petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer

PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer

100-yard rangeAdjustable, waterproof receiver collarElectronic remote delivers correction signals to dog collar16 levels of stimulation plus tone-only button+2 boost button for distractionsModel PDT00-13411
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
18 out of 23(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

For short haired dogs only!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lima, OH
I have tried the collar on my dog several times and it has not worked yet. I have a black lab/sheppard/chow mix and because his hair is longer, the collar does not work. The instructions say to shave a small area of his neck. i am not going to shave his neck because I was told by groomers the hair does not grow back very well and could be patchy.
I have tried the collar on every level and my dog does not even notice it. Had I known the collar would not work dogs with long hair, I would not have wasted my money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
This collar had no effect on our dog. We will be looking into returning this collar.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't do the job

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from washington
this unit is not powerful enough to do the job, I have it on the highest setting and my one year old Lab just looks at me and keeps going in the wrong direction...I'll be returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brandon, Florida
So glad I ordered this! The features are awesome. Much more then I expected. Now training is now a breeze!
Easy features to understand and use. There is a warning beep so my dog picked up on it right a way that when
I gave a command with a warning he knew what to do. I bought it on line for 99.99 much cheaper then in the store.
Happy Dog - Happy Owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOP OF THE LINE !

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new york
my dog was acting crazy and nuts when people came over to our house he would jump and nip at them in a playfully way but it was not good and he would few pillows, growl and bit people and in 1 hour of buying this i already see a difference in my dogs attitude. if you have a dog i would recommend this as a must have !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is really good it works good with my pitbull

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ames iowa
I like it a lot because it works good with my dog and now he understand better what I don't want him to do and what he has to do
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works..

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Idaho
We have a young red bone coon hound..loves to jump, climb, bay, you name it...We have not had to increase the audio/zap past #2. Use it mainly on walks in the "wild" where she may catch a scent. Has made our life much better...we finally have some sense of control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy start up

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Louisville, Ky
This product is making training my willful rottweiler puppy much quicker and easier. I tested the collar on my arm to make sure it wasn't going to hurt her and found a setting that I was comfortable with using. Just enough to get her attention, not enough to scare or hurt.
Set up is quick and easy, so you can start training within minutes.
Would definitely recommend this collar to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

definitely would recommend

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from new york
I have an 85 lb dog. HIs biting (playful, but random painful bites) was out of control. We tried EVERYTHING. We resorted to this collar. while the audio chirp/low level 'zaps' do nothing, a quick jolt on level 6 or above stops him in his track. It doesnt hurt, tried it on myself. It DOES startle you like crazy though!! I pair the 'zap' with an obnoxious noise at the same time along with a 'no _______' (ex, no bite. no jump....) now, just less than 2 weeks later, I simply use the obnoxious noise and he stops whatever he's doing. He is still wearing the collar, just in case. I will use it on my new puppy also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
25of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is junk

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
This product is poorly made, Would not hold the level so while training you would have to get it on then get to the number that your dog responds to. By the time you get it working your dog has already stopped doing what ever it was you are correcting. This product is very very cheaply made, The remote felt as it was going to break in your hand. I returned the item and bought a Q series that is amazing!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
5of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Fl
Very easy to operate. Charge last a long time. Great product. My boxer weighs 63lbs. Found the level 1-2 didn't phase him. Level 3 gets his attention. Not enough to not "want" the feel, though. Will have to go to level 4. At least it gives you all the levels of option. He is beginning to listen and mind better. Great training tool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage
I got this for Christmas and the push button on-off switch on the collar failed after only a few uses and it's stuck on. Poor design or quality control.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This was great until it got wet!

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Escondido, CA
This was one of the best investments we've ever made. The collar is amazing around town, walking on trails, and just general off leash playtime. Also was great in helping with unwanted barking. One of the biggest reasons we decided to get this model was the waterproof receiver. Well, our first vacation with the collar and it lasted all of 15 minutes!!! Our 2 yr old golden jumped into the river and the collar was done! Very disappointed that it turned out to NOT be waterproof. Going to return it ASAP. Other than the waterproof issue, this was a great buy. Would've gave it 5 stars but it didn't live up to it's claim to be waterproof.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yeay!

PostedApril 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St Paul
this collar is wonderful! we tried a citronella bark collar & it went off at almost nothing, so this time we went with a collar that WE control when it does something. the dog was afraid of the citronella one but this one she knows to sit to get it put on before going outside. we have not even used the shock, just the beep and it gets her attention, she quits barking, & comes to the door to come in, or if she is in the house (not wearing the collar) & starts barking, i can hold the collar towards her & make it beep & she will stop barking & come to me. & we didn't even teach her that, she just knew (probably after having half heard us scream at her to come to us when she had a barking fit). again - yeay! for this collar!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When used properly, your dog can be the world's best behaved pet!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
This purchase was to replace an older model. This one is actually better! The collar recieves signal at a farther distance and the pitch is quieter than the old one which is nice. The dog still "respects" the tone no matter what pitch it's at! He's the world's best dog with it on!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
8of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much excess

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
This worked great for my dogs. The only down side was that the collar was too long. My dog would "shake" and found that the collar excess would come out. We did trim it but if you trim it too much you won't have anything to hold it on. We were walking/training our other dog and within that 30 min, she had taken the collar off and destroyed it. Yes we probably should have taken it off but now I know. I am buying a replacement because this did work so well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WE LOVE THIS

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lisbon,CT
We got this collar also as a last resort, I was really frustrated with our dog not coming to us outside, jumping up, knocking people down, nipping at us, etc. We used the system a little differently than the directions say, we used the tone as a warning before the "stimulation" and only had to use that a few times. Now when we reprimand him if he doesn't listen we use the tone and he responds right away. It has changed everything. He is such a better dog, he listens to our commands, doesn't knock our children down, it has really made a huge difference in our lives. I recommend this highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

life saver

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
We bought this when all else failed on getting our dog to stop chasing the horses. It was becoming a dangerous situation as our dog got braver in his chase starting to leap and bite as the horses ran. After 3 shocks he hugged the fence line as they ran past him. It was not pleasant for me doing it to him so I would advise it only being used by people as a last resort when faced in such a potentially dangerous situation for thier dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
This training collar is wonderful. We have not had to increase the level of stimulation at all. He responds to our verbal commands a lot better now, without having to stimulate as much. This has taken a lot of frustration out of our days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a good dog I have now!

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
My 12 month old Boxer was starting to get out of control, acting aggressively toward other large dogs and generally was just getting into a lot of trouble. Since I purchased the remote collar all I usually have to do is give her the sound warning and she'll come to me & even look for me if I'm in the house. I've never had to use it any higher than the #2 setting and have only done that a few times. It has saved the day. Other types of training and socializing didn't seem to be working for some of these bad behaviors. I highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>