petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs

Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs

Helps reduce separation anxiety, excessive barking, destructive behavior & inappropriate markingSustained released pheromones are proven effective to last up to 30 daysFresh, soothing lavender chamomile fragranceFor dogs & puppies with necks up to 28"
Average Customer Rating:
3.34 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
15
31 out of 47(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Anxiety reduced

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from philadelphia
I have a 6 year old dog who's a rescue. I don't know what all he went through, but, when we first got him, he would stand in the middle of the room, stare into space, and tremble. The calming collar was one piece of helping him over his anxiety. Other parts were a crate, which never has the door closed, thunder shirt, and Himalayan dog bone and of course plenty of patience and reassurance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cranky Chihuahua Problem Solved

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
We have four chihuahuas (rescues) and one is dog aggressive, or was dog aggressive. With this collar he is much calmer and even playful with the other dogs (sometimes). He's still cranky but this took the edge off. We went from fights once a day to once a month. It's the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to help

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
My rescue miniature schnauzer has always been rather clingy and stressed in new situations. He also has a terrible habit of barking at any unusual sound, new person, or other animals. He will even bark when a person who's already been there leaves and then re-enters a room.
I wouldn't go so far as to say this collar works miracles, but I do think it has made a difference. Shortly after I put the collar on him, I took him on a trip to my parents' home for a few days. They remarked that they thought he seemed generally calmer and less "barky."
I don't think I need the collar when we are at home and he is in his usual routine, but I do plan to keep using the collar on trips or in other new situations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Calming Collar

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sarasota, FL
Seems like it worked well the first two weeks of use.
Now we are in week three and it is not effective.
It was suppose to be good for a month. A little dissatisfied with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Co
This collar is a miracle ! ! ! Our Cairn Terrier is EXTREMELY frightened of thunder and fireworks. He runs and barks. Nothing would stop him. He was hard to catch, wouldn't come when he was called, we were not able to hold him. This collar calmed him after 1 week of wear. It didn't change his personality, just eliminated the bad behavior. It does have a fragrance that was strong at first, but we were desperate for a solution. The fragrance gradually goes away after a couple of weeks. We will be using this collar during the spring/summer thunderstorm weather season each year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sentry DAP Collar

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
We were unable to keep the collar on the dog for more than an hour or two due to the added "lavender" fragrance. It was overpowering and made the whole exercise pointless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Bend, WA
For some reason, my 3-year-old rescue Maltipoo suddenly became afraid of riding in the car on highways. I thought it would pass, but just took her with me on a short journey. Fortunately there was a Petco at our destination, because I was tempted to turn around and go home because she was shaking horribly and obviously very fearful.
Once we purchased the collar I unwrapped it and put it near her car bed. She calmed down immediately and stayed calm for the remainder of the trip! I was truly amazed, and can't wait to try actually putting it on her when I know she will be encountering other stressful situations. She has never allowed anyone other than our family members to pet her--perhaps this will help her accept our dog-loving friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Test Drive

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South louisiana
Bought one to try before my Cairn terrier is to have arsenic injections for heart worms. Part of the treatment is total rest except potty on leash for 60 days. If he gets excited it could kill him. So I want to try anything that might help, he's extremely active. Tried it for 30 days and it did seem to help calm him. I think this will be one of several products that I will use to calm him while he convalesces. I don't think it will work for every dog, but for $10-15 bucks it's worth a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

International Travel

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Military Overseas
I used this collar on both our dogs. Both dogs are under 20 lbs (a Chiweenie and Miniature Schnauzer). The mess the collar makes when you put it on isn't exactly pleasing, but it was worth the mess. Both my dogs were fantastic traveling in the cabin at our feet on the multiple international flights with multiple plane changes through airports from the states to Europe and on to Africa. One dog flew in the passenger cabin for the first half, and then had to fly in the luggage cabin the second half. And he seemed fine when we picked him up from being down below.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works wonders!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Stillwater, OK
We used this for the first time a couple of years ago when we moved with our dog and guinea pig from Baltimore to Oklahoma in a rented van. We chose to do a 3-day trip... I bought the collar a month before and forgot about it. The first leg of the trip was stressful, Nicole (our airedale) was anxious and whining. At some point, I remembered the collar, put it on - It was amazing! She stayed calm the remainder of the trip and you could tell she was not sleepy or anything like that, she was just 'cool'. Today I bought it again because she gets anxious and won't sleep when one of us leaves town - my husband will be gone for a week, so to cheer her up I took her to Petco. Bought the collar and it did it again! She's now snoring by my side. Thank you for a wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did Absolutely Nothing

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
I loved the concept of this as I have a 75lb German Shepherd/Husky mix who is always on edge. It did nothing to help. Smells good put I would not buy this again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overwhelming odor

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach CA
I don't know if this works to calm - the perfume is so very strong I had to throw it away. I put it outside for a day first to see if it would lessen, but it's incredibly penetrating. Maybe somebody who can't smell could tolerate this. Granted, I have my dogs in my room, so if yours is an outdoor dog you may not notice. But I should think the dog would. Can't imagine why they did this. May be a mistake.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NY
I have a 9lb, 1 and a half year old Maltese. He has been hyper since we got him at 3 months old. I took him to the Vet for his anxiety, hyperactivity and slightly agressive problems and was recomended this products. Did not work. He remained exactly the same. Definitely would not recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oxford, ME
We have 2 rescue chihuahua's. One of them is constantly a barker when my adult son comes into our home and will not stop regardless. He also has the highest level of separation anxiety when I am not with him.
We bought this calming collar hoping it was the answer to our delima as my husband had to stay home to dog sit instead of attending a baptism.
My husband put the collar on him 1 hour before I had to leave for church as we knew I would not be home for 6 hrs. When I came home my husband told me he only wimpered a few times and watched for me if a car went by.
We went to my sons house the next day to visit and the dog barked 4 times and was done barking.
I and my husband can't believe how this collar could make our dog so well mannered so to speak. Get this collar and your life will be what you want it to be. This collar works for us. Great collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well with my pitt that is anxious

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneaplis, MN
We bought this product for my pitt that had problems with anxiety and when strangers would come to the door, she would bark like crazy and to the point where she would nip at them. I love my pitt and getting rid of her was out of the question. Using this product has calmed her down a lot and in conjunction with the Stop that spray, its like she is a completely different dog. She no longer barks at people walking by and when people come to the door, she just sits on the couch and isnt worried about strangers. I highly reccomend this product in conjuction with behavior modification you can have the calm pet that you desire!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works very well

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from TX
Both of my dogs are high energy, and barkers. The collars don't get rid of all the anxiety, but they help tremendously and they smell good too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Maybe works

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from san diego, ca
I haven't decided yet if this does work, but it does smell nice. My dog has been wearing it about 10 days and it's still on, so that's a plus. Overall he does seem a little calmer, but still has his totally crazy moments that I can't control. I'll keep using it to see if it has a long-term effect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from AZ
This collar does NOT calm my Lhasa. It is a flaky mess that is worthless!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Answer to my prayers

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ingleside, IL
Bella, my 2yr. old adopted Minpin has separation anxiety due to my long periods away while I'm at work. She started chewing up her bedding regulary and gave me a scare when we thought she had a bowel obstruction. We got passed that and knew I had change things. I started leaving her loose. However, she would still go in her crate and chew her bedding. I removed all bedding and she wouldn't lay in it but transferred her anxiety and started chewing a throw rug. A vet friend suggested the collar. What a difference!! Her behavior has changed dramatically. The same day I started using the collar (2-weeks ago) I started leaving my "dirty" t-shirts in her crate as bedding. She is still loose, but lays in her crate with the collar and the t-shirts. I can't believe how these two things together have worked!! Have not tested the collar as yet during thunderstorms or fireworks, but am hopeful it will help.
A money saving tip: When I sized the collar to her I was disappointed at how much waste there is as I only used 1/2 of the length. So I punched a small hole at both loose ends of the discarded piece. Fit a small wire tie through each end and tightend the tie so that both ends were flush with one another. I then cut the excess of the tie flush. The raised end of the tie should be on the outside so that it doesn't rub. Whalla.....I now have two collars the same size that I can slip over her head.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my 4-year-old dog to fly

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
I tried the pheromone collar when I was taking my 4-year-old shih tzu on a plane for the first time. I trained him in his airline-approved carrier for a few weeks, and he was still panicking each time we placed him in. The collar was amazing. It completely calmed him down, and it smells amazing. I was worried about it being too large, but it was easily tightened and we just cut off the extra and placed it in the bottom of his carrier. Bonus is that it smells amazing to humans, too. I'm excited to see if it works as successfully during thunder storms, another anxiety-inducing event.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>