petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Helps reduce separation anxiety, excessive meowing, destructive behavior & inappropriate markingSustained released pheromones are proven effective to last up to 30 daysFresh, soothing lavender chamomile fragranceCat calming aid for cats & kittens with necks up to 15"Non-toxic formula
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
15
69 out of 85(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Review 1 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange City, Fl.
I read all the reviews and I saw it works for some, and not for others. In my case, it flat out didn't work. Not even a little. Kitten at 10 months who was a rescue but I rescued another one with her. I tried the calming collar and other behavioral tricks to try to keep one of the kittens from literally attacking the other. The last resort was the calming collar and we saw absolutely no improvement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stress reducer for cats

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Maine
This product seems to help with my cats stress levels. I have been using it for a few years and am pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glendale heights, IL
I purchase this collars because of reviews and supposedly was really good. I purchase it for my cats because they have being peeing on my basement like there is no tomorrow. I have been frustrated and I heard of this collar. Didn't work. My cat still acts wild. Still gets angry and still pees on my floor. I haven't seen much change on her at all. She acted a little nicer for about a week and then back to normal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry Calming Collars work

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
As a rescue foster of cats, we've used the calming collars and spray that Sentry sells at Petco many times. We see very good results in a short time that helps a cat reduce it's stress and start being a relaxed member of the household.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Was Hopeful

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Escondido, CA
I have a cat that started marking all over my house when he was 5 years old. I was hoping that these collars would help, but no such luck. Of course, they probably work differently on various cats so my experience may not be your experience. Will return them shortly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
We have 4 cats and one started peeing on the couch out of the blue. He's 13...so we took him to the vet and ruled out any medical reasons. We tried several sprays intended for urine elimination and spent a couple hundred bucks on them...to no avail. We steam cleaned the couch and more peeing!! Was going to get another brand's plug in but the store was out and so I thought I would give this a shot. This is now known as the "magic purple collar". Not only has the peeing stopped within 2 days. Also he is more calm, more cuddly. He even took food from my hand for the first time ever!! We are getting another one for our female who refuses to let us clip her nails. Maybe it will be as effective with her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from arizona
I would still recommend this product but it did not work for my cats. All animals are unique, so what works for one might not work for another. I was hoping after reading all of the positive comments.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pheromone collar

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
This is one of the only things that works to calm aggressive cats. It didn't work for my cat but It has worked for other people's cats & it doesn't seem harmful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lifesaver

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I was told they don' t make calming collars for cats, so when I saw this I had to try it. What a lifesaver. I have 3 cats, ( 2 males, 1 female). I suspected the female of urinating where she shouldn't , so I put it on her. In just a week, she has stopped throwing up, isn't quite as aggressive to the boys and I have not found any new " wet " spots. I only wish I had seen this earlier.
I love the lavender scent on it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was a miracle

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Park City UT
We have a semi feral 3 year old cat who loves to go outside and hunt. We were going on vacation and needed to keep him indoors for the kitty sitter. I put that collar on him and he was a changed cat. So mellow we could not believe it. I would recommend this product to any cat or dog lover to calm them down. Thank you Sentry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenacres, WA
We've been using these calming collars for our 12-year-old cat for ~15 months, ever since we moved to a basement apartment with a barking Schnauzer living above us. The collars are supposed to be good for 30 days of non-stop wearing, and we sometimes get 45 to 60 days from each one. They work well, however, after using them for over a year, our cat seems to have developed some kitty-acne around his neck in reaction to the plastic in the purple plastic collar. We store the collar in a zip-lock bag when not using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Addison, TX
I have had my cat for 8 years. It has been over the last few years that he meows at night. It sounds as if he is crying. Never lets me sleep. I heard about these collars and thought I would try it. I had no expectations. OH WOW. It worked immediatly! He has been on the color for 5 days now. He immediatly stopped meowing at night, and has been super loving when I am sleeping, he cuddles up with me. I can not recomend this product enough! Thank You Sentry!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My cat was having urinary issues. The vet said she was stressed and did not have an infection. He prescribed medicine that I was having difficulty getting her to accept. I tried all different ways to "hide" it in her food since it is a powder. I had heard of pheromones but didn't want to use a plug in. I started researching on line and saw this calming collar. She has had it on now for 2 weeks and WHAT A DIFFERENCE! She is calmer and happier. I am thankful! I DEFINITELY recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, NE
This product truly saved our sanity. I was skeptical about it, but it works! My husband and I travel a lot for work and when we come home, sometimes our cat is a bit restless. This last time he spent two days pacing back and forth between our doors, meowing obsessively. He wouldn't sleep and when I called my vet, she suggested pheromone plug-ins. I did a bit more research and decided that I'd rather go with the collar - it is less pricey and can go with my cat wherever he goes!
It worked instantly. He immediately calmed down and went back to his relaxed, content self. He's worn the collar for a week now and has not paced or cried even once. I would recommend this to anyone! It helped restore our sanity (as well as our cat's!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excessive "nighttime only" meows

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PGH
Recommended by my Vet... For six months I dealt with a crying, meowning, yowling, constant for hours, screaming cat. Only at night! TV / lights off, and he would start his nocturnal nighttime yowls. Love him to death, cant imagine my house without him,... soo I would bury myself in pillows and LOSE SLEEP ! I was at a breaking point and called the Vet knowing he is not ill but something at night would make him scream. This calming collar is an instant miracle. I only put it on him right before I go to bed and take it off when I wake up. My house is silent... a miracle I thought that would never happen. Yes, I will probably have to keep buying this collar but I dont care bc i lovvve my cat :))
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
The collar works well for my cat who was marking outside the box. I have multiple cats, had tried calming treats, and other calming products, but this one seems to work the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy does it!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Monroeville
I have one cat who tends to go outside the litter box when she is upset (mostly by other cats in the house.) I use the Feliway and this calming collar - and the combination seems to work best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but wished it lasted longer.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
I was disappointed it only lasted two weeks instead of the 30 days as advertised. But it works great. It stops my cats constant meowing and he is much friendlier and purrs a lot more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fort Collins, CO
I bought this collar with skepticism and I rarely return to a website to write a review, but this product lived up to it's promise. I have a Persian cat that's a bit on the wild side and gets very stressed out by simple changes in my home. After 4-5 days of wearing the collar I noticed a change in her personality. She let me approach her without running away and I've had her for 3 years and she would never let me do that. (She always had to come to me when she decided she wanted attention.) She no longer runs from my dog...they touch noses now. She gets groomed regularly and the groomer commented on how well-behaved and calm she was. So it's not just me noticing her behavior change. I highly recommend this product if you have a stressed cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It worked!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
This collar was pretty much my last hope to settle down a rescue kitten that I have. He had the dogs terrified at him because his social graces were not up to par due to being removed from his mom too early. After several hours the first day he seemed to be a little calmer, the second day went well--but by the third day I wasn't sure it was working any more. It had been left on him just because we hadn't had time to capture him and remove it--today nearly 3 weeks later it seems to be working like a charm. I think maybe you just have to let it stay for a bit-the pkg does say can take up to 2 weeks to really see a difference and apparently that is so. I am going to order the 3 pack and keep him in them until he is a bit older and then try without. He was scratching and biting the dogs and the other kitten-just way to rough play- that no one wanted to play with him, but when confined in a smaller room in the quiet he was gentle and loving. I didn't think he was really trying to be mean--I think it was over excitement and maybe some anxiety--but he seems a bit more in control and the other animals are starting to play with him again. I had tried all the advice out there and consulted with my vet. Nothing was working until the collar. He still gets a bit rowdy now and again but overall this collar has helped a lot. Not a cure all but a help. It is a bit difficult to get on and measured at first as cats aren't patient but if you can get past that it might just help you too. (I took a star away because of the troubles getting it on)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>