petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Easy-to-use cat water fountain or small dog water fountainAerates water for a fresher tasteReplaceable charcoal filter removes bad tastes and odorsLarge capacity – holds up to 50 oz of waterConvenient design makes it easy to maintainAdditional charcoal filters sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.252 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(266 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 266 reviews
5 stars
169
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
24
226 out of 266(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
dfelicano
I love this item, especially for the price. At first I thought it was noisy, but then I realized there is switch on the pump where you can adjust the flow and now it's whisper quiet. My kitten learned to drink from in just a week and now loves it. It's small, unobtrusive and fits perfectly on the bathroom sink. It's also super simple to take apart and clean, taking less then 5 minutes to clean thoroughly. Much more affordable than other pet fountains and it has the option of a gentle bubbling fountain or a stream (it comes with a little tube that you pop in so the water will shoot out in a little stream, which some cats like). I've only had it for a couple of months but I think it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+54points
67of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well with regular maintenance

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
3CatHartfordMama
from Hartford, WI
I've had this fountain for over a year now. It works perfectly--IF you rinse all the parts clean every few days, rinse out the filter as well. I've found life of the filter can be extended with rinsing and inverting it as well. Every few cleanings, take a cotton swab and clean out the gunk that gets in the water output tube and the tube going into the motor. It's also very important to make sure the water is full as the fountain will not flow well and quietly if the water goes down more than half an inch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's very soothing

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
SpoliedCatLover
I wish it came in another color then white but overall it is a great buy in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps water fresh, silently

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
LolaAgain
from hamden, CT
Just used this for the first time
I usually go away one weekend every month and I don't have anyone to come change her water daily. My furry friend always throws food in her water bowl and this product did the trick. I left for 5 days and had a friend come by once to refill.
It really holds a lot of water. If it goes down a certain amount it will make a louder noise, but overall is as quiet as the filter in a fish tank. Liked it so much I just kept it after I came back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it but wish I would have got stainless steel

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
ashbash12335
from iowa
Love the fountain everything works great but just wish I would have got stainless steel so there not drinking from plastic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love water fountain

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda082
from Oil City, PA
When I got this bowl from UPS the cats (5 of 'em) were super nosy about what was in the box. after I opened the box and filled the bowl with water and plugged it in, they were fighting over who was gonna stick their paws in first. lol they love it. even Buzz my dog tries to drink from it too. lol
best thing I ever bought !!!!! Thank you very much to whoever invented this bowl .... kudos to ya !!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it was an experiment

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
deco
from ct
Since my cat loves to drink from the faucet, I figured he would love a water fountain. He is fascinated by it and will sit by it and watch it. However, he has not drank from it except maybe once or twice once I unplugged it. And...he can lose interest in it but if I do unplug it, he runs right back over to it. He's a funny guy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I was not impressed

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveToShopOnline
from TN
This bowl is "okay", but I thought it would be much bigger. I have a bigger one in the kitchen that I have had for years and it still works perfectly. It is about four times bigger than this one. This one doesn't bubble enough and it is so small I have to refill it every day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bitiktib
from Austin, TX
Great price! After using my $10 worth of reward dollars and 20% off it was only $13 with shipping! Great product! So far it works perfectly! I tried giving it 5 paws but it kept returning as 4. :/
Note: make sure you check the water level daily so it continues to flow properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product makes a slight noise

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Outwardlycalm
from Metairie, LA
This product makes a slight noise if it is even a little below max line. If it gets to the fill line it's very noisy and foams.Most might not notice it but my son and I did. Had to unplug it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best So Far

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
calf
from Austin, TX
Over the years, I have tried several brands and styles of waterers for my cats since they prefer circulating water. The pumps were noisy, the fountain splashed, the bowls leaked, and the pumps failed, etc.
The Petco model, so far, is the quietest I've had, doesn't scare even the most timid cat, and doesn't splash. I'm quite happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Cat

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
anon88
from in
This water fountain is very good for the price. My cat took to it right away. It's nice to have him drink from the fountain rather than the sink faucet. It does have a "hum", but it is not too loud and I'm used to it now. It doesn't seem to bother the cat. I haven't cleaned the pump yet...don't know how difficult that will be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hthr1234
from Orlando,FL
Perfect! Quite and gentle. The cats and Maltese love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
calidreamer23
from Garden Grove, Ca
Got my product about 3 weeks ago and so far the cats love it. I have 9 and a 3 month old kittens they use it all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Came with flies

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
TuxedoCat1
from Saint Louis, MO
I'm not sure if this fountain just attracted flies or the fountain/filter had drain fly eggs in it when I bought it, but within days my apartment was infested. They all seemed to concentrate around the fountain, and when I took it apart there were 20-30 dead fly bodies inside (this happened overnight from when I first noticed the flies). I cleaned the product regularly as recommended, so the flies did not come from leaving stagnant water sitting around or anything like that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet water fountain

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
3CrazyCats
from Lowell, MA
in a word AWESOME!
during the hot summer months I wanted to be sure my cats (I have 3) would have plenty of fresh clean water available to them. when I first started looking at the pet water fountains I was a little concerned about the pricing (as much as $100) then I saw the PetCo fountain and was excited with the $20 price. I have remained excited because it runs super quiet and my furry children seem to love it. its a great product at a great price.
Thank you PetCo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat doesn't use it

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinAZ
from Tucson, Az
Great idea if your cat drinks from it. Works just fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cookie2
from Valencia, PA
For the price this fountain is great. Keep it filled to the top line so it makes less noise running. I thought my cat would love this since he drinks out of the bathroom sink, but it's been almost been 2 weeks and he hasn't drank out of it yet. I'm not giving up yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great fountain

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
petfreak42
from Tahoe Vista, CA
For the price this is great! Only thing wrong with it is you have to keep it to the full line or the filter makes noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too much maintenance

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mercy726
from Suffolk, NY
I Purchased this product a few months ago when I went from one cat to two. At first the fountain worked wonderfully, i didn't mind the low noise of flowing water. A few weeks later the part that shoots the water over no longer works, the filter seems to get very dirty very quickly and there's constant residue flowing at the bottom of the water. I clean it every couple of days fully but it doesn't seem to do the trick. The price was good but it doesn't last too long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>