petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor

Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor

Natural looking tree log adds an authentic look to aquariumIncludes swim through holes for added funPerfectly sized for large freshwater tanksMade of non-toxic, fish-safe materials and colorsDécor provides shelter and hiding places fish need to help reduce stress
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Review 1 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

extremely poor surface finish

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southampton, NY
I cannot clean this even a little without the finish coming off.
I purchased this for a 20 gallon freshwater tank because I enjoyed how realistic it looked. I was happy with it UNTIL I did a water change.
I removed it from the tank, rinsed it under tepid water, and gently rubbed at the algae with my fingers and an algae scrubbing brush that I use on all my other decorations. The finish started coming off, revealing the white resin underneath.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my 6" Red Ear Slider

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Yreka, Ca
We bought this for decoration for our turtle when we were first setting up the tank. It is more than I hoped for! She loves to balance on top to bask, which makes her a "ninja" turtle ;) It also helps provide more exercise for her since the goldfish have her making laps around it. Nice places for the fish to hide too. The colors are natural and the surface is easy to clean. I would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

looks great

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southern IL
the grey peels off in the tank,i tried two tree logs and both did the same. never again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from easton, PA
I'm starting a second tank and was looking for a medium size piece to use as my focal point. This was exactly what I was looking for. It looks great in my 29 gallon tank and has many openings for my fish. My Pleco spends most of the day in it which opens up room for the rest of the fish. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
Swordtails and platy's love playing in and around it. Have a 40 gal hex tank and it is perfect for the center.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Leesburg, VA
I looked everyehere for a large decoration for my 55 gallon tank. That's easier said than done. This piece is perfect and it looks like real driftwood in my tank, but cost alot less. It's a perfect hiding place for your fish too! Easy to clean too. Very nice tank decor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
this is an excellent product! it is very cool looking and realistic. My tetras loved it they allways used to swim in and out of it until they went bye-bye. :( R.I.P
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty but flawed, still like it though

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Eastern Michigan
It's a very nice looking product, but had two major downsides. The first is the inside has many sharp pieces that stick out, which I've scaped my hands on while cleaning, and lots of pieces of thin plastic inside that snap off when touched.
Second, it leeched something into my water, turning the water cloudly and leaving a strong chemical smell that I cannot remove without removing the piece.
It is a VERY lovely item, but I would recommend soaking it for awhile prior to placing in your tank to remove whatever is leeching into the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

paint was coming off

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sarasota, FL
The log looks quite natural. But after a month in my freshwater fish tank, I noticed that it was loosing the paint and there were spots on the inside that you could see the white plastic through. I returned it to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very realistic

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
this is a great prop and looks great in the tank and the fish love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Sealy, TX
This is very pretty in my aquarium, and the log is big enough that even my adult cichlids can still swim inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Betta's Dream Castle!

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, Arkansas
My Betta absolutely loves this log! It's perfect for a 10 gallon and has several holes in which to enter or exit. Aries spends lots of time going in and out the various holes, swimming under the arch that the root creates, or just hanging out inside as it has quite a spacious interior. As an added bonus, it looks great! I added a few silk plants around it and it actually looks fairly natural. I originally moved Aries into this tank as a hospital tank since he needed to recover from fin damage but now he likes it better than his other tank so I guess I'll have to make this his new permanent tank! Very economical for the size and entertainment value as well as appearance. I would definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Large Tree Log Aquatic Décor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Aqariuam Decor

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great size, Great Look, Great Price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.