petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food

Complete and balanced alternative to meat-based dietsTrue vegetarian formulaProvides essential nutrients found in diets with meat as the protein sourceAllergy formula
Average Customer Rating:
4.927 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
I have a 10 1/2 year old Australian Shepard who has had allergy problems his whole life. When he was young, we went through a variety of foods after allergy shots made all of his hair fall out. We tried the alternate source protein prescription foods such as fish, potato, venison, kangaroo, and everything else. It wasn't until we found a vegetarian formula (Nature's Recipe) that he showed improvement. About nine months ago, I went into a Petco to buy more food when I was incorrectly told that Nature's Recipe was no longer making the vegetarian forumula and they suggested I try Natural Balance. Even with the vegetarian food, he still had chronic ear problems, with bad allergy flare-ups 4-5 times a year. This almost always resulted in a steroid shot and antibiotics. Since Marley has been on the Natural Balance, he has not had a single allergy problem. His belly no longer shows any hot spots, and his ears have remained perfectly pink instead of always having one with a problem. He also doesn't chew or lick on his paws like he has always done. I am convinced this particular vegetarian formula has taken care of my dog's allergy problems and I highly recommend it. While it is more expensive than everything else you can buy, I have not paid for any shots or antibiotics in about nine months, so I have come out way ahead. This is a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+38points
49of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedMay 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
from colorado
I recently acquired a 3 yr old smooth collie. He had repeated intestinal distress issues, even though we were provided a new bag of his "sensitive stomach" food. Constant scratching, severe gas, and diarrhea. Even on rice and lean ground beef, the gas was horrific. Vet recommended cottage cheese and rice which did clear up most of the issues. Tried the Vegetarian formula and it's like a new dog! No gas, no itching, no diarrhea. Very pleased and he likes it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for allergy sufferers

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I have a 5 year old GSD mix that has some pretty extreme allergy issues. This is the only commercially available food that we have been able to find that does not cause his allergies to flare, plus there has been a significant improvement in his skin and coat in the year and a half he's been eating it. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food and vegan!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Melrose, FL
So nice to find a vegan dog food my dogs love! We mix with Nature's recipe, another one they like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vegetarian option

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Glad I found this vegetarian dog food to give my dog. Dogs can be vegetarian, too, and I feel good knowing that my dog is getting his essential nutrients even though he is not eating meat. More people should feed their dogs this vegetarian formula!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

low-fat

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
My dog has mild pancreatitis. He does much better on this food than the one sold by the vet. I wrote to Natural Balance and they told me this was their lowest fat dry food. I add eggs or very lean meats about every other meal, but it is not necessary. Both of my dogs are doing very well now on this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have allergy-prone dogs and this dogfood has been excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vegan Dogs

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Cruz, Ca
My dogs love this stuff and have been doing great on it. Their shiny coats, good breath, and steady energy levels are also a big bonus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All 4 dogs love it!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
All my dogs love this product! I have a rat terrier(7 years old), 2 labs (4&3 years old), and a collie mix (1 year old). They have eaten this product for a year now. They are all at a healthy weight and really enjoy meal times. I recommend this product!
My advice is just like with most changing of dog food, sometimes it takes time for them to get use to a change. That is one reason why you need to slowly change dog food products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Dog Loves This Brand!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Poughkeepsie, NY
This is our first time that we have tried this flavor and my dog loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I have been feeding my dogs this food for over 5 yrs. One of them has allergies and it has helped him tremendously and we have even cut back on doctor's visits. Both of my dogs also have a great coat and are very healthy. Although, it's a bit pricey I am a firm believer that feeding your dog a good quality of dog food is important for their over all health.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low purine dog food

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
We are on our third generation of Dalmatians. They require low purine dog food due to kidney/bladder stones. We mix prescription (Hill's U/D- very expensive) with Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula (also expensive, but much less than the prescription diet) 50/50. We have been using this mix for years without recurrence of bladder stones....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from truckee ca
i like natural balance dry food and also has good smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog now has very shiny, healthy fur and skin

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I have been feeding my dog this food, including the canned variety, for about a year. I hoped it would help his ears and skin. His fur is now so shiny and healthy and he has not had another ear infection. Best of all he loves the dog food. I also feed him other vegetables and fruits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The dogs love it!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
All of our foster dogs love this product. They would finish their food very quickly when I feed them with this one. There was one time I gave my two foster dogs this vegetarian food and my sister's foster dog his own food. He didn't want to eat his own food and ate one of our foster dog's food instead. That's how much they love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our dogs love these

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Thia is good nutritious dried dog food. Our dogs and cats love it. Thank you Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from texas
We started our boxer on natural balance but he reacted to the duck, well after we tried several different foods ( good ones ) and it never seemed to fail that eventually he would react with some sort of loose stool as time progressed. We have taken him to the vet and everything is great except for allergies. So I decided ok let's try vegetarian, maybe we will get lucky. Thank goodness he has done very well on it. Iam very pleased on top of it he rarely has gas like he used to which is great and he is also digesting I very very well. Thank you natural balance for this good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versatile base

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NW Oregon
I saw a remark on here where a person said not to feed the dog (a carnivore, who is actually more of a omnivore) this vegan food. My dogs eat this as a base food. Every day I cook them beef, or chicken, or turkey, or lamb, or very occasionally pork. I had tried to match their dry to the meal I made but found it getting impossible, with 5 or 6 different dry foods. And since my pack is not small, weighing 550 lbs. it took up a lot of space. Now, this food doesn't overload them on protein in addition to all they are getting from meats. And since it is what I call a 'blah' flavor it doesn't interfere with whatever I serve with it. I've switched to it exclusively as a dry - along with all their other foods: real meat, bone, hide and fur (from their hunting). Since I've always had wolf crosses eating naturally is the best. I would never force them to be vegans although I am.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My doxies and my elderly shiz tsu love this formula! The product keeps their coats shiny and best of all, it doesn't give them bad breath as some of the flavors do. They all look forward to meal time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vegan Dog Food

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland,OR
Yep, they make it.
I have 2 Dachshunds and a Min Pin, they all love the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>