petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier

SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier

It's a flexible height carrier, ideal for air travelFeather light yet durableSeatbelt safety loopsAdjustable 4-point padded shoulder strap & leather hand gripMachine washable ultra comfortable pad
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Review 1 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best & Most Comfortable Cat Carrier Ever!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Eureka, CA
This is the best cat carrier I’ve ever had. I volunteer for a spay/neuter network & have seen/used all different kinds of carriers & have found this to be the most comfortable for my feline friends. The hard sided carriers are easy to clean/disinfect but not only look sterile but I’d imagine feel the same; which is why I decided to try this one. This carrier is very well-built & offers security for not only the animal housed in it but gives the owner peace of mind knowing that their companion is safely secure & comfortable. I’ve read other reviews that state it’s hard to maneuver the rods into place, but in order for the carrier to uphold its shape the rods have to be snuggly housed in the divots so that the structure is maintained & the rods have the needed resistance. I definitely recommend giving this carrier a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sent to my mother. strongman is required to assemble the rods

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
seems like a quality product but only if you have somebody that can assemble it properly. two women were not strong enough to properly that symbol the unit. not sexist, just unfortunate reality. I had to send someone else to properly Assemble the carrier. it should not be that difficult, but it is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable and sturdy

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I took my cat with her in this on a flight from denver to portland, a little over 2 hours. As the name implies, this product is very sturdy. The material that this carrier is made of seems to be of very good quality, because when my cat was trying to bite through the mesh part of the bag- it had not ripped nor was there any damage to it. Frontier had a 10 inch. carrier height limit on their plane, and even though this carrier has a height of 12 inches, it squeezed underneath the seat with ease. The structure of it is unique. Because of the design, when pressure is put on top, the walls don't collapse like I know other carries would. Also, note that there are sturdy foam inserts under the carrier that make it so the cat has less room than 12 inches high. Overall, it's a reliable product and I know it will last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just Right

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NH
After returning two other carriers, it appears that the Bergen will be perfect for our upcoming travel. I have a 12 lb. Havanese and was having difficulty finding a carrier that would be comfortable and practical. I loved the concept of the Snoozer wheeled ones, but the medium was way too tight for him, and the large, too big for the airlines. The Bergen large allows him to stand and turn around, yet its flexibility will make it possible to slide under the seat during take off and landing. It is very lightweight, yet sturdy and well-made. The bottom pad is nice. I wish it had external pockets and wheels for ease of moving through the airport. (I am purchasing a folding wheeled luggage carrier.)
As others have mentioned, assembly is next to impossible, those rods just don't go into the pockets without much blood, sweat and tears;something the manufacturer needs to correct.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for Southwest flights

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
The Sturdibag is flexible and will fit on Southwest flights. Southwest seats allow a height of only 8.5" and Sturdibag will bend and flex to fit. My 5lb fit comfortably in one large sturdibag and my 10lb fit comfortably in one large sturdibag. Southwest gave me a bit of a hard time about taking my 10lb because they thought she could not stand up and turn around under the flight seat but she demonstrated she could so it was ok. I bought a Sherpa bag as well to compare to Sturdibag but Sherpa was not as flexible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would highly recommend this product.

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
The carrier is sturdy with a lot of great features. I love the fact that it is an adjustable height carrier. Although I've decided not to travel with my pet at this time, I'm keeping the carrier anyway because I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog carrier

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Woolwich NJ
Excellent product! Getting a new shih tzu puppy December 2011 & this carrier is perfect. My little Picabo can go everywhere with me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdibag lg

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Perfect and spacious for my Havanese. Fits under seat in airplane, nice looking. She is 15 lbs. And lengthy..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Carrier!! - Spacious

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Hermosa Beach, CA
I used this carrier on a flight from LAX to DIA. My dog is 13 Lbs. and about 17" long.
This carrier is spacious and flexible. It is a little bigger than airline approved carriers BUT, never fear!! It is so flexible that it will fit under ANY seat without closing in on your pet! I wasn't even questioned about the size.
There is a hole in the top of the carrier, that you can unzip, to allow your pup to stick their head out and get some rubs. (GREAT feature!)
I totally recommend this product. Very Pleased! Jack doesn't mind it either. ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SturdiBag Bordeaux Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SturdiBag Pet Carrier

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Well, I love the carrier, however I have not picked up my kitten yet to get his reaction.
I loved how easily I could assemble the carrier. The materials are solid and very well made.
I like the velcro feature which holds the carrier pad onto the bottom. I also added a soft sherpa kitty blanket on top of the pad which makes it all very cozy inside.
I also think the seat belt loops on the side of carrier are a great idea too, so that I can secure him into the seat, next to my son.
So far, I am very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.