petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp

Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp

Light, folding design makes it so easy to useSafety release latch to prevent accidental openingFour rubber feet for sure footingPerfect for all pets that need assistance reaching high places
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
0
15 out of 21(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Review 1 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

may not suit everyone

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
ownerofoldergreyhound
from florida
A simple plastic bifold. Just sturdy enough for large dog but not wide enough .The ramp does not have enough traction and older dog may slide. For small and medium size it is good enough but for a larger and especially older dog it isn't wide enough nor does the surface have enough traction. If the goal was to make it easier for your older dog to get in the van as he cant jump in any longer, look to a better model or be prepared to modify this with something to improve the traction. Never trust the on line description claiming there are traction enhancers!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great, added indoor/outdoor carpet

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Crand
from Central Coasst
This ramp is easy to carry, is lightweight and folds easily. I did put a piece of indoor/outdoor carpet on it so that there is more traction for my 14 year old, 60 pound dog, otherwise she was afraid to use it. I use it to get her in/out of my Volvo wagon and up/down my front porch steps. It easily fits in the back of my wagon along side my dog. Good purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Used item?

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
JLM54
from Louisville, KY
Quality was not what I expected and is being returned. Not very sturdy for even my 40lb dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Helper for old dogs

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
grammypammy
from Nashville, TN
I highly recommend this ramp. It's light weight and folds up easily to put in my car. My 15 year old Corgi can hardly walk, let alone climb stairs or jump into the car. This ramp is perfect for the three steps down from our porch and to get up into the car. I'm not that young myself any more and couldn't lift her 40 pds of fluff anymore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ramp

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
D2ID
from ID
Ramp is perfect for us. Drive a Toyota Highlander. The ramp works fine from back and side door. But be very careful to make sure it is secure before your dog walks on it. Put it up high enough on tailgate or seat so it can't fall...and put your foot at the bottom to make sure it won't slide. I have standard dachshunds...good sized dogs.......placing hand behind them as they walk up keeps traction on ramp. Works great...I can see it might be best for short legged dogs. Folds and stores easily
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

missing the park

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmb1006
from Nashville TN
In the last year our 9 year old, 62 pound lab would not jump into the back of the SUV on his own. We had to limit our car rides to go only when my husband was available to lift him in and out of the car. This new ramp is light weight, stands sturdy and took very little training to get our dog to use it. We have our independence back - off to the park!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
CedarP
from FL
Though this ramp could not be used at the hatch back of our Subaru as intended (too steep), it works perfectly for the back rear passenger door. It is lightweight, easy to handle, & best of all does not pinch fingers when folding & unfolding (as a metal one we had years ago invariably did). We are highly satisfied. Cedar does not hesitate to climb up or down it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for our Chrysler mini-vans & sliding side doors!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
grbobf
from Houston metro area, TX
Our basset hounds, when young adults could hop into & out of the van; however, with age, weight & arthritis a ramp was needed. Our vans have "stow n go" seats (stow into the floor, below floor level) and the passenger floor level (at the SLIDING SIDE DOORS) is 18"-20" above ground level - these ramps are GREAT - we have 2 - 1 for EACH van (FYI, the height of approx. 24" at the rear lift/tailgate of Chrysler mini-vans is probably TOO STEEP for most dogs to use comfortably given the approx. 60" length of this ramp)! In terms of weight, this ramp is light & relatively easy to handle. While lightweight, IT IS ALSO QUITE STURDY - will EASILY handle a dog of at least 90 lbs WITHOUT any hint of being flimsy, wobbly, etc.! The length of the ramp is APPROPRIATE for use with vehicles of similar passenger floor heights (angle of ascent is NOT TOO STEEP) - however, for significantly TALLER vehicles, a LONGER ramp may be necessary to avoid an overly steep angle of ascent. Regardless, your dog(s) will require some training/experience before using the ramp routinely with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slippery slope

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoCalHandyman
from Ashburn, VA
My dog has been using this ramp for several months but, going up is always more of a challenge for her (12 year old Lab) because the "non-skid" surface would be fine for a person, but when she gets her nails out, she slips on it quite a bit. I recently glued down some rubber sheeting on the sandpaper-like surface and she now gets into the car with ease and no more trepidation.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spa1
from Arkansas
My Chinese Crested has a back injury and is not allowed to use steps, so the ramp was set up for him. It only took a few coaching lessons and he quickly learned to go down the ramp. It is sturdy and easily assembled . And was shipped quickly.
My only concern is that we are using it as a stationary ramp, and what will happen to the "sand paper" like surface after being in the weather awhile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ramp, great value

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JimInBedford
from Bedford, TX
I bought this for my 7 year old, 94 pound German Shephard dog. With an early onset of hip dysplasia, suddenly she started limping a bit and no longer wanted to jump in to the back of our small SUV. We began treatments of additional glucosamine and chondroitin in her food 3 times a day and pain medication as was needed. It became very obvious to us that she needed further help getting into the car. I researched ramps thoroughly and found this to be the best choice for a 100-200 lb. dog. I ordered it from the Petco website on one of their discount day offerings and bang, that sucker was here in a flash. I found this big box on the front door step and wondered what the heck it could be. To my surprise, it was the Solvit ramp. I took it to the back where the car was and unboxed it and called our GSD Utah over to get her to give it a try. It did not take long with a couple of doggy treats in my hand in front of her nose to get her to walk up the ramp. A little shaky at first she was hesitant but now, she waits till I unfold the ramp and set it in place before she walks up and into the car. Utah is getting better now with the help of food additives and me and my back are much better now that I do not have to lift her into the back of the car everytime I want to take her with me somewhere and she loves to go with me wherever I go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ramp

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
macymaya
from Chicago, IL
ramp is what i expected. dogs took to it fairly quickly although i think they still prefer jumping into and out of the SUV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good & bad

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hunter74
from Los Angeles, CA
I've had this ramp over a month now and have been trying to train my 13 year-old lab on it. At first the sandpapery finish was too rough on his feet and hurt his paws. I tried to make it better by attaching some throw rugs to it, but now he seems to be sliding. Would love to hear from other owners to see what has worked for them. He just can't seem to get the right traction on this ramp.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just okay

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
It sure seems like this weighs more than 10 pounds. Maybe it's just awkward.
There's nothing really wrong with this ramp; I just found it a bit clunky all over. The clasp was kind of cheap, and it probably should close with the tread to the inside. The tread is like an emery board, which will catch on upholstery.
Overall, though, it's just a big thing for my smaller car (RAV4). If I had a big truck or SUV with lots of room to stash it, this ramp would have been fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
exqwzt
Absolutely love the ramp. It is light weight and very easy to open and close. I have an 80 pound Chow that I was lifting in and out of my SUV. With the ramp he walks up and down and sure saves a lot of hassle on getting him in and out since we go to dog shows almost every weekend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A back saver

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
JJJR
from Upstate NY
Have a 10 year old Shepherd that was balking at jumping into the rear of our SUV. He fell a few times so a ramp was the answer. It works as promised, strong enough and light enough for my wife to handle. Dog only goes up if we take him by the collar but it beats me trying to help him in. A decent product fro the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy item

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
oldog
This is light weight, stores nicely in the SUV. Folds up good, no assembly when it came. Now to get my old dog to use it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not for trucks

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
shanlabowner
I recetly bought a new truck and my lab is older and can't quite jump up as high anymore. So i went into the store and explained the situation and asked for a ramp. This ramp is too short and leaves a very steep incline for my dog. The one time he went up he slipped on the grip and his nails tore into it. I am looking into other options so we can still take our pet out and about.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I had purchased it sooner

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nonni
from Florida
Our Labrador refuses to jump into the back of our SUV. We've had a ramp since she was a puppy. It was heavy and awkward to open. We purchased the UltralLite Bifold and it's wonderful. It's easy to open and so light to pick up. It's sturdy and our 75 lb has no trouble walking up the ramp. What a pleasure ~ wish I had purchased it sooner ~ could have saved myself a backache and pinched fingers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solvit UltraLite Bifold Pet Ramp

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
hitones
This is a very good product. It is extremely easy to manuevre and not too heavy. The non skid material is good but my dog who has hind end problems still has trouble with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>