petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone

All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone

Made of nylon fabric laminated onto 1/2 inch foamElastic loops thread through pet's own collar to keep secureConforms to any shape your pet passes throughIncludes reflective binding to help protect you and your pet while out at nightAllows your pet to eat and drink in comfort
Average Customer Rating:
3.893 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
9
43 out of 56(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Review 1 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Work for Thin Neck

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
NaughtyMonkey
from Los Angeles, Ca
The cone with the correct neck size was so tiny that it didn't come to the end of my dog's snout. The next size was way too big, and although I liked the length of the cone, it wouldn't stay on, flopped around, and was very heavy for my mini poodle. Might be good for teacup dogs, short snouted and thick necked dogs, but not for mine. It's back to the hard plastic "cone of shame."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't get this if your dog has even an ounce of intelligence

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sora
from West Jordan UT
I bought this product last year when my dog got her back leg filleted by a beagle at the local dog park. She needed stitches and I decided to try this out because it looked to be more comfortable.
Well, after getting her stiches put in, I left her alone for about ten minutes in the bedroom that evening (which in hind-sight, I should not have done) and I heard whining and yelping. I went in to check on her and found that she had bent the corner of the cone back and got at her stitches. She ripped every single one of them out. We had to take her back the next day and get her re-sedated and stitched up again. My vet only charged me half of what I was charged the first time. (All together though, my vet was WAY overcharging me since they charged me 150.00 to sedate her and stitch her up, (225.00 total for both visits) and I just took her in to get her dew claws removed this morning because she kept ripping them while playing fetch, and our new vet charged us 270.00 to remove both dew claws plus the cost of medicine. This is all a bit beside the point though.)
DO NOT buy this product if your dog is something other than a vegetable. Any dog who is determined enough will be able to figure out, given enough time, how to get around this device.
It is a waste of 35.00. Don't do it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for giant breeds.

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
2newfmom
from Beaverton, OR
Love the cone. Great for giant breeds. Soft and long enough that long snouts cant lick injured areas. Easy fit attaching to the dogs collar and velcro to custom fit it around neck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
14of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
fourdogs
from San Francisco, CA
I have to say this cone is a saving grace for us. My Bassett Hound licks her leg raw and too many vet visits are killing us. We felt like the hard cones were torture for both her and us. Plus they are a pain to get on and off (she is old and blind and can't eat with it on) The soft comfy cone was a blessing becuase she runs into us all the time but it doesn't hurt, she scraps it against furniture without damaging it... and most of all it seem comfy for her. Its light, and soft and forms to whatever she is laying on and doesnt dig into her neck. The velcro is awesome to easily pull it off of her at dinnertime and for the daily cleaning of it due to slobber. Great product. The only complaint is you cant throw it in the washer... so it can start to smell... we had to really scrub it with soap to get it smelling nice. (You know how dogs are so messy with food, or medecine, or eating grass etc. ) Plus my bassett is old and calm... I wonder how it will work for my Rat Terrier... Im getting one for her next. She is hype and stuborn... so that will be the real test to the comfy cone... I will update!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Functionality, Alright Comfort

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
dahkiadust
from US
I bought this to help keep my Jack Russell Terrier from chewing on a wound, and so far it's held up amazingly.
You can't have everything with a product that is meant to be durable, yet comfortable - it does get hot on my JRT, and I definitely wouldn't take him outside with it on - but the Comfy Cone really does a great job.
It's lightweight - once he adjusted to the idea of it around his neck, he became his jolly self again. It has little slots for your pet's regular collar to slip through, so it is held in place without being easily rubbed off. It also came with an extra strip of velcro. It's flexible but has held up well when he's barreling through the house.
It'd be brilliant if they actually made little windows or areas the pets could see out of - that would cut down on the panicking and confusion. I haven't had any problems with him bending it back against the floor and being able to reach his wound. The material is surprisingly rigid for being so comfortable.
For a product that is meant to keep your pets safe from themselves and be comfortable at the same time, the Comfy Cone meets my expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Panda22
from New York, NY
This product is much better than the traditional "Lampshade".
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
lucysmypet
from Fayetteville, AR
I purchased this at the recommendation of the pet shop employee. I should have stuck with the what has worked in the past - the plastic cone that is half the price of this product. Our dog was able to shake her collar and comfy cone off several times before we found the right tightness. She was also able to "crush" the sides of the comfy cone to chew her bandaged paw and then lick her stitches. After several days in the comfy cone, we had to go out and replace it with the plastic cone anyway. Don't waste your money, save yourself the aggravation of replacing bandages and additional trips to the vet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hot and heavy

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
jennys867
from Cambridge, ma
Bought this for my dog who was constantly licking at his rear. It was like putting insulation around his head and in the summer, this was not going to work. Plus, it was heavy and black which made it even more uncomfortable. Good idea in theory, but didn't work for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

More comfortable than the standard plastic cone!

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
LauraB0916
from San Diego, CA
My puppy slept easier in this cone than I was expecting and got used to wearing it pretty quickly. The only reason i did not rate it a 5 is becuase it comes flat in the box and it's hard to get it to stay in a round cone like shape so it looked like he was wearing a diamond around his head. I think it would have been more comfortable if it would have actually stayed in a round shape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent except for one aspect

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
PieMaster
from Columbia, MO
I purchased this for my large dog to keep her from licking herself when she had a skin condition. She mostly only wore it when I was not home to watch her. It is so much better than the regular plastic cones! Definitely a worthwhile purchase. But there is one problem.
Pros:
My dog does not mind wearing this cone, though she strongly disliked the plastic cone from the vet. She will come right over and push her head through on her own when it is time to put it on. It has very soft flexible loops on the "neck side" of the cone so you can thread it into the dog's collar, but I did not need to use this feature after the first couple times she wore it. Another good thing about this cone is that if the dog is wearing it and bumps into your leg, or a wall, or another pet, the contact does not cause pain or scratches. Also, the velcro that holds the cone together is good and strong - it has never come loose since I adjusted it.
I do not know why there is reflective trim on the cone, that seems unnecessary. I guess it looks cool!
Cons:
There was NOT sufficient extra velcro "loop" material included for me to cover all the exposed "hook" material after I had sized it for my dog's neck. This means that if she laid down, the exposed "hook" velcro would stick firmly to the carpet and she would be stuck to the carpet! I was able to find some fabric to stick to the velcro, so it hasn't been a MAJOR problem. But MORE extra loop velcro SHOULD be included with this product for obvious safety reasons! If you buy this be prepared with some extra velcro of your own, or some kind of fabric to stick to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Better

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jmac1028
from Kansas
The XL worked great for My 100 lbs. Newfie's cruciate surgery. He seemed much more comfortable with the comfy cone than with the traditional plastic one. Even though the cone doesn't extend out as much as the plastic one, it still prevents him from licking his incision on his knee. Also, the Velcro makes it very easy to take on and off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not allow dog to see

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Multipets
from San Diego CA
This cone does not offer the ability to see out the sides. When I put it on my dog, she freaked and spent all her time trying to get it off. I finally took it off her and returned it to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
7of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than the hard plastic cone

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
samthedog2000
from New Mexico
We got one of these after our blue heeler had to have stitches around her eye. The hard plastic one the vet gave us was obviously uncomfortable and difficult to move around in. I had seen these comfy cone's at Petco and picked one up for her. She seems more comfortable, the comfy cone is softer and more yielding, but not so much that she can paw or scratch her eye with it on. We've folded back the cone for her to eat and drink, but she's figured out how to eat and drink with it unfolded, just by moving the cone into the right position around the water and food bowls. Its good that the cone has some yield in it, she walks around the house and outdoors and bumps into stuff with the cone, but just adjusts or plows on through whatever obstacle she encounters. The bumps don't seem to bother her at all. The reflective strip around the edge of the cone is nice, it's easy to keep up with her in the dark.
However, we had an experience where she pulled her collar and the cone off over he head, when we were not home, and she scratched and tore her stitches. The conclusion we came to was that her collar - that the cone is attached to - was too loose, so she either got stuck on something and pulled it off, or just pawed at it hard enough to get it off. So, after having her re-stitched, we put the cone back on, and tightened her collar a little. We haven't had any trouble since, knock on wood, she's a very determined and stubborn dog.
The comfy cones are expensive, I wish I had bought it online with the discount instead of in the store, but we are happy so far. Petco was very helpful about locating the right size for her in a store in town, since the first Petco I went to was out. So that was great customer service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than plastic E-collar

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gisandgi
The hard plastic e-collars we got from the vets after surgery for our 2 puppies were not acceptable. The Comfy Cone abled my puppies to eat, drink, and walk around more easily and comfortably than the plastic e-collars. Highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Investment!

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
BeammeupScotty
I recently had my little dox neutered. The lamp shade e-collar was so uncomforatable for my little champ, that it was painful to watch him try to sleep and eat. Although he has about 3 days before removing the e-collar, I couldn't have him suffer 3 more days. That's when I learned about the Comfy Cone. I ran out during my lunch hour and purchased one. What a relief to see him much more comfortable and eating without trying to scoop his food onto the old collar. Thanks for the great invention!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG....it is wonderful!!!!

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
luvNdogs
After having my dog in a plastic E-collar for 4 days, I was ready to scream (he was too). He couldn't eat, drink water, get through doorways easily, and was hesitant to even go to the bathroom. I bought the comfy collar tonight and LOVE, LOVE IT! It is easy to use and it can be bent back for the dog to eat, drink water, and smell the ground on his walks. He isn't bumping into doorways and it doesn't hurt when he runs into me now. Whoever invented this is a genius! My dog and I are so much more comfortable now. Thank you Comfy Collar! It is pricey, but worth every cent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice alternative

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
bucktooth
This collar was safe and secure for our dog. He seemed comfortable and it kept him from going near his surgical site.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Catilla
from South Lake Tahoe, CA
This cone works soooooooooooo much better than the standard hard plastic one. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a pet in need. Even my high-energy Min Pin didn't protest wearing it (although she definitely doesn't look like it in the photo), and it kept her from being able to scratch her ears long enough for them to heal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Effective...not perfect

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bulldoggemama
I purchased the comfy cone after eye surgery. I tried the plastic cone and my dog literally laid in the floor and would not move. He was very stressed out. I saw the comfy cone on the internet and thought it was worth a try. He has done great with it. It is very effective in keeping him from scratching at his eyes with his paws. However he is able to smash his face into the floor and push his eye into the floor. I have to watch him carefully so he does not mess up his stiches. All in all it has worked great. Just need to keep a close eye on him. Also, after having it on for even a day or two it does get smelly because the odors get absorbed by the fabric. It wipes clean easily with soap but I have to do this daily or it stinks again. It is more expensive than the plastic cone but a great alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for All Four Paws Black Comfy Cone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved by Both Cat and Owner!

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Underst8edCat
from Rhode Island
My cat Guinness came home from the vet with a normal plastic cone, and more or less seemed to think he was on another planet. He couldn't get around the house without slamming into every object in his path, nor could he eat or drink with it. He was very stressed and unhappy.
Then I got him a Comfy Cone, and everyone was happy! The material is more comfortable on his fur, he is able to walk around without jarring his head when he bumps something. He can eat and drink, and generally is very happy.
All of this makes me happy because It is much easier to give him his medicine when he is not stressed out by the plastic cone.
The Comfy Cone is also just as effective as a plastic cone at doing its job - preventing the animal from licking or scratching where he shouldn't.
Overall an amazing product and very much worth the money for any pet owner who loves their furry friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>