petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food

Complete and balanced alternative to meat-based dietsTrue vegetarian formulaProvides essential nutrients found in diets with meat as the protein sourceAllergy formula
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
44 out of 45(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Bruce Brown
from Kansas City, MO
I have a 10 1/2 year old Australian Shepard who has had allergy problems his whole life. When he was young, we went through a variety of foods after allergy shots made all of his hair fall out. We tried the alternate source protein prescription foods such as fish, potato, venison, kangaroo, and everything else. It wasn't until we found a vegetarian formula (Nature's Recipe) that he showed improvement. About nine months ago, I went into a Petco to buy more food when I was incorrectly told that Nature's Recipe was no longer making the vegetarian forumula and they suggested I try Natural Balance. Even with the vegetarian food, he still had chronic ear problems, with bad allergy flare-ups 4-5 times a year. This almost always resulted in a steroid shot and antibiotics. Since Marley has been on the Natural Balance, he has not had a single allergy problem. His belly no longer shows any hot spots, and his ears have remained perfectly pink instead of always having one with a problem. He also doesn't chew or lick on his paws like he has always done. I am convinced this particular vegetarian formula has taken care of my dog's allergy problems and I highly recommend it. While it is more expensive than everything else you can buy, I have not paid for any shots or antibiotics in about nine months, so I have come out way ahead. This is a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+31points
41of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedMay 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
collie lover
from colorado
I recently acquired a 3 yr old smooth collie. He had repeated intestinal distress issues, even though we were provided a new bag of his "sensitive stomach" food. Constant scratching, severe gas, and diarrhea. Even on rice and lean ground beef, the gas was horrific. Vet recommended cottage cheese and rice which did clear up most of the issues. Tried the Vegetarian formula and it's like a new dog! No gas, no itching, no diarrhea. Very pleased and he likes it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
sammylove
from truckee ca
i like natural balance dry food and also has good smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog now has very shiny, healthy fur and skin

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MEDO
from San Diego, CA
I have been feeding my dog this food, including the canned variety, for about a year. I hoped it would help his ears and skin. His fur is now so shiny and healthy and he has not had another ear infection. Best of all he loves the dog food. I also feed him other vegetables and fruits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The dogs love it!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
LHHfoster
from Los Angeles, CA
All of our foster dogs love this product. They would finish their food very quickly when I feed them with this one. There was one time I gave my two foster dogs this vegetarian food and my sister's foster dog his own food. He didn't want to eat his own food and ate one of our foster dog's food instead. That's how much they love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our dogs love these

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ljaneth
from Hawaii
Thia is good nutritious dried dog food. Our dogs and cats love it. Thank you Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kittymami
from texas
We started our boxer on natural balance but he reacted to the duck, well after we tried several different foods ( good ones ) and it never seemed to fail that eventually he would react with some sort of loose stool as time progressed. We have taken him to the vet and everything is great except for allergies. So I decided ok let's try vegetarian, maybe we will get lucky. Thank goodness he has done very well on it. Iam very pleased on top of it he rarely has gas like he used to which is great and he is also digesting I very very well. Thank you natural balance for this good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versatile base

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
550poundsofdogs
from NW Oregon
I saw a remark on here where a person said not to feed the dog (a carnivore, who is actually more of a omnivore) this vegan food. My dogs eat this as a base food. Every day I cook them beef, or chicken, or turkey, or lamb, or very occasionally pork. I had tried to match their dry to the meal I made but found it getting impossible, with 5 or 6 different dry foods. And since my pack is not small, weighing 550 lbs. it took up a lot of space. Now, this food doesn't overload them on protein in addition to all they are getting from meats. And since it is what I call a 'blah' flavor it doesn't interfere with whatever I serve with it. I've switched to it exclusively as a dry - along with all their other foods: real meat, bone, hide and fur (from their hunting). Since I've always had wolf crosses eating naturally is the best. I would never force them to be vegans although I am.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
doxiemomma
from Virginia
My doxies and my elderly shiz tsu love this formula! The product keeps their coats shiny and best of all, it doesn't give them bad breath as some of the flavors do. They all look forward to meal time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vegan Dog Food

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MellyPDX
from Portland,OR
Yep, they make it.
I have 2 Dachshunds and a Min Pin, they all love the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
littlelia
from St Marys, Ga
My min pin is allergic to ANYTHING related to meat (treats, food, anything). Since eating this brand & type, her hair stopped falling out, and she is very strong & healthy. Comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for dogs with food allergies & stomach sensitivity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Veggie diet

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
RuthD
from Lakewood, OH
My dog loves it! She eats it all the time. A good food and the price for all of it is excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vegetarian Dog Food

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommasita
from University place ,Wa.
My dogs love it... and bonus their poo doesn't stink...I have protein sensitive dogs so i have to rotate their food...I read that the vegetarian diet is really good for them so we're giving it a try
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All of our dogs are vegetarian

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
oneforall
from Liberty Lake, WA
Our dogs LOVE this dry vegetarian dog food. We do add a small scoop of soft veggies , lentils, and split green peas cooked in a slow cooker to each bowl. But this food is a winner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Doggie Food Ever

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
lucyfres
from North Carolina
I am a vegetarian so refuse to feed my dogs animal products. This food satisfies all vitamin requirements without using meat or meat by products. Also, my dogs love it! I have a chihuahua and a small mixed breed, so I had to choose a food that came with small bite size morsels. This one was perfect. Even my little senior dog eats it with no problem.
There are no digestive issues with my animals since I have been feeding them this diet. They have been eating this food for almost a year now, and after having tried other vegetarian varieties I can say I like this one the best. I highly recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Balance Vegetarian Dry Dog Food

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BarginLover
from Baytown,Tx
Outbeat the well-known script dog food! EXCELLENT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't live without this food!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BostonAllergy0
from New River, Az
I have a six year old Boston Terrior who is allergic to everything!!! This food has been his life line because I have not found anything else that he is able to eat. Best of all, he loves this food! I don't have to trick him into eating it by adding anything to it, he genuinely likes the flavor! If there is anyone else out there struggling with a dog that seems to have an animal protein allergy, I would highly recommend this food. For a special treat I sometimes mix in some 100% pure canned pumpkin, topped off with some baby carrots as healthy (and teeth cleaning) treats and I have one happy Boston!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing dog food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
animalluvrrr
from baton rouge, la
This is the best dog food I have tried for my dogs! They love it and I love that! My shih-tzu has stomach issues and can't process most packaged foods and this has been the one that he can deal with just fine. I also foster dogs and the shelter provides me with food but they are sneaking this stuff every chance they get! And don't listen to people who tell you dogs need meat. They do not. Those people don't understand that omnivores survive on veggies all the time (they are called vegetarians/vegans) and dogs do just the same on plant protein! In fact, my shih tzu has eaten this food for years and years and he is going on 14 and can still jump and play like a puppy. I like to credit this amazing food for that! (I'd say it was good genes, but alas, he is ADOPTED...LOL)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price, Fast Shipping

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
ESylvia
from Southern California
I ran out of dog food and, since I live more than 20 miles from the nearest Petco store, I compared the price for driving in to pickup compared to shopping online. The prices were very similar, and saved me at least an hour of drive-time. The package arrived faster than expected, ahead of the date I expected to run out. Thanks so much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Ultra Premium Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
puggie
from Durham, NC
Having 4 pugs, each with their own palates and diet needs, I have found this particular food to be outstanding. My husband and I are careful about what we eat and were thrilled to find a vegetarian food with such high quality ingredients. Their coats have never looked better and it also seems to keep their allergies under control--no paw licking or yeast infections.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>