petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Helps reduce separation anxiety, excessive meowing, destructive behavior & inappropriate markingSustained released pheromones are proven effective to last up to 30 daysFresh, soothing lavender chamomile fragranceCat calming aid for cats & kittens with necks up to 15"Non-toxic formula
Average Customer Rating:
3.968 / 5
4
 / 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
16
76 out of 93(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Review 1 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got It, Love It, Wont live without it!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Germantown Maryland
Calming Collar really helped Mac get through his stressful UTI Blockage and he still wears them today. Also use the diffusers so all pets have benefited. They work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Found a good but different method of using this

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My male cat was fixed after puberty and thus is a urine sprayer. I bought the calming collar because I read that it helps with spraying. I am not confident that it is a safety release collar and he hated wearing it. Somebody reviewing the collar here or elsewhere said that they cut the collar up and put pieces of it wherever their cat sprayed, so I tried it and it worked - no spraying for weeks!!!!! I'm very pleased and will be doing this here on out without my boy being unhappy wearing a collar or possibly being harmed from it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My little scaredy cat was much calmer

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saint Louis, MO
He's always been very skittish and hides when guests arrive. I put this collar on him before we had a house full of teens and he really did seem much calmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis,MN
I recently rescued a kitten but when she came home my youngest cat (2yrs) went nuts. I now have a nasty scar by my eye and I was scared that she kill the kitten. I did some research on things that might help. I knew about feliway as a diffuser and spray but didn't know about the collar. I just wanted my cat to act normal again. I had my husband buy the collar. At first all she did was lick at her neck. After 24 hrs of having the collar on she was almost back to her normal self. It has been almost a week now and ny cat now tolerates the kitten better. There are still some hissing and growling but no signs of her wanting to injury anybody. Without this product I don't think that there would be this much harmony in my household. My cat is laying in the living room and the kitten is playing with my feet. The oldest cat (3yrs) is just happy that her best friend is not trying to injure her either. We are a happy 3 cat home now. I will continue to use this product for as long as it takes to get total acceptance for the kitten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I have a 15 yr old temperamental rescue British Blue. He doesn't like change & if something bothers him, he takes it out on our super sweet 3 yr old calico. Almost 2 yr ago, out of desperation for the snarlyness focused on the sweet calico, I tried this "Purple Collar" on our British Blue & within 24 hrs I noted a change in the attitude & within 48 hrs, I had a loveable 15 yr old British Blue! When I note indications of snarlyness, I immediately add a new "purple Collar" & I have a calm, sweet male cat once more! There's no need to use it on the Calico.
Because the "Purple Collar" worked so well on the cat, I've used 2 canine "Purple Collars" @ a time on our 80 lb dog, to help with Separation Anxiety & it has absolutely no affect on him. But I WILL continue using it for the amazing effect it has on our cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wast of money

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Did nothing. No help whatsoever in calming my cat down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful Tool

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs Ca
I used these collars on a cross country move for my 3 cats. I put the collars on them before we moved and while we moved to help them adjust to all the changes. They worked well keeping my kitties calm…although I would recommend combining them with the spray. The spray is good in a pinch where the collars are long lasting . Both products were worth the money that I spent and I would use them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Did help older cat yowling

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
My old kitty (19+) started this really annoying yowling at night a few years ago. I guess I grew used to it but it really bothered my new boyfriend. The collar didn't make her stop, but it has decreased the yowling by about half and lowered the volume of it. I'm satisfied with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange City, Fl.
I read all the reviews and I saw it works for some, and not for others. In my case, it flat out didn't work. Not even a little. Kitten at 10 months who was a rescue but I rescued another one with her. I tried the calming collar and other behavioral tricks to try to keep one of the kittens from literally attacking the other. The last resort was the calming collar and we saw absolutely no improvement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stress reducer for cats

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Maine
This product seems to help with my cats stress levels. I have been using it for a few years and am pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glendale heights, IL
I purchase this collars because of reviews and supposedly was really good. I purchase it for my cats because they have being peeing on my basement like there is no tomorrow. I have been frustrated and I heard of this collar. Didn't work. My cat still acts wild. Still gets angry and still pees on my floor. I haven't seen much change on her at all. She acted a little nicer for about a week and then back to normal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry Calming Collars work

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
As a rescue foster of cats, we've used the calming collars and spray that Sentry sells at Petco many times. We see very good results in a short time that helps a cat reduce it's stress and start being a relaxed member of the household.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Was Hopeful

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Escondido, CA
I have a cat that started marking all over my house when he was 5 years old. I was hoping that these collars would help, but no such luck. Of course, they probably work differently on various cats so my experience may not be your experience. Will return them shortly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
We have 4 cats and one started peeing on the couch out of the blue. He's 13...so we took him to the vet and ruled out any medical reasons. We tried several sprays intended for urine elimination and spent a couple hundred bucks on them...to no avail. We steam cleaned the couch and more peeing!! Was going to get another brand's plug in but the store was out and so I thought I would give this a shot. This is now known as the "magic purple collar". Not only has the peeing stopped within 2 days. Also he is more calm, more cuddly. He even took food from my hand for the first time ever!! We are getting another one for our female who refuses to let us clip her nails. Maybe it will be as effective with her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from arizona
I would still recommend this product but it did not work for my cats. All animals are unique, so what works for one might not work for another. I was hoping after reading all of the positive comments.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pheromone collar

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
This is one of the only things that works to calm aggressive cats. It didn't work for my cat but It has worked for other people's cats & it doesn't seem harmful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lifesaver

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I was told they don' t make calming collars for cats, so when I saw this I had to try it. What a lifesaver. I have 3 cats, ( 2 males, 1 female). I suspected the female of urinating where she shouldn't , so I put it on her. In just a week, she has stopped throwing up, isn't quite as aggressive to the boys and I have not found any new " wet " spots. I only wish I had seen this earlier.
I love the lavender scent on it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was a miracle

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Park City UT
We have a semi feral 3 year old cat who loves to go outside and hunt. We were going on vacation and needed to keep him indoors for the kitty sitter. I put that collar on him and he was a changed cat. So mellow we could not believe it. I would recommend this product to any cat or dog lover to calm them down. Thank you Sentry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenacres, WA
We've been using these calming collars for our 12-year-old cat for ~15 months, ever since we moved to a basement apartment with a barking Schnauzer living above us. The collars are supposed to be good for 30 days of non-stop wearing, and we sometimes get 45 to 60 days from each one. They work well, however, after using them for over a year, our cat seems to have developed some kitty-acne around his neck in reaction to the plastic in the purple plastic collar. We store the collar in a zip-lock bag when not using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Addison, TX
I have had my cat for 8 years. It has been over the last few years that he meows at night. It sounds as if he is crying. Never lets me sleep. I heard about these collars and thought I would try it. I had no expectations. OH WOW. It worked immediatly! He has been on the color for 5 days now. He immediatly stopped meowing at night, and has been super loving when I am sleeping, he cuddles up with me. I can not recomend this product enough! Thank You Sentry!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>