petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter

Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter

Extra-strength litter provides advanced odor controlDestroys odors instantlyFresh clean scent is released after each useIdeal for multi-cat households
Average Customer Rating:
2.655 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
14
11 out of 29(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Public restroom at its best!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Riveisde, CA
Got this brand a few weeks ago... i dump half of the product to the trash can. After a couple visits from my fatty the litter box smell like puke and feces all together. Waste of money for sure. Trauma event for my cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does The Job!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
This litter is designed for pet parents with more than one cat, and it's fairly good. However, I think their "Ultra Last" brand really keeps the odor down best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

gooey mess does not clump!

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CA
Clumping litter has one job to do: form hard clumps of the urine patches your cat leaves behind. I noticed that Arm & Hammer had re-formulated their product (or so I thought by the new name Advanced Odor Control Clumping Litter) so I tried it again after a massive failure 3 years ago.
This product is still horrible! It turns into a gooey mess instead of clumping completely hard. Small clumps stick to my cat's feet and she has to clean them off. Even manual scooping means clumps break apart when you try to remove them.
It gums up the rake on the Littermaid automatic box when many other types of "premium clumping litter" do not. Clumps stick to bottom of the box. It took us over an hour to "de-clay" the side rake runways and rake so the box could work again.
I am so disappointed at this product, it failed within two days of installing it.
DO NOT USE IT IN AN AUTOMATIC LITTER BOX. If it gets stuck, it will burn out the motor (that's what happened 3 years ago and we had to buy a new box at $100!)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product give great results

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from doyles newfoundland
I have 3 cats and the ammonia smell can get over whelming most of the time. This product gives off a fresh scent and i can breath when it's time to clean the cat litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!!!!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from connecticut
I would NOT recommend this product to anyone! My house REEEEEKS like cat waste and I have been scooping out the kitty waste 2x a day just to try to make my house smell better. It does nothing to reduce or eliminate odor and I am very disatisfied. I will go back to Fresh Step, I found that to be very good for mulitiple cats (I have 2).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The 40 lbs. never has me running out to by more

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
It is very convient to get the 40 lbs. of cat litter mailed directly to my home; however, the litter box no longer comes lined with a plastic lining to hold the litter, which makes the litter difficult to scoop out when it's on it's last legs. Please bring back the convience of the plastic lining to hold the litter in the box. Other than that this this is a good purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
After 2 days of using this, the house smelled like urine. The litter boxes smelled so bad the cats wouldn''t go in, so they found other places to urinate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Litter I've tried

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati
I think this litter smells great! It clumps the urine well. I have 4 cats and I can't smell any cat odor at all. I had several litter boxes with different litters and decided to select A&H exclusively. The cats seem to like it as much as I do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smells Awful

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
This litter claims to eliminate odors due to urine and feces. Technially, it does this, but that's only because the smell of the litter itself is so overwhelmingly strong that your whole house smells like litter! I will stick with Fresh Step from now on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product is the worst litter I have ever used. I don't know what A&H has done to their formula but this is the stinkiest, dusty litter. Do not buy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I will never buy it again!

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
i was not at all satisfied...the sand was too fine, and the clumping was to much! i never used clumping before so it was hard to tell what actually clumped lol.
the scent also doesn't mix very well when they go potty! it smelled so bad!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get the UNSCENTED, not Fresh Scent!

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from CT
This is the BEST cat litter! BUT DO NOT GET THE FRESH SCENT - get the UNSCENTED!
The unscented version allows no odors, but this Fresh Scent does put a slightly unpleasant fragrance in the air.
I bought the Fresh Scent by mistake last month - 40 lbs of it. While it didn't smell like cat urine, there was a slightly unpleasant fragrance rifting thru my house for the 1st time. When I checked the box, I noticed I had purchased the Fresh Scent by mistake, not the usual Unscented box.
If I want a scent in my house, I will choose the fragrance & it won't be mixed with cat urine! I suggest you do the same & buy unscented.
PETCO needs to offer the UNSCENTED version online as I wanted to order it but can't find it here.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smells great

PostedAugust 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Has a very clean pleasant smell. great for multiple cat owners. I would greatly recommend for family's with multiple cats. easy to scoop up the mess inside litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One and only!!

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Burlington, VT
My husband and I have tried a variety of kitty litters, from biodegradable wheat, to "dust-free" (which is totally inaccurate) to almost every other major national brand. The Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat is the only thing we can use in our apartment with two cats. Granted it's not always the cheapest, but it works wonders! Not only is it the least dusty out of everything we've tried, it clumps the best, fights odor really well and doesn't irritate our kitties' sensitive skin like the others did. I strongly encourage you to give this one a try!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Scented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did nothing for smell!

PostedJune 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have a 1yr old male cat and thought this would help with smell since I have a small house and keep the litter box in my kitchen. This worked great with poo since I never smelt it, but the urine smell was out of control! I did some research and tried a few others (feline pine) but found Tidy Cat Small Spaces. This stuff is great! I don't smell my kitty at all! Ofcourse his little paws track clay litter balls around A LITTLE but this is to be expected with everything. I am an extreme clean and smell freak and Tidy Cat Small Spaces passed my test. I even add Arm and Hammer box deodorizer to be safe. Don't use this litter get Tidy Cat!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.