petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Easy-to-use cat water fountain or small dog water fountainAerates water for a fresher tasteReplaceable charcoal filter removes bad tastes and odorsLarge capacity – holds up to 50 oz of waterConvenient design makes it easy to maintainAdditional charcoal filters sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 244 reviews
5 stars
162
4 stars
44
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
21
211 out of 244(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
dfelicano
I love this item, especially for the price. At first I thought it was noisy, but then I realized there is switch on the pump where you can adjust the flow and now it's whisper quiet. My kitten learned to drink from in just a week and now loves it. It's small, unobtrusive and fits perfectly on the bathroom sink. It's also super simple to take apart and clean, taking less then 5 minutes to clean thoroughly. Much more affordable than other pet fountains and it has the option of a gentle bubbling fountain or a stream (it comes with a little tube that you pop in so the water will shoot out in a little stream, which some cats like). I've only had it for a couple of months but I think it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+48points
58of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun product

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
crazyOcatOlady
I love that i can take it apart and remove the cord to clean, makes cleaning so much easier. I think my cats like the fresh quality of the water and the raised bowl. The size is great and the length of the cord is perfect, i also got it on a great deal and you can't beat that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Seemed good at first

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
quixote87
I bought this fountain because it seemed to be a good, cheaper alternative to a Drinkwell fountain that I had previously used, and it also looked a lot easier to keep clean. The fountain worked great for the first 2-3 days that it was plugged in, but now after a couple weeks, the water just barely dribbles off the top layer, and there is absolutely zero "fountain" effect. Will be returning this to the store today and exchanging for something of better quality (bigger motor).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Fountain

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
amywest
from Kansas
I have only had this for a few weeks but my cats love it! i can tell they are drinking more water now. it was easy to set up and it is really quiet no matter how much water you put in. one thing i figured out is you have to add more water than you think you will so it will keep moving. cats seem to like moving water as it mimics a stream or river
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice and inexpensive

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ALRM
from St. Paul, MN
I've had one of these waterers going for about four months now. I was glad to see that it is designed so that it can't leak water onto the floor (like some other popular waterers). It's very easy to maintain and extremely quiet. My cats and I are very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daksmom
from Rochester, NY
I like the auto water fountain. I'm not sure if our cat is actually drinking from it as much as she was from the plain water dishes. (She is five years old and this is new technology for her.) We have tried unplugging it , which defeats the purpose, in case the fountain scares her. We will have to wait and see. For now, we have it and plain water dishes that we change regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet was attracted to it

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
KhansDaddy
from texas
relatively low noise motor, you hear the water splash more than the pump running. my 6 month old kitten loves it. was hoping that after using this he will avoid the occasional mud puddle. we will see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT fountain!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
10Cats
from NJ
I love this fountain, we rescue cats and have 2 other fountains, we paid at least $40 for each one and they are terrible to clean. This new fountain is GREAT, super easy to clean. All of my cats love it and it does not spill over. Only problem was it was missing the straw for the fountain. Contacted petco and they offered me either a partial refund or to return it. It works fine without it so I said no thank you. BUY this fountain before you buy any of the expensive ones. I am so sorry I spent so much when for $17 this fountain works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cats & Dogs love it, but....

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittyann
from wilmington, NC
...the pump stopped working within a month's time. :( Will take it to the local Petco for a new one. The pump is too small I feel for the volume of water it's pumping every second of every day. I may trade up to a different design if they have different ones at the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Kitties LOVE it

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
KokoandLoganCat
from Scottsdale, AZ
Cat's can be pretty picky about their water source, and my 2 luvers and no different. They BOTH LOVE it! Its kept a few feet from their feeding area so it can stay plugged in. The plus side to that is no more food particles in the water. It's easy to clean as well. All around great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
ragdollmom2
from Johnstowns, Ohio
My 9 month Ragdoll cat loves it! She was not sure at first, but after the first week she likes the fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great water feature

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amos930
from Burlingame, CA
It took my cats a couple of days to drink for the fountain but now they love it.
It gets a little loud, like the noise a fridge makes, but only when the water is low.
I have only had the fountain a few days and I am very happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
jmc0423
from Williamsport, PA
I bought this to help my cats drink more water. They were already drinking a decent amount, but I wanted to make sure it was as fresh and clean as possible. They really seem to like this fountain and I see them drinking from it all the time. With the two cats I need to top it off every day to keep it above the minimum fill line. That's not a problem, I just need to be sure to unplug it when going away for more than a day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mikey, I think he likes it

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrinkinMeHappy
from Cedar Rapids, IA
Our cat loves waiting for you to brush your teeth so he can get a drink from the faucet. Now he doesn't have to wait for running water.
From the moment, I plugged in the fountain, he started using it. First he took a drink, then played with the water, then drank again...PERFECT.
I'd highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for a decent price

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
kauaikitty13
from Honolulu, HI
I bought this product on Cyber Monday so I was fortunate to receive free shipping (which actually was free). I love that this fountain isn't too bulky and I like that it filters the water, plus I do not have to refill the dish every day because it hold a good amount of water. My cat was a little scared of it at first but after leaving it unplugged for a couple hours and then plugging it back in, he finally got used to it being his new water dish. If I fill it with a lot of water it tends to make more noise than when it has less water in it. Other than that I love this product! so much more convenient!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, cats love it

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
animallover108
from Wisconsin
I unfortunately didn't get this on sale, but it was still a great deal; cheaper than all the others. It is very quiet, im sitting 3 feet away from it, the tv is on in the other room and all i hear is the water. It is sort of a pain to clean, but really not too bad. My cat would always move his bowl and the dogs huge water bowl just to drink from moving water, so I figured he would like this. and I don't think I've seen him drink the dogs water since I've gotten it. So its doing its job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You get what you pay for.

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ilovemycatsmorethanyou
from los angeles, ca
I was delighted with this fountain for the first month. It is very awkward to clean and I ended up with several cuts since some of the plastic pieces have sharp edges.
I have no idea if the motor or the filters are garbage, but I had to constantly clean this thing (every other day)and change the filters because the water just wouldn't flow anymore.
I think if I still have to scrub my pets water dishes, I'd much rather stick to a regular bowl that doesn't have tiny pieces, sharp edges, a motor, and smells like a pool toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

so frustrating

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
catmamaslave
from Schaumburg
I have always had fountains for my cats. When I got sick the family didn't watch our fountain so it fried out. I had to search for a new one because our cat had a blockage and kidney issues. The search brought me to this one. With all of the reviews I thought it would be a good fit for our household. I liked that it had less parts to clean which I still like BUT after only two and half months of use it is not pumping any longer. I was very careful not to let it get empty and I don't even use the charcoal filter because we use filtered (Berkey) water. We filled it daily. I don't have my receipt so I can't return it to the store. So frustrating that I have to start the search for a new fountain again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

motor breaks

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nelly59
from Tehachapi, Ca
this is my second fountain and within 3 months the motor just quits working. I live rurally and have purchased many replacement filters so as not to run out. I was very careful each time to remove the motor when cleaning the unit.
I am VERY disappointed as this is the second fountain I bought and the motor did the same thing!
I would not recommend this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cat bath....

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mennice2Society
from Corpus Christi, TX
Well, I got this waterer for my cats so they could drink more water. My big kitty got a very bad UTI and I don't want it to happen again. Well, the waterer works great and looks pretty nice. It is a bit noisy buy I have fish so I'm used to it already. My 2 younger cats are starting to use it more but my big kitty Tom, makes a mess. My only problem with this is better gripper feet because Tom drags it across the tile floor and gets water everywhere. When I first got it, I installed the little tube but Tom dunked his face right in and started biting it so I took it out in case he got it I didn't want him to choke on it. Overall I am very happy with this and am glad it is strong enough to support my 15lb Tom, and he is not fat lol, when he sits in it and attacks it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>