petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy

Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy

Two favorite toys joined together2.5" Classic felt tennis ball15" Sturdy knotted ropeChewing, tugging and fetching fun in assorted bright colors
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Review 1 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mixed results

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DFW metroplex, TX
The rope is a little heavier duty and has survived for a number of days so that has been good. The rubberized tennis ball was not as good as I had hoped. My active chewer went through it in no time though she still plays with the rope some.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Now i know why it was an sale

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from houston, tx
I have a 7m/o 60LB pit/lab mix. He is quiet big and loves to chew! We have lost about 12 pairs of shoes so far. This toy was NOT made for his kind. It last exactly 1.5hrs from the time i brought it in the house. I kinda expected this would happen, so yes, i timed it. The tennis ball is shredded open and completely detached from the rope. I will probably let him finish shredding the rope. If you have a chewer please buy something else...like a tire ;-)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not last

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coral Springs, fl
Within five minutes go giving this to my dog, the tennis ball came off. The rope ends are joined in the middle of the ball by what appeared to be glue. It is very poorly made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Peters, MO
dog destroyed it in 2 minutes of me throwing it on the floor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's still not completely shredded

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Golden Eagle, IL
I wouldn't recommend this toy for dogs that are HIGHLY destructive. My darling beagle is quite the chewer. I call her my little seam ripper. She got the ball off within an hour. She doesn't like knots so those will be the next things she chews off. Other than that its a great tug of war toy. She loves to play that and fetch!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Training

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Darien, CT
I have a large lab. This tug is a good size. My dog get pursue the tug and grab it without accidently biting my hand. Perfect for a large dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Haverhill, MA
My dog LOVES this toy. He is still a puppy and loves to chew, and unfortunately most toys do not last very long with him. This toy is working out great so far. It is nice and sturdy and holds up to daily use very well. We have had it for a couple of weeks now and there is still no sign of fraying or tearing anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for Fetch, not for Chewing

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
My ~1 yr old pit bull LOVED chasing this around in the yard playing fetch, but he had it for less than a day before he tore the tennis ball off the rope and I had to take it away. He's a chewer though, so it might work for a different dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

its okay

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
for my English lab it lasted 3 days until she started to chew the felt off the tennis ball and 4 days before the tennis ball fell apart.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
My dachshund will tear up any rope toy you throw his way, no matter how big, or what it's made out of. And I've found myself more than satisfied with the fact that he hasn't destroyed it yet and we've had it for a couple weeks now (usually it takes his a couple days to finish them off).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for active play

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this product for my lab mix & collie mix to play tug-a-war with. This was ok for that, but just a bit stiff and only good on the non-ball end to hold onto. The rope is a bit stiff, but not bad. If you have a chewer like my lab, the rope will eventually fray and tear apart into lose strands. This is better for tossing & not tugging on. I think I will buy a longer rope without the ball next time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ball Cover Rippable by Bulldog

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Waukesha, WI
My dog really enjoys this toy--loves to chase it when thrown, loves to gnaw on the ball. Only problem is that she has managed to pull the cover loose a bit from the ball itself--cover is still on the ball, just loosened.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doesn't unravel like others

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Ames, IA.
I love this ball with rope tug! Only at Petco have I found ones that don't unravel with just a few hours of use. I hang it from a tree branch and Angel will jump, grab the ball and tug and hang for half of the day. Excellent toy for highly energetic dogs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great toy!

PostedJune 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
puppy loves it, and it's sturdy. not his most favorite toy, but definitely a keeper!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
This toy is more sturdy than I thought it would be! It is a nice toy to throw in the backyard, or at the dog park. My dog loves to fetch it, as well as play tug of war with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Tennis Ball with Rope Tug Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Chewers!

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
We thought this would be oversized for our little 15 pound spaniel, but he's a heavy chewer and uses it for a chew toy as well as a tug toy. One of the few toys that has decent longevity. This is his second one and we will buy another when he totally destroys this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.