petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Giant Litter Pan

Petmate Giant Litter Pan

Microban helps prevent growth of odor and stain causing bacteriaAccommodates larger cats, multiple cat households and small dogsDeep wall design reduces litter scatterIncludes storage departments for disposal bags, scoops & accessoriesHolds 30+ lbs. of litter
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to maintain

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
FullHouseCatsOverDogs
from Florida
We had one cat that I often refer to as Flash Flood for all to the water that he drinks and then later deposits into his litter box. We were using a storage tub for his litter box. Without something very large his litter box would need cleaning each time he uses it.
We adopted a pair of three-year-old cats that a family was forced to give-up and they came with a very large litter box of similar design to this one. Not having ever seen such a large litter box before in a retail store, I then researched and found this one on Petco.com.
"Flash Flood" leaves mud holes in the litter box rather than clumps as most cats do. With the storage tub that we used for a litter box the uneven surface was difficult to clean the muddy litter away from. This litter box, with it's smooth surface, is very easy to clean and the end pockets are a great place to store the soiled litter sifting scoop deodorizing powder.
The boxes sit side-by-side and each of the three cats are not particular which box that they use. Even with Flash Flood's large deposits, there is no problem maintaining the two litter boxes by cleaning 1-2 times per day. In addition, the litter box is deep enough that litter does not get pushed out and onto the floor when the cats scratch around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
LivFox
from Wisconsin
My cat is long. His butt hangs over the edge of normal sized cat boxes and he ends up accidentally peeing on the floor almost every time. I could never find a box long enough for him until now. I have so much less mess and he had no trouble transitioning to a new kind of box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

new large litter pan

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mer1
from florida
my two main coon/ragdolls are happy using the new pan but I have a 15 1/2 year old grey tiger that still wont use a litter pan at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the Giant litter pan!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mews4Me
from Cape Coral, FL
I can't say enough about this product. I first saw it at my sister's house. She gave me the information and I ordered it online. It is perfect for my cats. It is quality material, large, deep with high sides, and a place to hold the litter box scooper. The huge box the litter pan was delivered in was another bonus. My 4 cats loved the box! I would highly recommend this giant litter pan to anyone with cats!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor design

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Morris Plains, NJ
When I say poor design, I don't mean for the cats, I mean for the person scooping the litter. I love the size, the attached bins that hold the scoop, but...
When I say "poor design", I mean the curved front. It may look nice but it's not easy to scoop around the curve. It should be a straight front. I would have given it 5 stars, if not for that. Nice and large for multi cat families, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great price!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaBear8899
from Nashville, TN
This is the mack daddy of litter boxes. Both of my cats are approximately 20 lbs each, and finding a litter box they could fit in without peeing in the floor over the side of the box has been impossible until I saw one of these in a friend's house and got one for us. It takes up a little more room, but I don't care, it works. I'm happy, the cats are happy, my house is cleaner, it's all good! It also holds enough litter that the clumps don't reach the bottom of the pan and cause the litter to stick and have to be scraped or liners to be used. I was buying puppy training pads to place under the box before to keep the urine off the floor, but no more puppy pads for the cats! In two months, the extra I was spending for the pads will have paid for this litter pan. LOVE it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST EVER!!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
overinhawaii
from Hawaii
Have 10 kitties and they all LOVE this box!! Kitties range in size and this pan is the BEST EVER for all of them! The larger kitties love it because they can turn around easily and there is enough room to "do their business". Elder kitties can get in & out easily since one side is a little lower. The high side is great for the "stand up" kitties to prevent over spray. Holds a lot of litter too! It is huge so make sure you are aware of the measurements. I will be getting another one and elimate some smaller litter pans we have. I really wished this could come in stainless steel. After a while, the clay litter started sticking on the bottom. Make sure you keep a lot of litter in it so it reduces the sticking. It is easy to thoroughly clean out weekly though. The 2 compartments are great to keep a little hand broom/dust pan in one side and scooper in the other. Would be nice if it were a darker color (black, brown etc). I don't know why they make litter pans in light colors. They could have kept the corners sharper rather than rounding them as well. Makes getting in the corners better for cleaning. Overall, it's a super great litter pan and your cats will LOVE IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
lincan
from Kingman, Arizona
This litter box is nice and big. I have four litter boxes in use and this is the one that is now drawing all the attention. I have two inside cats, and three inside-outside cats. Two of my outside cats are up in age and decided the inside litter box is better than going outside now. The box is big enough for my largest cat to turn around and my little Princess thinks it is just the best thing she has ever jumped into. Very glad I purchased this Jumbo box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One little stray turned into 9!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaM304
from Braintree, MA
Hi,
I had to write a quick review for those of you who have multiple cats. As the title suggests, our little stray Missy was in "a family way" and next thing you know, our grand cat, had great grand cats...I desperately needed a Central Litter Control and this is it! I love the size, and so do the cats...all spayed and neutered I might add...I fill it with 70lbs of litter and there's plenty room to spare. It is easy to clean using Clorox multi-purpose spray w/bleach, and love the handy scoop holder. So from Missy, Rascal, Rebel, Mojo, Chico, Bam Bam, Lucy, Elsa, Dylan & Me....36 Paws & 2 Thumbs up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GIANT litter pan!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
KristenMae
from Beacon, NY
This litter pan is so much bigger than I expected. I read the size dimensions and the reviews and knew how big it was in terms of inches, but it is just so much bigger in person! The size of a large baby bath! Anyways, my cat loves it, he's weird and still walks around the edge of it to dig the litter but for once he's not kicking it out and scratching at the wall. Great produce and you really can't best the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Giant Litter Pan

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
KirbySophie
from Missouri
Very large litter box that is perfect for the large cat. I have 2 cats that are a Maine Coon mix that are too large for the normal litter box.
This litter box has enough room for the cats to move around and find that perfect place to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ever for multiple cat households

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatsNmore
from Salt Lake City, UT
Large enough for my big cats to be comfortable, sturdy construction, easy to clean, and can you believe it? A convenient place to store the scoop. After trying lots of boxes, this one is truly the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for Simeon & Empress

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
krysascwt
from Lethbridge, Alberta CANADA
After trying many different sizes of litter pans this was the one. Simeon and Empress needed larger bathroom quarters. This one fits the bill. With the extra area to move around as these two felines are very particular that there is lots of litter.
It cost a little more than usually pay but have gotten it back in the time I have had it. One, down side is the weight when it is full of litter making it hard to move.
I would really like to have a cover for the litter pan as Simeon kicks litter out on the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Giant Litter Pan

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gayleanna
from Ansonia, CT
My 5 cats just love this pan and so do I. There is a lot less scattered litter around and I can fill it fuller so it's easier to clean. Great buy would highly recomend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
lksr8151
from Troy, MI
I saw this product while caring for a friend's cat - and loved the ease of cleaning it. So, I looked for it online, and found it at Petco, and at a great price.
I bought three of them - one for my home, one for my daughter's home, and one for my cats in Florida.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally...

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
crazyoldcatlady
from TX
I finally found a litter pan that is big enough to be useful. This box is the right size for a cat to get in and dig like they are supposed to. They don't soil the sides of the box because they have room to do their business inside the box. All four of my cats have come and said "Thank you" for their new box. I will be purchasing at least two more of these for the cat room at the shelter where I volunteer to replace the small boxes that are so much work to keep clean. I would prefer that the storage compartments were smaller so that there was more usable space in the litter compartment. I will have to remove them on the boxes I put at the shelter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for big and/or multiple cats

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy95501
from Eureka, California
I threw out my LitterMaid box (the new, blue ones made in China) and now I actually spend LESS time messing with the litter box than I did with the "automatic" one. While I have six cats, only four use the box, and only two of those are regular/exclusive. They are, however, the BIG kitties. This box is so much better in many ways. There is actually enough litter in there they don't reach bottom on the first digging motion, and there is enough litter to cover with when they are done. I had a mat already that is used on the floor, so tracking was not a problem. I dumped in 40 pounds of litter, and this box took it all. The areas at the end to hold the cleaning tool and bags are super handy, and this box is made of very heavy plastic. Definitely worth the purchase price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is extra large

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
fhmb
from Hudson, Ohio
My cat is almost 22 pounds. The large litter box was too small for her and she was having accidents out-of-the box. I ordered the extra large box and no more accidents! If you have a large cat or more than one, this box is great! I highly recommend it. It was well worth the extra cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing I could have done!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
cleaninglady
I have two cats and live in fear of litter box problems. This is the best thing I could have done. Holds at least 30 pounds of litter. Lots of room for scratching and digging. High sides keep the litter, for the most part, in the box. So much litter overcomes any odor. I bought two so I can always keep a clean one ready.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Giant Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely Choice

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
goodboy
from South Carolina
I bought 3 of of the Petmate Giant Litter Pans. My large cats, Maine Coons and Turkish Vans,seem to love the size and depth and styling.
I'm about as happy as they are, particularly because there are no unintentional "accidents" resulting from my cats' not being able to fit fully into the pans.
If you have large cats, it's likely that your cats will enjoy the Petmate Giant Litter Pan(s), too.
Cheers,
Gene.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>