petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Easy-to-use cat water fountain or small dog water fountainAerates water for a fresher tasteReplaceable charcoal filter removes bad tastes and odorsLarge capacity – holds up to 50 oz of waterConvenient design makes it easy to maintainAdditional charcoal filters sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 274 reviews
5 stars
173
4 stars
55
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
25
232 out of 274(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I love this item, especially for the price. At first I thought it was noisy, but then I realized there is switch on the pump where you can adjust the flow and now it's whisper quiet. My kitten learned to drink from in just a week and now loves it. It's small, unobtrusive and fits perfectly on the bathroom sink. It's also super simple to take apart and clean, taking less then 5 minutes to clean thoroughly. Much more affordable than other pet fountains and it has the option of a gentle bubbling fountain or a stream (it comes with a little tube that you pop in so the water will shoot out in a little stream, which some cats like). I've only had it for a couple of months but I think it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+57points
71of 85voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faulty.

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PORTLAND, OR
The connection between the motor and the fountain head is easily separated due to the water pressure in the bottom dish, causing the fountain effect to not work. Returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but needs to contain more water

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
The fountain is great and the cats love it.
You have to refill it daily, but then you also have to feed the cats daily so that goes together.
The parts don't fit together all that well but my cats were never bothered about product assembly quality :)
My only issue is that the fountain seems to reach below minimum water levels on a daily basis so by the time you fill it it already makes gurgling noises.
Still, hard to beat the price of this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little fountain

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Overland Park, KS
I wanted to get my 17 yr. old Himilayan with kidney disease to drink more. I waited for 4 days to plug it in and he is drinking from it. It is very quiet and it was so easy to set up. I would recommend it. I have only had it a week so I hope it holds up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I bought this water fountain for my cat who refuses to drink standing water. It's wonderful and quiet. I only gave it four stars because I hate the color and the power cord doesn't fit well into the grove on the bottom of the fountain. I highly recommend this product to anyone who has an animal who is picky about their water source.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fresh enough for Bob Dylan

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
Our cat is called Bob Dylan. Until we got the pet water fountain she would only drink water from the running tap. Now I can keep her off the counters, more or less.
The fountain is easy to set up and keep clean and fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

water fountain

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SI, NY
we have 5 cats who always want water from the facet. we recieved the auto water fountain today. It's nice and quite holds plenty of water. They are a little afarid of this right now but I believe they will get use to this. The kitten took to it very quickly and she loves it. I'm glad I got it. They water is always fresh and clean and I wont waste anymore water running the facet. Thanks so much!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best fountain!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
Both of my cats love this fountain, much better than the Drinkwell. I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great idea! if only my cat thought the same...

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. George, UT
My cat is very picky when it comes to her water source. She won't drink water out of a still bowl. She prefers to drink water out of my cup, dirty sink water, or worse the toilet! I thought this product might solve this annoying issue, but alas. She was initially very afraid of it because of the noise. Now she doesn't glance twice at it and won't drink from it. I think she likes the box it came in more than the fountain.
Unfortunate, just glad I didn't spend money on a more expensive one!!!
Plus side: delivery was fast and everything I ordered was as expected. I wonder if they sell anything to fix spoiled rotten cats! Hmmm
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well with regular maintenance

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hartford, WI
I've had this fountain for over a year now. It works perfectly--IF you rinse all the parts clean every few days, rinse out the filter as well. I've found life of the filter can be extended with rinsing and inverting it as well. Every few cleanings, take a cotton swab and clean out the gunk that gets in the water output tube and the tube going into the motor. It's also very important to make sure the water is full as the fountain will not flow well and quietly if the water goes down more than half an inch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's very soothing

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
I wish it came in another color then white but overall it is a great buy in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps water fresh, silently

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from hamden, CT
Just used this for the first time
I usually go away one weekend every month and I don't have anyone to come change her water daily. My furry friend always throws food in her water bowl and this product did the trick. I left for 5 days and had a friend come by once to refill.
It really holds a lot of water. If it goes down a certain amount it will make a louder noise, but overall is as quiet as the filter in a fish tank. Liked it so much I just kept it after I came back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it but wish I would have got stainless steel

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from iowa
Love the fountain everything works great but just wish I would have got stainless steel so there not drinking from plastic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love water fountain

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oil City, PA
When I got this bowl from UPS the cats (5 of 'em) were super nosy about what was in the box. after I opened the box and filled the bowl with water and plugged it in, they were fighting over who was gonna stick their paws in first. lol they love it. even Buzz my dog tries to drink from it too. lol
best thing I ever bought !!!!! Thank you very much to whoever invented this bowl .... kudos to ya !!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it was an experiment

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ct
Since my cat loves to drink from the faucet, I figured he would love a water fountain. He is fascinated by it and will sit by it and watch it. However, he has not drank from it except maybe once or twice once I unplugged it. And...he can lose interest in it but if I do unplug it, he runs right back over to it. He's a funny guy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I was not impressed

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TN
This bowl is "okay", but I thought it would be much bigger. I have a bigger one in the kitchen that I have had for years and it still works perfectly. It is about four times bigger than this one. This one doesn't bubble enough and it is so small I have to refill it every day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
Great price! After using my $10 worth of reward dollars and 20% off it was only $13 with shipping! Great product! So far it works perfectly! I tried giving it 5 paws but it kept returning as 4. :/
Note: make sure you check the water level daily so it continues to flow properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product makes a slight noise

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Metairie, LA
This product makes a slight noise if it is even a little below max line. If it gets to the fill line it's very noisy and foams.Most might not notice it but my son and I did. Had to unplug it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best So Far

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
Over the years, I have tried several brands and styles of waterers for my cats since they prefer circulating water. The pumps were noisy, the fountain splashed, the bowls leaked, and the pumps failed, etc.
The Petco model, so far, is the quietest I've had, doesn't scare even the most timid cat, and doesn't splash. I'm quite happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Cat

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from in
This water fountain is very good for the price. My cat took to it right away. It's nice to have him drink from the fountain rather than the sink faucet. It does have a "hum", but it is not too loud and I'm used to it now. It doesn't seem to bother the cat. I haven't cleaned the pump yet...don't know how difficult that will be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>