petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness

Dog seat belt helps protect your dog from injury or distraction while drivingMade of durable nylon materialIncludes a plush strap liner for added comfortDoubles as a walking harnessFeatures a sturdy silver d-ring for added safetyAdjustable plastic buckles make fitting your dog a snap
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
13 out of 19(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Review 1 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
rkmoseley
This harness is great for the price and does exactly what I need it to do! Our sweet lab puppy doesn't love it though... she's way to big to try to climb into my lap while I'm driving, and now she has to sit in a seat like everyone else :) Also don't have to worry about her jumping out the window/when the door is open!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great when used with the zipline

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lakshmi
from San Francisco, CA
I bought this seat belt for my GSD puppy. It was ok until I got the zipline. Oh my gosh! She can walk across the entire bench seat in the back of my car and van. I can roll the windows down so she can stick her head out and catch some good wind action and I don't worry about her jumping out of the car.
I don't hook the zipline as shown in the picture, I wrap the hooks around the front of the headrests on each side of the car and hook them around the backs of the inside shaft/pole things that hold the headrest in place.
http://www.petco.com/product/112438/Petco-Premium-Zipline-Dog-Seat-Belt.aspx?Ntt=zipline&OneResultRedirect=1
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, my dog thinks it's comfortable.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
WoodsMom
from St. Louis, MO
We make a 12 hour drive and my dog wears his lays down and goes to sleep. We love it, he doesn't get cuts or wear marks like with some harnesses. I can easily run the seat belt through. Does it's job of keeping him safe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't fit

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yellas
from MA
I bought this four my 80lb 6month old German Shepherd and it was too small. I can't seem to find an adjustable harness that fits him now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed!

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
dfletch
from New Orleans, LA
Did not last a day! My dog chewed through the nylon strap easily. Not a harness, as previously mentioned should be labeled a chew toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

oops

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
bjel
from Redding, California
Yesterday I wrote a great review for this harness because it fit my dog Yogi well. Today I found it in pieces on the living room floor.
Apparently this harness makes a good chew toy. I need something much sturdier for my dog. I regret spending my $15.00 on a CHEW TOY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for active dogs

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
BDavis
from Brunswick, ME
I purchased this harness for a long road trip my dog (17 lb terrier) and I were taking. It was easy to put on and fit perfectly, however, he kept getting the looped strap and seatbelt twisted around his legs requiring me to pull over frequently to free him. Ultimately, I removed it and will return the harness when I return home. This may work fine for dogs who don't move around much.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Bad

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pene
from Long Island, NY
This auto safety vest is not bad. It gives my puppy room to breathe and she's not jumping all over the car. Not too many adjustment options, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
zinziber
from Phoenix, AZ
Well made, easy to put on. The rear strap is a little smaller than stated but doable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
luvmypuggle
There were no instructions on how to attach the harness to the seat belt. Impossible to attach to shoulder/lap belt, and when attached to middle lap belt, my puggle twisted and tangled himself in the harness loop within 1 minute. I guess if you have a relaxed, docile dog that will sit still the whole ride, this might work for you. I lost the packaging and its been a few months, so I can't return it. Waste of money on my part.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure how great

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
SueBear
from Orlando, FL
I bought this to control one dog who wanders while we're driving and another who stresses herself out because she tries to sit up the whole drive. However, one dog is 35 pounds, and this harness is supposed to fit up to a 44-pound dog. It is almost too tight on her, so I am not sure yet if I can use it on her. Also, it would have been nice to include a simple picture like the one above on a toy white dog, so I could figure out how to put it on the dog. The silver ring is actually at the end of the loop and not at the top of the harness like it says in the directions. We still have yet to see how these will work out for our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tangle city

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
JBGC
The harness attaches to the seat belt, 5 minutes in the ride and my dog is whining in the back seat because he has tangled himself. I have better luck using a short lead and attaching it to the headrest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
jagpal
Item is of excelant quality and priced right
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not good for mini dogs

PostedMay 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
ElliesFamily
Good product for the money but not good for mini/toy dogs. this was way to big/heavy for my mini dachshund.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome safety harness!

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Smalldogowner
from Marysville, WA
This harness is very sturdy and safe. It attaches easy to car seat belts and you can hook a leash on it when walking your dog. You don't even need another harness this is all in one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Saluki1
I found the fit of this seat belt to be excellent. It is comfortable for my Saluki and keeps him in the seat. I recommend this for those with dogs that are too big to travel in a crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
BuzzesPal
from Las Vegas, NV
It Gives My Dog a Secure and Comfortable Fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hurley83
keeps your pet safe n stay where they need to be while you are driving
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Adjustable Auto Safety Vest Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

PostedMay 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Snowlie
from PA
I got this to keep my toy poodle safe in the car. She likes being in it and going for rides. Plus I know she can't jump around in the car. The only thing I would change is I wish I could adjust it a tiny bit smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.