petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain

Easy-to-use cat water fountain or small dog water fountainAerates water for a fresher tasteReplaceable charcoal filter removes bad tastes and odorsLarge capacity – holds up to 50 oz of waterConvenient design makes it easy to maintainAdditional charcoal filters sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(257 Reviews) 257
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 257 reviews
5 stars
166
4 stars
49
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
24
219 out of 257(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
dfelicano
I love this item, especially for the price. At first I thought it was noisy, but then I realized there is switch on the pump where you can adjust the flow and now it's whisper quiet. My kitten learned to drink from in just a week and now loves it. It's small, unobtrusive and fits perfectly on the bathroom sink. It's also super simple to take apart and clean, taking less then 5 minutes to clean thoroughly. Much more affordable than other pet fountains and it has the option of a gentle bubbling fountain or a stream (it comes with a little tube that you pop in so the water will shoot out in a little stream, which some cats like). I've only had it for a couple of months but I think it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+53points
65of 77voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best So Far

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
calf
from Austin, TX
Over the years, I have tried several brands and styles of waterers for my cats since they prefer circulating water. The pumps were noisy, the fountain splashed, the bowls leaked, and the pumps failed, etc.
The Petco model, so far, is the quietest I've had, doesn't scare even the most timid cat, and doesn't splash. I'm quite happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Cat

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
anon88
from in
This water fountain is very good for the price. My cat took to it right away. It's nice to have him drink from the fountain rather than the sink faucet. It does have a "hum", but it is not too loud and I'm used to it now. It doesn't seem to bother the cat. I haven't cleaned the pump yet...don't know how difficult that will be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hthr1234
from Orlando,FL
Perfect! Quite and gentle. The cats and Maltese love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
calidreamer23
from Garden Grove, Ca
Got my product about 3 weeks ago and so far the cats love it. I have 9 and a 3 month old kittens they use it all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Came with flies

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
TuxedoCat1
from Saint Louis, MO
I'm not sure if this fountain just attracted flies or the fountain/filter had drain fly eggs in it when I bought it, but within days my apartment was infested. They all seemed to concentrate around the fountain, and when I took it apart there were 20-30 dead fly bodies inside (this happened overnight from when I first noticed the flies). I cleaned the product regularly as recommended, so the flies did not come from leaving stagnant water sitting around or anything like that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet water fountain

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
3CrazyCats
from Lowell, MA
in a word AWESOME!
during the hot summer months I wanted to be sure my cats (I have 3) would have plenty of fresh clean water available to them. when I first started looking at the pet water fountains I was a little concerned about the pricing (as much as $100) then I saw the PetCo fountain and was excited with the $20 price. I have remained excited because it runs super quiet and my furry children seem to love it. its a great product at a great price.
Thank you PetCo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat doesn't use it

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinAZ
from Tucson, Az
Great idea if your cat drinks from it. Works just fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cookie2
from Valencia, PA
For the price this fountain is great. Keep it filled to the top line so it makes less noise running. I thought my cat would love this since he drinks out of the bathroom sink, but it's been almost been 2 weeks and he hasn't drank out of it yet. I'm not giving up yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great fountain

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
petfreak42
from Tahoe Vista, CA
For the price this is great! Only thing wrong with it is you have to keep it to the full line or the filter makes noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too much maintenance

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mercy726
from Suffolk, NY
I Purchased this product a few months ago when I went from one cat to two. At first the fountain worked wonderfully, i didn't mind the low noise of flowing water. A few weeks later the part that shoots the water over no longer works, the filter seems to get very dirty very quickly and there's constant residue flowing at the bottom of the water. I clean it every couple of days fully but it doesn't seem to do the trick. The price was good but it doesn't last too long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product for the price

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
jodi23
from moose lake, mn
i love this fountain, the only thing i miss is having a resevoir so i do not have to fill it twice daily. but for the price it's great and my cat likes it, which is most important
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Too Noisy

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
acesjs
from Ravena, NY
I purchased this with the hope that I would no longer have to share my bathroom sink with my cat but alas it was not to be. The fountain was too noisy for me and my cat. I tried putting a towel under it to absorb the vibration but that did not work and my cat wanted to use it but she did not like the noise either. Alas, I returned it and still share my sink with my cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a decent fountain for a great price

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
lovedemkittykats
from Mililani, HI
This is a simple fountain but works very well. I have tried a couple other more expensive ones and this one certainly is functional and easy to assemble. I have a kitty who loves to "bathe" in the fountains and this one is too small for him to jump into. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun product

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
crazyOcatOlady
I love that i can take it apart and remove the cord to clean, makes cleaning so much easier. I think my cats like the fresh quality of the water and the raised bowl. The size is great and the length of the cord is perfect, i also got it on a great deal and you can't beat that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Seemed good at first

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
quixote87
I bought this fountain because it seemed to be a good, cheaper alternative to a Drinkwell fountain that I had previously used, and it also looked a lot easier to keep clean. The fountain worked great for the first 2-3 days that it was plugged in, but now after a couple weeks, the water just barely dribbles off the top layer, and there is absolutely zero "fountain" effect. Will be returning this to the store today and exchanging for something of better quality (bigger motor).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Fountain

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
amywest
from Kansas
I have only had this for a few weeks but my cats love it! i can tell they are drinking more water now. it was easy to set up and it is really quiet no matter how much water you put in. one thing i figured out is you have to add more water than you think you will so it will keep moving. cats seem to like moving water as it mimics a stream or river
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice and inexpensive

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ALRM
from St. Paul, MN
I've had one of these waterers going for about four months now. I was glad to see that it is designed so that it can't leak water onto the floor (like some other popular waterers). It's very easy to maintain and extremely quiet. My cats and I are very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daksmom
from Rochester, NY
I like the auto water fountain. I'm not sure if our cat is actually drinking from it as much as she was from the plain water dishes. (She is five years old and this is new technology for her.) We have tried unplugging it , which defeats the purpose, in case the fountain scares her. We will have to wait and see. For now, we have it and plain water dishes that we change regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Automatic Pet Water Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet was attracted to it

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
KhansDaddy
from texas
relatively low noise motor, you hear the water splash more than the pump running. my 6 month old kitten loves it. was hoping that after using this he will avoid the occasional mud puddle. we will see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>