petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy

VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy

Tuff Scale of 7 = a really tough toy but still vulnerableSoft edges won't hurt gumsFloats for added funGreat for interactive play with one or multiple dogsMachine washable for longstanding use
Average Customer Rating:
2.417 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
5 out of 12(42%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Review 1 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Experience

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
RCOA
We stumbled across this toy in store before reading reviews. Glad we did!
We have a 5yr old shepard/collie mix who absolutely loves it. We've had the toy for over a year now, and it's just starting to fray around the edges. Added bonus, with a squeaker in each arm, there are still a couple she hasn't popped! I think she enjoys trying to find the unbroken ones.
We do have to keep this toy away from some of her more destructive friends, but for her, its been great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Destroyed in less than 30 minutes

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carlydog
We gave this toy to our 9 year old lab mix, who is known to destroy toys. We purchased the toy specially because of its high rating for not being easily destroyed. Within 30 minutes, our dog tore all of the stuffing out of the head of the octopus, and within a day removed the squeaker from the head. This is what she enjoys doing to toys, which is fine, but due to the high rating on the toy, we expected it would take her at least a few days to destroy this toy rather than a few hours. For reference, the snake toy which is also sold by Petco took her much longer (maybe a week) to remove the first squeaker.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tuff Luck with this Toy

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DoggyMama
from Illinois
What a tremendous disappointment! I wish I had checked the reviews before I made this purchase for a toy that my dog tore open like a piñata within 5 minutes of getting the tags off, and had disemboweled in my living room before I had unloaded the rest of the groceries. The stuffing is very dense, so my dog really had his work cut out for him, but he was up for the challenge. I debated on whether to take it back to the store in hopes of a money back guarantee, or just throw it out knowing that my dog had 5-10 minutes of joy destroying it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HMMM....

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMcPeak
from Akron, OH
I purchased this just today, within an hour he chewed holes in it. I have a pit mix, so I am always trying to find tough toys to withstand him. He usually wins. I would say this would be a good product for a not so active and powerful chewer. The legs of the octopus are holding up to his chewing, it was the head that took the beating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sixrow
from Indiana
Do not buy this product. I have a mini dachshund. I thought the word Tuff had meaning. Not! Less than 5 minutes of having the "Tuffy" octopus, there was cotton covering my floor. If I seemed ticked, I am. $15 for a toy and less than 5 minutes of fun for the dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy - NOT so Tuff

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
QsDad
from Boston, MA
This product looked like it could withstand my puppy's chewing ability. It seemed durable and claimed to be a TOUGH toy to destroy. Well, my puppy had it ripped apart with all stuffing out and then entrire toy shredded in less than one full day. Not worth the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointing

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
KittyCuddler
from New York, NY
My english bulldog loves toys, but he plays really rough with them. I was excited about this toy because it looked like it was hard to destroy. 3 hours after I brought the toy home, the stuffing was all pulled out of the head. I will be trying to return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love tuffy toys

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
tuffys
I have heavy chewers and these toys last the longest!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buying a 2nd one

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
KJack
We have two labs who love playing with Tuffy's toys. Other toys are destroyed in literally 15 mins, but we've had 3 Tuffy's toys, and they usually last us about 6 months. Our one lab loved to chew just on the eyeball of this octopus, so eventually he chewed it off and we had to toss it, but he loved it and it lasted us a good 6 months, so we're going in for round 2. We've also had a snake that they liked a lot. I'd recommend the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
hendi2519
My dogs love this toy! As labs they are constant chewers and tuggers! so far (2 weeks) this toy has withstood their playing. There are built in squeakers so it is a plus. if u can get these toys on sale, they are comparable to cheap toys that will be destroyed in a few days, so i will definately buy them aga in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

no match for Dane jaws

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
rhch4
from Central Square, NY
I bought this for my 10 month old Great Dane pup for Christmas. Thank God I didn't listen to my daughter and get an expensive dino. He had it open and stuffing flying within 15 minutes. Next was the squeekers. We still have the carcass and he still chews on it, but the head is completely chewed off. I guess to a dog, getting the stuffing out and killing the squeekers is half the fun.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for VIP Products Tuffy's Orange Octopus Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so TUFFY!

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
simmom3
from MA
My PWD puppy was able to chew through to the stuffing on the spider version of this toy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.