petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food

Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food

Solid Gold cat food is formulated for all lifestagesHigh in protein, low in fat to resemble a cat’s natural protein-rich dietSpecially sealed bag for added freshnessGrain-free cat food contains no gluten, wheat, corn, soybean, byproducts or sunflower oilMade with no added animal fat, sugar or artificial preservatives
Average Customer Rating:
4.726 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
58 out of 62(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Review 1 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great grain free, all life stages food

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
leloup2k1
from Sherman, TX
I have cats of all ages, from senior to almost adult. Before I got my kitten (the almost adult now) I used to feed my cats a low calorie natural food, but it still had grains in it. I couldn't figure out why one of my cats would not loose weight. He was, in fact, still putting on weight, and I don't free feed.
I did some research and came to the conclusion that, because cats are true carnivors, not omnivores, eating grains was adding to his weight. Cats' bodies are not equiped to eat large amounts of grains, and a lot of it gets stored as fat (excess carbs). Also, a lot of health issues with cats are linked back to eating grains, like frequent UTIs (as one possibly cause of).
So I switched to a grain free. It works for all life stages (which I feel actually works with cats, not necessarily dogs). This brand is the best priced, per pound, grain free food I can find. Besides that fact, I love that it is in a foil air-tight bag. When you open it you can see the richness in the kibble. When you feel it, you can feel the oils. All of my cats love it, and one has stopped vomitting his food up all the time (though he still does occasionally).
I would reccommend this food to any cat owner, regardless of the cat's age. Obviously if yours has some specific health issues, you may need to evaluate the high protein levels in this food, but, for most cats, this food is the way to go!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Roofusthecat
from Tucson
Have wanted to feed only holistic, my can originally ate this well for the first year, however, the last couple bags I've purchased didn't work so well. I fed him a scoop from a new bag and he yakked immediately. I left it for him and he ate a bit later and did the same. Thinking it was a bad batch, or old, I tried again a couple months later with another new bag. Same result. I don't know if the manufacturer has changed the recipe of this product and something is not agreeing with my cat or what. Good thing was the free shipping when ordered online, and the ease of returning it to the store when I found the food would not work. If originally ordered online, you can go to the online order and print out a return receipt to take to the store with you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5/5 Paw Review

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
XxTinkerbell
This is the best cat food I found that works out great for both of my two cats.
Both of my cats are 12 yrs, net. male tabby cats. The reason why I ended up getting this brand was sheer luck. At the time I was desperate to find any cat food that BOTH of my cats would like and not have any issues with.
At first I had tried other brands; (like Wellness, Purina, etc) and if one of my cats like one bag the other didn't. Or even worse, they threw up. Both of my cats have sensitive stomachs. If one eats too much he'll hurl, and if the other doesn't get a certain kind of food he'll have hairballs.
I was constantly buying cat food and cleaning up cat throw up on a daily basis. Unlike most pet owners, I was desperate to find something for my babies instead of giving them away. (I hear too many times, I can't keep my cat for ........). I felt bad that no matter what I gave them, moist/dry one of them wouldn't be able to keep the food down.
Well I picked up this gem and ever since, both of my cats stop throwing up. They also get very excited for meal time and will greet me daily in the morning meowing for food and at night. They don't leave any kibbles behind like they are picky eaters anymore either. AND heaven forbid I don't under feed them either. After eating this food, their fur is also alot healthier so I don't have any issues with hairballs. No more cat puke either right after a meal. They are able to digest this just fine and love every bit!
I have yet to try the purple bag since my babies love this Gold one. If anyone has cat issues with throwing up (sensitive stomachs) this bag might work for you! I will never go back to anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves Solid Gold Indigo Moon

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJroar
from Alexandria, VA
My 14 year old cat has been eating Indigo Moon for about three years. She loves it. Since we switched her to this brand her fur is glossier and she's more energetic. She looks great and is very peppy. You'd never know that she's 14 years old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good for my two kiddos...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Akn1564
from Kansas City, KS
Having two younger picky kitties, I was having trouble finding food that worked well for the two of them. My female is an energetic calico/torti. My male on the other hand, a Bengal cat mix, has a list of issues. After reading reviews on this food, I honestly felt it may help with my male's fur and digestive issues. He is now two and I never had issues with him vomiting, only having loose stools throughout his life. My female has always been fine with foods, so when I started waking up to vomit sounds and finding throw up all over the house, I became extremely concerned. About two days after my two kiddos being on this food is when the vomiting started. Soon after I started finding diarrhea in their litter box spread all over. Their litter box within one day would be a huge mess and drips all over the basement. It was very clear they had begun to get very sick from the change of food. I was surprised it was so dramatic considering I did the mixing of their old food and tried all that. By the fourth or fifth day of being on the Solid Gold my cats began refusing to eat at all. They would maybe nibble a couple of bits then be done. My male is a big guy (not fat, just literally a big cat) and truly loves food, when he stopped eating it completely through me for a twist. After less then a week I went ahead a stopped feeding them Solid Gold, and switched back to the old food. Although it wasn't helping with my male's attitude, fur, or loose stools, at least he wasn't having diarrhea or throwing up all over. My poor kids. This was about two months ago when I tried Solid Gold. I now have both my kiddos on Royal Canin prescription food which has dramatically changed both my kiddos. My male no longer has any of issues as before and both of them have gotten their appetites back and love their new food! Solid Gold just wasn't a good fit for my two!
GOOD LUCK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
VickinKC
from Kansas City, MO
My gray tabby loves this food...He's very finicky & had stopped eating the Purina One Sensitive Stomach formula. He experiences digestive problems from time to time, but he seems to do the best with the high protein food & this definitely fits the bill...A little pricey, but worth it when it comes to your pet's well being.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG - They All Like It!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
numps
from Estes Park, CO
After years of trying countless varieties of healthy foods, I finally found one that ALL THREE of our cats like. And bag after bag they do not seem to tire of it.
Our Scottish Fold has always had sensitive digestion. She is MUCH better with Indigo Moon that with any other dry food we have ever gotten her to eat.
We are happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best of the Best

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
emnems34
from Erie, PA
I have two cats, one is 11 and one is a little over a year. My 11 year old has IBS and is was very sickly when we got him a few months ago from my boyfriend's parents (they didn't really take the best care of him). His hair was missing in patches and he was very underweight, hacking, and trying to eat plastic bags. Within a few weeks of eating this dry food in combination with their canned foods, he has made a 100% turnaround. I will remain faithful to Solid Gold forever. Both of my cats now have shiny coats, are at a healthy wight, and gobble up their food as soon as it is put down. They're happy, and I'm happy. Five Paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never switch again

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lexiesoma
from Bremerton, WA
I made a terrible decision when I last purchased cat food! My cat had been on Solid Gold Holistic for over a year when I tried another brand to save a few dollars. I have had to pay the price for that for the length of time it took to use up the bag. Way too long. I've spent more time cleaning his box due to more waste, and he is a pain when his bowl is empty. He eats more daily than he did on the SG which seemed to satisfy him better than the chicken and pea formula he's had to suffer through, since I couldn't afford to just toss it.. My cat is pretty big, around 9 pounds and maintained beautifully on about 3/4 cup daily with minimal waste. Going back to SGH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
tuxedoCats1212
I have two cats, almost one year old and the other just made 10. Before my one year old came along, I was feeding my senior cat another popular healthy brand. After about two bags of that she refused to eat it. I searched for something new and came across the reviews for Solid Gold, so I gave it a shot.
That was about a year ago and so far she has not tired of it. I had to switch to grain free after getting my younger one since he cannot digest grains. They both absolutely love this food and scarf it down each day. I even convinced my friends to start buying this product. Their cats love it too!
I usually buy the 15lb bags and that lasts about 2 - 2.5 months feeding these two. They love it and I'm happy they are eating something healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love this food.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oreomoo
from Spartanburg, SC
I am pleased with the way my cats react to this food. It is easy on their varying digestive systems and age groups. It saves me money and helps with convenience not to have to buy lots of different foods to serve each of my rescue cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not So Great

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
SpaceCoastMomma
from Florida
I purchased this cat food based on the great reviews thinking that my 2 indoor cats (and 1 outdoor cat that isn't ours, but we feed) would love it. Yeah, not so much. I read that cats "only eat a little because they feel fuller longer." That's not the case, they don't eat much of it because they don't like it, this includes the outside cat! I have had my cats follow me to their dishes waiting to be fed and when I poured this food into their dish, they looked at it, then looked at me and walked away! (This was after they had already tried it.) So, I gave my mother some to see if her cat would eat it and her cat turned her nose up at it, too. I will not be buying this again. I will be throwing the left over food in the trash. This was a complete waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everybody is happy!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
IslandKitties
from Key Largo, FL
I have seven cats of all sizes and ages range from 5 to 15. I finally found a food that everyone likes so I don't have to have three bags of different food around all the time. I switched everyone over slowly to just this food and we have had great results. They all look great, coats are soft and healthy, having much less sensitive stomach issues and litter boxes are easier. It really isn't any more expensive than the Nutro or Blue Buffalo products that I had been buying before. It is a great product and a win-win for all of us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indigo Moon Solid Gold

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdolls
from Vestal, NY
I tried all kinds of grain free products and Indigo Moon Solid Gold is the only one that my Ragdolls love! Since changing to Solid Gold, their skin & coats are healthier. And they don't sneeze or have runny eyes like they did on foods that contained grains. It's a wonderful food for both kittens and adult cats!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price tag, A+ for coat health!

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
TomATX
from Austin, Tx
I've been feeding my cats Indigo Moon almost exclusively since they were old enough for solid food and you'd be hard-pressed to find softer, more luxurious coats on moggies. Everyone who's met them remarks on how shiny and rabbit-soft they are - and how muscular my tomcat is! Their littermates that live with other families and have other diets are healthy enough but the difference in their fur is immense. Indigo Moon's high protein & fat content is the reason behind this, especially since it's high-quality meat protein with very little filler. The low carb/grain content keeps their guts healthy, too - their litter doesn't reek and they have no excretory issues so long as the diet's steady. I think they prefer the flavour of Harvest Gold's Katzenflocken, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rated 5 stars

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
rebeccaalbq
from Troy, OH
This is rated 5 stars by Dog Food Review, who rate dog and cat food by healthiness and nutrition, and my cats love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST FOOD EVER FOR CATS

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
KatC
from New York, NY
After trying many different brands of food, I've settled on Indigo Moon as the only one I will ever feed my cats. One has a really sensitive tummy and used to throw up a few times a week until I started her on IM. Not only is she not vomiting, her coat is beautiful, and the litter box has NO SMELL. A little of this food goes a long way to keeping the kitties full, so they have been eating less and have lost a few pounds to achieve more normal weight. I love Solid Gold!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ragdoll kitty loves it!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sophieclair
from Saint Cloud, Minnesota
All around this product is amazing. It is definitely a higher quality food. Best thing about this food is that the litter box no longer smells. I could leave it for a week and it still would not stinking (unlike other brands in which I fed him AKA Wellness.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yum!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
stellaandbeau
I have 5 cats, and this is one of the few foods they all agree on! One of the five has a sensitive tummy, but this kibble does not bother him at all. My cats only eat grain-free, which limits our choices, but they love this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Grain, High Protein

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
WildWoman
from Montana
This is the best-priced high protein, no grain dry cat food I have found, and my cats like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>