petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Helps reduce separation anxiety, excessive meowing, destructive behavior & inappropriate markingSustained released pheromones are proven effective to last up to 30 daysFresh, soothing lavender chamomile fragranceCat calming aid for cats & kittens with necks up to 15"Non-toxic formula
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
13
67 out of 80(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Review 1 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
purrentof4cats
from Denver, CO
We have 4 cats and one started peeing on the couch out of the blue. He's 13...so we took him to the vet and ruled out any medical reasons. We tried several sprays intended for urine elimination and spent a couple hundred bucks on them...to no avail. We steam cleaned the couch and more peeing!! Was going to get another brand's plug in but the store was out and so I thought I would give this a shot. This is now known as the "magic purple collar". Not only has the peeing stopped within 2 days. Also he is more calm, more cuddly. He even took food from my hand for the first time ever!! We are getting another one for our female who refuses to let us clip her nails. Maybe it will be as effective with her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
fluffymuffin24
from arizona
I would still recommend this product but it did not work for my cats. All animals are unique, so what works for one might not work for another. I was hoping after reading all of the positive comments.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pheromone collar

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
sweeney
from NJ
This is one of the only things that works to calm aggressive cats. It didn't work for my cat but It has worked for other people's cats & it doesn't seem harmful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lifesaver

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
spartygrandma
from Michigan
I was told they don' t make calming collars for cats, so when I saw this I had to try it. What a lifesaver. I have 3 cats, ( 2 males, 1 female). I suspected the female of urinating where she shouldn't , so I put it on her. In just a week, she has stopped throwing up, isn't quite as aggressive to the boys and I have not found any new " wet " spots. I only wish I had seen this earlier.
I love the lavender scent on it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was a miracle

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magpy
from Park City UT
We have a semi feral 3 year old cat who loves to go outside and hunt. We were going on vacation and needed to keep him indoors for the kitty sitter. I put that collar on him and he was a changed cat. So mellow we could not believe it. I would recommend this product to any cat or dog lover to calm them down. Thank you Sentry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
KrazyforKats
from Greenacres, WA
We've been using these calming collars for our 12-year-old cat for ~15 months, ever since we moved to a basement apartment with a barking Schnauzer living above us. The collars are supposed to be good for 30 days of non-stop wearing, and we sometimes get 45 to 60 days from each one. They work well, however, after using them for over a year, our cat seems to have developed some kitty-acne around his neck in reaction to the plastic in the purple plastic collar. We store the collar in a zip-lock bag when not using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
shoegirl
from Addison, TX
I have had my cat for 8 years. It has been over the last few years that he meows at night. It sounds as if he is crying. Never lets me sleep. I heard about these collars and thought I would try it. I had no expectations. OH WOW. It worked immediatly! He has been on the color for 5 days now. He immediatly stopped meowing at night, and has been super loving when I am sleeping, he cuddles up with me. I can not recomend this product enough! Thank You Sentry!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bookworm2
from Virginia
My cat was having urinary issues. The vet said she was stressed and did not have an infection. He prescribed medicine that I was having difficulty getting her to accept. I tried all different ways to "hide" it in her food since it is a powder. I had heard of pheromones but didn't want to use a plug in. I started researching on line and saw this calming collar. She has had it on now for 2 weeks and WHAT A DIFFERENCE! She is calmer and happier. I am thankful! I DEFINITELY recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
KmaxLoveCats
from Lincoln, NE
This product truly saved our sanity. I was skeptical about it, but it works! My husband and I travel a lot for work and when we come home, sometimes our cat is a bit restless. This last time he spent two days pacing back and forth between our doors, meowing obsessively. He wouldn't sleep and when I called my vet, she suggested pheromone plug-ins. I did a bit more research and decided that I'd rather go with the collar - it is less pricey and can go with my cat wherever he goes!
It worked instantly. He immediately calmed down and went back to his relaxed, content self. He's worn the collar for a week now and has not paced or cried even once. I would recommend this to anyone! It helped restore our sanity (as well as our cat's!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excessive "nighttime only" meows

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
XXSS
from PGH
Recommended by my Vet... For six months I dealt with a crying, meowning, yowling, constant for hours, screaming cat. Only at night! TV / lights off, and he would start his nocturnal nighttime yowls. Love him to death, cant imagine my house without him,... soo I would bury myself in pillows and LOSE SLEEP ! I was at a breaking point and called the Vet knowing he is not ill but something at night would make him scream. This calming collar is an instant miracle. I only put it on him right before I go to bed and take it off when I wake up. My house is silent... a miracle I thought that would never happen. Yes, I will probably have to keep buying this collar but I dont care bc i lovvve my cat :))
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittyk
from NH
The collar works well for my cat who was marking outside the box. I have multiple cats, had tried calming treats, and other calming products, but this one seems to work the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy does it!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarciG
from Monroeville
I have one cat who tends to go outside the litter box when she is upset (mostly by other cats in the house.) I use the Feliway and this calming collar - and the combination seems to work best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but wished it lasted longer.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
JEBELK
from Kansas
I was disappointed it only lasted two weeks instead of the 30 days as advertised. But it works great. It stops my cats constant meowing and he is much friendlier and purrs a lot more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
JMS42
from Fort Collins, CO
I bought this collar with skepticism and I rarely return to a website to write a review, but this product lived up to it's promise. I have a Persian cat that's a bit on the wild side and gets very stressed out by simple changes in my home. After 4-5 days of wearing the collar I noticed a change in her personality. She let me approach her without running away and I've had her for 3 years and she would never let me do that. (She always had to come to me when she decided she wanted attention.) She no longer runs from my dog...they touch noses now. She gets groomed regularly and the groomer commented on how well-behaved and calm she was. So it's not just me noticing her behavior change. I highly recommend this product if you have a stressed cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It worked!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
SEG61
from Illinois
This collar was pretty much my last hope to settle down a rescue kitten that I have. He had the dogs terrified at him because his social graces were not up to par due to being removed from his mom too early. After several hours the first day he seemed to be a little calmer, the second day went well--but by the third day I wasn't sure it was working any more. It had been left on him just because we hadn't had time to capture him and remove it--today nearly 3 weeks later it seems to be working like a charm. I think maybe you just have to let it stay for a bit-the pkg does say can take up to 2 weeks to really see a difference and apparently that is so. I am going to order the 3 pack and keep him in them until he is a bit older and then try without. He was scratching and biting the dogs and the other kitten-just way to rough play- that no one wanted to play with him, but when confined in a smaller room in the quiet he was gentle and loving. I didn't think he was really trying to be mean--I think it was over excitement and maybe some anxiety--but he seems a bit more in control and the other animals are starting to play with him again. I had tried all the advice out there and consulted with my vet. Nothing was working until the collar. He still gets a bit rowdy now and again but overall this collar has helped a lot. Not a cure all but a help. It is a bit difficult to get on and measured at first as cats aren't patient but if you can get past that it might just help you too. (I took a star away because of the troubles getting it on)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only thing that seemed to make him feel better!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
JacksMum2
from Kansas City, MO
These were recommended to me by a friend when I was about to lose my mind because the cat went entirely off his litterbox. I had never heard of them and no vet had even mentioned them but I gave it a shot. World of difference! Improvement started after a week and although he still has accidents, things are SO much better. I think it really calmed his anxiety. I recommend these to any cat owner who cannot take the peeing anymore. Give it a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
CirclingSkies
from Plattekill, NY
I bought a 3-pack of collars. I put collars on two cats who are aggressively territorial (one male and one female) and on a male cat who is depressed all the time (despite our best efforts.)
The neutered male territorial cat no longer chases other neutered males, does not wander as much, and relaxes close to the house without so much anxiety. I'd say an 80% improvement in behavior. We're very pleased.
The spayed female territorial cat has decreased her incidents of chasing, cornering, and anxiously attacking other cats. She has had about 50% fewer incidents. We'd like to see more of an improvement, but we're happy that her behavior has improved.
The neutered male cat who was depressed - WOW what an improvement! He was previously mopey, tail down, head down, unhappy and sluggish. Now he prances around with his head up, tail up, purring, meowing. 100% improvement in behavior - we're thrilled!
We saw these improvements after placing 1 collar on each cat. We saw behavior changes start after a few days. We will definitely be purchasing more for these cats and other cats.
* Side note - we did try the collar on a neutered male who sprays - however, we had to remove it after about 2 days because he began to have a reaction. He has frequent rodent ulcers and different eosinophilic granuloma issues. He had a flare up when we put the collar on him, however... everything makes this cat have a flare up. So, I don't really blame the collar and I wouldn't be concerned about using the collar unless your cat has a tendency for this condition. Great product, we're sorry this specific cat can't benefit from it. We'll definitely use it for the others!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible to Put On

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
trikethecat
We bought this collar for our six month old kitten who has never had extended human contact before he came to live with us. We've had him for almost two weeks and we figured the collar would help him adjust better. Well, we will never find out because the collar is horrible to put on. Our kitten doesn't like to be touched for an extended period of time or held down. Well, we had to do that to put this collar on. He was not happy about that. It is not a collar that you just clip on. You have to push the hard plastic that is the collar through a loop, all while a stressed cat (which is what the collar was designed for) fights you. And then when it gets on, it doesn't stay tight at all. We had to chase our kitten around and had to hold him down with a towel to get the too-loose collar that had slid down around his belly off. It's a great idea, but the design has a huge flaw. Re-think buying this product unless you have a cat you can hold down without a fuss.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

just 2 weeks

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pounce
from NC
My cat seems less anxious, but it has only been 2 weeks so I think that it will take more time to see if it helps also with the vomiting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Big Help

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheddie
from San Francisco
I bought the calming collars for the about 13 years old cat I re-homed with me in Nov. He had been living with neighbors for 7 years, and had never made friends with my cat, now about 10 years old. They shared the outdoor garden area, which is large enough to have allowed them to keep some distance from each other, once they stopped fighting. But MoMo, the elder cat, had always drawn the short straw and was being neglected. Because he had never got along well with my cat in residence, I wasn't sure he could move in with us, but I really wanted to offer him a better life. As soon as he learned to use the cat flap, he made his choice and moved in. I put a collar on him. Initially, he was hissing and growling a lot. One day, he wasn't growling any more. Now, he only occasionally expresses himself with a short hiss, but it's usually to warn off the young visitor who does rude things like sniffing his tail while he's eating. He's now able to eat side by side with my #1 boy, each with his own bowl, a few inches apart. This is so much better, so quickly (remember, these are senior cats), and we're all so much more comfortable -- I'm very, very pleased with these collars!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>