petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Easy-to-use cat water fountain or small dog water fountainAerates water for a fresher tasteReplaceable charcoal filter removes bad tastes and odorsLarge capacity – holds up to 50 oz of waterConvenient design makes it easy to maintainAdditional charcoal filters sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.223 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(300 Reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 300 reviews
5 stars
189
4 stars
57
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
28
251 out of 300(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I love this item, especially for the price. At first I thought it was noisy, but then I realized there is switch on the pump where you can adjust the flow and now it's whisper quiet. My kitten learned to drink from in just a week and now loves it. It's small, unobtrusive and fits perfectly on the bathroom sink. It's also super simple to take apart and clean, taking less then 5 minutes to clean thoroughly. Much more affordable than other pet fountains and it has the option of a gentle bubbling fountain or a stream (it comes with a little tube that you pop in so the water will shoot out in a little stream, which some cats like). I've only had it for a couple of months but I think it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+74points
89of 104voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco auto water fountain

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Claremont, NH
This fountain has worked great for my two cats. One of the cats no longer plays in the water and they both seem to drink more, which is a good thing. If you keep the water level at max., there isn't any noise. It's also easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Great Price

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Easy to use and works great. Very quite.
What I like most about the fountain is that the water just comes out and flows from one level to another. My cat is a big baby when it comes to noise and after taking a couple days to get use to the fountain, he would walk right up to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Worth Tx.
it took my cat a few days to get use to this but I really like it and now so does she
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for thirsty cats

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NW
Both my cats love running water. This fountain is the perfect size, easy to keep clean, and at a good price point. I change the water out daily, and both change the filter and clean the motor monthly and the fountain has run smoothly for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

auto pet waterer

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NH
Disappointed, noisy have to fill frequently and if you don't it hums louder. However my cat loved it and my golden was leery.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mississippi
I've had the kind of fountains where water comes out like a faucet and the kind where it flows over a globe. This is the best water fountain I have owned. It is a great price and takes apart quick and easy for cleaning. I clean it every three days with a small paintbrush that gets into all the little pieces (I clean it more often because I don't use the carbon filters). You can adjust the flow of water. The only time it gets noisy is when a clump of hair gets stuck somewhere. My cats are 12 and don't want to drink from the faucet anymore. They like how gentle this water is and started drinking from it immediately. I first plugged it in one year ago and it's worked perfectly. My cats and I love this fountain. Please, Petco, don't ever stop selling it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic bargain!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Escondido, CA
This fountain was such a great deal, I bought two! My kitties are very happy with them and now I don't have to change the water so often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

water fountain

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lehigh Acres, FL
the Petco brand water fountain is perfect. I have used it with my pets for nearly 10 years. I have only had 2 in that time (currently using the 2nd as of Jan 2015) as the little motor hold us forever. iT'S GETTING THE FILTERS FROM THE STORE THAT IS DIFFICULT. OFTEN THEY HAve no filters in stock. I buy several packages as the filter must be replaced weekly. My fountain serves 2 adult cats and a Boston Terrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pump quit after two weeks

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento CA
Pump quit after two weeks. Checked replacement cost on line and pump was more expensive than original product. Price point was good but not for two weeks use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat likes this water fountain

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN
This water fountain is very affordable and simple to use and clean. The cat likes it! Just bought it recently, so don't know about its longevity. Hoping that Petco continues to sell it and the corresponding filters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficult to clean, filters can be hard to find

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CO
I bought this item (the blue version) approximately 1.5 years ago after my previous cat fountain died. This fountain was cheap and I was on a seriously tight budget at the time. I liked that it had filters and wasn't too loud. What I discovered over the last year and a half is that a) the filters only last about 2 weeks for one long haired cat, and b) the tight spaces in the base and the fountain straw are extremely difficult to clean. The filters can also be very difficult to find sometimes. Recently, I made four visits to three different stores before I was able to purchase a package of filters. The fountain will eventually start to grow mold because you cannot clean the little spaces in the base and straw. Mine had just started to grow mold to the point that I noticed it when the motor gave out. Now I need to look for a new fountain (my cat likes to lick the stream of water) and I won't be buying this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is not so bad

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Good enough and probably recommend to anyone that need one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

mixed results

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CT
my cats like the fountain, but I would have changed some things for the 'people' side of this product.
The power cord is stiff and BLACK!! common sense should have dictated the cord be white. The plug that holds the cord inside the unit is supposed to be easy to install when being cleaned..it's not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kitty Water Fountain

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lees Summit, MO
The Cats seem to like it. Cash try's to drink from the fountain tip. It seems to be a little small for 3 cats that love water. It's a constant filling routine, morning and night. When it gets 'a little' low on water then it starts getting noisy with the little pump sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Frankfort, KY
My female cat had got to where she would only drink water out of the faucet so we got her this fountain so she would have the fresh water she craved. Both my cats ended up loving this fountain. They even drink more now! It's very quiet and easy to assemble. And it doesn't take up a ton of room. I'm very pleased with this purchase and so are my kitties!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For dogs too!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
Amazing value, I had to purchase two. Perfect compact size. Runs quiet. My cats and small Maltese all drink from it. They seem to like the "drinking fountain" effect on the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the convience

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Janesville, WI
My cats love the fact that it bubbles. Sometimes they play with the stream of water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Quiet!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mpls,MN
My cats love this fountain. It moves the water, it doesn't splash. If they are not drinking from it, they are watching the water move. It keeps them entertained! Very Quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for dogs and cats

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
I have 2 cats and a medium size dog. They all love this fountain. My cats no longer stand at the sink waiting for me to let them drink from the faucet! I only hear it when the water gets low and it hums reminding me to fill it. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>