petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food

Complete and balanced alternative to meat-based dietsProvides essential nutrients found in diets with meat as the protein sourceTrue vegan and vegetarian dog foodVegetarian food for dogs contains no animal or dairy ingredients
Average Customer Rating:
4.932 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
58 out of 59(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
I have a 10 1/2 year old Australian Shepard who has had allergy problems his whole life. When he was young, we went through a variety of foods after allergy shots made all of his hair fall out. We tried the alternate source protein prescription foods such as fish, potato, venison, kangaroo, and everything else. It wasn't until we found a vegetarian formula (Nature's Recipe) that he showed improvement. About nine months ago, I went into a Petco to buy more food when I was incorrectly told that Nature's Recipe was no longer making the vegetarian forumula and they suggested I try Natural Balance. Even with the vegetarian food, he still had chronic ear problems, with bad allergy flare-ups 4-5 times a year. This almost always resulted in a steroid shot and antibiotics. Since Marley has been on the Natural Balance, he has not had a single allergy problem. His belly no longer shows any hot spots, and his ears have remained perfectly pink instead of always having one with a problem. He also doesn't chew or lick on his paws like he has always done. I am convinced this particular vegetarian formula has taken care of my dog's allergy problems and I highly recommend it. While it is more expensive than everything else you can buy, I have not paid for any shots or antibiotics in about nine months, so I have come out way ahead. This is a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+41points
52of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedMay 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
from colorado
I recently acquired a 3 yr old smooth collie. He had repeated intestinal distress issues, even though we were provided a new bag of his "sensitive stomach" food. Constant scratching, severe gas, and diarrhea. Even on rice and lean ground beef, the gas was horrific. Vet recommended cottage cheese and rice which did clear up most of the issues. Tried the Vegetarian formula and it's like a new dog! No gas, no itching, no diarrhea. Very pleased and he likes it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vegetarian Formula

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis
Great product and my dog loves it. Does not have as many upset stomach issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad its here

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chandler Arizona
My rescue Chihuahua is allergic to wheat and beef. He gets rashes and runny eyes that can turn into infections. I had this before with my Springer Spaniel so I recognized the signs, but it used to be hard to find a food without wheat and/or beef. He's also sensitive to chicken. The vegetable formula keeps the little guy happy and bouncy because there are no arm or groin rashes and his eyes remain clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a dog with allergies

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
My dog has regular ear infections and skin issues. I switched him to this food years ago and all of his conditions disappeared. Very happy with this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent AND ETHICAL

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DFW, TX
As animals lovers we believe in not harming sentient beings. Even a small amount of research reveals that billions of sentient animals in the US are horribly mistreated and murdered for human and non-human food. We buy NB Vegetarian/Vegan dog food because it's great--our dog loves it--AND it minimizes the suffering and cruelty that other sentient animals endure. Everyone who cares about animals should look a little deeper into their shopping choices, both for their own food choices and those of their companion animals, and select only vegan products; it's the right thing to do for those subjected to non-human slavery and the stunning abuse for NON-vegan dog food. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for allergy sufferers

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I have a 5 year old GSD mix that has some pretty extreme allergy issues. This is the only commercially available food that we have been able to find that does not cause his allergies to flare, plus there has been a significant improvement in his skin and coat in the year and a half he's been eating it. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food and vegan!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Melrose, FL
So nice to find a vegan dog food my dogs love! We mix with Nature's recipe, another one they like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vegetarian option

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Glad I found this vegetarian dog food to give my dog. Dogs can be vegetarian, too, and I feel good knowing that my dog is getting his essential nutrients even though he is not eating meat. More people should feed their dogs this vegetarian formula!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

low-fat

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
My dog has mild pancreatitis. He does much better on this food than the one sold by the vet. I wrote to Natural Balance and they told me this was their lowest fat dry food. I add eggs or very lean meats about every other meal, but it is not necessary. Both of my dogs are doing very well now on this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have allergy-prone dogs and this dogfood has been excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vegan Dogs

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Cruz, Ca
My dogs love this stuff and have been doing great on it. Their shiny coats, good breath, and steady energy levels are also a big bonus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All 4 dogs love it!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
All my dogs love this product! I have a rat terrier(7 years old), 2 labs (4&3 years old), and a collie mix (1 year old). They have eaten this product for a year now. They are all at a healthy weight and really enjoy meal times. I recommend this product!
My advice is just like with most changing of dog food, sometimes it takes time for them to get use to a change. That is one reason why you need to slowly change dog food products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Dog Loves This Brand!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Poughkeepsie, NY
This is our first time that we have tried this flavor and my dog loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I have been feeding my dogs this food for over 5 yrs. One of them has allergies and it has helped him tremendously and we have even cut back on doctor's visits. Both of my dogs also have a great coat and are very healthy. Although, it's a bit pricey I am a firm believer that feeding your dog a good quality of dog food is important for their over all health.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low purine dog food

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
We are on our third generation of Dalmatians. They require low purine dog food due to kidney/bladder stones. We mix prescription (Hill's U/D- very expensive) with Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula (also expensive, but much less than the prescription diet) 50/50. We have been using this mix for years without recurrence of bladder stones....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from truckee ca
i like natural balance dry food and also has good smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog now has very shiny, healthy fur and skin

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I have been feeding my dog this food, including the canned variety, for about a year. I hoped it would help his ears and skin. His fur is now so shiny and healthy and he has not had another ear infection. Best of all he loves the dog food. I also feed him other vegetables and fruits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The dogs love it!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
All of our foster dogs love this product. They would finish their food very quickly when I feed them with this one. There was one time I gave my two foster dogs this vegetarian food and my sister's foster dog his own food. He didn't want to eat his own food and ate one of our foster dog's food instead. That's how much they love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our dogs love these

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Thia is good nutritious dried dog food. Our dogs and cats love it. Thank you Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>