petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater

TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater

Thermostat preset at 78°FRugged construction8-Foot power cordPerfect for frogs, newts & aquatic turtles
Average Customer Rating:
2.214 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
17
9 out of 28(32%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Review 1 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This filter truly serves its' purpose as long as you're not attempting to heat water over 30 gallons. This fully submergible heater keeps my Zoo Med Aquatic Turtle Tub Kit water at 78 degrees.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this heater

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Clairton,PA
I have had this heater for almost a year and we have 3 RES turtles in the same tank. It has worked very well for our tank. It keeps the tank at a nice comfortable temp for the turtles. I was worried that they may get caught in the slits on top however they do not even mess with it. I highly recommend this heater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's with all the negativity?

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
This is a good product. I don't understand why it's not working for so many people. I read the directions to this product and it says that after disconnecting your heater, you have to wait 15 minutes before actually taking it out of the water. Same rule applies to when you put the heater back in the water; wait 15 minutes before connecting it.
I have been following that rule and it's been working great for the 3 months that I've had it. It always keeps the water temperature at least 70 degrees, and that's really all my turtle needs.
One thing you should do is keep the heater near the water filter, because then the water that's heated has a chance to move around the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aquatic Reptile Heater

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
Does not work. It seemed like it was relatively warm the first two days but day 3 I smelled something burning and the water didn't seem warm.. I removed the heater and it was cold and the insides were coming out. Definitely not going to purchase another of these.. not worth the stress.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A heater you can't rely on

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
This morning when I checked on our turtle I found his water cold (the thermometer was at 72°F). I just bought this heater a couple of months ago. The last one worked for less than a year. I don't want to throw away any more money on a Tetrafauna heater. It is frustrating because there are very few good options for heating a turtle tank and at first this heater seemed a sturdy, turtle-proof choice. I don't recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
this works well for us. water evaporates fairly fast under the heated condition so need to replenish daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I bought this heater because its description said that it maintained a temperature of 78 degrees. Yet when I reached in to grab my turtle out the water was cold. I gave it a week before getting a new one and my baby turtle stopped eating, so i bought a thermometer and checked the temp. it never even reached 78 degrees. I changed the heater and the next day she perked right up and started eating again. I would NOT get this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD, Stay away

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, MN
Just not seem to work at all, worked for the first day and then died. Its a cheap way to go. Go and spend the money on a better heater.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What's going on?

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This heater "dies" once a month when I go to clean the tank. I've followed directions and have already returned the heater once. Why is a $40 heater dying after only a month? Now that this has happened twice - I'm done.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Front Royal, VA
I bought this hoping to keep my turtles' water warm, and originally it was working fine. But not even two weeks later, I reached in to grab one of them out and noticed their water temp. wasn't just dropping, but it was COLD. It has a 2 year warrenty, but that's not good enough. I'm just going to get a different brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

umm

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from southern california
i don't think this works very well.
i don't have a thermometer in my aquatic turtles' tank, but everytime i take them out of their water to put them in their feeding bowl, their water feels cold.
my basking lamp heats their water better than this so called "water heater" ._____.
don't buy it; it's a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

turtle loved... to destroy it

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from rochester, ny
warmed the water to 75 degrees which i figured was better than having no heater at all... then the "durable" design they brag about was crushed, because my turtle decided one day out of boredom that she would chew it apart, rip off the top of it and drag the heating tube around the tank like it was a toy. i put it back together and put it back where it was, but this happened again... and again... finally after two weeks of her little game i gave up and returned it. not sure if this was just my little beastie or not, but its not durable *at all* and shouldn't be considered if your turtle has an aggressive streak.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

inadequate

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I have this heater installed in a 20gal turtle tank that's only half-full. It seemed to keep the water at 78 the first day, but now it's pretty consistently at 75 (I've been using it less for 3 days). I do not recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Low temperature

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
The package says the thermostat is pre-set at 78 degrees F. After 24 hours, the 100 watt Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater has raised the 12 gallons of water to 75 degrees F.
I'm thinking this is either defective, or the thermostat is just poor quality.
Not impressed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works for a day

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Plugged this into my aquarium after following all directions... The product worked for about 2 days and then gave out. warranty info says you pay 3.50 and do the shipping game with them. This thing has a 2 year warranty, what a joke.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from gloversville, ny
Keeps the temputer at 78 degrees. Dont have to worry about the turtle everynight anymore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would Not Buy

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Walton, NY
TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater didn't work. It quit heating within 8 hrs of installment and I'm in the process of sending it back. I had read the reviews for this item which some were not so great. I should has listen to them. I wouldn't waste my time buying this heater for any aquatic pet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointing

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Bat Country, CA
I bought this for a set up for my Eastern painted turtle's new tank, and I have to say I am very disappointed with it. The durable-looking design attracted me to it, but it's not much good if it won't heat the water. It was easy to install and use, but I've had it in the tank for over a week now and the water hasn't gotten above 76.5 degrees. I plan on returning it and getting a water heater that actually works. I definitely would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good..

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from MA
Well, this is the first type of heater I got for my 10 gallon tank for my baby turtle. He actually quite loves to sit on it, and it warms my tank quickly, since I use little water. I do not recommend this for high level water tanks. But over all it heats, but my only complaint is that sometimes I cant get the suction cups up and the top comes off sometimes..
Still a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TetraFauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

eases my mind!

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NY
i've had this heater for quite some time now, definitely over a year, and it's still working wonderfully. i have a water thermometer in place, and i am happy to say that my turtle's tank remains at a comfortable 75-80 degrees. now i don't have to worry that my lights aren't strong enough or that my poor little slider will freeze at night. in comparison to the other reviews, however, my turtle is in a 20gallon-long tank, so perhaps it works best in a little less water than suggested.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>