petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer

PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer

Operating range of up to 100 yardsSmall dog training collar for pets 8-40 lbsAdjustable, waterproof receiver remote dog collarElectronic remote delivers correction signals to dog’s collar16 levels of stimulation plus a tone-only button+2 boost button option for distractionsModel PDT00-13410
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good control for dog

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SD
My dog chases rabbits and we feared she would get into the road and be injured. Since using this collar so she gets a stimulation (only had to use it twice) when she is tempted to chase a rabbit up the driveway, she walks by the drive, looks up it and then continues on. If a rabbit is present, I say NO and she does not chase. I am not sure the problem has been completely solved, but she certainly is reluctant to chase now that the collar is on. I think she remembers the unpleasantness of the stimulation and I have not had to use it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better the I thought

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Preston ia
Product worked great. Didn't seem to affect my dog as well in longer distances add I hoped but works great with in our yard roughly 50 feet. I'm very impressed that it took 2 days having the collar on my dog for just a few hours each day for me to notice a big difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Morgantown, WV
I purchased this product on my brother's recommendation. I have 10 dogs and 14 guineas and only one of the dogs would kill our fowl. My brother had used collars on his dogs with problem behavior and they are now great dogs. I was a little hesitant to use it because I'm not a electric stimulus collar user. It worked great. I don't have to use the stimulus button anymore, just use the tone and she knows she's too close to the guineas. It's not harsh--u determine the settings--and it's well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alturas, Ca
I am very pleased with this training collar. The dogs respond to it well. I would buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great "E" collar

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
This is my 2nd "E" collar, 1st lasted for 10 years and 2 dogs. The new one has a smaller hand controller which great. Hope this will last as long as the first one. This is a great training aid and wireless leash. Uses CR2032 battery ( 4) make sure you have extras, not sure how long they will last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe little dog remote trainer

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati
I purchased this a couple weeks ago for my 8# yorkiepoo. She loves to run and the minute I let her out the door without a leash she would take off. After only a couple of reprimands with the collar she will now go out to potty without a leash and she comes right back. So far I love it. Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
15of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works well

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from S. Calif.
My minpin had gotten the idea he was in charge, and he was completely disobedient. After just a couple of level-2 nudges, he suddenly remembered who the boss was. Now he is much more obedient, even without the collar. He wears it for a couple of hours a day, during which time he is off-leash. Very rarely I need to use it to get his attention.
Definitely worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remote Trainer

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
Use with sound because this dog was a rescue from Long Beach hurricane disaster. Accidently hit the zapper and really scared him. Used same thing on my chihuahua to prevent him from barking and/or leaving the yard and it went very well. (Tone only was what I used mostly, or in very rare case zap with very light touch).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
My purpose for purchasing this product was to handle barking issues with my dog. I wanted a bark collar that I could control myself with a command. So far, it is going quite well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets her attention

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from highland,ny
I bought this because I want to be able to bring our dog outside without a leash and also to help train in other ways too. I turned it all the way up to 8 on low and got no reaction. I had to crank it up to about 5 on high to get her attention. She is only around 20-25lbs but is still growing so maybe her excess skin is getting in the way, but I was hoping I wouldn't have to turn it up so high. Once I finally figured out 5 on high gets her attention, I started using it and she started listening a heck of a lot more then usual. I would say it does what it is meant to so I am satisfied with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this trainer!!!!

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Winston-Salem, NC
I looked thru several of the remote collars that were offered and even read reviews, it seems this one had the most to offer. I have a 5mo puppy that I've had for 1.5 mos and she is a barker, I purchased this one instead of one that was labeled a "bark collar" and it really works to curtail all the noise. I am really thinking about ordering another one for my 7mo which I've had since he was 2.5 mos and very even tempered and not a lot of barking at all but the new puppy has somewhat started him doing things he was not doing before, so I would like to nip it before it gets out of hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good buy

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Texas
My 35 lb. girl ddn't feel a thing. And it isn't expandable. The remote was a single collar use. I'll be taking it back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lebanon IL
Great training device! Use it mostly on my 10 lb.,10 month old Jack Russell however also used it on my 70 lb boxer..Using only the tone signal after 1 or 2 corrections at low level!! WORKED GREAT! Easy to use and great range, so I'm not worried about controlling them anywhere on my 9 acres. So happy, I'm purchasing a second collar for my other dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

venture little dog remote trainer

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from deerwood mn
yes!!! my little yorkiepoo is actually begining to believe i am the boss!
great unit, rechargeable, i use the tone mostly. rarely do i have to use the stimulator.
this is the best unit and i would recommend it to anyone that has a dog with behavior problems( and who doesn't?)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product Delivers Good Behavior

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from TX
Product does what it states. My dog is very stubborn, but while the collar is on him he follows every command 99 percent of the time. (without stimulation.) When i take the collar off he is back to his chasing cars and running off when called. Do have extremely hard time turning collar on. That is reason for good rating, not excellent. Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Dog - Happy Owner

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
My dog would bark at pretty much every dog he would see or hear and he wouldn't stop there. He would try running after them even when they're across the street (busy neighborhood). My dog is quite strange, he puts on a show by barking, but when he runs up to them, he's only looking to play, not fight. This product reduced that habit instantaneously! Now, he just walks up to them happily without a bark and then just plays with them (still leashed though). He doesn't come off as aggressive anymore, when it only appeared to be.
I've only had to keep it at level 2 and it doesn't hurt since I've tried it beforehand. It's just enough to stop him from whatever he's doing.
I recommend this for dogs that are pretty stubborn.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Trainer

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Strongsville
I love this trainer for my little dog it worked right away after charging it. It's nice that I don't have to have her on a leash anymore when I take her outside to go potty. This product is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have a very hyper 38 lb golden doodle, and her favorite thing to do is to explore what's going on in front of the house vs. the back yard where she should be. My yard is not fenced in, and the house entrance from the yard is on the side of the house (driveway). When it's time to go in, Little Ms. Sophie likes to take off. Since I've started using the PetSafe Remote Trainer for little dogs, I have only had to use the vibration twice, and that was during the first week. I have been using it for about 3 weeks now, and have had no other incidents!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from mn
I love this because it does not shock my girls. I tried it on my hand as I do all of them, and this is more like a vibration than anything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
3 year old small dog chases people walking by, barking at everything and everyone. Runs across street and down the block. Tried classes, training, but nothing has worked. Best Purchase ever made! It took only 3 days of very minor shocks. Can't believe we didn't get this sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>