petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red

The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red

Humane way to control your petMartingale dog collar design prevents it from becoming too tightNylon dog collars can be worn at all timesIdeal for narrow-headed dogs like whippets, greyhounds and other sighthounds
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Review 1 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thin

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
This is a very basic, thin nylon collar. There is no clip, so you have to pull it over your dogs head then adjust it. The material is somewhat slick, and again, thin, so the clasp for sizing it doesn't hold as well as other collars and requires frequent re-adjusting.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Red Dog Collar

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
Works well on our dog. She is a reactive dog with lunging issues and controls well while training. I switch between this and Gentle Lead. Packing and shipping time very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worth it

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
it was recommended by the rescue & it's the only collar that i will buy from now on...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this collar

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Very clever collar! Think it's the only one we'll use from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Grrrip X-tra Control Collars

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Queensbury NY
This is a collar to be used only when walking your dog. The way it is made it works best if attached to a leash. I returned mine, as I wanted a collar that the dogs wear & can walk around the house with with their License & tags on the collar. .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington,PA
I bought two of the Grrrip Xtra Control Collar. One for my Lab mix and one for my beagle. I always seem to have trouble finding collars that fit right on my lab mix, but this collar fits nice on him. I even bought one for my mother-n-law's dog, that's also a lab mix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

plenty of room for adjustment

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belleville, MI
I was looking for a 24 inch Martingale collar. It wasn't easy. At that size, a lot of them didn't adjust much. If they did, they didn't specify it in the description. Then I came up this one. It adjusts from 19 to 30 inches. This collar just took the guess work out of which one to buy. I know, whether my dog looses or gains weight, I will have the right size and not have to purchase different collars. Plus, I don't have to go to the store, open the packaging and try to fit him up. And you can't beat the price of under $10.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, nice price

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Linn, OR
Very nice and well built product, a little wider than I expected tho, works nicely for my 40# healer mix. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Collar for a strong dog

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from PA
We bought this collar for our young lab puppy. When the size small became too tight, we decided to buy the same collar in the large size. He can't slip out of it, but it does not hurt him. It's very strong and durable, and it is priced very reasonably!
I do wish that it was available in different colors and patterns.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Houdini's with esophagus problems

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from TN
Grrrip collars are well made, last years (I've had the same one for 4 years) and are durable. The reason I bought a Grrrip to begin with was I needed a collar that my dog wasn't able to slip out of. I didn't want a choke chain. I needed a collar that didn't sit tight on his neck due an esophageal problem. I'm so glad that Petco carries them as they're difficult to find.
FYI - The collars run large. I have a 56 lb mutt and he wears a Small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Collar

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Bedford, MA
This collar allows me to maintain control of my Great Pyrenees. I have used a pinch collar in the past and this collar works as well without the hassle of off & on every time you go out. The design of this collar allows you to leave it on even in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Collar

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Fairfield, CA
This collar is good for walking a dog. Keeps the dog in a decent grip.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
works great with my german shepherd. I don't walk him on it though, i use a pinch collar to maintain more control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic collar

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New Hyde Park NY
This is a wonderful product. It can be kept nice and loose around your dog's neck so it's amazingly comfortable, but when you need control, it is there! I am thrilled it comes in the red for my black lab!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Collar We Have Found

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Maine
This collar has worked out the best for our 5 month old yellow lab puppy, she cannot slip out of this collar when on a leash and it is very lightweight. The only thing we didn't enjoy was that the red color bled on her fur the first time the collar got wet (it hasn't done it again since). Also we had to put her tags on one of the metal buckles because they hung down too low on the hook and she was able to chew at them. Overall, this collar has worked out the best for us so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.