petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black

Martingale dog collar design gives you greater control in a safe wayLimited pinch closure prevents collar from tightening too muchSoft yet strong nylon martingale collar can be worn at all timesGreat for narrow-headed dogs like sighthounds
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Review 1 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Martingale Collar

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
This collar is great! I got it for my beagle/basset hound mix who's an expert at backing out of the usual nylon or leather collars. He can't do that anymore with his martingale collar! As soon as he starts to tug, the loop adjusts and I get to stay in control. The small size adjusted to fit his 14" neck perfectly and the collar appears well made and sturdy. I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

control collar

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
The sizing information is lacking on this product and even the cat feature did not help with my sizing question. The collar seems to fit my lab, but the control feature is not great. I will be going back to the training collar my trainer recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

BULKY...

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
I purchased two of these for our newest Pit rescue babies that are still in training walking leashed. One is 64lbs and the other is 86lbs...ALL MUSCLE!!
I've trained all of our babies with the nylon snap collars that stay up right behind their ears and they walk like professionals!! But they no longer make them and they are impossible to find elsewhere so I ordered these.
They are thick and sturdy to a fault. And because the sizes ranges are so expansive, that makes them EXTREMELY BULKY.
They don't lay flat once you get them adjusted to their neck sizes, as directed, and the part that pulls them tight just doesn't lay flat-AT ALL-when you're not walking them which causes concern of getting stuck on something when we aren't home to supervise.
I'm NOT going to remove them and put them back on every time we walk them. I want a collar that can accommodate their license, ID tag, Lost Pet ID and can be kept on them at all times SAFELY.
These are NOT them...I am returning both of them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't use it

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Danville, CA
I purchased three types of collars. I didn't need this for training and I'm fairly certain my dog could get out of it. May work great so I'm not a good judge to review it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these collars

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from cambridge,md
these collars are way better then the original choke collars and work just the same i highly recommend these !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safest collar ever

PostedOctober 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I bought this as a replacement for the same collar. I have shepherd mixes, who are notorious for ducking out of their collars. With this collar, I have the control I need, in all situations. Never have an escapee, but cause no pain like a metal choke collar can.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grrreat Dog collar!

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
When I brought my first rescue dog home she was not leash trained. My neighbor told me about the Grrrip Xtra Control Collar after she witnessed me being dragged down the street by my new baby. WOW - it worked right away! Whenever she tests me I just have to yank up quickly on the leash and command "Heel" and she remembers her manners. My Golden Retriever never did have good leash manners so I got him a Grrrip Collar as well. What a gentleman he is now. My newest rescue baby also was not familiar with leash walking so, you guessed it, She now sports a red Grrrip Collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice for us.

PostedJune 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
We have a rescue dog who slips out of collars (his neck is larger than his head ) and this worked out perfect for him! While he was in training he had a choke collar and this is much more comfortable for him and looks very good on him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJune 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
I liked this collar, and the idea of it, but I ordered the larger size and it was too big. I should have tried the smaller one, that goes to 18 inches. This one begins at 19 inches, and, that being the smallest end of it's range, was just too big for my dog. I could slip it off over his head, which defeats the purpose, and also was the reason he was getting a new collar in the first place. His current collar was an adjustable one that just never stayed adjusted to the right size, thanks to my other dog pulling on it all of the time.
This isn't a bad product, I just should have paid more attention to the measurements when purchasing it. Typically, all I need to see is the words "large breed" and such items fit just fine. I didn't realize this one came in two sizes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these collars

PostedMay 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I absolutely love the GRRRIP collars. I have two dogs and it's nice to not be jerked around when we walk because these collars tighten when they're pulling too hard and then loosen when they're not pulling. It's also less time involved in the morning to slip on their collars and take them off at night because they just slip on and off. No more belt-like collars for my pups! Great leash training tool and functional - I'll never go back
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.