petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control

PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control

For small dogs up to 55 lbs. & necks up to 20"All-natural lemon scent spray is safe and effectivePerfect Bark detection ensures unit sprays only by your own dog's barkWaterproof receiverRefill sprays available, sold separatelyModel PBC00-11283
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Changed my life!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Siamesemomma
from Milwaukee, WI
This bark collar is awesome! Our dog began having separation anxiety when I was on maternity leave because he got used to me being home during the day. If we left him home alone, he would continuously bark for at least 15 minutes straight. We live in an apartment complex and our neighbors complained and we were told we'd have to get rid of our dog if there were any more complaints. For the past 6 months we've been taking our dog everywhere with us because we were scared to leave him home alone. I just went back to work and taking him to work wasn't an option so we decided to try this collar, because I wanted a pain-free bark collar. This collar has worked wonders. It is easy to work, easy to place on your dog, and the directions are very easy to understand. All it takes is one spray and our dog stops barking. He caught on really quick to the idea that barking = stinky spray. The smell does not linger either, and doesn't stay on your dog's fur for very long. We are so happy to be able to leave our pup at home now without fear that he'll be barking the whole time. This collar is definitely worth the money, I wish we would have tried it sooner. One thing I noticed in the picture with the plush dog wearing the collar is that it is upside down. I hope no one uses that as an example because if you use it that way it won't work properly! Silly that the "photographer" wouldn't have read the directions before placing on the dummy dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BBr4Him
from Holland, MI
I saw this product work with a friend's dog and hoped it would do the same for me.... and I was not disappointed. My Maltese is a talker and a barker, the collar has helped keep that to a serious minimum when it isn't appropriate for him to be too vocal.... I only use it when needed so he isn't in it all day.... and even the 'off' times are not as vocal now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tricky, but works for Shih Tzu

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
gingerp
from Spring, TX
My ShihTzu constantly barks at anything walking on her street, down the corner, & stuff I dont even see! This collar was my last hope. It works only when it can sense BOTH the physical vibration in the throat caused by barking & the barking sound, & must be placed "just right"--not too loose & not too tight. I had to work with it several times to get it working consistantly. It emits something similar to Lemon Pledge & took only a few times before the barking was under control. What a blessed relief!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
FriendofaPet
from Round Rock,TX
This product works!! I have two dogs, a cocker spaniel and a snoodle and we recently got a complaint from a neighbor about them barking when I'm not home. I decided to get the spray collars over the shock collars b/c I heard shock collars can cause stress on the dogs. I decided to try the collars out on a Sunday so I can see if they worked and how they reacted. My snoodle took off running to the gate and when she barked she stopped barking and running and looked around. It took her three barks before she decided to run inside. Only after wearing the collars for two weeks they realize they shouldnt bark when they have them on. I do take them off when I get home and when we are outside playing. They only have to wear them during the day and when Im not home. I have already recommend these collars to my friends and family memebers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work.

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
BxChewie
from Bronx, N.Y.
My dog has seperation anxiety and barks when left alone. Purchased this collar as a humane approach before buying a static control bark collar. Followed the instructions and this collar would not spray no matter how many times or how loud my dog barked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ernietoo
from Boynton Beach, FL
It only sprayed about one-fifth of the time. So, I did not have a good experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ownedbydogs
from Kansas City, MO
Our alpha cairn terrier loves to bark incessantly --at mowers, sprinklers, joggers, bikes, grasshoppers and invisible objects. He detests the spray collar, but will only bark once (or just grumble) when it is on. We put it on loosely over his other collar so his fur doesn't interfere much with the mic. We also don't leave it on for long periods of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
2pupmom
from pleasant grove, utah
I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! I have a malti-poo and a maltzer both under 10# and I do not believe in shock collars. My maltzer has a barking habbit that is very out of control. If a person/animal is within his view he barks and will not stop unless it is out of his sight, this is very annoying. I finally broke down and decided to purchase and behavior collar, I was so happy when I found out that I did have to shock him!
2 barks with this collar and he is cured!! the spray idea is awesome and if you have a dog that barks constantly and want to try this i highly recommend it! if you are worried that it wont work just get any hoousehold air spray that has a fruit scent and spray it around your dog if he seems annnoyed by the smell and sneezes then I bet it will work. My dog hates when ever I spray my glade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Maltese finally stopped!!

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
tinymaltese
My maltese is a 1 y.o. male that barks every time we leave the house. He barks and urinates in his crate because his anxiety is so high. I tried a kong and he could care less about it, that didnt work at all. I tried a vibrating collar and it worked for 1 hour and then he didnt care for it and started barking MORE out of control. Then i got this lemon spray collar by petsafe and IT WORKS!! He doesnt bark or urinate in his crate, he is so calm when we come back.
However, we did have one problem with this collar, it moves! And it will work 3 days in a row but then the 4th day it wont and its not consistent. I think if it didnt move around it would be awesome. But 3 days out of 4 is better than nothing. Our dog is a happy little boy the rest of the day when he doesnt bark. I say TRY IT see if it works for one day and if it doesnt then you can try another method.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tried two - neither would spray

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
wooftags
from Los Angeles, CA
Bought this at the Petco store. The first one was not spraying when the dog barked, so I called the manufacturer's 800 help line. They had me run tests on it and confirmed it was a nonfunctioning unit. Exchanged it for another - and the SAME thing, also did not spray when my little dog barked or the sensors were activated as directed by the 800# (by rubbing the side on a hard surface). Then I tried a different product, the PetSafe Little Dog static collar. Also a dud - not only was the functionality of that collar also defective, the design is such that the thick rubber of the collar and position of the buckle encourages the unit to rotate around to the side of the dogs neck, where even if the unit were functioning, it would not be activated.
I will avoid any PetSafe brand products in the future!
At least Petco is great about allowing returns!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
shitzue
Very disappointed with this product. I have a 3 year old shitzue and it didn't work on her, not sure if it was because the spray didn't reach her, or if it just didn't work (i couldn't tell because i couldnt see the spray). all i know is that she barked constantly with it on, and it didn't help the situation. thinking about going with a bark collar that vibrates instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
loverofdogs
from Davis, CA
I have 5 dogs: I have used the petsafe cintranella collar on my golden retriever, and it worked great. Yet, these small anti bark collars did not work on my 2 small dogs (maltese and shitsu mix) they would bark and nothing would happen; ended up returning them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This worked great

PostedJune 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
pugglelover1986
from Phoenix, az
I used this on my puggle puppy to train her not to bark at night when i put her in the kennel. At first the sprays scared her but she learned quick not to bark. I used the lemon scented spray. After just a couple days i could put her in the kennel with out it at night and she would bark at all. It been several months now and she doesnt bark at all at night in her kennel anymore. I love this product and would recommend it to any one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Spray Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
ralphiesmom
I have a small (10 lb) terrier mix who feels the need to sound the alarm for everything! He's a very good dog, but this barking is annoying. I tried behavior modification, but because I was not always out with him, it was inneffective. This collar worked within a couple of days. No pain involved, it doesn't spray in his face, just out in front of him. He gets it, it has calmed his whole personality! I highly recommend this product for problem barkers. I have used it for about six weeks now and am very happy with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.