petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG The Beast Dog Toy

KONG The Beast Dog Toy

Heavy duty premium thermo plastic rubber will stand up to enthusiastic power chewersUnique tug and chew design exercises dogs’ jaws and focuses energyMulti-textured surfaces help to clean teethPuncture resistant KONG tug toy is great for interactive gamesFun KONG dog toy encourages healthy chewing and play
Average Customer Rating:
1.5 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
41
6 out of 52(12%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Review 1 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not tough enough

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
sadielady
from Lewisville, TX
I have a 9 month old Brittany Spaniel and after a 5 min game of tug the ball popped off! The Kong name doesn't mean what it used to," indestructible"!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

KONG the BEAST toy

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tollcurl
from Tucson, AZ
Expensive & Waste of money
HORRIBLE product
fell apart on the very first tug
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

beware this toy for medium sized + pets

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
lawtchan
from bartlett, tn
we have 35 lb, 11 month English bulldog and with an hour, ball pulled off rope, rope unraveled, and piece of rubber ring, bit off and swallowed.
this toy may be ok for small dogs, but NOT for aggressive chewers or larger dogs.
contacting KONG for same review after this submitted.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pick another toy

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Elocin6
Being a Kong, I thought it would last. The ball was off in 5 mins, took my dog the rest of the evening to undo all the nylon and get the ring. As individual pieces, the ball and ring have survived chewing for a few months now, but as a tug toy it was lousy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart in 5 minutes

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stubuddy
from San Diego
We have a lab and wanted a nice pull toy when we were inside. one end pulled apart in 5 minutes. When we left it on the floor for a few minutes, our dog pulled off several of the nobs on the ring end with his front teeth very easily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls apart quickly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
weimvizsla10
from Toledo, Oh
My weimaraner and vizsla tore this thing apart in the first 5 min. I would not get this kong toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked well for two minutes

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
BorderCollieNJ
from New Jersey
This toy seemed super cool at first- good spikes for chewing on and the rope seemed pretty durable! However... my 7 month old Border Collie ripped it apart within 10 minutes. He kept shaking it back and forth and the nylon came apart. It all unraveled itself. So I decided to cut the nylon off and just let him have the ends to chew on- bad idea! He chewed a chunk out of the circle end within the first few bites. The ball is still standing, so maybe we will just use that for fetch.
Kong products are expensive, so don't waste your money with this one. The Original Kong is the only toy he has not chewed to shreds
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kong the Beast Dog Toy

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrenGT1
So far doing well for a retrieval toy. It handles suppervised play but not sure about constant chewing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Chewed through in less than 1 hr

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Askeland
from Duluth, MN
Does not "stand up to even the heaviest chewers". Had much better luck with the "KONG Wubba Dog Toy"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chewed threw in less than a day

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
PCNicaPup
from Nicaragua
I have an 8-month old chow/mutt mix and she's quite the strong chewer. She got thru the ring part in about an hour and now we're left with the ball and half the rope (because that's in the process of being chewed down by the minute, too). I like the idea of the texture, but if your dog has some strong jaws, don't get this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Yorkie loves this product

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Omabear
from Las Vegas, nv
My 3 year old rescued Yorkie loves this toy. We call it Red Ring. Every night after he has dinner he has to have red ring time. He paces the floor till my husband and I sit on the couch so he can sit with us and chew on red ring. It will last him just over 6 months. The one we have gotten is just the ring which we can not fine any more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Kong Quality!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
AnikaQ
from NC
I am shocked that Kong endorsed this product! It was all over my floor in less than an hour!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Seriously?? Not!!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrDD
from Houston, TX
My 6 month old Lab mix puppy destroyed this toy in 30 minutes!! I don't know how they can claim it's a tough toy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

For a Kong product ... this did not hold up

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
2tosbt
from Bedford, TX
For a Kong this did not hold up at all. I was hoping that since this product was made or indicated that it was made by KONG it was going to be a very durable product but it was far from it. I have a boxer and he ate right through the top rubber ring in nothing flat the first day I gave it to him. I had remove that rubber ring to keep him from eating the rest of the ring. It certainly must not have been made from the normal rubber that Kong's are made from and the ball at the bottom isn't either. Once the top ring was off the dog has been able to chew the nylon cord and start unraveling it. It lasted about a week before I finally had to throw it away for fear he would start swallowing the nylon parts. I don't like complaining but I don't feel this product lived up to the KONG name nor was work the money..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lasted 3 Minutes

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveMyPitty
from Chicago, IL
This toy seriously lasted 3 minutes before he had it in pieces and strings shredded everywhere. So disappointed for a KONG toy. This product would probably be fine for a dog that does not chew as hard.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT for Heavy Chewers!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
tlhg
from VA
My 11-month-old Golden Retriever had destroyed this within 30 minutes. Very disappointed since it's a Kong Toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dog toy

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
hudson1997
from kansas city
While this looked very sturdy, our 9 mo. old golden chewed this to bits within days. I am really struggling to find anything besides nylabones that will work for her right now. I liked the mixed medium, and it seemed really sturdy, but guess not. Now I'm collecting all the remnants in her doodoo.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for a heavy chewer

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
jzupp
Thought this toy could stand up to my 8 month old puppy (Beagle mix) but it did not. Within the first 15 minutes she already had 3 to 4 plastic pieces bitten off. She's subsequently completely destroyed the toy. Altho' I will say she is a very heavy chewer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great toy, but not for strong chewers

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmStaff
from Houston, TX
My dog chewed the softer rubber ring in less then 30 mins. The rope holding it all together in 10. If your dog tends to just play with these this is a great toy. If your dog is a tough chewer like my pit bull prepare to clean it up shortly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG The Beast Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT FOR TOUGH CHEWERS

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissMilaMaam
from College Station, TX
We bought this last night for our husky Chief. He chewed through the rubber in about 10 minutes. This morning the toy was in half with most of the rope frayed and dismantled. Did not last at all.. what a waste of $15.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>