petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box

This cat litter box is ideal for large cats or multiple cat householdsConvenient easy step-in front entranceFor use with any style cat litterDurable kitty litter box that is easy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
4.797 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
5 stars
105
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
114 out of 118(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Review 1 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter box I've purchased

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The majority of the liter stays in the box and hey the price is just right. My kitten is about 6 months and he had out grown the normal litter box not to mention he would always throw litter every direction so it was a freakin beach everywhere. This has made the cleanup so much easier to deal with :) I just have to worry about whats in the box not whats all over the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Great, We Bought 2!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lompoc, CA
Love the high sides. Our cat finds going to the litter box more of a fun digging game than an actual duty, so we had problems with her having too much fun and getting litter over the sides of the box. She's also a bigger breed of cat, so she needed a bigger box. This box is awesome! Wouldn't buy anything different!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It WORKS !

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sandusky,Ohio
I had a smaller litter box with shorter sides, but my male cat sometimes urinated over the sides. When I got this box with higher sides it solved that problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Litter Box

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I really like these litter boxes and own several of them. They help with the cats that don't squat down far enough sometimes. They also are good for "kickers" who kick litter out of the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrfect

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, NE
I probably have better things to do than write a review on a litter box, but if you're in the market for a new one, this box has been my favorite for the past two years. I now own four. I guess what I like about it is that it fits the size of my cats. My cats can get in and out easily, they can turn around in comfort and they have room to dig. I used a non-clumping littler and scoop daily. The size allows me to use a little litter or a lot, but the cats are always happy to go. It washes nicely. I scrub them outside and hose them down. This litter box is one problem solved in my house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and roomy

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I have two cats who like to use the litter box at the same time, so I needed a larger litter box that could accommodate both of them, hold enough litter, and have higher sides. I also needed a litter box with higher sides because they kept urinating over the side of the box and kicking out litter all over the floor. This litter box fit the bill. I even purchased a different box from another retailer since I was there thinking it would work the same, but when I got the new one home it wasn't nearly as roomy. I will probably purchase another one of these from PetCo and move the smaller box to another part of the house as an alternative spot. I definitely recommend this litter box if you have a larger or multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for larger cats

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nice high sides contain litter well. Reasonably easy access on the one low side. Roomy enough for larger cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Call me crazy, but I'm in LOVE

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
Absolutely GREAT litter box! Why did I spend so many years sweeping up litter? Easy to clean and nice neutral color. Works equally well with my three big boys (18+ lbs) and my little girl (4 lbs.) and my senior cat with irritable bowel disease. They all took to the boxes immediately. I bought 4 boxes for my 5 cats and I'm a happy camper! THANK YOU, PETCO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Litter Box!

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
This litter box is really the perfect size. It allows me to put 3-4" of little in the box and defeats most efforts by my cats to kick the litter out of the box. If they aim towards the low front however, the litter still comes out, but that's to be expected. My only quandary was finding a place large enough to wash out the boxes. I ended up putting in a larger utility sink in the basement. The only other option was the bathroom tub. But these boxes are terrific. I think I have 7 of them now! Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mega litter box

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from kansascity,missouri
we have 4 cats and this litter box is perfect! Our cats are full grown & large, so it reduces litter being sprayed all over floor. We have 2 of these and they work great for us & our cats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mega liter box

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Absolutely perfect! The two cats are not kicking liter all over the floor now. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more mess/odor

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DFW Metroplex
I used a small bin inside of a larger bin to conceal our litter boxes. I bought this box to go inside teh larger bin because one of my cats liked to urinate over the side of the smaller inside bin, leaving urine to puddle inside the larger bin and causing our whole house to stink! This box is too tall for that cat to urinate over the side, so no more mess and odor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it a lot

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I actually use this litter box a bit differently than most people. I place a hooded litter box inside this large pan. As the cats exit the litter box, the excess litter on their paws falls into the gap between the litter box and this larger, wider litter pan. Works perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Elkins, wv
We have bengals and they are long and lean and they have a tendancy to miss the litter box. This one is tall and long. Solved our problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect litter box!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fort Myers, FL
Big and roomy, excellent construction, smooth and ridgeless interior. The high sides are perfect for keeping the litter in no matter how much my kitty digs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purr-fect!!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Tx
I have a large, sweet tuxedo girl who had outgrown her previous litter box and saw this online and thought it would be purr-fect for her and it WAS! My baby girl Rosie is happy again....great size, and great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

couldn't be better!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Key West, FL
This box intimidated me when I took it out of the package - this thing is HUGE! I have several cats in a small space, and this does the job! Doesn't need to be changed as often, doesn't hold on to stink, and is easily accessible to older or disabled pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tillamook, OR
Great litter box! There is very little scattering of the litter because of the high sides and entry. The cats like it better than what we had! 5 paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like this litter box a lot

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from King of Prussia, PA
I used many different kinds of litter boxes as many cat owners do over years. With my previous cat who was rather smaller I could use a jumbo litter box with a hood and I liked it. Recently, I adapted two cats. One of them is more than 11 Lbs and he has kidney problem thus urinates a lot and often. I first had two large open top litter boxes to accommodate two cats. (the large cat does not fit in a hooded box) But, they tend to use only one litter box together. So I switched to this Mega box. This works. I bought two. I only use one but every week, I dump the whole litter and disinfect the box outside with breach for a while. So, I alternate the two boxes.
This is the biggest litter box I ever seen and also built very well. Simple and easy to clean. Highly recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Mega Rectangular Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cartersville, GA
Wow! I am so glad my Mom and Dad decided to get me a "man-sized" place to do my business! Finally, I have enough room to start and finish my projects. Mom and Dad are smiling now and giving me lots of love because they think I am so smart...meow, meow:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>