petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement

Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement

Easy to feed supplement with CoQ10 and essential fatty acid complexWith wheat germ oil and salmon oil for shiny skin and coatTasty carob flavorFor dogs and puppiesJust add to your pet's dry or canned food
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
36 out of 38(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Review 1 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fabulous

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from martinez,ca
Great product! My dogs skin and coats are great. I recommend this product highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Research the BHT preservative!

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from kcmo
Based on the exceptional results from using 1 bottle (on our black lab's food) purchased from Petco, I was ready to purchase a second until I read XXXXXX reviews, one of which brought attention to BHT preservative content! The most recent review on XXXXXX was posted exactly 2 yrs ago today. Maybe that has affected the sale of this product on that site, since reviews would have been 5 stars based on effectiveness.
None of the Petco reviews for this are negative, so I will be surprised if I return here and find my comments posted.
I will return to XXXXXXX to buy what I had used previously and not offered by Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stuff!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Miami, Florida
I put this on the small amount of dry food I give the dogs for breakfast. They like it and it works. Both my dogs are part poodle....one is a Goldendoodle and the other a Whoodle. Both have very soft and healthy coats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unsure

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I was using this along with the supplement-Missing Link-and had great success with a noticeable reduction in shedding. Then, I changed supplement brands and the shedding started again. Began using it again, but it has not been as successful as previously so maybe it was the "Missing Link"?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from PA
My lab was suffering from dry skin and pulling out chunks of fur. He has been taking this supplement for two weeks and his hair is alreday growing back. He is scratching much less and his coat is looking healthier. Would highly recommend to a friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT REALLY WORKS.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from cedar hill tx
I am very impressed. He has only been taking this for a week to ten days. He had lost alot of hair on his tail. It is already growing back.. I had been battling this for a few months. I had been giving him benedryl and medication for the itching. His coat feels softer and looks so much better. He is a blonde golden retriever. He looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less pet hair

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from alpharetta, GA
This has really reduced the amount of unwanted pet hair in my house by over 50%. Heard about it from a neighbor who was recommended to it by her vet and gave it a try. Noticable difference in shedding!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Money

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mystic Island, NJ
I noticed our Whippet/Basenji mix was scratching more than usual and had a considerable amount of dander. I decided to order this product based on the reviews and I do not regret it! We don't use the product everyday, more like 3 times a week, but there is still a noticable difference in her coat (much shinier!) and her scraching (a lot less!). I agree with another reviewer who stated the cap leaks - we have that issue as well, but I just keep a paper towel nearby to soak it up. Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LUV this stuff!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Our three year old lab-setter mix must be the itchiest dog on the planet - she was constantly scratching and biting herself (especially near her tail) and causing big sores. I would have to take her to our vet constantly for anitbiotics and special wash to clean the wounds. Problem was - she would never leave herself alone - it became a nasty habit to bite and lick constantly. I ordered this product hoping for a miracle and I got it! I give her one dose in the morning and one at night - I use a doggie syringe and she licks it as I squirt it in her mouth - she luvs the taste and only has a mild fish smell once in a while - not bad at all. For the first week I didn't see too much change but by the end of the second week - no more obssessive licking and scratching and there is even a noticeable reduction in fur on the floor. Her coat is much softer and very shiny. Her personality has even improved because she's not uncomfortable all the time. Definitely give this a try!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best supplement ever

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have used this for 10 years, for 2 differrent Labs. It helps control shedding and itching, and gives the coat an amazing softness and shine. According to my vet in NJ, the omega 3s in it helped my late Lab's arthritis too. He was active til the end, at 16 1/2!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for skin allergies

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
Nutricoat is wonderful for my dogs' allergies. And Petco makes it convenient to stock up. Plus, I can get the sale price and get the product delievered to my house every 3 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FOREVER FAN

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from La Paz, Bolivia
So my Akita (Ramen) has always been the itchy type. We adopted him so I wasn't really sure of his background and on top of that we live overseas. Yes vet care if cheaper but they also don't have the ability to check a problem to the extend (and price) that a U.S. vet would. After reading tons of reviews on this product I can say I am AMAZED and a forever customer. Ramen has stopped scratching and Noodles (our lab/golden mix) has way less dander than she did before. I strongly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excel intense shield

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
from lumberton nc
This makes our dogs coats look so healthy. They shine and shed much much less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
KEEPS COAT SHINIING & REDUCES SHEDDING. HE LOVES THE TASTE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
We have two boxers, both are rescue dogs and came to us in poor condition. Since taking this oil, both have stopped scratching and their bald spots are no longer flaking. Hair is growing back and their coats are so beautiful, shiny and soft that we are complimented often. I'm sure part of it is due to the higher quality food that we feed them, but I swear by this oil, especially for dogs with sensitive skin or skin problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excel is Excellent!

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I rescued an english springer spaniel a couple of years ago and she had a tremendous shedding problem. I could vaccuum one day and the next day everything would be covered with hair again. I tried several products and had gotten advice from her vet for what to try. Nothing worked. I was researching online for some options when I ran across this product. I read the reivews and thought why not give it a try. It is amazing. She loves the taste and the shedding has drastically decreased. I don't have to vaccuum as much and her coat is much softer and shinier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cure for Dry Skin

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Essington, PA
My black la was shedding excessively due to very dry skin, after several application this product which is mixed with her dog food, has improved and eliminated the shedding and dry skin of my lab. She has not had a reacurance of flaking nor dry skin since receving these traetments
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful coat!

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a 10-yr old yellow lab that I rescued 3.5 years ago. She had a HORRIBLE skin condition when I rescued her, among other things. We figured out she had a thyroid problem, which only made things worse. She has been on thyroid medication the past 3 yrs and also DermaCaps. Her condition improved a lot, but about 6 months ago I had a hard time finding DermaCaps and decided to try something cheaper that I could just buy at the pet store. So I started using Excel once a day instead. Her coat now literally GLEAMS, it is softer and more beautiful than ever, she has soft fur all over her body, even on her belly where she has always had huge bald spots and red/irritated skin. She has always had bad allergies/itching that I am starting to think are mostly seasonal, and I am not sure the Excel has helped much with that (maybe slightly), but in terms of appearance and feel of her skin and fur, this product has been wonderful. She now has one of the most beautiful coats I have seen on a lab, especially an older one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and shiny coat...

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Greensburg, PA
I mix 1/4 tsp of this Coat Supplement into my Corgi pup's food twice a day. He loves the smell and taste of it. He would lap it up straight if I'd let him! The bottle gets a bit messy when the oil is poured out. So to make things easier, I dispense some into a plastic condiment container that I purchased at a discount store for under a buck. This way, I can use as many drops of the oil as I want and there are no drips along the side of the bottle.
I have found the Excel Intense Shield Skin and Coat Supplement to be a very good product. It has made my Corgi's coat very soft and shiny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Excel Intense Shield Skin & Coat Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Product

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Texas - Dog Trainer
I've used this Nutricoat 8 in 1 oil for about 3 years for my 6 rat terriers. Shedding is reduced incredibly and the shine in their coats is unbelieveable.
As a professional trainer, I recommend this product to my clients.
Don't ever stop making or carrying this product! It is one of the best supplements I've ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>