petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control

Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control

Provides 5 way protection from fleas, deer ticks, flea eggs, larvae and mosquitoesNylar, an insect growth regulator kills flea eggs and larvaeFor cats and kittens that weigh over 5 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
13
13 out of 29(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Review 1 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Research is helpful.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
jenniferlee2323
from Columbia, TN
I have used more expensive products in the past and last month that expensive product failed to rid my cats of fleas. They are strictly indoor. The issue was that the eggs were already in my home before I even noticed flea dirt. One I used the home spray last week of this product and applied the drops today to my 3 cats. I have a kitten and two 10 year old cats. My older male has allergies and was not bothered by the home spray. Each animal is different just as humans are so the negative reviews could have more time, research and thought into them. A female flea can lay up to 50 eggs a day. The larvae can live up to a year after spinning their cocoon in your house. Fleas do not magically appear and they do not magically disappear with one treatment if they have found their way into your house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Choice

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
onewingedangel
from Honolulu, HI
Bought this flea and tick control for the first tme. I bathed my cat with the sentry flea control shampoo and applied the squeeze on a day or two after the bath. Next thing I know, my cat starts losing fur on the spot that the squeeze on was applied to and was BLEEDING in that area. The medication ate away at his skin and he started pussing and bleeding. I bought the 6 month supply and I threw away 5 of them because I am not risking side effects again for my cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Flea & Tick Control

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
HasCatsNDogs
from Virginia
I use this on all of my outside cats. I have known of times when cats had ticks and about 24 hours after using this product, most of the ticks were gone. I have seen it repel mosquitoes; they may hover, but they don't land. Just like any DEET repellent humans may use, the mosquitoes may hover, but they don't bite. Works well with the fleas, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money DO NOT BUY

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
naturalist2
from Ohio
This product does not work. Plain and simple. We are suffering a flea outbreak here with our two long-hair cats, we have bathed them in flea shampoo, I have been very dilligent with the flea comb, but after applying this stuff, we are still crawling with fleas. I won't buy it again, JUNK. Don't waste your money try something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lost Hair

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jimsha
from New York
I can't speak to the flea killing, since its only been a couple days. My Gus is fine but my Rocky lost all the hair on the back of his neck where the medication touched. Advantage flea medication is fantastic and my product of choice. I bought Sentry as a quick fill in and regret it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sierratops
from North Hollywood, CA
My cats are indoor outdoor and this has not worked at all. I put it on and the moment they step outside they have fleas. DO NOT BUY THIS.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
xochi718
from Miami, FL
This is a lot cheaper than prescription products and works just as well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spend a little more to get results!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
lala4lynda
from Seacoast, NH
Because this product was so much more affordable than the others and because there were some good reviews of it online, I decided to give it a try on my kitten a few weeks ago. It did not work. I'm still finding live fleas on him. He's an indoor cat, so if this worked on everything - including flea eggs and larvae as it claims it does - I would not still be finding live fleas on him. I am going to go buy the tried-and-true (but more expensive) Advantix or Frontline to finally get rid of the fleas. I'm kicking myself for not doing so weeks ago instead of trying this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No fleas yet!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
skeeterbug
from Minooka, IL
Just wanted to voice my opinion on the Sentry PurrScriptions Cat and Kitten Squeeze-On Flea and Tick Control. I've had about 5 cats in my lifetime and they have never had fleas. I consider myself (and the cats) very lucky. As a result, I have only used a flea collar 2 times just to be cautious. The most recent time I used a flea collar was on my current cat, Sugar. It was a Sentry Flea collar and I just loved the smell! It was a baby powder smell. I left it on for way past it's time and this year I figured I'd better get another one. When we went to PetCo, the lady there told me that the collars only protect from the neck up (I'd also read this on the internet about flea and tick collars) and we looked into something with more protection without costing and arm and a leg. She suggested the sentry PurrScriptions Cat and Kitten Squeeze-On Flea and Tick Control. It was within our budget and it protected the whole cat not just the head. We decided to try it. It's a bit tricky to get the whole tube on the cat as the lady told us to squeeze a little out and wait a bit (so it can work it's way through the skin) to put more on. We continued this way until the tube was done. It did leave a greasy/oily mark on her fur. I was very concerned that she might get sick from cleaning herself and injesting some of it but there were no problems. I still wasn't happy with the oily area where we applied the product but it did disappear after a while. She is due for her next dose and it will be happening in the next couple of days. Sugar goes out periodically on a leash in the backyard and sometimes in the front yard always with someone with her. She has been out for 4 hours and more at a time and she has no evidence of fleas. So far I'm quite happy with the product. Only wish it didn't leave that greasy/oily mark on her fur after application. Kind of looks like she's dirty. I will probably use this product until I find it unsatisfactory as it's affordable and so far Sugar has no fleas or ticks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well for the price

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MellyPat
from Chicago, IL
My two dogs somehow got fleas last year and of course they traveled to our kitties. (We keep them seperate because they aren't friends :) ) Our cats don't go outside...ever. too afraid i guess. This kills the fleas in a decent amount of time. It does leave a grease spot on their coats but after a few days their fur is back to normal. Irritation was noticed on our white cats but not the darker ones. They didn't seem bothered by it too much. Try it out - for the price you can't go wrong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT a replacement for Advantix, Frontline

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashley2988
from New Haven, CT
You get what you pay for with Sentry Purrscriptions Flea and Tick treatment, which is a poor substitute for Advantix and Frontline which I have used in the past. Being low on cash I decided to try Sentry, and have discovered that my poor cat's head to shoulder area was completely greasy and gross, and he also developed a small bald spot where the treatment was applied! The box does state that animals can develop allergic reactions to any flea treatment, so it may work for others, but not my kitty. I followed the instructions and rinsed the area with light soap and generous water, so hopefully he'll be okay in a day or two. So BEWARE when trying this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work at all.

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
KMM26
from Mississippi
I put this product on my cats the first month and within a few days the fleas were back worse than before and I also have been treating my home at the same time, will not purchase this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
HEMME
from NC
I volunteer as a foster for my local humane society. All most ALL of the cats/kittens we bring in are flea ridden. We usually use advantage multi for foster cats, but one day I'd brought home 2 9 week old babies that were covered in fleas. After their bath I realized I was out of the Advantage we normally use so I used the Sentry which is what I put on my own cat. The great thing about Sentry is that it kills flea EGGS. Some of the leading topicals out there don't. Within hours I noticed that the remaining fleas were shriveled up to practically husks.
I noticed that some reviewers claimed Sentry doesn't work and their cats still had fleas weeks later. I wonder if they treated their entire house as well as the cat? If your indoor cat has fleas and you treat them, you have to treat the environment AND the cat the same day. And you have to be thorough. Fleas can get pretty much everywhere. If you don't, you'll be looking at a re-infestation
For me, Sentry works just fine. It's not crazy expensive, but it's not cheap either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item for the cost!!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
PicDoc
from STL
Great Item & at the right price. Was glad that it could be used on our older and younger kittens.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

didn't work

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
catlady14
from Grant Park,IL
I have been fighting fleas on a fewof my cats. The vet told me to try a different brand so based on the review I purchased Sentry. Problem Cat just came by the computer and still has fleas almost twoweeks later. I guess it's back to Frontline Plus
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

purrscriptions plus squeeze-on for cats

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
santasanta
from hummelstown,pa.
I tried this product for two months and it did not get rid of the fleas on my cat. I was very, very disappointed in the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This worked well

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
patiogirl
from Santa Monica
Someone brought fleas into our house on their dogs. My cats have never been treated for fleas and we've never had any -- I immediately ran out and got this and it worked immediately! I don't understand the negative reviews. Yes the fur gets a little wet (even looks greasy) for awhile, but then it dries. You have to follow the instructions and separate the fur and put a line only. I will definitely use this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
lissaz4572
from Altoona,PA
I have 7 cats and cann't afford those expense flea drops. I tried this and haven't seen any fleas or ticks on any of my cats, including the 2 that go outside. I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It helps a lot!!

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
rosemaryK
from cedar rapids, IA
Since last summer I got flea problem, and desperately I tried EVERYTHING. Several times of bomb, powder, wet vacuum, spray, shampoo, flea trap. Even I removed carpet from our living room and formal dining room and installed hardwood floor, but still we saw the fleas in the bedrooms. I tired also Capstar, but did not help either. When I bought Purrscriptions, I did not expect much, but finally, it solved the flea problem!! It looks greasy, but it is nothing compare to flea problem. I thank this product very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry PurrScriptions Plus Cat & Kitten Squeeze-On Flea & Tick Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melrose
from Pasadena, CA
My husband recently purchased PurrScriptions for my cat. Shorty after use, she developed redness and her fur fell off on the location of where we applied the product. Don't buy!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>