petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Easy-to-use cat water fountain or small dog water fountainAerates water for a fresher tasteReplaceable charcoal filter removes bad tastes and odorsLarge capacity – holds up to 50 oz of waterConvenient design makes it easy to maintainAdditional charcoal filters sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(305 Reviews) 305
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 305 reviews
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
29
255 out of 305(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I love this item, especially for the price. At first I thought it was noisy, but then I realized there is switch on the pump where you can adjust the flow and now it's whisper quiet. My kitten learned to drink from in just a week and now loves it. It's small, unobtrusive and fits perfectly on the bathroom sink. It's also super simple to take apart and clean, taking less then 5 minutes to clean thoroughly. Much more affordable than other pet fountains and it has the option of a gentle bubbling fountain or a stream (it comes with a little tube that you pop in so the water will shoot out in a little stream, which some cats like). I've only had it for a couple of months but I think it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+78points
93of 108voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Okay for a while

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
This fountain was a great introduction for my cats to get use to this new water dish, but even after having it for almost 6 months and cleaning it regularly there's algae-like build up everywhere that's not easily reached with a sponge. After going through 20 q-tips it's somewhat clean. Looking for a new one though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The one the cat wants!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orange Park, FL
My cat only likes the Petco water fountain. I bought him a brand name one and he would not use it at all. My cat recommends the Petco water fountain, so this is what I buy. It's easy to use, easy to clean and works really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this fountain!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greeneville,TN
This is the best fountain EVER! It's super easy to keep clean, it's very quite and most of all, my cat LOVES it!! Other fountains we have tried, seem to sit up higher. She likes to lay on her mat and watch the fountain and it's a perfect level for her. She's a little bity girl, only 9lbs and it's the perfect size for her. When I put it down for her, the 1st time, I had the pump turned on as high as it would go. It didn't splash but it was a bit too fast for her. So I turned it down to go a bit slower and she immediately started drinking out of it. When I have to wash it she can't stand it until I get it put back down! Another plus, the filters are super easy to find(on the Petco website) and affordable. This fountain is PERFECT for my Kitty Sunshine and she recommends this water fountain to other felines:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
My cats love this fountain. It didn't last all that long, probably 6 months but for the price I'm happy. Have to be careful with the water level. If the fountain isn't running due to low water, my cats will sit there and wait for me to fill it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chatsworth, Ca
First of all this is my second of the same fountain. The reason I gave up on the first one is because of the water flow problem that many of you have questioned. I was about to give up on this fountain and purchase a pricier one, but figured something out that I didn't before. Hair gets stuck in the motor! It doesnt matter if you have a filter or not, it happens! So once I pulled that out , it flows perfectly! My suggestion is to get the blue one not the white. My cats love it - i have two. They adjusted right away to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco auto water fountain

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Claremont, NH
This fountain has worked great for my two cats. One of the cats no longer plays in the water and they both seem to drink more, which is a good thing. If you keep the water level at max., there isn't any noise. It's also easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Great Price

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Easy to use and works great. Very quite.
What I like most about the fountain is that the water just comes out and flows from one level to another. My cat is a big baby when it comes to noise and after taking a couple days to get use to the fountain, he would walk right up to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Worth Tx.
it took my cat a few days to get use to this but I really like it and now so does she
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for thirsty cats

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NW
Both my cats love running water. This fountain is the perfect size, easy to keep clean, and at a good price point. I change the water out daily, and both change the filter and clean the motor monthly and the fountain has run smoothly for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

auto pet waterer

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NH
Disappointed, noisy have to fill frequently and if you don't it hums louder. However my cat loved it and my golden was leery.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mississippi
I've had the kind of fountains where water comes out like a faucet and the kind where it flows over a globe. This is the best water fountain I have owned. It is a great price and takes apart quick and easy for cleaning. I clean it every three days with a small paintbrush that gets into all the little pieces (I clean it more often because I don't use the carbon filters). You can adjust the flow of water. The only time it gets noisy is when a clump of hair gets stuck somewhere. My cats are 12 and don't want to drink from the faucet anymore. They like how gentle this water is and started drinking from it immediately. I first plugged it in one year ago and it's worked perfectly. My cats and I love this fountain. Please, Petco, don't ever stop selling it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic bargain!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Escondido, CA
This fountain was such a great deal, I bought two! My kitties are very happy with them and now I don't have to change the water so often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

water fountain

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lehigh Acres, FL
the Petco brand water fountain is perfect. I have used it with my pets for nearly 10 years. I have only had 2 in that time (currently using the 2nd as of Jan 2015) as the little motor hold us forever. iT'S GETTING THE FILTERS FROM THE STORE THAT IS DIFFICULT. OFTEN THEY HAve no filters in stock. I buy several packages as the filter must be replaced weekly. My fountain serves 2 adult cats and a Boston Terrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pump quit after two weeks

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento CA
Pump quit after two weeks. Checked replacement cost on line and pump was more expensive than original product. Price point was good but not for two weeks use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat likes this water fountain

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN
This water fountain is very affordable and simple to use and clean. The cat likes it! Just bought it recently, so don't know about its longevity. Hoping that Petco continues to sell it and the corresponding filters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficult to clean, filters can be hard to find

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CO
I bought this item (the blue version) approximately 1.5 years ago after my previous cat fountain died. This fountain was cheap and I was on a seriously tight budget at the time. I liked that it had filters and wasn't too loud. What I discovered over the last year and a half is that a) the filters only last about 2 weeks for one long haired cat, and b) the tight spaces in the base and the fountain straw are extremely difficult to clean. The filters can also be very difficult to find sometimes. Recently, I made four visits to three different stores before I was able to purchase a package of filters. The fountain will eventually start to grow mold because you cannot clean the little spaces in the base and straw. Mine had just started to grow mold to the point that I noticed it when the motor gave out. Now I need to look for a new fountain (my cat likes to lick the stream of water) and I won't be buying this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is not so bad

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Good enough and probably recommend to anyone that need one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

mixed results

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CT
my cats like the fountain, but I would have changed some things for the 'people' side of this product.
The power cord is stiff and BLACK!! common sense should have dictated the cord be white. The plug that holds the cord inside the unit is supposed to be easy to install when being cleaned..it's not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kitty Water Fountain

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lees Summit, MO
The Cats seem to like it. Cash try's to drink from the fountain tip. It seems to be a little small for 3 cats that love water. It's a constant filling routine, morning and night. When it gets 'a little' low on water then it starts getting noisy with the little pump sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>