petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

Helps reduce separation anxiety, excessive meowing, destructive behavior & inappropriate markingSustained released pheromones are proven effective to last up to 30 daysFresh, soothing lavender chamomile fragranceCat calming aid for cats & kittens with necks up to 15"Non-toxic formula
Average Customer Rating:
4.019 / 5
4
 / 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
16
85 out of 103(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Review 1 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pleasantly surprised!

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from alabama
I tried this collar on my 19-year-old Siamese male who has begun yowling unbearably at night. He's always been a talker, but recently he has increased the frequency and volume of his hollering. I love him dearly, but absolutely cannot sleep through the noise. My sister has had success with the collars in calming her rowdy Maine coons, so I gave it a try. Just a few days later, my husband and I agree that he was noticeably quieter! Unfortunately, after a few weeks, his outer ears became greatly inflamed from excessive grooming. He got a steroid shot and an antibiotic shot, and we took the collar off as a precaution in case he had an allergic reaction. We will try it again in a few weeks and I am keeping my fingers crossed that the inflammation/excessive grooming was due to an allergic reaction to eating a different brand of food when I ran out of their regular food and couldn't get to the vet for a week to get their regular food. I'll update when I try it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxes my cat

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
We have an older cat that started marking about 6 months ago. We tried a combination of things from Nature's Miracle marking prevention, cat Prozac, and Feliway spray.
The Feliway spray used 2x a day seemed to help, and we were patiently waiting for the Prozac to kick in after 4 months of daily doses. I read reviews of the collar helping others cats with anxiety so I ordered one and noticed within a day or two drastic improvement--markings went from 15-20 a day to 1-2 a day.
The cat is off Prozac (second bottle tasted different so he would't eat it with his tuna) and we're down to spraying Feliway once a day but am on our 3rd collar. Not trying to jinx ourselves but we're on 3 weeks of no markings.
It's also very relaxing for humans too -- I love that my cat smells like lavender and chamomile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

calm kitty

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from roselle,il
It works well for my cat he was a little wild. N makes him smell nice to boot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works For Us

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tucson AZ
My previously perfect litter box user decided she wanted to go "next" to the box, not in it. Didn't go over well w/her ma. Used up a big bottle of "Nature's Miracle" cleaning up any scent from the carpet. Didn't help. Got her a litter box w/lower sides since she has arthritis. That didn't do it either. But strapping the lavender scented purple collar on her precious little neck has at least resulted in her only pooping outside the box. Peeping IN the litter box will have to do I guess. All this could be because she's getting along in yrs or she's jealous of the guinea pig Bailey I brought home 2 mos ago...go figure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

caused my cats fur to fall out

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Glendale Arizona
I really liked it at first. We moved from Oregon to Arizona and our cat got stressed out between the move, and sharing a new place with my father in law and his cat. Then after a week of use I saw that the fur on our kitty fell off where the collar was and caused sores. So if your cat has a lot of allergy issues I recommend not using it. It's a good product just not for our cat who is allergic to everything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry calming collar

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lacey, WA
I have a brother and a sister and the lmale was very skittish and loud. Ever since the calming collar, he is so much better still skittish but not as much. He is more relaxed now. This does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good collar

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Easthampton, MA
This is a great collar,
I've been using it for well over 3 years now. It help relax my cat who without the collar is just a complete nervous animal. Delivery was fast and price was excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sentry calming collars for cats

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from wilmington de
I think it is too early to say yet as I have just started using them on 2 of my cats that were not geting along. I brought a new stray into the house and one of the cats that was already a resident realy hated it and hissed and ran, I am hoping this helps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dundee, Il
This is my 2nd month of using it for my senior kitty. He seems a little more at ease, but isn't as aggressive to the new kittens I got. I'm going to con't to use it, because I notice when it's getting close to that month change date, he urinates in a place other than the litter box. So it's a work in progress for my kitty and I. I do see improvement over all
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems to be doing good things

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Grand Junction, CO
My crazy female, Jade is purring more! She came down off her shelf & had a pleasant interaction with another cat she usually hisses at. The collar has a nice smell to me. The white powder stuff did not bother me & goes away. It has been about 2 1/2 weeks on & I think it helps. I have no complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got It, Love It, Wont live without it!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Germantown Maryland
Calming Collar really helped Mac get through his stressful UTI Blockage and he still wears them today. Also use the diffusers so all pets have benefited. They work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Found a good but different method of using this

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My male cat was fixed after puberty and thus is a urine sprayer. I bought the calming collar because I read that it helps with spraying. I am not confident that it is a safety release collar and he hated wearing it. Somebody reviewing the collar here or elsewhere said that they cut the collar up and put pieces of it wherever their cat sprayed, so I tried it and it worked - no spraying for weeks!!!!! I'm very pleased and will be doing this here on out without my boy being unhappy wearing a collar or possibly being harmed from it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My little scaredy cat was much calmer

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saint Louis, MO
He's always been very skittish and hides when guests arrive. I put this collar on him before we had a house full of teens and he really did seem much calmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis,MN
I recently rescued a kitten but when she came home my youngest cat (2yrs) went nuts. I now have a nasty scar by my eye and I was scared that she kill the kitten. I did some research on things that might help. I knew about feliway as a diffuser and spray but didn't know about the collar. I just wanted my cat to act normal again. I had my husband buy the collar. At first all she did was lick at her neck. After 24 hrs of having the collar on she was almost back to her normal self. It has been almost a week now and ny cat now tolerates the kitten better. There are still some hissing and growling but no signs of her wanting to injury anybody. Without this product I don't think that there would be this much harmony in my household. My cat is laying in the living room and the kitten is playing with my feet. The oldest cat (3yrs) is just happy that her best friend is not trying to injure her either. We are a happy 3 cat home now. I will continue to use this product for as long as it takes to get total acceptance for the kitten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry Calming Collar for Cats

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I have a 15 yr old temperamental rescue British Blue. He doesn't like change & if something bothers him, he takes it out on our super sweet 3 yr old calico. Almost 2 yr ago, out of desperation for the snarlyness focused on the sweet calico, I tried this "Purple Collar" on our British Blue & within 24 hrs I noted a change in the attitude & within 48 hrs, I had a loveable 15 yr old British Blue! When I note indications of snarlyness, I immediately add a new "purple Collar" & I have a calm, sweet male cat once more! There's no need to use it on the Calico.
Because the "Purple Collar" worked so well on the cat, I've used 2 canine "Purple Collars" @ a time on our 80 lb dog, to help with Separation Anxiety & it has absolutely no affect on him. But I WILL continue using it for the amazing effect it has on our cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wast of money

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Did nothing. No help whatsoever in calming my cat down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful Tool

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs Ca
I used these collars on a cross country move for my 3 cats. I put the collars on them before we moved and while we moved to help them adjust to all the changes. They worked well keeping my kitties calm…although I would recommend combining them with the spray. The spray is good in a pinch where the collars are long lasting . Both products were worth the money that I spent and I would use them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Did help older cat yowling

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
My old kitty (19+) started this really annoying yowling at night a few years ago. I guess I grew used to it but it really bothered my new boyfriend. The collar didn't make her stop, but it has decreased the yowling by about half and lowered the volume of it. I'm satisfied with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange City, Fl.
I read all the reviews and I saw it works for some, and not for others. In my case, it flat out didn't work. Not even a little. Kitten at 10 months who was a rescue but I rescued another one with her. I tried the calming collar and other behavioral tricks to try to keep one of the kittens from literally attacking the other. The last resort was the calming collar and we saw absolutely no improvement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stress reducer for cats

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Maine
This product seems to help with my cats stress levels. I have been using it for a few years and am pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>