred. i would only reccomed this for one betta fish. overall not such a great product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really, Petco?!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sapph
HOW do they even think it's ok to sell this kind of tank for bettas?! It's far too small and the fish will be incredibly stressed out seeing each other all the time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
27of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

R.I.P. my fish

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
yidi
from los angeles
one of my baby bettas that was in this tank got a bit too adventurous and managed to get under the divider and drown. i hate this product and wouldn't recommend it. at least housing 2 fish within it. take out the divider and just use as normal tank. save your self heartbreak
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cruel and inhumane

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
tekphnx
Did you know that a well cared-for betta fish commonly lives for 4 to 6 years? Nobody who keeps their betta in this will ever find that out. This 'tank' is far too small to safely house even one betta, much less two of them. Rapid buildup of toxic ammonia in this tiny enclosure will ensure that your fish will live a short and miserable life.
If you care about your betta, get it at the very minimum a 1 gallon container. 2.5 gallons or more would be much better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
lamby201
My fish can see eachother alittle but its okay the tank is small i took out the divider for one betta ill recommend that you buy it ps its small soo......
I would recommend this to a friend!
-25points
5of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stylish but too small

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
ikelerda85
from Harrisburg, PA
It is supposed to be a divided tank for 2 fish but with the divider there isn't enough space for them to actually swim around. If you are planning on just one fish then it is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-12points
5of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay Product

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vitrushka
from Amherst, WI
I started out with two Bettas in this bowl, but THREE TIMES I had fish cross over into the other guy's side and attack. I also had one JUMP OUT of the hole for the bamboo in the top to get away from the attacking fish (found him alive on the floor 3 feet away from the tank and he survived well) so ended up separating them completely. One Betta in this is alright, without the divider, but it's NOT a good idea to have two right next to each other, seeing each other up close, and sharing the same water. They HATE EACH OTHER!!! Very cruel in my opinion! Again, fine for ONE FISH.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not big enough

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
leezer4711
from Rhode Island
The small is extremely small and bettas need heaters.There isn't enough room to put a heater in the small space.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too small

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teamlestat
from los angeles
barely enough room for one betta to move, plus bettas need heater, and you cannot put a heater in here!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daisy7896
from MA
I've had this tank for over two years now. I started with two Bettas and they were fine with once a week water changing. You do have to be careful not to put the water higher then the devider or the bettas can cross over which is what happened to mine. So now I keep one betta and he is great! My only complaint is the wholes in the top to put bamboo through are very small and hard to fit any bamboo through without taking off the roots. Bettas do fine in small tanks I've had some live for many many years just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-34points
5of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome bettafish divider!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
iluvU2much
from texasTX
The 2 betta fish divider aquarium is an excellent home for your 2 betta fish. You may think it's to small 4 them, but in the ocean, when they're living by themselves, they only breed in in a less than a 1-gallon mud pocket! So, if you're looking 4 a cheap, but suitable fish tank, I recommend this 2 all of u.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-71points
5of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small for two

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
PewPewPew
from New York, NY
This tank is too small for two betta fish. Keeping two in this would be cruel, because the ammonia would get deadly high in only a day or two.
This tank is too small even for one fish.
Be a good owner and get a different tank, and only one betta per tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+46points
53of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WAY too small

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Asha07
from AZ
Bettas need at least 5 gallons per betta-how am I supposed to get 2 in seomthing less than a gallon? There's no room in this thing for a heater, which they need since they're tropical fish. There's also no lid & since bettas jump that's a problem. Plus, since it's so small I can't cycle it so I'm going to have to change all the water every single day?! That's impractical & so is this...thing. It's not a tank & is certainly not a suitable home for 1 betta, let alone 2. Don't be fooled into buying this like I was. Just because it can "fit" in there doesn't mean it's suitable. Technically, you can "fit" a child in a closet but what sane person would think that was ok?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+34points
43of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedMay 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
orphansparrow
from New Mexico
This tank is NOT suitable for a permanent home for one, much less TWO bettas.
With this tank you would have to do water changes every single day so that it didn't fill up with ammonia, and cause your betta to become ill.
Best betta home: 5 gallon tank, cycled - you would only have to do 50% water change once week.
Second best betta home: 2 or 3 gallon tank. You have to do 100% water changes once weekly, but your fish could have space to live it's life.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+35points
40of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Dual Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like this

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irishgirl
from Baldwin, NY
I like this tank very much it's not expensive and it is very sturdy and so easy to clean I like it very much and finally with this you could keep 2 bettas in it they won't kill each other and you only have to clean one cage amazing right!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-55points
6of 67voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>