petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier

SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier

It's a flexible height carrier, ideal for air travelFeather light yet durableSeatbelt safety loopsAdjustable 4-point padded shoulder strap & leather hand gripMachine washable ultra comfortable pad
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Review 1 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jinxthesphynx
from Junction City, KS
I bought this for my cat to travel on a plane with. Haven't used it to fly yet but I love it already. There's lots of room in it. As soon as I set it up, my cat ran right into it and laid down in it. She loves to crawl in there to sleep and the quality of the material is great. It seems really tough and will hold up well over time. I would definitely recommend this carrier. I researched a lot of other carriers before I decided on this one and it's definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely in purple

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
georgiegirl
from Manzanita, Or
Our purple pet carrier is beautiful, well made, and looks like it would be very comfortable for the cat, and much easier to carry then those plastic carriers.
The only problem, our cat won't even go near it.
Next week we'll be picking up a new kitty....so we'll use it.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Similar, but much lighter, than Sherpa

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
happylittleschnauzer
from berkeley, ca
This bag is the sturdiest, most well thought, and lightest pet carrier on the market. The size large will slide under a plane seat with no trouble because it flexes with pressure from the outside. Only the middle ring flexes out, so the bag gets wider in the middle if squeezed under a seat (pushed down to 9" bag it became 16 wide in the middle), but it fits in small strange shaped spaces like a ballon and will fold down if space can't fit width and or height.
It is nice that the bag is curved, because it fits under your arm (square Sherpa bag is always slipping off my shoulder because of shape). It does not cave in across the top or sides when you carry it on your hip, yet it flexes to fit under a very low plane seat.
The flexible frame stands away from the interior, like a camping tent frame. It's exterior is 12.75" tall, 14" wide at base only, 19.25" long.
Yet the Interior dimensions with padding installed (pet will sink down a bit further) is only 10" high, 12.5" wide, 19"long.
BUY THE BLACK if you are flying with the Sturdibag. Purple is VERY purple. It looks larger than it is and technically the Large is too large for some planes. I fly with a black Large sherpa which is about the same size and I have no trouble fitting it even under tiny prop plane seats. I think the black Large Sturdibag, will end up looking smaller than the black Large Sherpa.
I have found that lift off and landing are when pets freak out. The more you pet can see, the more nervous they become. You want a bag that will vent and be the most like a cave, so I like the sold canvas sides. Venting at the top is important because pets overheat when stressed.
I like that you can cover all windows or expose just the head without releasing the pet. You do not get this option with the Sherpa because they can bust out the top if you unzip it a little to pop a head out.
You will not find another lighter bag that folds away and has all these options. My only beef is that the stakes stand out from the bag and make its foot print larger visually. It will fit under any seat, a lot easier than the Sherpa, but that is the deal.
One last thing. The parts on the sturdy bag look easy to replace and repair. They also sell repair pieces.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof4KitCats
I love everything about this carrier except for the fact that is a BEAR to fit the support rods in on top. I couldn't do it after a number of tries, and my husband had to take a breather between tries before he finally got them in. I understand that good support is essential, but you shouldn't have to have the strength of Hercules to put this carrier together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality!!!

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
KateL
I have a 14 lb pom and a 18 lb chi-mix. I bought them both Large Sturdi-bags...the quality of these bags is excellent. The mesh is very good quality and even when they tried to dig out of the carriers, the bags withstood them. Do have to be careful with the zippers, just a small space is all that's needed for a dog nose to get in and open the zipper. But very good quality, can flex down to fit under our coffee table (8") and the dogs could still lay down and be fine. Also very lightweight and the 4 point carry strap is very comfortable. I called Delta and on our flight, the max height is 12" so hopefully this will be a stress-free flight with no issues, even though my dogs are on the larger side of what is acceptable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

definetly sturdy

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
ziggydemon
from Austin Tx
It really is a well made piece. The material is quality, it is built to last. The cushion is thick and soft. It has flaps you can put up or down for privacy. Easy to assemble. The only thing I did not like was that while there is an opening on top to pet your companion, you can't load them from the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag with a fantastic feature

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
nycnumbercruncher
I purchased this bag several weeks ago. I've had it on the floor and my 13 year-old cat, Roscoe, loves sleeping in it. I used it as a carrier for the first time yesterday (had to take her to get her nails trimmed) and the bag is great. Very sturdy and roomy with a comfortable shoulder strap (it also has a handle to carry it by hand). The mesh patches allowed Roscoe to see out, which she greatly enjoyed. Also, there is a small zippered opening on top of the carrier which allowed me to reach in and pet her while we were waiting without risk of her getting loose. She always gets a little nervous when she's around other animals and the petting calmed her down instantly. What a great feature! Overall, a fantastic bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bags !!

PostedMay 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rossann
from Ukiah,Ca
These are great bags,excellent quality,strong, thick pad, security protection on zipper for those who may try to paw their way out and it holds its shape ! I love this bag.Doubles as a car seat too.Who could ask for anything more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product

PostedDecember 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
CJfromLA
My boyfriend and I flew with our 15 lb Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and this carrier was fantastic. She was able to turn around in it and seemed comfortable either stretching across its length or curling up like a ball on one side. The carrier fit perfectly under the tight and low airline seat in front of me because of the flexible top and I was able to pet our dog through the top zippered opening. People were surprised to discover that the carrier even contained a dog, as it looks like a duffel bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel bag!

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
riley101
from maggie, pittsburgh,pa
I purchased this bag after returning Struditote as it was too small for my 12lb. cat. This bag, however, is really nice. It's well made and looks like it will last a long time. Much more cozy than a hard kitty carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrrfect

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
DMN
I love the design. Bigger than I thought it would be, so I will exchange for a smaller size. But great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SturdiBag Purple Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdibag

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
vanderkitty
my husband and I needed a pet carrier which would fit under the seat on a plane and carry our two rather large (18lb) cats. We have not flown with the carrier yet, but it is flexible enough that it will squish to fit under the seat. In addition you can take out some of the ribs and completely flatten the bags if you are short on storage. Despite this they do hold their shape very well (and dont completely collapse when the cat jumps on top of the bag).
The bags are well constructed and ventilated (but you can close the screens if you do not want people so see in (or the cat/dog to see out).
The cats absolutely love them and have been sleeping in the carriers since we got them. Although, they do not like the pad that comes with the carrier for one reason or another. Luckily this is easily removed.
we are very happy with this carrier. it is worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.