petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food

Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food

Solid Gold cat food is formulated for all lifestagesHigh in protein, low in fat to resemble a cat’s natural protein-rich dietSpecially sealed bag for added freshnessGrain-free cat food contains no gluten, wheat, corn, soybean, byproducts or sunflower oilMade with no added animal fat, sugar or artificial preservativesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.757 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
64
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
66 out of 70(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Review 1 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat food

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bochie
from Twentynine Palms, CA
Until now my cat has been throwing up, being on a thyroid diet. Since being on this natural food, I have had no problem. Thanks so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cat Food!

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
StellasSlave
from Batavia, OH
My 4-1/2 yo Russian Blue has been plagued with frequent bouts of vomiting, no rhyme or reason health wise; also picky eater & hard to keep weight on her. Just got new kitten, so I decided to get them both on the same food, as natural as possible, no wheat / corn, artificial color free. I decided to go with Indigo Moon, my picky eater hasn't been sick for weeks & has gained some weight. The kitten is eating well & growing like a weed. They have a vet checkup in 2wks & will know more then. So far, I am extremely pleased & would recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Gold Indigo Moon satisfies my picky crew

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
PaulaWKY
from Kentucky
My mother picked up a small bag of this, not knowing whether our cats would enjoy it.
Dear me, the cats are positively wild over Indigo Moon, so much so, that we had to go get a second bag.
What's great is that they seem satisfied after eating, not wanting as much of the canned food and not begging to be fed.
Our cats love to eat - and this is the food that every one of our 8 enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only dry food Miss Picky Pants will eat

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheZooKeeper123
from Sullivan
Just like the title says...My cat, the pickiest cat in the Universe will only eat this food. We have tried many other grain free foods & have given away every opened bag....except this one. We are on our 3rd bag now. My only concern? What if she wakes up tomorrow & decides she no longer likes this one too? Then what will she eat?? We have tried a raw diet as well as almost every other grain free food..She truly wins the Miss Picky Pants award.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love this

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maddiesdaddy0314
My wife and I switched our cats over to this food because we wanted something they could all eat we have 4 cats total, 2 are 2 month old kittens, 4 month old kitten, and 13 month old cat. We put this in their feeder and they acted like it was the best thing in the world.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves it

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
lazycatlady
I have a pretty chunky cat who loves everything he eats, so being picky has never been one of his traits. I got Indigo Moon more because it was grain free, natural, and it came in a 15 lb bag. Unsurprisingly, my cat loves it. But I feel better about him eating it because there's a bunch of protein in it instead of fillers. I think the protein may be helping him stay fuller longer so that he doesn't bat me in the face at 2 AM every day. I also don't feel like it's going to make him even fatter because of all the carbs. Overall, I think it's great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indigo Moon is THE ONE

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
KittehKompanion2
from WashingtonState
I've tried every premium cat food and Andy has turned up his nose at everything. Except Indigo Moon. He really enjoys these crunchies and they are very good for him. At five, he is sleek, lean, strong and happy. And of course very handsome, but I can't credit cat food for that:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
brzmom
from Kansas City, MO
My cats love this food. I would recommend it to anyone with a picky eater, my picky eaters have no problem eating this! I like that it's grain and gluten free as well as holistic as I am trying a more holistic approach with all the animals!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great grain free, all life stages food

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
leloup2k1
from Sherman, TX
I have cats of all ages, from senior to almost adult. Before I got my kitten (the almost adult now) I used to feed my cats a low calorie natural food, but it still had grains in it. I couldn't figure out why one of my cats would not loose weight. He was, in fact, still putting on weight, and I don't free feed.
I did some research and came to the conclusion that, because cats are true carnivors, not omnivores, eating grains was adding to his weight. Cats' bodies are not equiped to eat large amounts of grains, and a lot of it gets stored as fat (excess carbs). Also, a lot of health issues with cats are linked back to eating grains, like frequent UTIs (as one possibly cause of).
So I switched to a grain free. It works for all life stages (which I feel actually works with cats, not necessarily dogs). This brand is the best priced, per pound, grain free food I can find. Besides that fact, I love that it is in a foil air-tight bag. When you open it you can see the richness in the kibble. When you feel it, you can feel the oils. All of my cats love it, and one has stopped vomitting his food up all the time (though he still does occasionally).
I would reccommend this food to any cat owner, regardless of the cat's age. Obviously if yours has some specific health issues, you may need to evaluate the high protein levels in this food, but, for most cats, this food is the way to go!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Roofusthecat
from Tucson
Have wanted to feed only holistic, my can originally ate this well for the first year, however, the last couple bags I've purchased didn't work so well. I fed him a scoop from a new bag and he yakked immediately. I left it for him and he ate a bit later and did the same. Thinking it was a bad batch, or old, I tried again a couple months later with another new bag. Same result. I don't know if the manufacturer has changed the recipe of this product and something is not agreeing with my cat or what. Good thing was the free shipping when ordered online, and the ease of returning it to the store when I found the food would not work. If originally ordered online, you can go to the online order and print out a return receipt to take to the store with you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5/5 Paw Review

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
XxTinkerbell
This is the best cat food I found that works out great for both of my two cats.
Both of my cats are 12 yrs, net. male tabby cats. The reason why I ended up getting this brand was sheer luck. At the time I was desperate to find any cat food that BOTH of my cats would like and not have any issues with.
At first I had tried other brands; (like Wellness, Purina, etc) and if one of my cats like one bag the other didn't. Or even worse, they threw up. Both of my cats have sensitive stomachs. If one eats too much he'll hurl, and if the other doesn't get a certain kind of food he'll have hairballs.
I was constantly buying cat food and cleaning up cat throw up on a daily basis. Unlike most pet owners, I was desperate to find something for my babies instead of giving them away. (I hear too many times, I can't keep my cat for ........). I felt bad that no matter what I gave them, moist/dry one of them wouldn't be able to keep the food down.
Well I picked up this gem and ever since, both of my cats stop throwing up. They also get very excited for meal time and will greet me daily in the morning meowing for food and at night. They don't leave any kibbles behind like they are picky eaters anymore either. AND heaven forbid I don't under feed them either. After eating this food, their fur is also alot healthier so I don't have any issues with hairballs. No more cat puke either right after a meal. They are able to digest this just fine and love every bit!
I have yet to try the purple bag since my babies love this Gold one. If anyone has cat issues with throwing up (sensitive stomachs) this bag might work for you! I will never go back to anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves Solid Gold Indigo Moon

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJroar
from Alexandria, VA
My 14 year old cat has been eating Indigo Moon for about three years. She loves it. Since we switched her to this brand her fur is glossier and she's more energetic. She looks great and is very peppy. You'd never know that she's 14 years old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good for my two kiddos...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Akn1564
from Kansas City, KS
Having two younger picky kitties, I was having trouble finding food that worked well for the two of them. My female is an energetic calico/torti. My male on the other hand, a Bengal cat mix, has a list of issues. After reading reviews on this food, I honestly felt it may help with my male's fur and digestive issues. He is now two and I never had issues with him vomiting, only having loose stools throughout his life. My female has always been fine with foods, so when I started waking up to vomit sounds and finding throw up all over the house, I became extremely concerned. About two days after my two kiddos being on this food is when the vomiting started. Soon after I started finding diarrhea in their litter box spread all over. Their litter box within one day would be a huge mess and drips all over the basement. It was very clear they had begun to get very sick from the change of food. I was surprised it was so dramatic considering I did the mixing of their old food and tried all that. By the fourth or fifth day of being on the Solid Gold my cats began refusing to eat at all. They would maybe nibble a couple of bits then be done. My male is a big guy (not fat, just literally a big cat) and truly loves food, when he stopped eating it completely through me for a twist. After less then a week I went ahead a stopped feeding them Solid Gold, and switched back to the old food. Although it wasn't helping with my male's attitude, fur, or loose stools, at least he wasn't having diarrhea or throwing up all over. My poor kids. This was about two months ago when I tried Solid Gold. I now have both my kiddos on Royal Canin prescription food which has dramatically changed both my kiddos. My male no longer has any of issues as before and both of them have gotten their appetites back and love their new food! Solid Gold just wasn't a good fit for my two!
GOOD LUCK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
VickinKC
from Kansas City, MO
My gray tabby loves this food...He's very finicky & had stopped eating the Purina One Sensitive Stomach formula. He experiences digestive problems from time to time, but he seems to do the best with the high protein food & this definitely fits the bill...A little pricey, but worth it when it comes to your pet's well being.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG - They All Like It!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
numps
from Estes Park, CO
After years of trying countless varieties of healthy foods, I finally found one that ALL THREE of our cats like. And bag after bag they do not seem to tire of it.
Our Scottish Fold has always had sensitive digestion. She is MUCH better with Indigo Moon that with any other dry food we have ever gotten her to eat.
We are happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best of the Best

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
emnems34
from Erie, PA
I have two cats, one is 11 and one is a little over a year. My 11 year old has IBS and is was very sickly when we got him a few months ago from my boyfriend's parents (they didn't really take the best care of him). His hair was missing in patches and he was very underweight, hacking, and trying to eat plastic bags. Within a few weeks of eating this dry food in combination with their canned foods, he has made a 100% turnaround. I will remain faithful to Solid Gold forever. Both of my cats now have shiny coats, are at a healthy wight, and gobble up their food as soon as it is put down. They're happy, and I'm happy. Five Paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never switch again

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lexiesoma
from Bremerton, WA
I made a terrible decision when I last purchased cat food! My cat had been on Solid Gold Holistic for over a year when I tried another brand to save a few dollars. I have had to pay the price for that for the length of time it took to use up the bag. Way too long. I've spent more time cleaning his box due to more waste, and he is a pain when his bowl is empty. He eats more daily than he did on the SG which seemed to satisfy him better than the chicken and pea formula he's had to suffer through, since I couldn't afford to just toss it.. My cat is pretty big, around 9 pounds and maintained beautifully on about 3/4 cup daily with minimal waste. Going back to SGH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
tuxedoCats1212
I have two cats, almost one year old and the other just made 10. Before my one year old came along, I was feeding my senior cat another popular healthy brand. After about two bags of that she refused to eat it. I searched for something new and came across the reviews for Solid Gold, so I gave it a shot.
That was about a year ago and so far she has not tired of it. I had to switch to grain free after getting my younger one since he cannot digest grains. They both absolutely love this food and scarf it down each day. I even convinced my friends to start buying this product. Their cats love it too!
I usually buy the 15lb bags and that lasts about 2 - 2.5 months feeding these two. They love it and I'm happy they are eating something healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love this food.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oreomoo
from Spartanburg, SC
I am pleased with the way my cats react to this food. It is easy on their varying digestive systems and age groups. It saves me money and helps with convenience not to have to buy lots of different foods to serve each of my rescue cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solid Gold Indigo Moon Holistic Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not So Great

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
SpaceCoastMomma
from Florida
I purchased this cat food based on the great reviews thinking that my 2 indoor cats (and 1 outdoor cat that isn't ours, but we feed) would love it. Yeah, not so much. I read that cats "only eat a little because they feel fuller longer." That's not the case, they don't eat much of it because they don't like it, this includes the outside cat! I have had my cats follow me to their dishes waiting to be fed and when I poured this food into their dish, they looked at it, then looked at me and walked away! (This was after they had already tried it.) So, I gave my mother some to see if her cat would eat it and her cat turned her nose up at it, too. I will not be buying this again. I will be throwing the left over food in the trash. This was a complete waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>