petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier

SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier

It's a flexible height carrier, ideal for air travelFeather light yet durableSeatbelt safety loopsAdjustable 4-point padded shoulder strap & leather hand gripMachine washable ultra comfortable pad
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Review 1 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Carrier

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bought this carrier because it has flexible height - looks like it'll work great with under seat plane transportation for my cat. The carrier resembles a duffel bag, is very sturdy and has a pet weight rating of up to 30 lbs (much higher than other carriers for small pets). I was pleased to see that it hand or machine washable. The carrier was a bit more expensive than others, but is well worth the extra money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY
this carrier might be a little bit more expensive than average but its quality is above average! This bag's safety is supreme. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice bag but design flaws

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
The bag is high quality and sturdy.. There are lots of places to cover over or reveal mesh that the dog can see out of, which is nice. My dog is about 25 pounds and I can't imagine carrying around a dog much bigger than her. It is difficult, though because there is no way to top load her into the bag, so i have to coax her in. There is a zipper porthole for her to stick her head out of, which is nice, but it is so large she can just jump right out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing bag

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Erie PA
We are taking our 1 year old cocker spaniel on a flight for the first time so we bought this bag. I was concerned with other reviewers about placing the stays into position. It was no problem. I have arthritis and was able to put them in with no trouble whatsoever even without my husband's help. The dog is still getting used to the carrier but the XL size is great for a full grown cocker spaniel and will make for a much more comfortable ride for all of us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for Southwest flights

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
This bag is flexible so it will go under Southwest flight seats which are 8.5" in height. My 5 lb dog fit comfortably in the large sturdibag with ample room and my 10 lb dog also fit although she had less room but it was still comfortable for her. Southwest gave me a little bit of a hard time with my 10lb dog thinking she could not stand and turn around under the seat but she could. I also tried the sherpa bag but I think they are too high for Southwest flights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable Customer Service

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Costa Rica
When I flew with my two cats to Costa Rica in 2007, I spent hours researching pet carriers for the flight. I finally decided on the "Sherpa Delta Pet Carrier" because it seemed to be well made and, since I was flying Delta, I knew that I wouldn't be questioned about the size. Boy, was I wrong! Shortly after boarding the flight, BOTH cats had torn through the mesh ventilation area and one had even escaped! My friend and I spent the whole 5 hour flight bent over physically holding the ripped areas closed to prevent them from escaping again. Miserable experience, to say the least.
I'm planning my trip back in a few months, so I contacted several vendors about the construction of their mesh ventilation areas. Within hours I received a reply from Don at SturdiBag, who offered to upgrade the mesh areas of the SturdiBag Pet Carrier, Large - Black with a heavier grade, more durable material at a reasonable cost. Most of you will never have a problem like I encountered on the flight to Costa Rica, but now I can travel with the peace of mind knowing that Brother Boy and Gringo will be safe and secure in their carriers. I can't speak highly enough about the customer service at SturdiBag, and even though I haven't actually used the product yet, I have complete faith that it will alleviate my concerns. Above and beyond customer service is so rare these days, and so nice to encounter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hit or Miss WhenFlying With Large Sturdibag

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought the large Sturdibag last year to fly on Southwest with my 22lb beagle/corgi mix. He does wonderfully in this bag and loves it! During our training sessions he would not want to come out sometimes! The flexibility of the bag is definitely the best feature. It is perfect for fitting a small dog under the seat. We do not encounter any problems on our departing flight but it seems the smaller airport we travel to and from often does a more strict review of the bag. Although we have had a few incidents with airline employees over the bag for it looking "too large" we have never been denied our flight in the end because it was a return flight or because we demonstrated that the bag was flexible in height.
I would say that although this bag is a bit risky for air travel, it is probably the best choice for flying with a small dog that needs more the room. However, don't be surprised if you are stopped for the bag being at the maximums of most of the under seat dimensions. The hole in the top is excellent for giving your pal some pettins or letting them see what's going on in the airport without escaping. You can see in the photo that he is pretty happy in there on one of our layovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is great!!

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I have a 19-pound Tibetan Terrier who is waaay too big for a large bag. I was stuck with a hardshell case, which is too cumbersome for use on NYC trains. This case is a life-saver. I'm thinking of buying another as a back-up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SturdiBag Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adventure Tested

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I originally was going to get the small because it would definitely fit the requirements of Southwest Airlines. I got the Large size because of a few reasons.
1: My male Bengal Pan's old Sherpa was 10" high and was a little short when he wanted to sit-up, turn, or ,my biggest problem, zipping the top flap. I went with the Large at 12" high because in the comments section of a review I saw, many people said they had taken the Large on Southwest and the under seat compartment measure to 11.5" not the 8.25" high that they say they do.
2: When I finally I made my decision that the Sturdibag was the carrier to buy, I started to look for deals, sales, and other discounts online or around LA. PETCO had the best deal, the black large carrier:
3.For the Sturdibag, the fleece pad comes out to wash, but you have to take out the 5 fiberglass poles that make the carrier ridged, so that will be a pain. Once you do that though, everything is completely washable, which I think SleepyPod and SleepyPod Air can't.
4.The fleece pad is really great; the carrier would not be half as good if it didn't come with it. I put my head inside the carrier to lay on it, and Pan paws at me to get out and not steal his awesome bed.
5. Another thing is the shoulder strap, it has 4 points of attachments on the carrier. This means that the strap can be adjusted to make sure the carrier is level. This was a huge problem on my old carrier with a single strap attached at the front and back of the carrier, it would pull the carrier on to its side when the strap was over your shoulder.
I have taken this on a 8 hour flight with no problems from the airline, TSA, or flight crew. The carrier's light weight, didn't make Pan's 11LBS hurt my shoulder or back. Like I said about the 4 point strap, it makes carrying your pet breeze for for them and you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+29points
32of 35voted this as helpful.