petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ASL Solutions Dog Palace

ASL Solutions Dog Palace

Insulated dog house that is both beautiful and durableUp to 4" of real foam (Styro/EPS) insulation per panel for a comfortable temperatureInsulated outdoor dog house amenities include an easy pass-through self-closing door, raised floor, and cross-ventilationDurable and easy to clean and to maintain
Average Customer Rating:
4.585 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
39 out of 41(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Review 1 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Houses

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MT
I ordered two of the houses and can't rate them on use since I gave them to some people who needed dog houses for their dogs this winter, I can rate them on delivery and quality I felt from putting them together. They were delivered quickly and in good condition. They seem to be well constructed, and fit together pretty well. There was a bit of a gap between the roof and front panel that concerns me a bit. Rain might be able to get down in to them. But I would still purchase them. They are easy to put together and thoughtfully constructed (including covers for the screws). They feel very sturdy and the door has plenty of room for a good sized dog, plus the construction allows for training. There is a hole in the back for a cord, should one need it. Once together, I crawled inside and could feel the heat building up (they also have windows for ventilation. I was pleased with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog House!!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minden, NE
I got this dog house for my large yellow lab and he loves it. There is plenty of room for him and should keep him warmer during the winter months also. I took the bottom half of the door off at first just so he would get used to using the door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog house is nice!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from dickens,tx
Easy to put together. Strong construction .Haven't caught my dogs sleeping in the house yet.I put a bed in there and my big dog keeps dragging it out. I may have to use cedar shavings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Palace

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Little Rock, AR
This is a very nice dog house. However, my dog would not use it so I had to return. I tried putting her bedding and food in the house. She would go in, eat, and come right back out and lay in the grass next to the house. Maybe if the weather was colder she would be more inclined to stay in the house, but I didn't want to keep it any longer. I think the fact that she has to step over the lower part of the dog house might have been throwing her mentally. Her old house is Igloo style.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ASL Dog Palace

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Huntsville, AL
Purchased this for 20 month old black lab mix dog that weighs about 70 lbs.
Pros: Plenty of room for dog. Easy assembly--assembled in 10 minutes with no help. Sturdy when fully assembled. Insulated.
Cons: If you have a dog that likes to chew on things--it will definitely chew on this house. Dog had the door pulled off the house by the second day and was happily chewing away on it. Be aware that the door, walls, and roof are filled with Styrofoam pellets. My dog chewed one end of the door until a hole appeared and pellets were coming out. I don't know if the pellets would hurt the dog if swallowed. He has also chewed the door opening and roof overhang. The door could not be reinstalled as is because he had chewed off the plastic tabs that insert into the holes in the door opening. Had to drill a hole on each side of door and insert a 3/8" metal rod through the door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Palace

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I agree with many of the reviews. The house is sturdy and worth the buy. My dog also has problems going in at first. I was able to squeeze myself in the door and found out why. There is a smell of plastic in the box which makes it tough to breathe. Probably why other dog owners are having the same response. Let it air out a couple of days. Then your dog will be more apt to try it out. It is warm and cozy. The window adjust to allow air flow which is helpful. Good dog house for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfied and as promised

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from syosset, ny
easy to build, alone, but an extra hand better
no issue in weather so far,
our dog is and out no issue, our pup is the hard on the furniture type and its holding up well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has good features

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
The dog house was very easy to assemble. Took about 15 minutes. My dog goes in and out of it but doesn't like to stay in it. We'll see when it gets cold!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW what a GOOD Surprise!!!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs, CA
I was really worried that it would be difficult to put together, the dog would not want to go in, it would look bad, be too small etc....Well I was WRONG, if your looking for a dog house and have spent tons of time looking then BUY THIS ONE, I bought two because I was soo worried and this brand is best, not to mention it really is insulated, and you get petco dollars by purchasing, thats another discount on top of what you save having one made, buying a truly insulated house is the right thing to do, and we as responsible pet owners care if our babies are cold or too hot, the only thing I wish they would have done was add a way to clip it open during the day, other than that our 115 pound italian corso loves his dog palace, we havent used the heater, but it is such a nice feature to have. YAY mission accomplished, i sleep better knowing our baby is safe from the elements during the night, the large size is perfect with plenty of room without taking up too much space, we keep it right outside our sliding glass bedroom door so he feels close to us. THANK YOU PETCO AND ASL cant wait to see what else you come out with thats insulated, since good insulated houses that are good priced are hard to come by.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from nashville, tn
I put this house together in 15 minutes. I was putting my last screw in when my 86 lb german shepard hopped into it. Very good buy, It's very sturdy & keeps him out of the bad storms we've been having lately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Palace2bseen

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dallas,TX
I've had this dog palace for over a year. My dog won't step foot in this thing. I've put treats, and toys inside. He simply refuses to go inside this dog palace.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dog palace indeed

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MANCHESTER,MO
very very easy to put together,very sturdy and roomy interior, dog had slept in a kennel until I purchased this and now he is warm , dry and very happy.Dog was atad afraid of door at first but now he is right at home in his dog palace.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ASL Solutions Dog Palace

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
Easy to put together. Not as insulated as I thought it would be. You need to explain a little more about the insulation. I was expecting more than what is actually in it. My pets don't seem to like it. I hope they will use it after they get more used to it being in the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice dog house

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Southeast Wisconsin
Well made and easy to put together. Only took about 30 minutes, if that, to assemble. The only changes I'd make are to: Double the wall thinkness so that it'd be twice as insulated for our terrible Wisconsin winters; Raise the entry door 4 to 6 inches higher so that an old school taught person like me can add more hay (I'm not with the heater thing and added expense it causes unless it's really cold, single digits and below, outside). I'm not complaining though....it's a nice product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product was easy to assemble

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from OHIO
Only 6 parts to this dog house, plus a bag of screws and instructions. Personally, I thought the insulation would be a little thicker than 1 1/2", but it will probably be fine for Ohio's winters. Not much weight, so I am a bit concerned about high winds. Overall, I gave it a 4 paw rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best dog house

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Santa Monica, CA
I bought this insulated dog house for a feral cat. It has insulated door(s) to keep the cold and the wet out. It only took the cat 3 days to be totally comfortable with the door(s). I had the lower door part up by using a rope and lowering it bit by bit. This is a roomy house for a cat so she can move around inside on the rainy days. She is warm and dry and happy. This house may cost a bit more but it is worth it. You can also remove the windows for warm days. Other dog/cat houses w/o insulation nor doors are a waste of money. Get this house for your dogs/cats, they will love you. Trust me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good House!

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
We needed to add a doghouse for a two day trip out of town we were making. We have two dogs, one medium sized and one really small. Lots of research led us to this one, and we have been pleased so far. Went together easily. Training the dogs to get in and out took less than an hour. With the heater inside, it worked great, dogs love it, and we save a fortune in boarding costs.
Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
I highly recommended these dog houses. I have 2 dogs and they've both taken to them very quickly and enjoy them!
My main concern when purchasing the houses was insulation - there are many dog houses on the market that are advertised as being "insulated" but really are not. Most of these "insulated" houses do not have a door, exposing the front part of the house to the elements. How can a dog stay warm when the cold wind can still blow on him? This house truly is insulated and keeps the dogs warm.
Also, I have a 10 year old 3-legged dog. I was concerned about his ability to get in and out of the house with the door closed. I've only had the houses a few days but so far so good. He has learned very quickly how to maneuver in and out of the house without any problems.
Great investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Easy to assemble. 15 minutes. My Lab is 5 months old and 55 lbs. He has no problem getting in and out. Plenty of room for him to grow. Have not been through winter yet so ungraded there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ASL Solutions Dog Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Warm Dog House

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
This Dog House holds heat well and it it quite spacious and sturdy. My puppies were nervous about the door but took to it when I removed the bottom half. It works great for cold weather and I am sure the removable windows will make it a good shelter for the summer as well (esp because there is a solar fan accessory if it gets too hot). I reccomend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>