petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets

Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets

This habitat is luxury living at its finestLarge home is perfect for exercise, sleep and playConstructed of durable easy to clean plastic that has built in antimicrobial technology to ensure a healthy and clean living environmentFeatures a rolling stand for effortless mobilityWire frame is removable and clips easily into the plastic base for convenient cleaning
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Review 1 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

bought for rat....really nice size.......

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
rharp
from Lebanon, OH
I bought this for my 9 month old rat Henry. Its really perfect for him, has plenty of room! Who knows I may end up with a ferrett if anything ever happens to him. My only problem with this cage is the stand and clean up. Yes it does have wheels, but the cage itself just sits on top of the stand and it is NOT very stable at all. There is no way to move this around and the cage not slip and fall. no way, that was a poor design but, it is what is, I dont use the stand because of this.
And its so big of a cage its not really super easy to clean you have to take the whole cage off to get the bottom off it, which is another , it is what it is scenario, =)
Overall though I am happy with cage those are just a few disadvantages I see that I am not crazy about.
Also I will states as well, the stand did show up with a missing attachement for the wheel and called the 800 # on assembly instructions and customer service answered and was top notch and already sending me another stand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Buy(detailed review)

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Xander86759586
from Indiana
Sorry to hear about those that dident like this cage must have gotten a bad one because i had no problems with anything fitting or it being to flimsy. Took less then five minutes to assemble easy as pie.
(Quality)
The over all build quality is a bit better then some cages. It seems kinda flimsy until its all together all the pieces help hold the whole thing together. So for the ones that stated a 3 min inspection after pulling out of the box i don't think they really gave it a chance all put together. Also find the deep bottom pan is a plus for messier ferrets.
(Problems)
Typical store bought cage problems though, Thin plastic platforms and slippery ramps(i just set the level heights so the angle of the ramps is less inclined so its easier for my ferret to climb)that eliminated the issue. I agree the bottom metal stand isent really worth using given its poor quality but would be fine if you don't plan on using it to move it around allot.
(overall)
A solid buy if you can catch it for the right price i paid $164 in store(a bit more then online but easier should i need to return it and got it sooner rather then later) wich makes it a great value for the price. Even if you pay a bit more it is a good investment this was also the best choice for the money from the other cages i could find online and in stores. So if your on the fence and need a bigger home you should find your fuzzy's happy at home in no time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of Room

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Allison56
from Phoenix, AZ.
I have one ferret and this is plenty big for her she is the Queen of her Castle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge, Awesome cage

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
chinchillalove
I bought this cage a month ago and it is wonderful. My chinchilla absolutely loves it. He has tons of space to move around and get exercise. I think 3 chinchillas could fit comfortably in there. There are alot of levels and my chinchilla loves exploring all of them. I would recommend this to any person who has a ferret or chinchilla. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzy123
from Princeton, WI
I wanted a bigger cage for my chinchilla and this was the best one I found for a decent price. I like that the pan is deeper than my previous Super Pet cage. It was the perfect size for me to upgrade to. Some of the other cages were just too big for one chin. The only thing I didn't like is the corners are rounded instead of squared so my customized wooden shelves didn't fit perfect but it works. Also the doors seem a little flimsy and are made with some plastic which chins like to chew.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this is not made for ferrets

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Myferrets
from USA
Quick summary, difficult to assemble, parts did not line up properly, plastic was not fitting properly or matched up as well as it could have. Plastic is very slippery for ferret claws and provides no stability. I put it together, laughed, and returned it. Save your money for something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not ideal for ferrets

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
toomanyferrets
from Oregon
As a beginner to the world of ferret owning, this was my first cage. I bought it for the price and how spacious it seemed, but upon seeing ferrets in it, realized it had a few flaws.
While I was pleased with the size, the levels in the cage were far too narrow for my two ferrets to comfortably maneuver. This concerned me, considering they still had room to grow. And as other reviews have stated, the ramps were very slick and my ferrets would opt to simply climb the bars to get to their desired level.
I ended up modifying and placing in a custom level that spanned the entire length and width of the cage with a custom ramp, and have been pleased with it ever since.
On a positive side: the deep plastic base is wonderful and very easy to pull out and clean. The cage was fairly easy to put together for one person, and seems like it will last pretty well.
However, I would not recommend this cage solely based on those positives.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely love it

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
J4800
This cage is a lot bigger than I expected and I love it! There's tons of room for ferrets, and it's a great value for the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic Cage For The Money

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ausey
from Newell, Iowa
I bought this cage about two years ago for my ferrets. I happened to be buying two ferrets that day and already had a cage but thought I would spoil them a bit and get a bigger cage. When I first bought them home I tried to put the cage together and it's a bit difficult at first but once you get the hang of it its pretty easy. But the cage is so easy to clean. The ramps come right of the platforms and we just actually take the whole cage off of the base so we can clean out the bedding. There are multiple wires everywhere on the cage so it's very easy to hang beds or toys for the ferrets in the cage. The top also opens to so if you have any stubborn ferrets like I did it's easy to just put the ferret in the top and close it. I would deffinitly reccomend this product to people who are starting out with a big cage. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ferret-astic!!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawnalon
from Eugene, OR
I have 3 boys in this habitat and it works great!! They love it so much...I had to line the ramps with felt, to make it easier to climb up and down and get around...but other than that it is a perfect habitat!! I can fit 4 hammocks, 2 dishes and water bottles, toys, and a litter box and den on the floor...there is so much space...I do wish the bottom was a bit bigger, but they have access to the outside of their home as well...highly recommended!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super features

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chinchilla1
from Azle, Texas
We have three of these, they are easy to assemble and clean. Our Chinchillas love the multiple levels to play on. I would highly recommend these to anyone with ferrets or chinchillas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
smartyB
from San Antonio, TX
We bought this almost 2 years ago when we got Walter, our ferret. I was nervous about getting something this big, but now I'm SO happy we did.
The colors are neutral so it doesn't look like an eye sore in the house, it's plenty of space for him to run around - we change around his hammocks and make it a fun little home for him. It's been sturdy, easy to clean, and safe... he's never escaped. We have a lot of years left to use this cage - it's still in prefect condition, and he hasn't outgrown it.
We've actually considered getting a second ferret, and you can definitely fit two in this habitat. Since they spend so many hours a day sleeping that as long as you let them out for a good amount of time at some point during the day/night, there is plenty of space to co-habitate.
Last but not least, when you look at the pictures, we actually took the frame and wheels off the bottom so it looks a little shorter than it actually is. When we let him out at night, we leave the bottom door open and he uses that as his potty area. When the cage is on the wheels it's hard for him to go in and out. We've kept it though, so if we need to move him to another room for awhile or something, we just plop the frame back on and take him for a smooth little ride across the house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cage for rats too

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
RatOwner2012
I've owned a Super Pet cage like this before (the rat habitat), so I knew putting this together would be a bit of a challenge. But it's worth it. I bought this cage as an upgraded larger cage for my 3 rats. I know this is a ferret home, but it works well for adult rats. I wouldn't recommend it for younger rats, as they are small and may be able to squeeze through the bars. But adult rats would enjoy the multiple levels of this cage. My rats absolutely love it! The cage is also very aesthetically pleasing, it looks great in my living room with neutral colors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product is a must buy

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
lccrp
from Cooperstown,NY
If you are looking for a bigger place for a Rat this is the place...We have a hairless rat and we wanted to get him a bigger place for him...we had decided on this one and he loves it...My girls Love to watch Rufus play and run around in his new place...the place is so big that we decided to get a playmate for Rufus our hairless rat...so we got a Dumbo rat named Dumbo...they both love it and have loads of fun in there...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Spotsylvania, Va.
A little difficult to assemble but worth the effort. My two Warrior Weasles love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco cage

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
mmm2m8r
from Germantown
I bought this cage 2 years ago at a retailer for almost twice as much. This allows most space vertical, saving floor space. I added 4 bungee cords in the corners to hold together tighter when moving. Occasionally, the ferrets will dislodge one of the ramps. Two adult ferrets live in here. They have no trouble negotiating the ramps at all. (Sometimes they jump from level to level downward.) They climb the bars easily and rapidly. They use the whole space all the time. There are hanging things to crawl in and a bed on the top level. The lower level keeps most of the kitty litter in and will hold many pounds of the clay variety till they get to really slinging it. This is only right after it is changed. Afterward, it is their restroom. Only once have they opened a door.. Best cage so far, large with smaller footprint. Easily rolls (with attached bungee cords). Easy to clean. Happy ferrets. Would probably purchase again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slippery ramp and shelf material

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrittanySZ
I got this cage for my two young ferrets, they have a lot of trouble climbing the ramps because the plastic material is very slippery. They spend most of their time on the bottom two levels, occasionally the third, but never the fourth or fifth.
The bottom "bucket" part of the cage is very deep which is excellent for containing mess, no chance of kits backing up against wire and pooping outside of the cage.
Overall a good cage, just wish that the ramps were a different design. I may replace the ramps with something of my own design.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst cage ever

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
obsidian
from columbus IN
Worst cage ever says it all . The cage was a pain to put together, the stand is to flimsy the ramps are like slides and the shelves arnt much better. My kits never get past the first shelf even when treats are waiting at the top. Its not even worth its current sale price. I am returning it asap
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Weasel War Dance Lives On!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
FujimiRyujin
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
This is the second ferret cage I bought and I absolutely love it! All the problems I had in my first cage were solved with this cage. First of all, my ferret kits have so much space, it doesn't seem that way when you look at the box but this cage has enough space for two or possibly three ferrets to live extremely comfortably. Assembly was quick and the snap down levels are much more secure than other cages I have seen. The levels have so much space as well that both my ferrets are able to be on a single level and have enough space to move around and complete such tasks as eating and not look like kids trying to knock each other off on a playground style game of rolling logs. The ramps are also nice because the wave design allows for them to move much faster up and down levels as if they were stairs instead of ramps. Also, the lower level has enough space that it allows the ferrets to back up into corners and not get bathroom breaks all over outside the cage, it also makes it possible for them to burrow under their bedding without knocking it all back out onto the floor. It also is large enough on ground floor that I have been able to watch many a weasel war dance as they have fun. Only downside is that the ramps are flexible so my ferrets have taken to lifting them up and the flexibility allows them to snap back down making a rather loud tapping noise that isn't nice if your one who sleeps with your ferrets in an adjacent room. Also, the wheel system is kind of useless, I use the cage without them, it looks and functions just fine without them, if you don't need to move your habitat around often I recommend letting it just sit on the floor without the wheels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Habitat 5 Level Defined Home for Ferrets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really happy with this cage!

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
chinchigurl
from ME
I recently bought this cage for my chinchilla. As I was putting it together, she knew it was for her! She got all excited to get in it and I was really happy that she liked it. I was worried that she would chew the plastic up but she hasn't even bothered with it! The cage was a little difficult to set up and you will need pliers or a screw driver to help you but I did most of it by myself.
Some people said that the wheeled base was too unstable but i just tightened everything up really tight. Its a little wobbly but my little chin could never knock it over by herself! The wheels make it so easy to clean and store some extra treats and food for her!
The cage was also a lot bigger than I had imagined. Which is great for my chin! she loves all of the levels! I love that this has a deep bottom tray that keeps her from kicking up her bedding! I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to upgrade their chin's cage!
I am so happy with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>