petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food

Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food

Reduced calorie ultra premium cat food made with a unique blend of fresh chicken and duckPromotes strong muscle tone and a healthy, shiny coatAll natural, highly-digestible foodProvides complete and balanced nutrition30% less calories per cup than the regular Natural Balance Ultra Premium Dry Cat Food
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy food!

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
At a recent visit to the veterinarian, she said my three cats are healthy and have shiny coats! Recommended to continue with this same food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nat Bal FAT Cats

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
My store no longer carries the big pink bag of Reduced Calorie, and instead, has this Natural Balance Fat Cats food. I spent quite a bit to purchase the 15 lb. size, and my cat won't touch it! Not only that--the 3 feral cats I feed every day won't touch it either. Imagine that! This has got to be horrible stuff if cats who have to scratch up their food every day turn their noses up at it. Sorry--I'm changing brands.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milford, MA
This dry food is the only one on the market that my cat will eat. It agrees with her sensitive tummy and is lower in calories, which is very important to indoor cats. Yes, it is a little more expensive than some of the supermarket brands, but when you read the ingredients and compare them, there is a considerable difference.
I recommend this product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love this, despite the lower calories

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from northwest CT
My vet gave me some dry cat food with lower calories and no one would touch it. This, Natural Balance reduced is not as extreme in lowering calories (about 30% vs 35%), but it's first ingredient is muscle meal, and the cats love it. My fatty slowly lost enough on this food, so that her arthritis allows her to walk around again...actually she saunters up to the wet-can food which the other guys get as a treat (I split one larger can of food between 5 cats...not really much).
Try this. It's not perfect and still has some grains, but overall fiber is higher and fat is lower.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hunterdon County, NJ
After attending a lecture on cat health, I recently switched my cat to a better quality food such as Natural Balance, and also incorporated wet food into his diet for the first time. Although he briefly resisted the wet food, he took to this dry food immediately! Well worth the few extra $. After all, our little pals deserve the best we can give them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has everything your beautiful cat needs.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Reno, NV
Since we adopted our kitten 28 months ago, we bought the Natural Balance dry food, this type of food has tons of different protein without CORN or any corn products, they don't process corn. She ate this food until she was one year old. After her one year old physical the vet told us to decrease the amount of food she was eating because she was increasing weight. We switched to Reduced Calorie Natural Balance dry food, basically is the same food with lots of protein, BUT REDUCE CALORIE INTAKE. By the 2 yr old physical she didn't increase any weight , she is all muscle, very active, her vet told us to keep feeding her this kind of food because she is very healthy, beautiful coat, which means good health and she always have food to eat in her bowl, we don't limit her intake, she eats when she is hungry. WE REALLY ADVICE TO BUY THIS KIND OF FOOD IS AMAZING WHAT IF DOES FOR YOUR FAVORITE KITTY.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Both of My Cats!

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I've fed Natural Balance to my cats for about 5 years now, and about 1 1/2 years ago switched to the Reduced Calorie formula. I have two cats with very different nutritional needs - one is very small and thin, the other younger but large in size and gains weight easily. To keep the younger one's weight under control, I switched them to the Reduced Calorie formula and it works. They are both getting the nutrition they need in a food they love.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Good, Bad and Stinky

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Albany NY
I bought this food for 2 reasons. I wanted a food that didnt contain a lot of grains and fillers and i needed something for weight control. My cats LOVE this food. They have had less hairballs and their fur is really soft and shiny. Plus i feel good that they are eating something healthy. BUT this food makes their urine and poo STINK. Even after you clean the box it still reeks of rotten cabbage. I tried everything from switching litter to adding baking soda. The Sink just lingers in the litter. The only relief is removing the litter completely which gets costly. This was never a problem with other foods i have used in the past. So because i bought 2 bags, i guess i will have to suffer with the rotten cabbage smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not So Great

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
I've been giving my five adult cats the regular Natural Balance products both dry and can food along with another varitey of premium natural brand cat food. I usually switch off every other time I buy, then decided since four of the five were very over weight I would try this product.
This product has made all five of my cats very ill they have had the diarrhea now since I switched to the reduced calorie formula. I'm now in the process of nutralizing their systems with a bland diet, so I can get them back on regular food again.
I was very dissapointed and very upset by how sick it made my poor babies. I even thought it would take a few days for their systems to get used to the food, so I let them eat it for five days. I'm now trying to see if the store will take it back and exchange it for me. Not sure I will even use their regular food again either now with this as a possibility.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and nutritional

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
Yes this food is expensive but well worth it. You take care of yourself well so why not your pets. This food is lower calorie but still very palpitable for even picky pets like my cat Q -ball. My cats love the taste and are losing weight. Q-ball lost two pounds in the last two months yay! My other cats are keeping a healthy weight. I also use the reduced calorie canned food a small amount twice a day and the hard in between. I love that the ingredients are so natural and human grade. I would definitly reccomend this to anyone. Anyone who wants to keep thier cats at a healthy weight and give them the best food for them. thanks to Petco this food can be bought at lower prices and it arrives fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food Ever

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
My oldest cat of 2 years had issues with hair balls very often I first had her on Sciience Diet focusing on hairball prevention dry food, it worked but once in a while the hairballs were back... So i decided to change her diet to Natural balance and its been 1yr and my cats including the oldest one have been better than ever, healthy and no morew hairballs and best of all Natural balance does not test on animals!!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PURCHASE

PostedNovember 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from WASHINGTON, UT
GREAT PRODUCT & PRICE FOR MY CATS!
EASY & FAST DELIVERY TO MY HOME!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND PURCHASING ON LINE FROM PETCO FOR THE SERVICE & CONVENIENCE TO ONE'S LIFESTYLE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for both cats

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Bemidji, MN
I have an overweight cat who gets eye infections from many cat foods and a normal weight cat who has trouble digesting other diet cat foods. The overweight cat is losing weight since I started using Natural Balance Reduced Calorie about a year ago, and the normal weight cat is able to digest it just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Ultra Premium Cat Food

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
I was a bit skeptic to try this natural cat food, because cats usually like what isn't good for them more than they do the good stuff. Suprisingly, he started eating the Natural Balance, reduced calorie formula, and really likes it. He is a bit on the heavy side, so I think it is a good choice. I still rotate the dry formula with a natural canned cat food, and he eats both, even though he won't eat any kind of people food. I've been feeding the Natural Balance for a couple weeks now, and I can see a big improvement in both the way he looks, as well as being a lot more active. I will continue to use this product, and I reccommend it highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He loves it!

PostedMay 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Whittier, CA
I decided to change my cat over to Natural Balance after having to put my dog on an L.I.D. formula. They'd both been on a very good premium diet all their lives, but I feel better giving them food with natural indredients. My kitty is a bit older now and less active. I've seen a difference in the couple months he's been eating this reduced cal formula. He's getting back to a healthier weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this food

PostedApril 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
My cat is over weight and I have been trying to fine a good quality food that he can lose weight with and enjoy. My cat loves this food and has been slowly losing the extra weight. I recommend this food to anyone wanting their cat to lose weight, ecspecially if their picky eaters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat LOVES this!

PostedMay 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
Pan was not that fussy of an eater, but after purchasing this he doesn't want to eat anything else! I bought it for the weight control, unfortunately becuase he loves it so much he is constantly begging for more than his daily allowance. Due to the all natural ingredients and apparently great taste, I would definitely recommend it! Just beware that once you feed your cat Natural Balance they might not want anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Food By Far

PostedApril 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have three cats, all of which are shall we say "fluffy". I've tried three or four different indoor cat formula foods to help stabilze and possibly lose weight without sucess. One of my babies has a sensative stomach, especially with foods that have color added to them. The other two are just plain picky eaters. They have been on Natural Balance Reduced Calorie for six weeks now. Their coats are shinier, they are shedding less and Cosmo has lost over half a pound already. And as for poo, they go a little more often but their waste does not stink as it did on some of the other products I've had them on. I barely notice any unpleasant smell. Best of all, they love this food. They love it so much they like waking me up early to feed them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this item!!!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
We bought this cat food about a month ago and my cats love it. One of my kitties always had a shiny coat but the other never did until we started giving them this food and know his coat is really shiny. Also one of my kitties has a sensitive tummy and this food hasn't made her sick at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Reduced Calorie Formula Ultra Premium Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fat cat loses 1.5 lbs!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
this is a wonderful cat food! Two and a half years ago my 5 year old male cat was supposed to lose .5 lbs. Well, instead he gained 2 lbs! Got a kitten 9 months ago and hoped he would get a little more exercise playing with his new "brother" but instead the "brother" got fat also! I found this food and in 3 months the older one has lost 1.5 lbs! The kitten is another story (hungry all the time and stealing his brothers left over food!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>