petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle

Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle

Large capacity water bottle for use with carriers, pens, cages, chain link fences and moreEasy-to-fill-and-clean wide mouth bottleHeavy duty, double wall construction for indoor or outdoor useNo-leak, stainless steel double ball point tube
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Review 1 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faulty

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Northcat
from Escondido, CA
Horrible. Mine drips most of the time and is inconsistent. It drips onto the floor and is empty in a couple of hours and my poor puppy then has nothing to drink when I'm out running errands. It's messier than a bowl of water. The bottle is of a weak plastic and the mouth piece is flimsy. Unfortunately, I can't find my receipt to return it, but I'll never purchase this ever again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lixit Dripsit

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
surlyreviewer
from NJ
Before using this bottle for my pet, I tested it by filling with water and mounting on his crate. I put a bowl beneath it and closed the door. When I came back an hour later about 1/4 of the bottle had dripped into the bowl. It was still emitting a slow drip. I don't think this is a good product but petco accepted my return no problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WAY less messy!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoodleMom6812
from Buffalo Ny
My labradoodle puppy would pretty much stick his entire face in the water bowl, and then water would be EVERYWHERE when he was done. It would look like someone got out of the shower without a towel!! This bottle is GREAT!! He learned how to use it after about 2 or 3 tries. Now he doesn't even get an extra drop of water in his beard!
The reason for 4 paws instead of 5, it does drip a TINY bit. Using room temperature water has helped with this problem. But the tiny little drip (i'm talking like one little drop every couple minutes) is easily contained just by putting a small towel underneath. I will gladly take this controllable dripping over the waterfall that would come out of his beard every time he was thirsty!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
teddy5545
Drips constantly when used exactly as instructed... completely wasted my money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
shanimay
from newark, nj
i wanted an easy way to keep my dog's crate nice & dry. i decided to purchase this water bottle based upon the positive reviews. my little pug, tulip, loves it! so glad i bought it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, dog loves it.

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
MessyPuppy
from Austin, TX
My dog can't manage to coexist peacefully with his normal water dish (he just splashes around in it to get all the water out, making a mess everywhere), so I got this bottle for his crate so that I wouldn't find the dog sitting in a puddle every time I turned around. My dog isn't a genius, so it took me a couple of days to help him figure out how the bottle is supposed to work. Once he got the hang of it, though, he decided he liked it and we were able to take his other water dish away completely. Life is much drier in our house now! I haven't had any leaking problems beyond a few drops here and there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rhea
from Atlanta, GA
I like the bottle and my puppy loves it! It doesn't drip if you follow the instructions. I keep it in her crate because the vet said she needs water at night. Great product, but it makes SO much noise at night when she drinks that it wakes me up! I'm happy that my puppy is happy, but it does wake me up every night!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product leaks

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
emdabem
from Hollywood, FL
Brand new, right out of the box and it left puddles behind in my dog's cage.... so disappointing!! Didn't matter how I hung it or how tight I made the top, just kept leaking!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

she loves it!!

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
cvmom
from castro valley
We purchased this water bottle to go with her new crate. Our dog prefers it to her regular water dish and goes into her crate JUST to drink from it!! The price was good and we have had no problems(we made the purchase two weeks ago)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
mandawhtny
from New York City
My puppy drinks from it. It's easy to attach and to refill. It doesn't really drip unless the pressure changes either to the attachment spring, or supposedly from temperature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bottle

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
mferr
If you purchase a cage for your pet this is a must!! Its worth the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT BOTTLE!

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
BuddysMom07
from South Windsor, CT
We needed a bottle to leave wtih our puppy since we didn't want to have her spilling her water bowl everywhere. We put this in her crate and she LOVES it. SHe drinks out of this more than she does her bowl!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nursejamiew
I bought this for my boston terrier puppy because he kept knocking over his water dish. I do notice a little leaking from the bottle from time to time..nothing horrible so i just put a small empty water dish under it to catch the drips and that works really well. I would recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

beware

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
greatdane81082
this was a waste of money!! I used it in my dogs kennel and he had a swimming pool in there. i know they leak until the water gets to room temp. cuz ive used them before but this one leaked till it was emty say five hr.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for crates

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
AuntLizzy
I love this because my dog can drink, but not gorge, therefore less likely for accidents. I have no leak problems. Only leaks when small ball bearen is moved, so attached to the headrest in your car for your dog to drink from back seat is NOT a very good idea ;) ;) ;) LOVE this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lixit Dog Plastic Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

...really wanted to like it

PostedMay 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
NinjaRocketGirl
but unfortunatly this dripped and leaked all over my poor dogs crate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.