petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan

PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan

Save money, control odors, and protect your furniture and flooring with reusable dog housebreaking padsPoochPad absorbs up to four times its own weight without soaking throughEach PoochPad lasts as long as 365 disposablesJust launder and reuse the pee pads
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
34 out of 35(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Review 1 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pads ever

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
These are the best potty pads ever. We do yorkie rescues and this catches and holds the potty and does not leave an odor. Wish I had these years ago. The best ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been using for eight years

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Trinity AL
Have been using Pooch Pads for about eight years and they are great. Easy to launder, and last real well. Our dog was trained on them and it is very convenient for me because I can't go out much in the winter, so problem solved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
My dogs are rather finicky about where they "go."
They love these reusable pads - other brands, not so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Less expensive than disposable, not as absorbent

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Living in Chiberia (Chicago-Siberia), my young Chi hates the cold, rain, snow, grass, etc.,. I have spent a small fortune on disposable pads. Hoping to find an alternative, I decided to try the reusable ones as they advertised as being eco-friendly, economical, an absorbent. Almost as soon as I put the pad down, my fur baby christened it. I picked it up almost immediately. The underside felt heavy. Unsure if it went through to the carpet, I felt and smelled it. The carpet was slightly damp and it smelled. I was disappointed. Still not wanting to spend $20 -$30 dollars a month on disposable pads, I looked on-line for homemade reusable pads. Then I had a light bulb moment - clear, vinyl carpet runners! I went to my local big box discount store, purchased for under $5.00 a roll of clear vinyl carpet runner, and a package of stick on Velcro. I placed the pad on its top, stuck Velcro to the bottom, peeled off the other side, turned it over and placed it on the runner (leaving about an inch on either side). The pad doesn't move on the runner or the carpet.Voila! Totally waterproof and reusable. Now I come home from work, check, the pad, if wet, hand wash it and put down a clean one. I can see my self using reusable pads for years - even with modifications.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my floor

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
It is great. My dog goes on this now instead of the floor. It's so helpful and easy to get him to go on this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pads have been a lifesaver!!!

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
We have a one year old Chihuahua who has been VERY difficult to potty train. My husband was all but convinced that we would have to get rid of her because we couldn’t have her out of her crate without constant supervision. Also, we live in the Northeast. I couldn’t see how she would take to being outside in the cold during the winter and walking around in the snow and ice with her delicate little paws. After reading the great reviews on Petco’s website, I decided that I would give the Pooch Pads a try. Right away, she took to using them. My husband is now convinced that we should keep her. She roams about freely with our other dog and is so much happier now. She is 8 pounds and goes about 4 times on a pad before we have to change it. She doesn’t like dirty ones. However, it isn’t an issue because they can easily be thrown in the washing machine. They dry very quickly in the dryer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reusable pet pads

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from williamsburg, va
love these, great quality. wish they were not so expensive, but should last a long time. my dog occasionally has bowel accidents. i keep these pads on the floor hoping he will use them rather than the floor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from maine
My dog is getting older so she can't hold her bladder for long. Accidents have been happening and I am tired of washing the rugs so I bought these puppy pads not sure if they would work. They are a life saver. Just follow the instructions on use and caring for them and all your problems are solved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves money!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Goshen, IN
I have 4 small dogs and they are potty pad trained. I have been going through 2-3 potty pads a day and wanted a way to save some money. These have been AWESOME! I do laundry daily, so all I do is throw the used ones in the wash. I need to get a few more of these. LOVE LOVE LOVE them! And the best part (if it could actually get better) is that my dogs go ON the pad, not on the corner. A lot less accidents and no leaks whatsoever!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
My puppy uses these w/ no problem. I do however wish they were bigger. He only uses them maybe 2 times then he wants a new one. I have 6 now but I'm gonna buy more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
I like this pad because I can wash it and I don't feel like I am wasting my money by the disposables.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these things!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
After trying the disposable pads and having the pups chew them up, I tried these. I've been using the same 3 pads in their pen for 5 months now. Someone chewed a little on 1 of them, but it hasn't raveled and they've held up really well. We just toss into the washer with the other pup bedding weekly and hang to dry. They've held their shape, are very absorbant and have been a great investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better than disposable

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MN
I've had these pads for about 5 months.
They are better than disposable ones..they are thicker so i don't worry about them leaking from the bottom.
i've noticed though that they aren't as odor-absorbing as when i first got them. Within the past 2 months i'd say i can smell the urine after just one spot. When i first got them i'd smell the odor after 3-4 spots.
I'm washing them correctly so i may look into another brand. Otherwise buying these twice a year is still better than buying disposables every other month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Mess Pads

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
These pads are great! They are the only pads my picky little dog will use without trying to play with them or move them. I have never had one leak and just toss them in the wash to reuse. Next time I will buy the slightly larger size because these are tiny and I hope my shih tzu gets herself all of the way on them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attracts stubborn pooch

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from marrero,LA
My dog is "almost"trained at 6 years. Finally potties ON this pad rather than next to it as in the past. Use with one disposable pad and have saved a lot of money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work great, hold a lot of urine, stay in place.

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
These are great for my incontinent dog. They stay in place on the floor, and hold a lot of urine without letting it soak into the carpet. I wish I had been able to buy a larger size, but I ended up sewing them together, and they work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent training aid

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City Jtah
I have several sets of these and they work great and last well beyond what I expected. They wash well and retain their shape and keep doing their job. Dogs love them , too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and Absorbent

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rockaway Beach, NY
These things are great. They hold a LOT of liquid. My female pit bull has a medical issue that causes her to have to urinate frequently, and I was going broke buying disposable pads. They clean and dry easily and really hold the liquid. The downside: only medium size was available on petco.com. Am looking into buying larger size from the manufacturer. At first the price made me cringe (around $34 for 2), but after doing the math I realized I'd save a bundle. (I was spending $28 a week on disposable "XL size" pads) I highly recommend these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
So far this product does the job. The only concern I have is that my dog can pull it all over the house. I wish there was a tray of some sort that would hold it in place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PoochPads Reusable Housebreaking Pad in Tan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog ate it within 10 minutes

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I purchased this due to the reviews of it being durable. It's been in my home 10 minutes and my 9 lb, 1.5 year old dog has chewed a hole in it. I am hoping they will take this on a return because obviously it's unusable. I was a little surprised because it does SEEM quite durable! Guess my girl was determined. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>