petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs

Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs

Soft chews support stress reduction and help calm dogsSugar free, chicken liver flavored chewsGreat aid for separation anxiety, nevousness, pacing and travelIt is the natural way to help your hound mellow out
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
28 out of 35(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Review 1 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These WORK!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
Many "calming" treats don't work, but these really do the job. I have two rescued chihuahuas, and this helped them sleep right through the 4th of July.
Does this stuff come in a human formula? I could use some! :-D
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works w/o 'drugged' behavior.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chariton, IA
I use this for my 20# smooth coated fox terrier service dog. With the exception of his fear of thunder & lightning, he is the perfect little man for me! This is his only problem. When he hears thunder or sees lightning, he tries to bury himself between me & the back of the sofa. I feel bad for him, as I've never seen a dog shake so hard out of fear. We tried valium & diphenhydramine but he just staggered about like a little 4 legged drunk! These natural chews seem to taste good to him & he sits very close, but doesn't try to hide or tremble now & doesn't act drugged!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Queens, NY
I've been using the same brand (for cats) on my cats for the past 6 months and just began using about a week ago for my 5 month puppy. Like with the cats, it makes her mellow and sleepy. We've been using it to ease her separation anxiety now the kids are back in school. My puppy is not very hyper either so that may also be the reason it works well for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Calming

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethel Park, PA
We have a 2 year old Pit/Boxer who can certainly get a little rambunctious. I've tried different composure treatments with some positive results, but Pet Naturals Calming seems to be keeping her a little more evenly calm state without her being comatosed. She will still get excited and playful when appropriate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog loves them, moderate effect

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
We have an 80 lb rescue dog who does not like car travel and paces, pants, and drools whenever there is a thunderstorm. We tried these treats during a recent storm and they really seemed to have a positive effect. He stopped panting and drooling, and while he did move around a bit, he was much calmer than normal. I was amazed, as I really didn't expect a food item to be that effective. During the quieter parts of the storm, he actually seemed to be sleepy! We have not yet tried them with travel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what i needed

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
it helps calm my peke-a-pom at night so we both sleep soundly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

He LOVED it, but it didn't calm him.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harrisonburg, VA
We wanted to use it when we leave him in his crate for separation anxiety, but wanted to test it when we were home to make sure he wasn't allergic or something, so we tried on a Saturday morning. He ate it right up and wanted more, but when he came in after a potty break soon after, he was leaping in circles for his usual carrot treat! As in, leaping in the air and turning a circle before landing! The zipper part of the bag malfunctioned and I had laid it on the table to put it in another bag and forgot it and one of the cats must have knocked it to the floor (the dog doesn't get on the table) and after that it was a free-for-all. I found it mostly empty, so some portion of the pet population was hopped up on an overdose, but I don't know who got what. None of them got sick, though, but the dog was just as happy jumpy as ever and when we left that evening and put him in the crate, he whined as bad as always.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snoring puppy

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
My rescue Pomchi has no problem relaxing when Im home but he absolutely freaks out when we get in the car. I gave him one to test it out and heres a photo. Snoring. lol We are flying back east soon and Im buying the big bag today. The price is amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Queens, NY
Love how this relaxes my boxer so I can leave her home and she will truly rest when I am away
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Seems to work some

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kingman, AZ
It relaxes her a little, maybe not as much as I hope for, but won't give up on it yet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Calming City Dogs

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My dog doesn't do well in open dog runs and often gets spooked by loud noises, sirens, etc. I give him at least one of these every day under normal circumstances - more, if he's doing something really stressful for him such as riding in cars, going to the vet or groomer, etc. It's not 100%, but it does seem to reduce his anxiety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
My dog, Benji, loves these soft chews. He's always excited to eat them. Shortly after taking them, he seems to be slightly calmer. I usually give one at night, and it appears to have helped him sleep. He sleeps longer and is less hyperactive in the morning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Calming Aid

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Plover, WI
My dog has serious seperation issues. This product has helped him calm down A LOT. Makes him sleepy and less worried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't work for my dog

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
My 19lb shih tzu loves the taste of these chews but it took a few hours to finally calm her down but don't know if it was the chew or she finally got tired of barking. I bought them because she bars excessively at night and wakes everyone up. The good thing is that they are natural, no prescription med and she loves the taste.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great results!!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rocklin, CA
I adopted a 1yr old Havanese. She is 7lbs and got car sick every time after only 5 minutes in the car. She would yawn, salivate and then throw up. I bought the snoozer center console carseat (I put a bath towel in it in case she got sick) and the calming chews. I gave Chloe 2 chews about 15 minutes before we took off for a 2 1/2 hr drive. She was so calm. She didn't drool at all. She just slept. I couldn't be happier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
My rescue dog is a Beagle mix that has sever problems with separation anxiety. I couldn't even sleep in a different room where she couldn't see me. I give her one of these about half an hour before betime and I can now get about 6 hours sleep. Every night it is getting better. I am sure we wouldn't be having this kind of success if it weren't for this calming aid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seemed to have an effect

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Staten Island
Our Shepherd Lab Mix has been a terror every time we left him alone in the house. We started giving him these treats before we leave and it seems to be doing the trick, though it could be a coincidence and he is just growing out of this phase...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Un-Real!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MN
I have 2 small dogs in addition to my dane. The two little guys are 8 and 12 months old so they can be a little difficult to keep still at times like grooming and brushing. I tried these on a whim -- first time, they were pretty calm. I thought maybe it was coincidence. A week later same thing...I've used the chews 5 or 6 times now and I ahve to say, for whatever reason, I think they help. I'm skeptical yet, but you knwo what, for the money, it's worth a try to see yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Gettysburg, PA
I started using these back in the summer for my then puppy, now she's just over a year old. I normally don't mind her being really active but, since i work night shift i like when she will lay down and relax and let me sleep. It started in spring when the weather got nice and there was a lot to look at outside and she'd wake me up and wanna go out just to look around instead of go potty. I thought i'd try these and they seem to work. She gets me up too much i give her one and she settles down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet Naturals Calming Soft Chews for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for us!

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I have a 10 year old Male Min Pin who has recen;y gotten much more anxious. 2 or 3 of these seem to take the edge off pretty quickly. My vet wanted to put him on Prozac but this seems to be helping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>