petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer

Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer

Fits BioCube sizes 14 & 29 gallon aquariumsKeeps tank healthy by removing harmful organicsSimple to set-up and useEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
2.539 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Review 1 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke Quickly

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Squeegle
I only had this product a short time before I started having problems with it. First the top kept coming off and I would always find it at the bottom of my tank.
Then after only a few months the entire thing broke and was totally unusable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor choice Don't buy

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarineHobbiest
from Minneapolis MN
I put one of these into a 30 Gal Salt. It pumps bubbles into the reservoir. It does not remove protein from the tank. You want your protein skimmer to pump brown syrupy stuff out of the tank not a bunch of bubbles. All I am doing is slowly emptying my tank.
Buy a different skimmer, I did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pump, give it time

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Invertedgc
from WA
This skimmer works well after the two week break-in period. Once the air stone is seasoned the skimmer begins to remove all kinds of material. All that is required is some initial tuning of the air supply and patience. The only drawback is that the pump is a bit loud.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tried it....

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Manumiter
This skimmer is a poor choice. Do some research and spend a bit more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little skimmer

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
ReeeefGuy
from Gilber, AZ
Give it about a week to break-in the stone, after that week it started pulling all kinds of nasty stuff out of my 10 nano reef tank. Great little skimmer!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

works but noisy

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
deyesc
from Boston MA
I bought this for the biocube 29 since it seems to be the best protein skimmer to fit this tank. After reading reviews i thought might be difficult to get to work, but with adjustment of air flow no problems. I found it to be very noisy, however, which is the main reason I took it back out...too distracting from the peaceful aquarium environment for me :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the buy

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
AshevilleShrimp
from Asheville, NC
I had mine running for several months, never was able to get dry skimmate, only water would collect in the tray and the bubbles I was producing were huge even on the lowest setting. It's also hard to fit in to the back of the 29g Biocube. So far I've been better off without it, my pod population has grown exponentially since I removed the skimmer. Just need to stay on top of my water changes more and I've been fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly...

PostedJune 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheBat1812
from Phoenix, Az
It's really too bad most people don't have the patience to let a skimmer work, if they did, this skimmer wouldn't have a bad review.
Trust me all bad reviews are from people who didn't take the time to read the directions or learn to be patient, ALL protien skimmers can take up to two weeks to work, call it a priming period if you'd like.
Not only does this skimmer work great with my 30 gallon reef tank, I mean it collects some nasty gunk, but I have two of these running in my 60 gallon. I replaced the big 60 gallon skimmer that broke once a year with two of these skimmer and my tank has never been so clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pump is poor quality

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
fred87b
The air pump for this unit quickly became noisy, symptom of broken diaphram. I will take in for replacement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

be patient

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
meeeeeeeeeee
i was about ready to toss this thing when i started to move it up and down while adjusting the airflow finally i got it to work and now it seems to be working great i have and eclipse hood system and its very hard to find products that fit and this works very well for tight spaces
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
darkwaterdevil
Doesnt work at all no matter how it is adjusted. i ether get all water or nothing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good price for a skimmer

PostedJuly 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
ReefFan
Use this skimmer on a Biocube 29 and after a little adjustment to get the flow right it is collecting lots of skimate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oceanic BioCube Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
superjojo
from Des Moines, IA
I purchased this product for my 29 gallon Bio-Cube and it does not work. I wish I would have read online reviews before waisting my money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.